DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delaplagne (US 2016/0187426 A1 hereinafter Delaplagne) in view of Kulkarni et al. (US 2014/0236511 A1 hereinafter Kulkarni) and further in view of Plett (US 7,321,220 B2 hereinafter Plett).
As to claim 1, Delaplagne discloses a battery health state assessment method applied to a battery equalizer (battery management system with balancing/equalizing functions; ¶ [0002], [0007], [0009]), wherein a plurality of connection ports of the battery equalizer correspondingly connect a plurality of cells in a battery assembly to perform charge and discharge control on the battery assembly (connections to multiple elementary batteries/cells in pack for control; ¶ [0007], [0009]), comprising: starting a cell corresponding to the connection port in the battery assembly by the connection port of the battery equalizer, and performing discharge control on the cell until a cutoff voltage (initiating discharge to low SOC/cutoff via management system; ¶ [0002], [0012]); performing charge control on the cell until a preset cell load rated capacity, and performing discharge control on the cell until the cutoff voltage, and generating cell discharge efficiency information (controlled charging/discharging between SOC/capacity points, measuring charge Ah/yields implying efficiency; ¶ [0005]-[0006], [0010]-[0012]); performing charge and discharge cycle control on the cell and acquiring corresponding charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information (repeated charge/discharge phases/cycles with data acquisition for yields/efficiency; ¶ [0006], [0011]-[0012]); using a cell load algorithm to calculate and generate a cell load actual capacity information based on the cell discharge efficiency information and the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information (algorithm computes actual capacity Ah/Cref(t) from charge/efficiency data; ¶ [0010]); and generating a cell health state assessment information according to the ratio between the cell load actual capacity and the cell load rated capacity (SOH as ratio Ah(tr)/Ah(t0); ¶ [0003], [0010]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose performing charge control on the cell according to a preset constant charge power and performing discharge control on the cell according to a preset constant discharge power. However, Kulkarni teaches performing charge/discharge control according to controlled operations with efficiency corrections (controlled currents in charge/discharge, including constant modes for steady states; ¶ [0004]-[0005], [0006]; coulomb counting with efficiency via offsets; ¶ [0006]-[0007]: Eq. 2). Plett teaches performing charge control on the cell according to a preset constant charge power and performing discharge control on the cell according to a preset constant discharge power (calculating and maintaining maximum constant charge/discharge power for a time horizon Δt using cell models and power limits; col. 3, lines 40-50; col. 4, lines 10-20: "maximum charge power" and "maximum discharge power" based on limits). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Kulkarni) with Plett's constant power techniques to provide precise, real-time power predictions that better reflect dynamic applications, as constant power is a standard test mode for capacity/SOH in power-sensitive systems (Plett col. 1, lines 15-30).
As to claim 2, Delaplagne discloses the battery health state assessment method according to claim 1, before starting the cell in the battery assembly corresponding to the connection port by the connection port of the battery equalizer, further comprising: judging whether the current voltage of the cell is greater than a preset cutoff voltage (pre-check voltage/SOC against thresholds; ¶ [0002], [0012]); and if the current voltage is greater than the cutoff voltage, executing the step of starting the cell in the battery assembly corresponding to the connection port by the connection port of the battery equalizer (initiate if voltage implies above cutoff; ¶ [0012]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose judging whether the current voltage of the cell is greater than a preset cutoff voltage according to the acquired cell state signal. However, Kulkarni teaches judging whether the current voltage of the cell is greater than a preset cutoff voltage according to the acquired cell state signal and conditional execution (voltage/current thresholds for method initiation/switching based on acquired signals; ¶ [0004]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Plett) with Kulkarni's signal-based thresholds to ensure safe and accurate cycle starts (Kulkarni ¶ [0008]).
As to claim 3, Delaplagne discloses the battery health state assessment method according to claim 2, wherein the generating cell discharge efficiency information comprises: recording a charge control time for the cell and generating charge control time information (time tracking in derivative evaluation; ¶ [0011]-[0012]); judging whether the current load of the cell reaches a cell load rated capacity according to the current load information about the acquired cell (monitor to SOC/capacity thresholds; ¶ [0010]); stopping charge control and generating charge control amount variation information if the current load of the cell reaches the cell load rated capacity (stop at point, record Ah variations; ¶ [0010]); judging whether the current voltage of the cell is greater than the cutoff voltage according to the acquired cell state signal (voltage checks; ¶ [0012]); performing discharge control on the cell and generating discharge control time information if the current voltage is greater than the cutoff voltage (discharge with time tracking; ¶ [0012]); judging whether the current voltage of the cell is equal to the cutoff voltage according to the newly acquired cell state signal (monitor to cutoff; ¶ [0002], [0012]); stopping discharge control on the cell and generating discharge control amount variation information if the current voltage is equal to the cutoff voltage (stop and record variations; ¶ [0012]); and calculating and generating the cell discharge efficiency information according to the discharge control time information and the discharge control time information [sic; charge/discharge times] (compute from time/charge; ¶ [0010]-[0011]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose generating charge control amount variation information and generating discharge control amount variation information, or calculating and generating the cell discharge efficiency information according to the discharge control time information and the charge control time information. However, Kulkarni teaches generating charge control amount variation information and generating discharge control amount variation information, and calculating and generating the cell discharge efficiency information according to the discharge control time information and the charge control time information (ΔT, i[n] variations in efficiency-corrected Ah; ¶ [0006]-[0007]). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Plett) with Kulkarni's variations for precise coulomb integration (Kulkarni ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 4, Delaplagne discloses the battery health state assessment method according to claim 3, wherein the performing charge and discharge cycle control on the cell according to the constant charge power and the constant discharge power, and acquiring corresponding charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information, comprises: performing charge and discharge cycle control based on the constant charge power and the constant discharge power sequentially on the cell, the charge and discharge cycle control comprising the charge control based on the constant charge power and the discharge control based on the constant discharge power (sequential charge/discharge in cycles; ¶ [0006], [0011]-[0012]); and acquiring charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information corresponding to the charge and discharge cycle control (acquire Ah/derivatives; ¶ [0010]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose performing charge and discharge cycle control based on the constant charge power and the constant discharge power sequentially on the cell, the charge and discharge cycle control comprising the charge control based on the constant charge power and the discharge control based on the constant discharge power. However, Plett teaches performing charge and discharge cycle control based on the constant charge power and the constant discharge power sequentially on the cell, the charge and discharge cycle control comprising the charge control based on the constant charge power and the discharge control based on the constant discharge power (maintaining constant power in charge/discharge models; col. 3, lines 40-50). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Kulkarni) with Plett's constant power for realistic load simulation (Plett col. 1, lines 15-30).
As to claim 5, Delaplagne discloses the battery health state assessment method according to claim 4, wherein the acquiring charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information corresponding to the charge and discharge cycle control, comprises: acquiring charge and discharge cycle control time information of the charge control and charge and discharge cycle control amount variation information of the discharge control (time/charge variations; ¶ [0011]); and calculating and generating the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information based on the charge and discharge cycle control time information and the charge and discharge cycle control amount variation information (compute efficiency proxies; ¶ [0010]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose acquiring charge and discharge cycle control time information of the charge control and charge and discharge cycle control amount variation information of the discharge control, and calculating and generating the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information based on the charge and discharge cycle control time information and the charge and discharge cycle control amount variation information. However, Kulkarni teaches acquiring charge and discharge cycle control time information of the charge control and charge and discharge cycle control amount variation information of the discharge control, and calculating and generating the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information based on the charge and discharge cycle control time information and the charge and discharge cycle control amount variation information (ΔT and variations in Eq. 2; ¶ [0007]). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Plett) with Kulkarni's calculations for error compensation (Kulkarni ¶ [0008]).
As to claim 6, Delaplagne discloses the battery health state assessment method according to claim 5, wherein the using a cell load algorithm to calculate and generate a cell load actual capacity information based on the cell discharge efficiency information and the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information, comprises: acquiring time, voltage and current in the cell discharge efficiency information and the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information as target parameters (acquire time, voltage, implied current in Ah; ¶ [0012]); and inputting the target parameter into the cell load algorithm to generate the cell load actual capacity information (input to compute Ah(tr); ¶ [0010]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose acquiring time, voltage and current in the cell discharge efficiency information and the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information as target parameters. However, Kulkarni teaches acquiring time, voltage and current in the cell discharge efficiency information and the charge and discharge cycle control efficiency information as target parameters (voltage/current in equations; ¶ [0005]-[0006]). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Plett) with Kulkarni's parameters for comprehensive estimation (Kulkarni ¶ [0006]).
As to claim 7, Delaplagne discloses the battery health state assessment method according to claim 6, wherein the generating a cell health state assessment information according to the ratio between the cell load actual capacity and the cell load rated capacity, comprises: acquiring a plurality of groups of the cell load actual capacity information and the cell load rated capacity information generated based on a plurality of the charge and discharge cycle controls (multi-cycle data groups; ¶ [0011]); generating a cell health state estimation curve based on a plurality of groups of ratios between the cell load actual capacity and the cell load rated capacity (evolution curves of ratios/derivatives; ¶ [0011]); and generating the cell health state assessment information according to the cell health state estimation curve (SOH from curve points; ¶ [0010]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose acquiring a plurality of groups of the cell load actual capacity information and the cell load rated capacity information generated based on a plurality of the charge and discharge cycle controls, and generating a cell health state estimation curve based on a plurality of groups of ratios between the cell load actual capacity and the cell load rated capacity. However, Kulkarni teaches acquiring a plurality of groups of the cell load actual capacity information and the cell load rated capacity information generated based on a plurality of the charge and discharge cycle controls, and generating a cell health state estimation curve based on a plurality of groups of ratios between the cell load actual capacity and the cell load rated capacity (least squares on multi-sample data for estimation; ¶ [0008]). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Plett) with Kulkarni's multi-group processing for robust trending (Kulkarni ¶ [0008]).
As to claims 8-14, Delaplagne discloses a computer apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, the memory having stored thereon a computer program, which when executed by the processor implements the method according to claims 1-7 (management system with processor/memory executing algorithms; ¶ [0001], [0012]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose a computer apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, the memory having stored thereon a computer program, which when executed by the processor implements the method according to claims 1-7. However, Kulkarni teaches a computer apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, the memory having stored thereon a computer program, which when executed by the processor implements the method according to claims 1-7 (ECU with storage/processor; ¶ [0006]; Figs. 1,5). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Plett) with Kulkarni's hardware for automated implementation (Kulkarni ¶ [0009]).
As to claims 15-20, Delaplagne discloses a computer-readable storage medium, having stored thereon a computer program comprising program instructions, which when executed by a processor implement the method according to claims 1-6 (stored algorithms in management system; ¶ [0001]).
Delaplagne does not explicitly disclose a computer-readable storage medium, having stored thereon a computer program comprising program instructions, which when executed by a processor implement the method according to claims 1-6. However, Kulkarni teaches a computer-readable storage medium, having stored thereon a computer program comprising program instructions, which when executed by a processor implement the method according to claims 1-6 (stored states/programs in EEPROM; ¶ [0006]). It would have been obvious to modify Delaplagne (as modified by Plett) with Kulkarni's medium for persistent software storage (Kulkarni ¶ [0006]).
Conclusion
/TUNG X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/7/2026