DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 6 applicant argues the combination fails to teach or suggest “a control circuit configured to control the one or more switch circuits to alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load based on a signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly,” contending that Zimmanck’s switching is based on grid voltage (line voltage sampler 144) rather than connector amplitude, and that modifying Zimmanck to use connector amplitude would render it inoperable.
Zimmanck discloses a control circuit 114 configured to control switch circuits in the AC stage to alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load (lines L1 and L2). In particular, unfurling bridge 160, including switches 162‑1, 162‑2, 164‑1, and 164‑2, is driven by controller 114 to generate an AC waveform on L1 / L2, alternately passing positive and negative portions of the current waveform, thereby alternately reversing the connections between the first and second nodes of the load (see fig. 1-2, para 0020-0022, para 0026). Zimmanck further discloses that controller 114 operates based on sampled signal amplitudes obtained from current sampler 112, voltage sampler 138, and line voltage sampler 144 i.e., the control decisions for switching frequency and bridge operation are functions of measured voltage and current magnitudes (para 0019, para 0022, para 0024-0026). Thus, Zimmanck already teaches a control circuit configured to control switch circuits that alternately reverse connections between first and second load nodes based on signal amplitudes.
Windgassen contributes the specific electrical connector assembly context. Windgassen teaches a first and second housing (H1, H2) including mating components P1, P2, R1, R2 that form an electrical connector assembly configured to provide and receive a constant‑polarity voltage signal (for example, 50 VDC applied to the contacts; see fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, para 0013-0018, para 0020-0022, para 0024-0027). Windgassen further discloses that when 50 VDC is applied, a voltage drop of about 180 mV appears across the contacts and wiring to the connectors, explicitly characterizing the signal amplitude at the contacts of the connector assembly (fig. 2, para 0021).
In view of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Zimmanck’s controller 114 already operates by sampling signal amplitudes at various nodes (112, 138, 144) and using those amplitudes to control when and how the switch circuits alternately reverse the load connections. Incorporating Windgassen’s electrical connector assembly into the resonant DC‑AC inverter of Zimmanck and relocating or supplementing one of the existing amplitude‑sampling points to the connector assembly where Windgassen shows a well‑defined constant‑polarity voltage and measured voltage drop at the contacts would have been a routine control‑engineering design choice to monitor signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly for safe and reliable operation of the self‑passivating contacts. Such relocation of a feedback sampling node within an existing amplitude‑based control loop constitutes the predictable use of known techniques to improve similar devices (MPEP 2143), and would not render Zimmanck inoperable: the control loop can continue to use line‑voltage samples for grid‑phase synchronization while additionally basing timing of polarity reversals on amplitude conditions at the connector assembly.
Accordingly, when properly viewed as a combination, Zimmanck provides the control circuit that alternately reverses connections between first and second load nodes based on sampled signal amplitude, and Windgassen provides the electrical connector assembly and demonstrates the presence of a measurable signal amplitude at the connector contacts; it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to base the switching control on the amplitude sampled at the connector assembly of Windgassen in the combined system. Applicant’s “inoperability” assertion is therefore not persuasive.
Hence applicant respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments and claim 6 stands rejected, The arguments also apply to claim 15 hence claims 15 also stands rejected.
Regarding claim 19 applicant argues the combination fails to teach or suggest “reconstruct from the constant polarity voltage signal the AC current as an output signal, wherein the output signal has the same frequency and amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input,” contending that Zimmanck lacks an AC input to reconstruct and that Wu is merely an “AC‑to‑DC rectifier for pre‑charging” that does not reconstruct constant‑polarity back to AC matching an upstream AC input.
As discussed above, Zimmanck discloses reconstructing an AC output from a constant‑polarity / rectified signal. On the secondary side, high‑frequency current derived from the resonant DC stage is rectified and filtered by capacitors 156 and 158, producing a positive fully‑rectified waveform that is then applied to unfurling bridge 160; bridge 160 alternately reconnects this waveform to lines L1 and L2 to generate a sinusoidal AC output current (see fig. 1-2, graph 220-240, para 0020-0022, para 0026, para 0030-0034). Zimmanck further teaches that this AC output is synchronized to the AC line: controller 114 adjusts switching such that current Is “modulated at twice the AC line frequency,” and the unfurled current waveform 224 is in phase with AC line voltage 226 (fig. 2; para 0021, para 0026, para 0034). Thus, Zimmanck provides an AC reconstruction stage that outputs a waveform having the same frequency as the AC line and in phase with that line.
Windgassen, as noted above, supplies the claimed electrical connector assembly that carries a constant‑polarity voltage (e.g., 50 VDC) and is configured to provide and receive that constant‑polarity voltage between housings H1 and H2 using P1, P2, R1, and R2 (fig. 1, fig. 5-6; para 0013-0018, para 0020-0022, para 0024-0027).
Wu provides the remaining aspects of the claimed reconstruction relationship between an AC input and the reconstructed AC output. Wu teaches an AC deconstruction circuit that receives AC input from an AC source and transforms that AC input into a constant‑polarity voltage signal (see fig. 2; para 0029-0033, para 0037, para 0039-0043, para 0063-0064). Wu further teaches that PLL 212 is used to synchronize the amplitude and phase of the grid‑side voltage and to control the conversion such that the output voltage has the same amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input (elements 212, 216, 218, 210, 208, 204; fig. 2; para 0014, para 0031, para 0039-0046). In other words, Wu explicitly addresses matching frequency, amplitude, and phase between an AC input and the controlled signal derived through an AC‑to‑constant‑polarity conversion.
In the combined system, Zimmanck supplies the resonant DC‑AC topology and the AC reconstruction circuit that converts a constant‑polarity / rectified waveform back to AC on L1 / L2 at the same frequency as the AC line and in phase with that line; Windgassen supplies the electrical connector assembly that transports the constant‑polarity voltage between components; and Wu supplies the PLL‑based synchronization and amplitude regulation that ensure the reconstructed AC has the same frequency and amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with that AC input. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to employ Wu’s known PLL‑based sync and amplitude‑matching technique in the Zimmanck / Windgassen system so that the AC reconstructed downstream of the connector assembly matches the AC input in frequency, amplitude, and phase, for the familiar purpose of reducing circulating currents and achieving proper grid interaction (predictable combination of familiar elements per KSR and MPEP 2143).
Applicant’s characterization of Wu as “merely” an AC‑to‑DC pre‑charge rectifier overlooks Wu’s explicit teaching that PLL 212 is used to synchronize grid‑side voltage amplitude and phase, and that the controlled signal is made to have the same amplitude and phase as the AC input from the AC source (see para 0042 and cited portions in the Office action); this directly supplies the “same frequency and amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input” relationship recited in the claims, when used in combination with the AC reconstruction stage of Zimmanck and the connector assembly of Windgassen. Applicant’s assertion is therefore not persuasive.
Hence applicant respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments and claim 19 stands rejected, the arguments also apply to claim 24 hence claims 24 also stands rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmanck (US 2014/0268898 A1) in view of Windgassen et al. (US 2016/0233607 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zimmanck teaches a system for providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage the system (see fig.1, and para 0015, 0023, 0026), comprising : an assembly configured to provide a constant-polarity voltage signal; (see 160, 220 fig.1,2 para 0026, 0033 Zimmanck provides a stage that provides rectified/constant polarity waveform); and an AC reconstruction circuit (see 160 fig.2, para 0020-0022, 0026, 0030-0034) ;configured to receive the constant-polarity voltage signal from the assembly and reconstruct from the constant-polarity voltage signal the alternating current as an output signal (see L1/L2 220, 240 fig.2, and para 0021, 0026, 0030-0034;);, the AC reconstruction circuit including one or more switch circuits and a control circuit configured to control the one or more switch circuits (see 152, 154, 162, 164) to alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load (see 160, 162, 164, 114, L1/L2 fig.1 , and para 0020-00022, 0026, 0030-0034 ); based on a signal amplitude (see samplers 112, 138, 144 fig.1-2 and para 0019, 0022, 0024-0026 which discloses that controller 1114 operates as a function of a sampled voltage current amplitudes).
Zimmanck doesn’t expressly teach an electrical connector assembly configured to provide a constant-polarity voltage signal; configured to receive the constant-polarity voltage signal from the electric connector assembly; alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load based on a signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly
In an analogous art Windgassen teaches an electrical connector assembly configured to provide a constant-polarity voltage signal (see P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0013, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0021, 0024-0025; power source 110 providing AC or DC, including 50 Vdc); configured to receive the constant-polarity voltage signal from the electric connector assembly (see H1/H2 P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0015, 0017, 0019, 0024-0025); alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load based on a signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly (see 50 Vdc, “180 mV at the contacts” fig.1, 5, 6 para 0015-0018 0021, 0024-0027, when 50 Vdc applied, a voltage drop of about 180 mV is measured across the contacts and wiring connector reading on “a signal amplitude at the electric connector assembly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the self-passivating metal contacts / electrical connector assembly of Windgassen in the resonant dc-ac inverter system of Zimmanck and to relocate or supplement one of Zimmanck’s existing amplitude sampling nodes (112, 138, 144) to the connector assembly so that switching control is based on the signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly, as relocation of a feedback sampling point within an amplitude-based control loop constitutes a predictable use of known control techniques to improve connector reliability and safety in wet and harsh environments (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 15, Zimmanck teaches a method for providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage, the method (see fig.1, para 0015, 0023, 0026, 0034), comprising: receiving a constant-polarity voltage signal at an assembly (see 160, 220 fig.1,2 para 0026, 0033 Zimmanck provides a stage that provides rectified/constant polarity waveform); providing the constant-polarity voltage signal to a reconstruction circuit via the assembly (see 160, 220, 240 fig.1,2 para 0026, 0033 );; and reconstructing the alternating current from the constant-polarity voltage signal (see 160 fig.2, para 0020-0022, 0026, 0030-0034) by controlling one or more switch circuits to alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load (see 160, 162, 164, 114, L1/L2 fig.1 , and para 0020-00022, 0026, 0030-0034 ); based on a signal amplitude (see samplers 112, 138, 144 fig.1-2 and para 0019, 0022, 0024-0026 which discloses that controller 1114 operates as a function of a sampled voltage current amplitudes).
Zimmanck doesn’t expressly teach receiving a constant-polarity voltage signal at an electrical connector assembly; providing the constant-polarity voltage signal to a reconstruction circuit via the electrical connector assembly; alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load based on a signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly.
In an analogous art Windgassen teaches receiving a constant-polarity voltage signal at an electrical connector assembly; (see P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0013, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0021, 0024-0025); c providing the constant-polarity voltage signal to a reconstruction circuit via the electrical connector assembly; (see H1/H2 P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0015, 0017, 0019, 0024-0025); alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load based on a signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly (see 50 Vdc, “180 mV at the contacts” fig.1, 5, 6 para 0015-0018 0021, 0024-0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the self-passivating metal contacts / electrical connector assembly of Windgassen in the resonant dc-ac inverter system of Zimmanck and to relocate or supplement one of Zimmanck’s existing amplitude sampling nodes (112, 138, 144) to the connector assembly so that switching control is based on the signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly, as relocation of a feedback sampling point within an amplitude-based control loop constitutes a predictable use of known control techniques to improve connector reliability and safety in wet and harsh environments (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Windgassen further teaches wherein: the electrical connector assembly includes one or more electric contacts that are self-passivating in an electrolytic environment. (see fig.1 para 0013-0016, 0023-0026)
Regarding claim 9, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Windgassen further teaches wherein: the electrical connector assembly includes one or more electric contacts that are not subjected to polarity reversal (see fig.1 0021, 0024).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Windgassen further teaches wherein the electrical connector assembly comprises a first connector and a second connector; the first connector comprises a first group of electrical contacts; and the second connector comprises a second group of electrical contacts, wherein the second group of electrical contacts is configured to mate with the first group of electrical contacts (see P1, P2, R1, R2 H1, H2 fig.1 0015-0018, 0022).
Regarding claim 14, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Windgassen further teaches wherein the first connector is a male type connector and the second connector is a female type connector (see P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1-2 0015-0018, 0022).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Zimmanck further teaches wherein controlling the one or more switch circuits (see 114, 160 para 0021-0026) Windgassen further teaches at a first contact of the electrical connector assembly (see H1, P1, P2 para 0015-0018); generating a pulse when the signal amplitude at a first contact of the electrical connector assembly is below a reference amplitude; and toggling states of the one or more switch circuits in response to the pulse (see , fig.2 para 0031-0036, 0043-0046).
Claim(s) 7, 11, 13, 16, 17, 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmanck (US 2014/0268898 A1) in view of Windgassen et al. (US 2016/0233607 A1) further in view of Wu et al. (US 20160126858 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Zimmanck teaches a system for providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage (see fig.1, para 0015, 0026, 0034), the system comprising: an assembly configured to provide a constant-polarity voltage signal (see 160, 220 fig.1,2 para 0026, 0033; provides a stage that provides rectified/constant polarity waveform) ; and an AC reconstruction circuit (see 160 fig.2, para 0021, 0026) configured to receive the constant-polarity voltage signal from the electrical assembly and reconstruct from the constant-polarity voltage signal the AC current as an output signal (see L1/L2 220, 240 fig.2, and para 0021, 0026, 0030-0034); wherein the output signal has the same frequency (see para 0021 0026) as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input (see 240, 226, 224 para 0034).
Zimmanck doesn’t expressly teach an electrical connector assembly; providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage through electrical connectors; configured to receive the constant-polarity voltage signal from the electrical connector assembly; wherein the output signal has the same frequency and amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input.
In an analogous art Windgassen teaches an electrical connector assembly (see P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0013, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0021, 0024-0025;) providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage through electrical connectors (see P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0013, 0015-0018); configured to receive the constant-polarity voltage signal from the electrical connector assembly (see H1/H2 P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0015, 0017, 0019, 0024-0025);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the self-passivating metal contacts / electrical connector assembly of Windgassen in the resonant dc-ac inverter system of Zimmanck and to relocate or supplement one of Zimmanck’s existing amplitude sampling nodes (112, 138, 144) to the connector assembly so that switching control is based on the signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly, as relocation of a feedback sampling point within an amplitude-based control loop constitutes a predictable use of known control techniques to improve connector reliability and safety in wet and harsh environments (MPEP 2143).
Combination doesn’t expressly teach the output signal has the same amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input
In an analogous art Wu wherein the output signal has the same amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input (see 212, 216, 218, 210, 208, 204 fig.2 para 0014, 0031, 0039-0046) PLL 212 regulates capacitor voltage Vc to match grid supply voltage Vs thereby matching output amplitude and phase with AC input
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use PLL based sync and amplitude regulation of Wu in the invention of Zimmanck and Windgassen so reconstructed AC is same frequency, in phase and amplitude is matched to reduce circulating currents to ensure proper grid interactions.
Regarding claim 24, Zimmanck teaches method for providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage (see fig.1, para 0015, 0026, 0034),, the method comprising: receiving a constant-polarity voltage signal at an electrical assembly (see 160, 220 fig.1,2 para 0026, 0033); providing the constant-polarity voltage signal to a reconstruction circuit via the electrical assembly (see 160, 220, 240 fig.1,2 para 0026, 0033); and reconstructing from the constant-polarity voltage signal the alternating current as an output signal (see L1/L2 220, 240 fig.2, and para 0021, 0026, 0030-0034; Zimmanck doesn’t teach constant polarity voltage signal from the electrical connector assembly), wherein the output signal has the same frequency (see para 0021 0026) and amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input (see 240, 226, 224 para 003;4 Zimmanck doesn’t expressly teach same amplitude).
Zimmanck doesn’t expressly teach an electrical connector assembly, providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage through electrical connectors; receiving a constant-polarity voltage signal at an electrical connector assembly; wherein the output signal has the same frequency and amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input
In an analogous art Windgassen teaches an electrical connector assembly (see P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0013, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0021, 0024-0025;) providing an alternating current (AC) or voltage through electrical connectors (see P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0013, 0015-0018); receiving a constant-polarity voltage signal at an electrical connector assembly (see H1/H2 P1, P2, R1, R2 fig.1, 5 para 0015, 0017, 0019, 0024-0025);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the self-passivating metal contacts / electrical connector assembly of Windgassen in the resonant dc-ac inverter system of Zimmanck and to relocate or supplement one of Zimmanck’s existing amplitude sampling nodes (112, 138, 144) to the connector assembly so that switching control is based on the signal amplitude at the electrical connector assembly, as relocation of a feedback sampling point within an amplitude-based control loop constitutes a predictable use of known control techniques to improve connector reliability and safety in wet and harsh environments (MPEP 2143).
Combination doesn’t expressly teach the output signal has the same amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input
In an analogous art Wu teaches wherein the output signal has the same amplitude as an AC input and is in phase with the AC input (see 212, 216, 218, 210, 208, 204 fig.2 para 0014, 0031, 0039-0046) PLL 212 regulates capacitor voltage Vc to match grid supply voltage Vs thereby matching output amplitude and phase with AC input.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use PLL based sync and amplitude regulation of Wu in the invention of Zimmanck and Windgassen so reconstructed AC is same frequency, in phase and amplitude is matched to reduce circulating currents to ensure proper grid interactions.
Regarding claim 7, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Zimmanck further teaches the output signal has the same frequency (see 160 fig.1 para 0021 0026) and amplitude as an AC input received from an AC source and is in phase with the AC input from the AC source (see 240, 226, 224 para 003;4 Zimmanck doesn’t expressly teach same amplitude).
In an analogous art Wu the output signal has the same amplitude as an AC input received from an AC source and is in phase with the AC input from the AC source (see 212, 216, 218, fig.2 para 0031-0036, 0042-0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use PLL based sync and amplitude regulation of Wu in the invention of Zimmanck and Windgassen so reconstructed AC is same frequency, in phase and amplitude is matched to reduce circulating currents.
Regarding claim 11, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Windgassen further teaches and provide the constant-polarity voltage signal to the electrical connector assembly (see H1, P1, P2 para 0015-0018).
Combination doesn’t expressly teach an AC deconstruction circuit configured to receive an AC input from an AC source, transform the AC input from the AC source into the constant-polarity voltage signal,
In an analogous art Wu teaches an AC deconstruction circuit configured to receive an AC input from an AC source, transform the AC input from the AC source into the constant-polarity voltage signal (see para 0029-0033, 0037, 0039-0043, 0063-0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use PLL based sync and amplitude regulation of Wu in the invention of Zimmanck and Windgassen so reconstructed AC is same frequency, in phase and amplitude is matched to reduce circulating currents.
Regarding claim 13, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, Zimmanck further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to control the one or more switch circuits to alternately reverse connections between the first and the second nodes of the load (see 114, 160, para 0016, 0020-0022, 0024-0026), Windgassen further teaches electrical contacts of the first connector of the electrical connect assembly (see H1, P1, P2 para 0015-0018).
Combination doesn’t expressly teach based on the signal amplitude at the first group.
In an analogous art Wu teaches based on the signal amplitude at the first group (see 212, 216, 218, fig.2 para 0031-0036, 0042-0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use PLL based sync and amplitude regulation of Wu in the invention of Zimmanck and Windgassen so reconstructed AC is same frequency, in phase and amplitude is matched to reduce circulating currents.
Regarding claim 16, combination of Zimmanck, Windgassen and Wu teaches invention set forth above, Combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the output signal has the same frequency and amplitude as an AC input received from an AC source and is in phase with the AC input from the AC source.
In an analogous art Wu teaches wherein the output signal has the same frequency and amplitude as an AC input received from an AC source and is in phase with the AC input from the AC source (see 212, 216, 218, fig.2 para 0031-0036, 0042-0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use PLL based sync and amplitude regulation of Wu in the invention of Zimmanck and Windgassen so reconstructed AC is same frequency, in phase and amplitude is matched to reduce circulating currents.
Regarding claim 17, combination of Zimmanck, Windgassen and Wu teaches invention set forth above, Wu further teaches further comprising: transforming the AC input from the AC source into the constant-polarity voltage signal (see 210, 225 fig.2 para 0029-0037, 0063-0064).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Zimmanck, Windgassen and Wu teaches invention set forth above, Zimmanck further teaches wherein: the AC reconstruction circuit includes one or more switch circuits and a control circuit configured to control the one or more switch circuits to alternately reverse connections between first and second nodes of a load (see 114, 160 fig.1 para 0021-0026); Wu further teaches based on a signal amplitude (see 212, 216, 218, fig.2 para 0031-0036, 0042-0047) Windgassen further teaches at the electrical connector assembly (see H1, P1, P2 para 0015-0018).
Regarding claim 21, combination of Zimmanck, Windgassen and Wu teaches invention set forth above, Windgassen further teaches wherein: the electrical connector assembly includes one or more electric contacts that are self-passivating in an electrolytic environment (see fig.1-2, para 0013-0015, 0018-0020).
Regarding claim 22, combination of Zimmanck, Windgassen and Wu teaches invention set forth above, Windgassen further teaches wherein: the electrical connector assembly includes one or more electric contacts (see fig.1-2, para 0013-0015-0018); Wu further teaches that cannot tolerate polarity reversal (see 202,210 fig.2 para 0063-0064).
Regarding claim 23, combination of Zimmanck, Windgassen and Wu teaches invention set forth above, Wu further teaches further comprising: an AC source (See 202,204 fig. para 0029-0031); and an AC deconstruction circuit configured to receive the AC input from the AC source (see fig.2 para 0030-0035, -0063-0064), the AC deconstruction circuit is configured to transform the AC input from the AC source into the constant-polarity voltage signal and provide the constant-polarity voltage signal (see para 0037-0043, 0063-0064) Windgassen further teaches to the electrical connector assembly (see H1, P1, P2 para 0015-0018).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, combination of Zimmanck and Windgassen teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the AC reconstruction circuit comprises: a voltage regulator configured to filter and regulate the constant-polarity voltage signal; an operational amplifier comparator configured to generate a signal output; a flip flop circuit configured to divide the signal output; and a switch circuit configured to reverse the polarity of the alternating current.
Hence claim 10 will be deemed allowable if written in independent form.
Regarding claim 25, combination of Zimmanck, Windgassen and Wu teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein reconstructing from the constant-polarity voltage signal the alternating current, comprises: filtering, by a voltage regulator, the constant-polarity voltage signal; generating, by an operational amplifier comparator, a signal output; dividing, by a flip flop circuit, the signal output; and reversing, by switch circuits, the polarity of the alternating current.
Hence claim 25 will be deemed allowable if written in independent form.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849