DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and computer implemented method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Newly added claims 21-29 are the mere embodiment of the method of Group II accompanied with a generic computer device, and are therefore correctly grouped with the computer method. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stribling (US PG Pub No. 2009/0259128, Published Oct. 15,2009) (hereinafter “Stribling”).
Regarding claim 2, Stribling teach a system for imaging tissue, the system comprising: first and second ultrasound transducer arrays configured to secure to first and second surface locations, respectively, the first and second ultrasound transducer arrays being positioned in relation to tissue (see [0069]-[0071]); and a processor circuit operatively coupled to the first and second ultrasound transducer arrays, the processor circuit configured to operate the first and second ultrasound transducer arrays for pulse-echo imaging of the tissue, to generate respective first and second volumetric ultrasound image data sets in real-time to provide an integrated volumetric image of the tissue from the first and second surface locations (see [0072]).
Regarding claim 3, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, wherein the first and second surface locations correspond to a first side and a second side of a neck, respectively, and the tissue comprises a soft tissue-airway interface for assessing obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) (see [0067], [0080]).
Regarding claim 4, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, wherein the first volumetric ultrasound image data set includes pulse-echo image data that corresponds to a first portion of the tissue that is closest to the first ultrasound transducer array and is free of image data that corresponds to the tissue that is in a shadow of the first portion relative to the first ultrasound transducer array (see [0069]-[0071]); and wherein the second volumetric ultrasound image data set includes pulse-echo image data that corresponds to a second portion of the tissue that is closest to the second ultrasound transducer array and is free of image data that corresponds to the tissue that is in a shadow of the second portion relative to the second ultrasound transducer array (see [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 5, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, further comprising: additional ultrasound transducer arrays, spaced apart from the first and second ultrasound transducer arrays, the additional ultrasound transducer arrays configured to secure to other surface locations wherein each of the additional ultrasound transducer arrays is configured to transmit and receive ultrasound beams for pulse-echo imaging of the tissue from the other surface locations (see [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 6, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, wherein the first array of ultrasound transducers and the second array of ultrasound transducers are part of the same ultrasound imaging system (see [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, further comprising a registration system, wherein the registration system determines relative positions of the first and second ultrasound transducer arrays in three-dimensional space (see [0072]).
Regarding claim 9, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, wherein the processor circuit is operatively coupled to at least one of an EEG, plethysmograph, electrocardiogram, electromyogram (EMG), electrooculogram (EOG), nasal thermistor airflow sensor, nasal pressure airflow sensor, inductance plethysmography belt, oxygen saturation (SaO2), surrogate marker of REM sleep, pulsatile arterial tomography (PAT signal), microphone for detection of snoring, real- time apnea detection device, or an actigraph (“The CPU 414 that captures the information received by the elements also has the capability of transmitting the information to a remote CPU 420 through traditional means such as the Internet, direct link connection, Network connection, wireless connection and the like.” see [0055).
Regarding claim 10, Stribling teach the The system of Claim 2, further comprising a third ultrasound transducer array configured to secure to a third surface location, the third ultrasound transducer array being positioned in relation to the tissue, wherein the processor circuit is configured to operate the third ultrasound transducer array for pulse-echo imaging of the tissue, to generate a third volumetric ultrasound image data set, the processor circuit generates the integrated volumetric image of the tissue based on the first, second, and third volumetric ultrasound image data sets (see [0069]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 11, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, wherein the first and second volumetric ultrasound image data sets are each generated in real-time with reference to a time interval, and wherein generating the integrated volumetric image comprises integrating the first and second volumetric ultrasound image data sets with reference to the time interval (see [0069]-[0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stribling (US PG Pub No. 2009/0259128, Published Oct. 15,2009) (hereinafter “Stribling”) in view of Wiley et al. (US PG Pub No. 2008/0281197 A1) (hereinafter “Wiley et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Stribling teach the system of Claim 2, wherein the first ultrasound transducer array comprises an array of ultrasound transducers supported by a body member but fail to explicitly teach wherein the surface location is secured via an adhesive layer. However, Wiley et al. from the same field of endeavor do teach wherein the surface location is secured via an adhesive layer (see [0034]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the invention of claim 2 with the features of Wiley et al. for the benefit of fixatedly moving and positioning the surface of interest relative to the transducers.
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797