Claims 17-31 are pending and examined herein on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 17-31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dong et al (2006 Plant Cell Rep 25:457-465) in view of Brucker et al (2005 Planta 220:864-874) and in view of Parekh-Omedo et al (2002 Chemistry and Biology 9:1073-1084).
The claims are drawn to a method comprising contacting a plant protoplast with a synthetic single-stranded nucleobase having a length of between 10-60 nucleotides wherein the nucleobase is DNA and has a modification including mismatches and locked nucleic acids and is conjugated to a protein, wherein the modification is chemical to protect against degradation, wherein the locked nucleic acids comprise one or more propyne substitutions, a phosphorothioate linkage or O-methyl analog wherein the contacting is done within a medium comprising Polyethylene glycol known as PEG.
Dong et al teach oligonucleotide-directed gene repair wherein within the methods and process compositions comprising single-stranded repair oligonucleotides wherein the single-stranded nucleobase is 41 bases and has a chemically modified base wherein the 3’ end has an inverted cytosine, targeting the GFP in the plant genome (see first paragraph under Materials and Methods) wherein it contains a mismatch (see Figure 1). It is further noted, that the introduction describes that the prior art teaches oligonucleotide-directed gene conversion of a tobacco ALS gene as in the instant specification.
Dong et al does not teach using PEG-mediated transformation, or the specified locked nucleic acids of the dependent claims.
Brucker et al teach using site-directed mutagenesis using PEG-mediated transformation to alter an endogenous gene, namely the CpHO1 gene in Physcomitrella patens (See Page 2, 2nd column for example).
Parekh-Olmedo et al teach the process of using locked nucleic acids in conjunction with oligonucleotides for targeted nucleotide exchange including vectors 25-74 bases in length with phosphorothioate linkages and O-methyl analogs (see introduction for example in 2nd column of page 1 as well as page 3, Figure 3 showing the positions described in the instant claims.) Parekh-Olmedo et al further explicitly state the advantages of using locked nucleic acids in such DNA repair in that they have low levels of cellular toxicity and elevated levels of intracellular stability (see 1st paragraph under discussion).
Given the state of the art, the breadth of the claims and a review of the teachings of Dong et al, Brucker et al and Parekh-Olmedo et al it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the method taught by Dong et al, using the locked nucleic acids and approach taught by Parekh-Olmedo et al as a choice in design available to one of ordinary skill in the art using PEG-mediated transformation as taught by Brucker et al. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious in conducting DNA repair with single stranded nucleic acids to protect them from DNA degradation using the modified bases as taught by Parekh-Olmedo as taught by Parekh-Olmedo et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-20, and 22-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11008579. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the methods of the patented claims comprise the instantly claimed methods and materials, specifically contacting plant protoplasts with the recited nucleobases in polyethylene glycol.
Claims 17-20, and 22-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11008579. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the methods of the patented claims comprise the instantly claimed methods and materials, specifically contacting plant protoplasts with the recited nucleobases in polyethylene glycol.
No claims are allowed.
/BRENT T PAGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663