DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,075,468 to Min et al in view of Hardwick (as cited by Applicant).
In the specification and figures, Min discloses the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant. With regard to claims 1, 6, Min discloses a reusable centrifuge, pump, and valve assembly for use with a disposable fluid flow circuit (see FIG 2 and accompanying text, col 1 ln 22-26). The disposable circuit comprises a processing chamber 18, a blood supply container 312, a plasma collection container 304, a red blood cell container 308 (see col 7, ln 51-55; col 12, ln 18-32). A controller may be used to run various blood collection applications 254, which may vary (see col 18, ln 13-23). In a red blood cell and plasma collection procedure, the pump and valve system convey whole blood to a separation system, separating WB into plasma and red blood cells, collecting each in their respective containers (see col 34, ln 15-51). Min further discloses collection of a third component, the buffy coat, in a third container 376 (see col 59, ln 39-67). Min also discloses that the apparatus may be programmed in many different ways, including process to retain some of the plasma for storage or fractionation purposes (see col 61, ln 63 to col 62, ln 9). Min does not expressly disclose the step of separating the plasma into two separate containers.
However, Hardwick discloses that it is known in the art to process whole blood into various parts such that the components may be stored under ideal conditions, and maximizes the use of a single donation (see FIG 11-1, p 148). To that end, Hardwick illustrates a procedure wherein whole blood is separated into red cells, plasma, and platelets, wherein the plasma is further separated into a first portion of liquid plasma for therapeutic purposes, and a second portion for fractionation in order to maximize the use of excess plasma (see p163, 170-171). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to program the Min apparatus to separate collected plasma into separate parts such as fresh plasma, and plasma for fractionation, in order to maximize a single donation, as taught by Hardwick.
With regard to claims 2, 7 and 8, Min discloses that fluid weight may be used to determine target collection volumes and control the system (see col 19, ln 9-20).
With regard to claims 3-4, 9-10, Min discloses that the system may be programmed to move the fluid in a manner consistent with the desired collection protocol (see col 98, ln 44-68).
With regard to claims 5, 11, Min discloses the use of an additive solution being combined with collected red blood cells (see col 91, ln 42-col 92, ln 34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art generally teaches an apparatus for separating and collecting two separate plasma products in an apheresis session, the prior art fails to teach the priming steps claimed by Applicant. While Min discloses a priming operation, Min does not teach an apparatus with a controller that is programmed to execute a priming stage in which a controller controls a centrifuge to rotate at a first and second target rate or first and second target orientation while pumping fluid, along with the other steps and limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 10 June 2026