Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art Deshmukh fails to teach receiving data from a web browser/extension in order to generate a signature and share that vulnerability information with other web browsers.
Applicant has only changed the language, but not the subject matter for claim 1. Applicant has failed to amend independent claim 11.
Examiner asserts that while Examiner appreciates Applicants argument that “specific” data is sent from browser plugin, the claim only recites a “request” and “receiving data”. The data is not specified. For example, the data and vulnerability and signature could be derived from observing normal web traffic at the web application firewall.
Examiner asserts that Deshmukh clearly states that once vulnerability information is found/detected then the information is shared and distributed to all systems for remediation. Thus Examiner asserts that the claims are anticipated as stated. Examiner has cited supplemental paragraphs for additional background.
In the interest of expediting prosecution Examiner cites Vatamanu US 2016/0335432 which more explicitly teaches a browser plugin sending specific security data to a server in order to generation a malware signature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-12, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deshmukh US 2023/0231884.
As per claim 1. Deshmukh A method implemented in a set of one or more electronic devices of a web application firewall (WAF) to detect and mitigate vulnerabilities, the method comprising: evaluating requests from a plurality of instances of a web application to detect a vulnerability, the plurality of instances of the web application operable in browsers with browser extensions, each browser extension corresponding to one of the plurality of instances of the web application;
[0036][0037] [0038] [0042] [0044] [0047] [0058] [0118][0119] [0123][0124] [0227]-[0231] (teaches a web application firewall, deep packet inspection, intrusion prevention system, cloud web apps, and api protection; new vulnerabilities, detection of vulnerabilities in browser extensions/plugins, sharing vulnerability data widely once detected to remediate, based on traffic inspection from WAF, and WAAP using browser and plugin data)
Deshmukh teaches generating a signature corresponding to the vulnerability based on data retrieved from at least one of the browser extensions; dynamically providing vulnerability information corresponding to the vulnerability to the browser extensions, the vulnerability information to be used by each browser extension to detect conditions capable of triggering the vulnerability; [0218]-[0225] (generating a signature for vulnerabilities and checking for violations including in a web application, and API rules)
Deshmukh providing the signature to at least one browser extension which has detected the conditions capable of triggering the vulnerability, the at least one browser extension to use the signature to confirm the vulnerability and, once confirmed, to responsively perform mitigation operations including generating an alert to a user or administrator of the browser extension. [0228][0231]-[0233] [0245][0246] (provides a full report including traffic attacks, browser issues, compromised sessions and users, compliance checks for vulnerability, and browser session profiles, applications, taking mitigation actions)
As per claim 4. Deshmukh teaches wherein for the API vulnerability, the data retrieved from the at least one of the browser extensions comprises a path associated with the API call, a history of API calls, or both. [0123] [0134][0148][0157] (unexpected API behavior based on attack, API security, traffic inspection) [0222]-[0225] (signatures including API attacks)
As per claim 7. Deshmukh teaches establishing persistent bi-directional communication channels with the browser extensions, wherein the data retrieved from the each of the browser extensions is to be provided over at least one corresponding persistent bi-directional communication channel, and wherein dynamically providing vulnerability information and providing the signature to the at least one browser extension are performed over at least one corresponding persistent bi-directional communication channel. [0042][0044] [0056] (persistent cloud based internet connection)
As per claim 8. Deshmukh teaches wherein the persistent bi-directional communication channels comprise WebSocket communication channels. [0042] (SSL connection)
As per claim 9. Deshmukh teaches wherein the vulnerability information corresponding to the vulnerability comprises an indication of a path within a corresponding domain. [0042] [0057] (domain filtering in a cloud firewall, restricted domains)
As per claim 10. Deshmukh generating a report including the vulnerability information, the data retrieved from the at least one of the browser extensions, the signature, or any combination thereof; and providing the report to an administrator to aid the administrator in mitigating the vulnerability in subsequent versions of the web application, the browser extension, or both. [0245][0246][0228] (provides a full report including traffic attacks, browser issues, compromised sessions and users, compliance reports, and browser session profiles, applications, taking mitigation actions)
As per claim 11. Deshmukh teaches A non-transitory machine-readable medium having program code stored thereon which, when executed by a set of one or more processors, are to cause operations, comprising: implementing a browser extension associated with a web application instance operable within a browser, the web application instance to send requests and receive responses from a corresponding web application running on a server cluster, and the browser extension to establish a persistent communication channel with a web application firewall (WAF) configured to evaluate the requests and responses and requests and responses from other web application instances to detect a vulnerability; [0036][0037] [0038] [0042] [0044] [0047] [0058] [0118][0119] [0123][0124] [0227]-[0231] (teaches a web application firewall, deep packet inspection, intrusion prevention system, cloud web apps, and api protection; new vulnerabilities, detection of vulnerabilities in browser extensions/plugins, sharing vulnerability data widely once detected to remediate, based on traffic inspection from WAF, and WAAP using browser and plugin data)
Deshmukh teaches receiving from the WAF vulnerability information corresponding to the vulnerability; detecting conditions capable of triggering the vulnerability based on the vulnerability information; receiving a signature corresponding to the vulnerability from the WAF, the signature generated based on data retrieved from another browser extension corresponding to another web application instance in which the vulnerability was detected; [0218]-[0225] (generating a signature for vulnerabilities and checking for violations including in a web application, and API rules)
Deshmukh teaches confirming the vulnerability based on the signature; and responsively performing mitigation operations including generating an alert to a user or administrator of the browser extension. [0228][0231]-[0233] [0245][0246] (provides a full report including traffic attacks, browser issues, compromised sessions and users, compliance checks for vulnerability, and browser session profiles, applications, taking mitigation actions)
As per claim 12. Deshmukh teaches wherein the vulnerability comprises one or both of: a view vulnerability associated with a view generated from the web application instance and an application programming interface (API) vulnerability generated from an API call by the web application instance.
As per claim 17. Deshmukh teaches wherein the persistent communication channel comprises a persistent bi-directional communication channel and wherein the WAF is to establish other persistent bi-direction communication channels with other browser extensions corresponding to the other web application instances. [0037] [0038] [0047] [0042][0044] [0056] (persistent cloud based internet connection including to WAF)
As per claim 18. Deshmukh teaches, wherein the persistent bi-directional communication channel and the other persistent bi-directional communication channels comprise WebSocket communication channels. [0042] (SSL connection)
As per claim 19. Deshmukh teaches wherein the vulnerability information corresponding to the vulnerability comprises an indication of a path within a corresponding domain. [0042] [0057] (domain filtering in a cloud firewall, restricted domains)
As per claim 20. Deshmukh teaches wherein the WAF is to generate a report including the vulnerability information, the data retrieved from another browser extension corresponding to another web application instance, the signature, or any combination thereof, the report to be provided to administrator, to aid the administrator in mitigating the vulnerability in subsequent versions of the web application, the browser extension, or both. [0245][0246][0228] (provides a full report including traffic attacks, browser issues, compromised sessions and users, compliance reports, and browser session profiles, applications, taking mitigation actions)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshmukh US 2023/0231884 in view of Hulick US 2025/0265346
As per claim 2. Hulick teaches wherein the vulnerability comprises one or both of: a view vulnerability associated with a view generated from a corresponding instance of the web application and an application programming interface (API) vulnerability generated from an API call by the corresponding instance of the web application. [0011][0021][0044]-[0046] (teaches a web application history including API calls to determine vulnerability issues)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Hulick with the prior art because it allows prevention of API call vulnerabilities, thus increasing security.
As per claim 3. Hulick teaches wherein for the view vulnerability, the data retrieved from the at least one of the browser extensions comprises a view document object model (DOM), a history of views, or both. [0011][0021][0044]-[0046] (teaches a web application history including APU calls to determine vulnerability issues)
As per claim 13. Hulick teaches, wherein the vulnerability information for the view vulnerability and the signature are generated by the WAF using the data retrieved from another browser extension corresponding to another web application instance, the data comprising a view document object model (DOM), a history of views, or both. [0011][0021][0044]-[0046] (teaches a web application history including APU calls to determine vulnerability issues)
As per claim 14. Hulick teaches, wherein the vulnerability information for the API vulnerability and the signature are generated by the WAF using the data retrieved from another browser extension corresponding to another web application instance, the data comprising a path associated with the API call, a history of API calls, or both. [0011][0021][0044]-[0046] (teaches a web application history including APU calls to determine vulnerability issues)
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshmukh US 2023/0231884 in view of Benameur US 2024/0214348.
As per claim 5. Benameur teaches wherein generating an alert comprises presenting an alert window above an active view of a respective instance the web application, the alert window informing the user of a vulnerability associated with the active view or API call and providing an option to abort the active view or API call or proceed with the active view or API call. [0043][0045] (generating an alert for an API call view and taking remedial action ) Examiner asserts a “pop up” is well known in the art. Deshmukh teaches an interface and window allowing the user to take actions via the interface. [0244]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Benameur with the prior art because it allows immediate remedial action in the case of a malicious attack.
As per claim 6. Benameur teaches wherein generating an alert further comprises presenting a pop-up window at or near a periphery of the active view, the pop-up window including a list of restricted views and APIs associated with the web application. [0043][0045] (generating an alert for an API call view and taking remedial action ) Examiner asserts a “pop up” is well known in the art. Deshmukh teaches an interface and window allowing the user to take actions via the interface. [0244]
As per claim 15. Benameur teaches wherein generating an alert comprises presenting an alert window above an active view of the web application instance, the alert window informing the user of a vulnerability associated with the active view or API call and providing an option to abort the active view or API call or proceed with the active view. [0043][0045] (generating an alert for an API call view and taking remedial action ) Examiner asserts a “pop up” is well known in the art. Deshmukh teaches an interface and window allowing the user to take actions via the interface. [0244]
As per claim 16. Benameur teaches, wherein generating an alert further comprises presenting a pop-up window at or near a periphery of the active view, the pop-up window including a list of restricted views and APIs associated with the web application. [0043][0045] (generating an alert for an API call view and taking remedial action ) Examiner asserts a “pop up” is well known in the art. Deshmukh teaches an interface and window allowing the user to take actions via the interface. [0244]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439