DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The examiner is unclear of what the notation of '(N-R)' means. The examiner interprets this to mean N through R pieces, however, the claim refers to R as a subset of N.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda, Daiki et al. (WO 2021044602 A1, hereinafter referred to as Takeda).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda teaches a communication method, comprising:
sending N pieces of first information on a same time domain resource and N frequency domain resources (Takeda discloses sending a plurality of pieces of information in the form of SSBs. It is arranged in one OFDM symbol in the time domain and across many frequency resource blocks. Takeda also discloses that the base station is sending transmits the SSBs to the terminal. See paragraphs [0022], [0030] and [0041]).
wherein the N frequency domain resources are in a one-to-one correspondence with the N pieces of the first information (Takeda discloses there being a frequency resource block for each piece of information. See Figure 3).
the N pieces of the first information include one or more of the following: a synchronization signal - OR - system information, - OR - N is a positive integer greater than 1 (Takeda discloses that the pieces of first information can be system information or a synchronization signal. See paragraphs [0018] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending the N pieces of the first information on a same time domain resource and N frequency domain resources includes:
sending the N pieces of the first information that are same on the same time domain resource and the N frequency domain resources (Takeda discloses that the pieces of first information are repeated in the arrangement of one time resource and multiple frequency resources. See paragraphs [0041-0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the sending the N pieces of the first information includes:
sending indexes of the N pieces of the first information that are the same (Takeda discloses SSBs with index numbers to distinguish between the pieces of information. See paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Takeda teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the system information includes:
a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (Takeda discloses that the system information includes a PBCH. See paragraphs [0018] and [0022]).
and the sending the N pieces of the first information includes sending the N pieces of the first information that meet at least one of the following:
information carried on PBCHs included in all of the N pieces of the first information is the same;
demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) for PBCHs included in all of the N pieces of the first information are the same;
or beam directions of all of the N pieces of the first information are the same (Takeda discloses that the beam directions can be repeatedly arranged. See paragraph [0041-0042] and Figure 10).
Regarding claim 5, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 1. Takeda also disclose that the terminal receives the SSB from the base station. See paragraph [0031].
Regarding claim 6, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, Takeda teaches wherein the receiving the one or more of the N pieces of the first information includes:
receiving N pieces of the first information having a time-frequency domain resource corresponding to second reference information that cannot be used for downlink data transmission, a time-frequency domain resource corresponding to one or more of the N pieces of the first information other than the second reference information are used for downlink data transmission, and the second reference information is one of the N pieces of the first information (Takeda discloses there reserved frequencies for control data and other data. See paragraphs [0025] and [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claims 2 and 6.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Ma, Liangping et al. (US 20210385773 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ma).
Regarding claim 9, Takeda teaches all aspects of the claimed invention except receiving two pieces of the first information having a spacing between center frequency domain locations of the two pieces of the first information that are adjacent in N pieces of the first information that is an integer multiple of a synchronization raster.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma discloses mapping the center position of the SSB that shifts in frequency by integer multiples of the synchronization raster step size. See paragraphs [0094] and [0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Takeda reference to incorporate using the synchronization raster as a step size for the frequency location. The motivation to combine is conserve power by reducing search time and increasing the speed of SSB detection.
Regarding claim 10, Takeda teaches all aspects of the claimed invention except receiving N pieces of the first information having a frequency domain location that is determined based on a frequency domain location of first reference information, and the first reference information belongs to the N pieces of the first information.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma discloses determining the frequency location based on the frequency location of the first SSB out of a plurality of SSBs. The examiner interprets the first SSB to be the first reference information and part of the N pieces of the first information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Takeda reference to incorporate using the first frequency location to determine the others. The motivation to combine is to predict and locate the other data efficiently and reduce overhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Geng, Tingting et al. (US 20190349887 A1, COMMUNICATION METHOD AND RELATED APPARATUS)
Lin, Yanan et al. (US 20200092872 A1, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING DATA, TERMINAL DEVICE AND NETWORK DEVICE)
Lu, Zhenwei et al. (US 20200280915 A1, COMMUNICATION METHOD AND TERMINAL DEVICE)
Park, Changhwan et al. (WO 2019066575 A1, METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR TRANSMITTING OR RECEIVING WIRELESS SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM)
Zhang, Xingwei et al. (US 20200120647 A1, MESSAGE TRANSMISSION METHOD AND APPARATUS, TERMINAL, AND BASE STATION)
/C.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464