Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 6, it is unclear how the limitation “wherein the predetermined pressure is ten times or more a pressure of a coolant of normal use” is intended to be interpreted. It is unclear what “a pressure of a coolant of normal use” specifically entails. The instant specification defines “even a coolant (water at 0.3 MPa) at a normal pressure” in paragraph [0042]. If “a pressure of a coolant of normal use” is in reference to this 0.3 MPa, that pressure should be reflected in the claim language. Claim 7 is also rejected based on its dependency on claim 6.
In regards to claim 8, it is unclear to the examiner how the limitation “by adhesion” in “wherein the battery cell or the cell joined body is fixed to an adjacent coolant jacket by adhesion” is to be interpreted. It is unclear if the limitation limits adhesion by a new component or process (for example, glue, welding, etc.), or if the limitation is limiting adhesion as a relative term of contact between the two adjacent components. In the case of Xu as cited in the art rejections below, the cooling jacket of Xu expands from the pressure of the cooling liquid within it, allowing for full contact with the battery cell ([0018]). The cooling jacket is therefore effectively united, or “adhered,” to the battery cell by the pressure of the cooling liquid expanding the cooling jacket outward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (CN-103715472-A), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a battery pack comprising: a battery case in a substantially box shape (fig. 1); a plurality of battery cells accommodated in the battery case (fig. 1; cells 1; [0050]); and a plurality of coolant jackets cooling the plurality of battery cells (figs. 1-2; [0050] cooling water jacket 3), wherein each of the coolant jackets comprises two thin plates ([0049]; the cooling water jacket is formed by welding two symmetrical stainless steel or copper plates) having plasticity ([0050] the pressure in the hollow cavity of the cooling water jacket allows the cooling water jacket to expand, giving the hollow cavity a certain range of deformation, meaning that it has plasticity) that are surface-joined to each other (([0049]; two plates are welded together), and a coolant inlet (fig. 1; [0051], inlet channel 3b), a coolant passage (fig. 1; [0051], external inlet and return pipes 4 and 5, alternatively, hollow cavity 3a within the cooling jacket; [0051]), and a coolant outlet (fig. 1; [0051], outlet channel 3c) that are formed as gap portions between the two thin plates (figs. 1-2), the battery cell and the coolant jacket are alternately in surface contact with each other and arranged in a first direction in the battery case (figs. 1-2).
In regards to the limitations of “and by flowing a non-compressed fluid at a predetermined pressure into the coolant passage of each of the coolant jackets to expand the coolant jacket by plastic deformation, the plurality of battery cells and the plurality of coolant jackets are clamped and fixed between two end plates opposed in the first direction.”, these limitations are being interpreted as product by process limitations, as the claim is directed to a battery pack, not a process. The cooling system exemplified by Xu is capable of flowing a non-compressed fluid at a predetermined pressure into the coolant passage of each of the coolant jackets to expand the coolant jacket by plastic deformation, the plurality of battery cells and the plurality of coolant jackets are clamped and fixed between two end plates opposed in the first direction ([0056] the cooling water jacket expands outward with the pressure of the internal fluid to allow full contact of the water jacket with the power battery cell; fig. 1 shows end plates 2a and 2b, labelled fasteners in [0053]; [0014] can flow water, which is inherently a non-compressed fluid as evidenced by paragraph [0028] in the instant specification; [0012] the cooling water jacket is formed through stainless steel or copper plates, which are both inherently plastically deformable).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Xu also teaches wherein the two end plates are ends plates constituting both end parts of a battery cell accommodating part in the battery case (fig. 1 shows end plates 2a and 2b, labelled fasteners in [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US-20240405321-A1), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Xu fails to teach wherein the plurality of battery cells constitute cell joined bodies each with multiple battery cells arranged and joined in a row in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and the cell joined body and the coolant jacket are alternately arranged in surface contact with each other in the first direction in the battery case. However, such battery pack configurations with cell joined bodies are common in the art.
For example, Huang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of temperature control of batteries (Abstract). Haung teaches wherein the plurality of battery cells constitute cell joined bodies each with multiple battery cells arranged and joined in a row in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and the cell joined body and the coolant jacket are alternately arranged in surface contact with each other in the first direction in the battery case (figs. 10-17 shows cell joined bodies each with multiple battery cells joined in a row in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction; [0342]; [0289]; [0292]; [0316]; thermally conductive member 3a, which is also inclusive of partition 33).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu such that the plurality of battery cells constitute cell joined bodies each with multiple battery cells arranged and joined in a row in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and the cell joined body and the coolant jacket are alternately arranged in surface contact with each other in the first direction in the battery case such as in Huang. Such configurations of cell joined bodies with multiple battery cells are known in the art. Further, doing so increases the capacity of the battery (Huang [0794]) and improves the space utilization and energy density of the battery (Huang [0008]; [0275]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Modified Xu also teaches wherein the coolant jacket comprises a one end part protruding from a one end side of the cell joined body in the second direction, and an other end part protruding from an other end side of the cell joined body (Xu figs. 1-4 orifices 4a and 5a or alternatively blocking members 9; [0046]), the coolant inlet comprises a one surface side inlet pipe protruding in the first direction from a one surface side of the one end part (Xu figs. 1-2; [0051]-[0053], inlet channel 3b connected to external input pipe 4), and an other surface side inlet pipe protruding in the first direction from an other surface side of the one end part (Xu external input pipe 4; figs. 1-2; [0051]-[0053], inlet channel 3b connected to external input pipe 4), the coolant outlet comprises a one surface side outlet pipe protruding in the first direction from the one surface side of the other end part (Xu fig. 1; [0051], outlet channel 3c), and an other surface side outlet pipe protruding in the first direction from the other surface side of the other end part (Xu fig. 1; [0051], outlet channel 3c is connected to external return pipe 5), upon bringing two of the coolant jackets adjacent to each other with the cell joined body interposed therebetween, the one surface side inlet pipe of one of the coolant jackets is connected to the other surface side inlet pipe of the other of the coolant jackets, and the one surface side outlet pipe of the one of the coolant jackets is connected to the other surface side outlet pipe of the other of the coolant jackets (Xu figs. 1-4; [0051]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Xu also teaches wherein the predetermined pressure is ten times or more a pressure of a coolant of normal use (this is a limitation relating to “a predetermined pressure” in claim 1 that is interpreted as a product by process claim; as the cooling water jacket of Xu is capable of generating pressure in order to expand the water jacket outward to a certain range of deformation, [0050], it is capable of having a predetermined pressure of ten times or more).
In addition, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the pressure of Xu is optimizable in order for the cooling water jacket to expand to the desired range of deformation to allow for full contact of the water cooling jacket with the object, in this case cell, being cooled, thereby allowing for more effective cooling (Xu [0050]; [0032]). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 7, modified Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Xu also teaches wherein the predetermined pressure is 3 ± 0.5 MPa (this is a limitation relating to “a predetermined pressure” in claim 1 that is interpreted as a product by process claim; as the cooling water jacket of Xu is capable of generating pressure in order to expand the water jacket outward to a certain range of deformation, [0050], it is capable of having a predetermined pressure of 3 ± 0.5 MPa).
In addition, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the pressure of Xu is optimizable in order for the cooling water jacket to expand to the desired range of deformation to allow for full contact of the water cooling jacket with the object, in this case cell, being cooled, thereby allowing for more effective cooling (Xu [0050]; [0032]). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, modified Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Modified Xu also teaches wherein the battery cell or the cell joined body is fixed to an adjacent coolant jacket by adhesion (the cooling jacket of Xu expands from the pressure of the cooling liquid within it, allowing for full contact with the battery cell (Xu [0018]). The cooling jacket of Xu is therefore effectively united, or “adhered,” to the battery cell by the pressure of the cooling liquid expanding the cooling jacket outward; alternatively, Huang teaches connection via an adhesive in [0019]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Huang as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Bräuning et al. (US-20200395644-A1), hereinafter Bräuning.
Regarding claim 5, modified Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Modified Xu fails to teach wherein a connection between the one surface side inlet pipe and the other surface side inlet pipe and a connection between the one surface side outlet pipe and the other surface side outlet pipe are each performed via a flexible hose.
Bräuning is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery cooling systems ([0005]). Bräuning teaches wherein a connection between the one surface side inlet pipe and the other surface side inlet pipe and a connection between the one surface side outlet pipe and the other surface side outlet pipe are each performed via a flexible hose ([0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Xu such that a connection between the one surface side inlet pipe and the other surface side inlet pipe and a connection between the one surface side outlet pipe and the other surface side outlet pipe are each performed via a flexible hose. Doing so allows for significantly easier routing of the fluid (Bräuning [0046]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN-103715472-A), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches a manufacturing method of a battery pack, which is a method of manufacturing a battery pack comprising: a battery case in a substantially box shape (fig. 1); a plurality of battery cells accommodated in the battery case (fig. 1, cells 1; [0050]); and a plurality of coolant jackets cooling the plurality of battery cells (figs. 1-2; [0050] cooling water jacket 3), wherein each of the coolant jackets comprises two thin plates ([0049]; the cooling water jacket is formed by welding two symmetrical stainless steel or copper plates) having plasticity ([0050] the pressure in the hollow cavity of the cooling water jacket allows the cooling water jacket to expand, giving the hollow cavity a certain range of deformation, meaning that it has plasticity) that are surface-joined to each other ([0049]; two plates are welded together), and a coolant inlet (fig. 1; [0051], inlet channel 3b), a coolant passage (fig. 1; [0051], external inlet and return pipes 4 and 5, alternatively, hollow cavity 3a within the cooling jacket; [0051]), and a coolant outlet (fig. 1; [0051], outlet channel 3c) that are formed as gap portions between the two thin plates (figs. 1-2), the manufacturing method comprising: bringing the battery cell and the coolant jacket into surface contact alternately with each other in the battery case to arrange in a first direction in the battery case (figs. 1-2); and flowing a non-compressed fluid ([0050] the cooling liquid can be water, which is inherently a non-compressed fluid, as evidenced by paragraph [0028] in the instant specification) at a predetermined pressure ([0050] generating pressure in the cooling jacket for the cooling jacket to expand outward) into the coolant passage of each of the coolant jackets to expand the coolant jacket ([0050] the pressure expands the cooling water jacket to a certain range of deformation; [0012] the cooling jacket comprises stainless steel or copper plates, which are inherently plastically deformable), thereby clamping and fixing the plurality of battery cells and the plurality of coolant jackets between two end plates opposed in the first direction (fig. 1 shows end plates 2a and 2b, labelled fasteners in [0053]; [0050] pressure causes expansion for full contact with the cell).
While Xu does not explicitly teach to expand the coolant jacket by plastic deformation, Xu does teach that pressure is generated in the cooling jacket such that the cooling jacket expands outward to a certain range of deformation (Xu [0050]). Xu also teaches that the cooling jackets are comprised of stainless steel or copper plates, which are inherently plastically deformable (Xu [0012]). Given that the material of the cooling jacket of Xu is inherently plastically deformable, and the deformation of the cooling jacket allows for full contact with the adjacent cell (Xu [0050]), it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu such that the deformation in Xu is preferably permanent, as is the case with plastic deformation, to maintain the full contact of the cooling jacket with the adjacent cell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20260066387 A1 teaches a cooling plate utilized in a battery pack, and the cooling plate may be made of a material that is plastically deformable ([0072]);
JP H09199186 A teaches a storage battery cooling structure including cooling jackets provided between the battery cells (Abstract).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722