DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/15/25 and 6/27/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 9, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, on line 2, it appears that the word “configuration” before the word “comprises” should instead be “configurations”.
Regarding claim 9, on line 2, it appears that the word “configuration” before the word “corresponds” should instead be “configurations”.
Regarding claim 15, on line 10, it appears that the term “RS” should instead be “SR”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 12-14, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (U.S. 2024/0323997) (hereinafter “Xu”). Xu teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “a communication method, comprising: receiving information comprising a traffic cycle, a traffic burst arrival time, and a burst arrival time jitter range” is anticipated by a network device that receives first indication information (information) from a terminal as shown in step S1501 of Figure 15; where the first indication information indicates a statistical parameter of a delay jitter of an arrival time of a service frame (traffic burst arrival time) or a statistical parameter of a burst length of a service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; where the burst length is a duration (traffic cycle) corresponding to all data packets of the service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; and where the statistical parameter of delay jitter includes a distribution range (burst arrival time jitter range) as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0152].
Lastly, “acquiring traffic information, the traffic information comprising the traffic cycle, a traffic burst arrival start time, and a traffic burst arrival end time from the received information, wherein the traffic burst arrival start time and the traffic burst arrival end time are acquired based on the traffic burst arrival time and the burst arrival time jitter range” is anticipated by the network device that determines (acquires), based on the statistical parameter of the delay jitter or burst length indicated by the first indication information, a DRX parameter and/or a configured grant (CG) resource (traffic information) that is/are required for transmitting an XR service as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0147]; where the CG resource includes a CG cycle (traffic cycle) and CG time/frequency resources as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0088], and where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset of the DRX cycle and a monitoring duration of the DRX cycle (traffic burst arrival start time/end time) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0172].
Regarding claim 2, “wherein the traffic burst arrival start time is determined as: the traffic burst arrival time - the burst arrival time jitter range, and/or wherein the traffic burst arrival end time is determined as: the traffic burst arrival time + the burst arrival time jitter range” is anticipated by the network device that obtains, through calculation, the start time offset DRX start offset and the monitoring duration on duration of the DRX cycle according to the following formulas: on duration = Rrange – Lrange; DRX start offset = T + Lrange – T0 (or T = DRX start offset – Lrange – T0); where T is an ideal arrival moment of the XR service (traffic burst arrival start time), DRX start offset is a start time offset of the DRX cycle (traffic burst arrival time), and Lrange is a value corresponding to the JitterMinRange field (burst arrival time jitter range) as spoken of on page 11, paragraphs [0170]-[0173].
Regarding claim 3, “sending configuration information relevant to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring according to the traffic information, the configuration information indicating a PDCCH monitoring occasion” is anticipated by the network device that sends second indication information (configuration information) to the terminal as shown in step S1502 of Figure 15; where the second indication information indicates the determined DRX parameter and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; and where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (information relevant to PDCCH monitoring) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165].
Regarding claim 5, “wherein the configuration information indicates a PDCCH monitoring start time, DRX inactivity timing information, and a DRX cycle length” is anticipated by the second indication information that indicates the determined DRX parameter and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset (monitoring start time) of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (DRX cycle length) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165]; and where the DRX parameter further includes an inactivity timer field (DRX inactivity timing information) indicating a length of an activity period in the DRX cycle as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0093].
Regarding claim 12, “wherein acquiring the traffic information comprises: acquiring the traffic information based on a quality of service (QoS) parameter transmitted from a core network; or acquiring the traffic information according to assistance information of a terminal in an uplink RRC message” is anticipated by the first indication information (traffic information) that may be included in User Assistance Information (UAI) (assistance information of a terminal) as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0150]; where a field may be added to the UAI messaging in RRC signaling as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0162].
Regarding claim 13, “a communication method, comprising: transmitting information comprising a traffic cycle, a traffic burst arrival time, and a burst arrival time jitter range” is anticipated by a network device that receives first indication information (information) from (transmitted by) a terminal as shown in step S1501 of Figure 15; where the first indication information indicates a statistical parameter of a delay jitter of an arrival time of a service frame (traffic burst arrival time) or a statistical parameter of a burst length of a service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; where the burst length is a duration (traffic cycle) corresponding to all data packets of the service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; and where the statistical parameter of delay jitter includes a distribution range (burst arrival time jitter range) as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0152].
“Receiving configuration information relevant to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring, the configuration information indicating a PDCCH monitoring occasion” is anticipated by the network device that sends second indication information (configuration information) to (received by) the terminal as shown in step S1502 of Figure 15; where the second indication information indicates the determined DRX parameter and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; and where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (information relevant to PDCCH monitoring) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165].
Lastly, “monitoring a PDCCH according to the configuration information” is anticipated by the terminal that, upon receiving the DRX parameter, monitors the PDCCH based on the configured monitoring occasion, and transmits the XR service after detecting the PDCCH as spoken of on page 12, paragraph [0183].
Regarding claim 14, “wherein the configuration information is determined according to the transmitted information” is anticipated by the network device that determines, based on the statistical parameter of the delay jitter or burst length indicated by the first indication information, a DRX parameter and/or a configured grant (CG) resource (configuration information) that is/are required for transmitting an XR service as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0147].
Regarding claim 17, “wherein the configuration information indicates a PDCCH monitoring start time and a DRX cycle length; and the configuration information further indicates a PDCCH monitoring end time, or a PDCCH monitoring period, or DRX inactivity timing information” is anticipated by the second indication information that indicates the determined DRX parameter and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset (monitoring start time) of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (DRX cycle length) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165]; and where the DRX parameter further includes an inactivity timer field (DRX inactivity timing information) indicating a length of an activity period in the DRX cycle as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0093].
Regarding claim 19, “a communication node, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the program, is caused to: receive information comprising a traffic cycle, a traffic burst arrival time, and a burst arrival time jitter range” is anticipated by a network device (communication node) that receives first indication information (information) from a terminal as shown in step S1501 of Figure 15; where the first indication information indicates a statistical parameter of a delay jitter of an arrival time of a service frame (traffic burst arrival time) or a statistical parameter of a burst length of a service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; where the burst length is a duration (traffic cycle) corresponding to all data packets of the service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; where the statistical parameter of delay jitter includes a distribution range (burst arrival time jitter range) as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0152]; and where the apparatus 2300 of Figure 23 includes a processor 2310 coupled to a memory 2330, the memory 2330 further including instructions (computer program) that are provided to the processor 2310 as spoken of on page 17, paragraph [0257].
Lastly, “acquire traffic information, the traffic information comprising the traffic cycle, a traffic burst arrival start time, and a traffic burst arrival end time from the received information, wherein the traffic burst arrival start time and the traffic burst arrival end time are acquired based on the traffic burst arrival time and the burst arrival time jitter range” is anticipated by the network device that determines (acquires), based on the statistical parameter of the delay jitter or burst length indicated by the first indication information, a DRX parameter and/or a configured grant (CG) resource (traffic information) that is/are required for transmitting an XR service as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0147]; where the CG resource includes a CG cycle (traffic cycle) and CG time/frequency resources as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0088], and where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset of the DRX cycle and a monitoring duration of the DRX cycle (traffic burst arrival start time/end time) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0172].
Regarding claim 20, “a communication node, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the program, is caused to: transmit information comprising a traffic cycle, a traffic burst arrival time, and a burst arrival time jitter range” is anticipated by a network device that receives first indication information (information) from (transmitted by) a terminal (communication node) as shown in step S1501 of Figure 15; where the first indication information indicates a statistical parameter of a delay jitter of an arrival time of a service frame (traffic burst arrival time) or a statistical parameter of a burst length of a service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; where the burst length is a duration (traffic cycle) corresponding to all data packets of the service frame as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0141]; where the statistical parameter of delay jitter includes a distribution range (burst arrival time jitter range) as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0152]; and where the apparatus 2300 of Figure 23 includes a processor 2310 coupled to a memory 2330, the memory 2330 further including instructions (computer program) that are provided to the processor 2310 as spoken of on page 17, paragraph [0257].
“Receive configuration information relevant to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring, the configuration information indicating a PDCCH monitoring occasion” is anticipated by the network device that sends second indication information (configuration information) to (received by) the terminal as shown in step S1502 of Figure 15; where the second indication information indicates the determined DRX parameter and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; and where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (information relevant to PDCCH monitoring) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165].
Lastly, “monitor a PDCCH according to the configuration information” is anticipated by the terminal that, upon receiving the DRX parameter, monitors the PDCCH based on the configured monitoring occasion, and transmits the XR service after detecting the PDCCH as spoken of on page 12, paragraph [0183].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. 2022/0322459) (hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches claim 3 as described above. Xu does not explicitly teach “configuring a periodic buffer status report (BSR) resource or a scheduling request (SR) indication resource within a PDCCH monitoring period; or determining an effective occasion of the periodic BSR resource or SR indication resource based on the PDCCH monitoring period; or indicating an effective time period of the periodic BSR resource or SR indication resource through the configuration information, the PDCCH monitoring period being a predefined time period after receiving a BSR or SR; and the method further comprises: scheduling, in a case of receiving the BSR or SR, resource of an uplink physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for carrying user plane data, wherein the periodic BSR resource or SR indication resource comprises a periodic configured grant (CG) resource, a periodic non-contention physical random access channel (PRACH) resource, and/or an uplink physical signal for indicating allocation of an uplink grant resource.
However, Zhou teaches a method and system of random access with buffer status reporting where DRX configurations are supported as spoken of on page 27, paragraph [0238]; where a wireless device 3410 may trigger a BSR (configuring a periodic buffer status report (BSR) resource) based on uplink data being available for transmission, and may monitor PDCCH transmission for receiving a response (within a PDCCH monitoring period) corresponding to transmission of a preamble of a random access procedure associated with the BSR, and may receive a first uplink grant (configured grant resource) used for transmission of uplink data (user plane data) and/or a BSR MAC CE via the first uplink grant (PUSCH resource) as spoken of on page 42, paragraph [0349].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the BSR configuration as taught in Zhou to the resource allocation of Xu in order to improve the resource allocation process by using BSR to explicitly inform the network of how much uplink data is ready to be transmitted such that a corresponding amount of resource may be allocated, thereby ensuring that resources are not wasted as spoken of on page 42, paragraph [0349] of Zhou.
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches claim 3 as described above. Xu also teaches the second indication information (configuration information) that indicates the determined DRX parameter (for DRX) and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset (monitoring start time) of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (DRX cycle length) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165]; and where the DRX parameter further includes an inactivity timer field (DRX inactivity timing information) indicating a length of an activity period (indicating PDCCH monitoring end time) in the DRX cycle as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0093].
Xu does not explicitly teach “wherein the configuration information is configuration information for discontinuous reception (DRX), and the configuration information indicates a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring start time, a PDCCH monitoring end time, and a DRX cycle length; and wherein monitoring the PDCCH according to the configuration information comprises: within each DRX cycle, monitoring the PDCCH within a specified time interval or monitoring the PDCCH according to a first PDCCH search space, and not monitoring the PDCCH within a non-specified time interval or monitoring the PDCCH according to a second PDCCH search space; or starting to monitor, within each DRX cycle, the PDCCH after sending a BSR or RS, wherein the specified time interval is from a PDCCH monitoring start time to a completion of data packet transmission, or from the PDCCH monitoring start time to a PDCCH monitoring end time, or from sending the BSR or SR to the completion of data packet transmission, or from sending the BSR or SR to the PDCCH monitoring end time.
However, Zhou teaches a method and system of random access with buffer status reporting where DRX configurations are supported as spoken of on page 27, paragraph [0238]; where a wireless device 3410 may trigger a BSR (configuring a periodic buffer status report (BSR) resource) based on uplink data being available for transmission, and may monitor PDCCH transmission for receiving a response (within a PDCCH monitoring period) corresponding to transmission of a preamble of a random access procedure associated with the BSR, and may receive a first uplink grant (configured grant resource) used for transmission of uplink data (user plane data) and/or a BSR MAC CE via the first uplink grant (PUSCH resource) as spoken of on page 42, paragraph [0349].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the BSR configuration as taught in Zhou to the resource allocation of Xu in order to improve the resource allocation process by using BSR to explicitly inform the network of how much uplink data is ready to be transmitted such that a corresponding amount of resource may be allocated, thereby ensuring that resources are not wasted as spoken of on page 42, paragraph [0349] of Zhou.
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 2020/0245395) (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches claim 3 as described above. While Xu also teaches where the second indication information indicates the determined DRX parameter and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset (initial offset) of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (DRX cycle length) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165], Xu does not explicitly teach “wherein the configuration information comprises a plurality of sets of DRX configurations, and each set of DRX configuration comprises a DRX cycle length and a corresponding initial offset; and wherein an occasion of monitoring a PDCCH is a union set of PDCCH monitoring occasions in individual DRX configuration”.
However, Zhang teaches a method and system for enhanced connected mode DRX procedures for NR, where a gNB controls DRX using two DRX configuration sets (plurality of sets of DRX configurations) per MAC entity, where a UE may switch between monitoring between a group common PDCCH and a UE specific PDCCH (union set of PDCCH monitoring occasions) as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a plurality of sets of DRX configurations as taught in Zhang to the PDCCH monitoring configuration process of Xu in order to provide a more adaptive system that supports DRX monitoring of group common PDCCH as well as UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163] of Zhang.
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches claim 3 as described above. While Xu also teaches where the second indication information (configuration information) indicates the determined DRX parameter (for DRX) and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset (monitoring start time) of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (DRX cycle length) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165]; and where the DRX parameter further includes an inactivity timer field (DRX inactivity timing information) indicating a length of an activity period (indicating PDCCH monitoring end time) in the DRX cycle as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0093], Xu does not explicitly teach “wherein the configuration information comprises a plurality of sets of DRX configurations”.
However, Zhang teaches a method and system for enhanced connected mode DRX procedures for NR, where a gNB controls DRX using two DRX configuration sets (plurality of sets of DRX configurations) per MAC entity, where a UE may switch between monitoring between a group common PDCCH and a UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a plurality of sets of DRX configurations as taught in Zhang to the PDCCH monitoring configuration process of Xu in order to provide a more adaptive system that supports DRX monitoring of group common PDCCH as well as UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163] of Zhang.
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches claim 3 as described above. While Xu also teaches where the second indication information (configuration information) indicates the determined DRX parameter (for DRX) and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion (monitoring period(s)) for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (DRX cycle length) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165]; and where the DRX parameter further includes an inactivity timer field (DRX inactivity timing information) indicating a length of an activity period in the DRX cycle as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0093], Xu does not explicitly teach “the configuration information of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring periods comprises: a length of each of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring periods, a number of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring periods, and/or an initial position of each of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring periods”.
However, Zhang teaches a method and system for enhanced connected mode DRX procedures for NR, where a gNB controls DRX using two DRX configuration sets (plurality of sets of DRX configurations) per MAC entity, where a UE may switch between monitoring between a group common PDCCH and a UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163]; and where the UE performs monitoring utilizing an on duration timer value (configuration parameter) expressed in a number of consecutive group common PDCCH monitoring periods (number of plurality of PDCCH monitoring periods) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0167].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a plurality of sets of DRX configurations as taught in Zhang to the PDCCH monitoring configuration process of Xu in order to provide a more adaptive system that supports DRX monitoring of group common PDCCH as well as UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163] of Zhang.
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches claim 3 as described above. While Xu also teaches where a DRX parameter further includes an inactivity timer field (DRX inactivity timing information) indicating a length of an activity period in the DRX cycle as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0093], Xu does not explicitly teach “wherein the configuration information comprises a plurality of sets of DRX configurations”.
However, Zhang teaches a method and system for enhanced connected mode DRX procedures for NR, where a gNB controls DRX using two DRX configuration sets (plurality of sets of DRX configurations) per MAC entity, where a UE may switch between monitoring between a group common PDCCH and a UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a plurality of sets of DRX configurations as taught in Zhang to the PDCCH monitoring configuration process of Xu in order to provide a more adaptive system that supports DRX monitoring of group common PDCCH as well as UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163] of Zhang.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Xu teaches claim 3 as described above. While Xu also teaches where the second indication information (configuration information) indicates the determined DRX parameter (for DRX) and/or the CG resource as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0146]; where the DRX parameter includes a start time offset of a DRX cycle and a monitoring occasion (monitoring period(s)) for a PDCCH within the DRX cycle (DRX cycle length) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0165]; and where the DRX parameter further includes an inactivity timer field (DRX inactivity timing information) indicating a length of an activity period in the DRX cycle as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0093], Xu does not explicitly teach “PDCCH monitoring periods with two lengths” or “PDCCH monitoring periods with two lengths and a ramping-down step for the PDCCH monitoring periods”.
However, Zhang teaches a method and system for enhanced connected mode DRX procedures for NR, where a gNB controls DRX using two DRX configuration sets per MAC entity, where a UE may switch between monitoring between a group common PDCCH and a UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163]; where multiple DRX configuration are coordinated for multiple numerologies (lengths) of the same cell or component carrier as spoken of on page 15, paragraph [0245]; and where a DRX cycle includes a ramp down function (ramping-down step) as spoken of on page 1, paragraph [0006].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a plurality of sets of DRX configurations as taught in Zhang to the PDCCH monitoring configuration process of Xu in order to provide a more adaptive system that supports DRX monitoring of group common PDCCH as well as UE specific PDCCH as spoken of on page 10, paragraph [0163] of Zhang.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Zhou and Lee et al. (U.S. 2023/0051778) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Zhou teach claim 15 as described above. Xu in view of Zhou does not teach “wherein a start time of an Nth DRX cycle is one of the following: a sum of a start time of a first DRX cycle and a result of flooring N-1 traffic cycles; a sum of the start time of the first DRX cycle and a result of ceiling the N-1 traffic cycles; a sum of the start time of the first DRX cycle and an integer closest to the N-1 traffic cycles; a result of flooring a sum of the start time of the first DRX cycle and the N-1 traffic cycles; a result of ceiling a sum of the start time of the first DRX cycle and the N-1 traffic cycles; or a DRX integer cycle position closest to a sum of the start time of the first DRX cycle and the N-1 traffic cycles”.
However, Lee teaches a method and system for configuring DRX cycle periodicity, where a time for a DRX reception occasion (start time of Nth DRX cycle) associated with the DRX cycle periodicity is based at least in part on an adjusted start offset for a DRX reception occasion that is based at least in part on addition to (sum), or subtraction from, a start offset for the DRX reception occasion, and where the start offset for the DRX reception occasion is based on a ceiling operation or a floor operation to the adjusted start offset for the DRX reception occasion as spoken of on page 14, paragraph [0149].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the DRX cycle start time determination taught in Lee to the DRX configuration process of Xu in view of Zhou in order to provide a more adaptive system that can adjust the minimum/maximum sleep/wake times of a DRX cycle according to service/system requirements via use of a flooring or a ceiling operation as spoken of on page 14, paragraph [0149] of Lee.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 2020/0092805) (hereinafter “Zhang 2”).
Regarding claim 18, Xu teaches claim 17 as described above. While Xu further teaches the terminal that, upon receiving the DRX parameter, monitors the PDCCH based on the configured monitoring occasion (from the PDCCH monitoring start time), and transmits the XR service after detecting the PDCCH as spoken of on page 12, paragraph [0183], Xu does not explicitly teach “stop monitoring the PDCCH until any one of the following conditions is satisfied: the PDCCH is monitored after the PDCCH monitoring start time, and a DRX-inactivity timer is turned on after receiving or feeding back hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledge (ACK); the PDCCH is monitored within a timing period of the DRX-inactivity timer, and the DRX-inactivity timer is restarted after receiving or feeding back the HARQ ACK; the PDCCH is not monitored within the timing period of the DRX-inactivity timer, and the DRX-inactivity timer times out; or the PDCCH monitoring end time expires, and the PDCCH is not monitored.
However, Zhang 2 teaches a method and system for scheduling a DRX state, where a UE exits the DRX active state upon the DRX inactivity timer expiring (timing period), and where the UE starts or restarts the DRX inactivity timer when it receives (after receiving or feeding back) an acknowledgement (HARQ ACK) for a UL data transmission or the PDCCH indicates a new data transmission as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0079].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the DRX-inactivity timer adjustment taught in Zhang 2 to the DRX configuration process of Xu in order to provide a more adaptive system that can ensure that the UE is in the DRX active state upon detection of acknowledgement or new data while allowing the UE to remain inactive during other time intervals, thereby conserving power as spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0069], as well as page 5, paragraph [0079] of Zhang 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467