Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 6/28/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 35, 36, 38-52, and 55-57 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner does not interpret almond shells or almond tree leaves to read on almond wood. Almond wood under broadest interpretation in light of the specification includes the fibers from the woody part of the tree includes branches and stem (stump). Additionally while bark may be present bark by itself is also not interpreted to be almond wood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35, 36, 38, 39 and 47-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Preparation of Paper sheet from Cellulosic Fibers obtained from Prunus Amygdalus and Tamarisk SP, by MECHI et al., hereinafter MECHI.
As for claims 35, 36, 38, 39 and 47, MECHI discloses a paper sheet with 100% fibers from prunus amygdalus (almond tree) [abstract, pg. 863 col. 2 last par. – pg. 864 col. 1, Table 3].
As for claims 48-52, MECHI makes a paper sheet [Table 3]. The use of the paper sheet as a sanitary paper, tissue or napkin is an intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35, 36, 38, 40-52, 55, 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2009/0311478 EHLERDING et al., hereinafter EHLERDING, in view of Fiber dimensions, lignin and cellulose content of various plant materials and their suitability for paper production, Industrial Crops and Products, VERVERIS et al., hereinafter VERVERIS.
As for claim 35, 36, 38, 40 and 41, EHLERDING discloses a multi-ply sanitary tissue product [0025]. EHLERDING discloses a first ply comprises 70 to 95% virgin fibers [0047 and 0 to 35% recycled fibers [0043]. EHLERDING discloses the first ply can have 100% virgin hardwood fibers [0043]. The virgin fibers can be hardwood fibers [0045]. The first ply reads on “paper product” prior to joining with the second ply.
EHLERDING does not discloses almond tree fibers.
VERVERIS discloses that hardwood can be replaced in low to moderate portions in tissue products with almond tree pulp [pg. 252 col. 2 4.]
VERVERIS discloses pulping almond trees [abstract; pg. 246 col. 2 2.1]
At the time of the invention it would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a moderate amount of hardwood fibers with almond tree pulped fibers. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so by VERVERIS to use residue from crops where there are insufficient wood resources [pg. 245 col. 1]. The almond tree waste is typically burned and therefore the use of almond tree pulp is a higher value add [pg. 246 col. 2 2.1]. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as VERVERIS states that that hardwood can be replaced in low to moderate portions in tissue products with almond tree pulp
The Examiner interprets a moderate replacement as about 50%. Therefore the first ply with 100% virgin fiber would have about 50% hardwood and 50% almond tree pulp. A first ply with 95% virgin fiber and 5% recycled fiber would have about 47.5%. Alternatively, it is prima facie obvious to optimize concentration through routine experimentation. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to optimize concentration of almond fiber used to replace hardwood fiber through routine experimentation (which is a result effective variable) [MPEP 2144.04 (II)(A). The person of ordinary skill in the art would look to balance the worse properties of almond fibers versus the cost compared to hardwood fibers.
Differences in concentration are typically prima facie obvious absent evidence of criticality.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.
As for claim 42, the recycled paper of EHLERDING can be from newsprint (ONP) and deinked fibers [0020].
As for claim 43, EHLERDING discloses chemically pulped wood fibers [0016]. The use of sawdust versus chips to produce the fibers is a product by process limitation.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
As for claim 44, EHLERDING discloses chemically pulped virgin wood fibers [0016]. The use of sawdust versus chips to produce the fibers is a product by process limitation. A first ply with 95% virgin fiber and 5% recycled fiber would have about 47.5% almond fiber as per supra (a moderate substitution of almond wood fiber).
As for claims 45 and 46, EHLERDING discloses a first ply comprises 70 to 95% virgin hardwood fibers which falls within the claimed range and 0 to 35% recycled fibers which overlaps the claimed range [0043].
As for claims 47, EHLERDING discloses the first ply can have 100% virgin hardwood fibers [0043] and a moderate amount of those fibers can be substituted with almond fibers as per the combination with VERVERIS above.
As for claims 48-52, EHLERDING discloses a multi-ply sanitary tissue product [0025]. This includes absorbent towels (wiper), facial tissue and bath tissue[0025].
As for claim 55, the first ply of EHLERDING can comprise 100% virgin hardwood fibers of which a portion are substituted with almond wood fibers as per supra. [0047]. The second ply can comprise 100% recycled fibers (therefore no almond fibers) [0044].
As for claim 56, the first ply of EHLERDING can comprise 100% virgin hardwood fibers of which a portion are substituted with almond wood fibers as per supra. [0043]. The second ply can comprise 0-35% hardwood virgin fibers [0044] of which a portion are substituted with almond wood fibers as per supra.
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748