Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/09/2026.
Status of Claims
The action is in reply to the Application filed on 09/09/2026. Claims 1-17 are currently pending. Claims 12-16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-11 and 17 are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 21, line 21 “d. a transport gas flow path” should be “[[d.]] e. a transport gas flow path”;
In claim 21, lines 32-33 “reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles” should be “reduce [[the]] a size of a plurality of the plurality of particles”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a metering element” and “the metering element is configured to: i. receive from a first region the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media; ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly; and iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor” in claim 1, lines 5 and lines 23-29 which is directed to the structural element 36 which configured to receive blast media from hopper 18 and includes a plurality of cavities 42 as described in paragraph 0044 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
“a metering element” and “the metering element is configured to: i. receive the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media; ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly; and iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor, wherein the comminutor is configured to receive the cryogenic blast media from the metering element and to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size” in claim 17, lines 5 and lines 15-24 which is directed to the structural element 36 which configured to receive blast media from hopper 18 and includes a plurality of cavities 42 as described in paragraph 0044 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “the wiping edges a distance approximately equal to one of the respective circumferential pocket widths” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be “the wiping edges a distance .
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the wiping edges" in line 2. It is unclear which wiping edges the applicant is referring to since only “a wiping edge” (i.e. one wiping edge) is introduced in claim 1, line 16, thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be referring to a single wiping edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossberger (EP 2343157) in view of Mallaley (US Pub. No. 2016/0257506).
Regarding claim 1, Rossberger discloses: a feeder assembly (Figures 1a-9b and see also paragraph 0010) configured to transport cryogenic blast media from a source of cryogenic blast media into a flow of transport gas, the cryogenic blast media comprising a plurality of particles, each particle of the plurality of particles having a respective initial size (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)), the feeder assembly comprising:
a. a metering element (elements 4 and see also paragraph 0017);
c. a comminutor (elements 5);
and
d. a transport gas flow path (elements 10) through which the transport gas flows during operation of the feeder assembly (see figure 1a via element 16 and see also paragraph 0010-0011),
wherein the metering element is configured to:
i. receive from a first region the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the metering element (element 46) receiving from a first region (see figure 1a annotated below Detail A) a media (element 2 and see also paragraph 0011) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the metering element would necessarily be capable of receiving from the first region the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media, as recited.);
ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly (Giving that the prior art discloses all structural limitations including the metering element (element 46) including receiving the media (element 2) and discharging the media to the comminutor (element 13) and there is no additional structure or structural difference provided, thus the prior art would be capable of having the metering element control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly, as recited.); and
iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor (see figure 1a and see also paragraph 0026); and
wherein the comminutor is:
configured to receive cryogenic blast media from the metering element (see figure 1a and see also paragraph 0026);
ii. configured to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size (see paragraph 0027-0028 where the prior art disclose utilizing elements 85/86 of the comminutor (element 5/13) in order for the size of element 2 to be “reduced” (see paragraph 0028).
Furthermore, see figure 9a annotated above, Rossberger discloses the comminutor (elements 5/13) having a discharge opening (element 124) operably connected to an opening (Detail B). However, Rossberger appears to be silent wherein the feeder assembly comprises a feeding rotor rotatable about a feeding rotor axis, wherein the feeding rotor comprises i. a circumferential surface, and ii. a plurality of pockets disposed in the circumferential surface, each of the plurality of pockets having a respective circumferential pocket width, the comminutor disposed between the metering element and the feeding rotor, a guide disposed between the comminutor and the feeding rotor, the guide configured to receive particles from the comminutor and guide the particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates, the guide comprising a wiping edge disposed adjacent the circumferential surface, wherein the wiping edge is oriented generally parallel to the feeding rotor axis, wherein the wiping edge is configured to force particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates, the comminutor is iii. disposed to discharge the cryogenic blast media directly to the feeding rotor through the guide, and wherein the feeding rotor is: i. disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media directly from the comminutor through the guide; and ii. configured to introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path.
Mallaley is also concerned in providing a feeder assembly (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0016) comprising:
b. a feeding rotor (element 18) rotatable about a feeding rotor axis (see figure 3 annotated below X-X axis and see also paragraph 0018), wherein the feeding rotor comprises
i. a circumferential surface (element 18c), and
ii. a plurality of pockets (element 44) disposed in the circumferential surface (see figure 4), each of the plurality of pockets having a respective circumferential pocket width (see figure 4 annotated below Detail A);
d. a guide (element 20) disposed on the feeding rotor (see figure 4), the guide configured to receive particles guide the particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates (see paragraph 0019 where the prior art discloses element 20 includes an “opening” (element 42) that is “configure to receive particles” and see also figure 4 annotated below showing the guide (element 20) comprising walls directed towards the plurality of pockets (element 44), thus the guide would necessarily be capable of receiving particles and guiding the particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates), the guide comprising a wiping edge (see figure 3-4 annotated below Detail B) disposed adjacent the circumferential surface (see figure 4 annotated below), wherein the wiping edge is oriented generally parallel to the feeding rotor axis (see figure 3 annotated below), wherein the wiping edge is configured to force particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates (See figure 4 annotated below showing the indicated portion of the wiping edge (Detail B) covering an outer open portion of the plurality of pockets (element 44) when it rotate towards the guide (element 20), thus the portions of the particles would necessarily reside within the pocket. Therefore, the wiping edge would necessarily be capable of forcing particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates.);
d. a transport gas flow path (elements 70/72/76/78) through which the transport gas flows during operation of the feeder assembly (see paragraphs 0016/0024),
wherein the feeding rotor is:
disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media
through the guide (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the feeder assembly including the feeding rotor (element 18) and the guide (element 20) which
includes an “opening” (element 42) that is “configure to receive particles” and see also figure 4 annotated below showing the guide (element 20) comprising walls directed towards the plurality of pockets (element 44) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the guide would necessarily be capable of having the feeding rotor disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media through the guide, as recited.); and
ii. configured to introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the feeder assembly including the feeding rotor (element 18) and the transport gas flow path (elements 70/72/76/78) that has particles introduced (see figure 4 and see also paragraphs 0016/0024) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the feeding rotor introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path, as recited.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rossberger to incorporate the teachings Mallaley of to provide wherein the feeder assembly comprises a feeding rotor rotatable about a feeding rotor axis, wherein the feeding rotor comprises i. a circumferential surface, and ii. a plurality of pockets disposed in the circumferential surface, each of the plurality of pockets having a respective circumferential pocket width, a guide disposed between the comminutor and the feeding rotor, the guide configured to receive particles from the comminutor and guide the particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates, the guide comprising a wiping edge disposed adjacent the circumferential surface, wherein the wiping edge is oriented generally parallel to the feeding rotor axis, wherein the wiping edge is configured to force particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates, and wherein the feeding rotor is: i. disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media through the guide; and ii. configured to introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path. The resultant combination would have the feeding portion (element 10) which comprises the feeding rotor (element 18), guide (element 20) while also having an “opening” formed above (see figure 2 element 42) and a bottom opening (see figure 4 elements 72/74/76) of Mallaley now placed in between the comminutor (elements 5/13) of Rossberger which also comprises a “discharge opening” (see figure 7a element 124) formed in the bottom which is now in fluid communication with the above opening (see figure 2 element 42 of Mallaley) and the module (element 6) of Rossberger which also comprises an upper opening (see figure 9b annotated above on page 16 Detail B) now in fluid communication with the bottom opening (see figure 4 elements 72/74/76 of Mallaley). Therefore, as modified, the feeding rotor (element 18 of Mallaley) would necessarily be disposed below the comminutor (elements 5/13 of Rossberger) and would have the comminutor disposed between the metering element and the feeding rotor, the guide disposed between the comminutor and the feeding rotor, the guide configured to receive particles from the comminutor, the comminutor is iii. disposed to discharge the cryogenic blast media directly to the feeding rotor through the guide, wherein the feeding rotor is: i. disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media directly from the comminutor through the guide, and introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the assembly with the additional elements including the claimed feeding rotor and guide would necessarily allow the assembly to continue to function as intended in order to transport a media to be delivered against a workpiece or other target, while also providing the additional feature of offering a precise and consistent delivery means (i.e. feeding rotor) having a plurality of pockets in order to allow the user to easily control the media delivery rate which may be set by the operator for the task at hand.
Regarding claim 2, Rossberger modified discloses: the feeder assembly of claim 1, wherein the metering element comprises a metering rotor (element 46 and see also paragraph 0017) which is rotatable about an axis (element 59 and see also paragraph 0019/0022), the metering rotor comprising a plurality of pockets (element 62) opening radially outwardly (see figure 4a).
Regarding claim 3, Rossberger modified discloses: the feeder assembly of claim 2, wherein the plurality of pockets extend longitudinally in the direction of the axis (see figure 4c showing portions of the plurality of pockets (element 62) extending longitudinally in the direction of the axis (element 59)) .
Regarding claim 4, Rossberger modified discloses: the feeder assembly of claim 2, wherein the metering rotor comprises a first end (see figure 4c annotated below Detail A) and a second end (see figure 4c annotated below Detail B) spaced apart from each other along the axis (see figure 4c annotated below), and where a plurality of the plurality of pockets extend from the first end to the second end (see figure 4c annotated below showing a plurality of the plurality of pockets (element 62) extending from the first end (Detail A) to the second end (Detail B)).
Regarding claim 7, Rossberger modified discloses: the feeder assembly of claim 1, wherein the comminutor comprises:
a. an inlet (element 87) configured to receive cryogenic particles from the metering element (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the comminutor (element 5) having an inlet (element 87) that receives particles from the metering element (see paragraph 0026) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the inlet receive cryogenic particles from the metering element, as recited.);
b. an outlet (element 124) configured to discharge cryogenic particles to the feeding rotor (As described in the rejection of claim 1 above (see pages 8-18), Rossberger as modified comprises the feeding rotor (element 18 of Mallaley) now residing below and in fluid communication with the outlet (element 124 of Rossberger) of the comminutor (element 5), and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the outlet discharge cryogenic particles to the feeding rotor, as recited.)
c. a gap (element 99) disposed between the inlet and the outlet (see figures 7a/7d), the gap being variable between a minimum gap and a maximum gap (see paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Rossberger modified discloses: the feeder assembly of claim 7, wherein the comminutor comprises:
a. at least one first roller (element 86) rotatable about a first axis (see paragraph 0026 and see also figure 7d annotated below X2-X2 axis);
b. at least one second roller (element 85) rotatable about a second axis (see paragraph 0026 and see also figure 7d annotated below X-X axis), the gap being defined by the at least one first roller and the at least one second roller (see figure 7d annotated below);
c. a support (elements 92/98) which carries the at least one second roller see figure 7d showing the support (elements 92/98) operably carrying portions of the at least one second roller (element 85)), the support configured to be disposed at a plurality of positions between and including a first position at which the gap is the minimum gap and a second position at which the gap is the maximum gap (see paragraphs 0027-0028 and 0030).
Regarding claim 10, Rossberger modified discloses: the feeder assembly of claim 1, wherein the comminutor comprises:
i. a first roller (element 86) rotatable about a first axis (see paragraph 0026 and see also figure 7d annotated below X2-X2 axis), said first roller comprising a first peripheral surface (see paragraph 0026 and see also figure 7d annotated below Detail A);
ii. a second roller (element 85) rotatable about a second axis (see paragraph 0026 and see also figure 7d annotated below X-X axis), said second roller comprising a second peripheral surface (see paragraph 0026 and see also figure 7d annotated below Detail B); and
iii. a gap (element 99) defined between the first peripheral surface and the second peripheral surface (see figure 7d annotated below), the gap comprising a first edge extending along and adjacent to the first peripheral surface (Per applicants disclosure in paragraph 0070 of the specification, the gap comprising a first edge is to be interpret as the “roller 44 defines first edge 48a of gap 48”, similarly the prior art shows in figure 7d shows the roller of element 86 (first roller) defining a first edge of the gap (element 99) which extending along and adjacent to the first peripheral (Detail A)).
However, Rossberger modified appears to be silent wherein the feeding rotor further comprises a wiping region extending circumferentially away from the wiping edge, the wiping region disposed in alignment with the first edge.
Mallaley is also concerned in providing a feeder assembly (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0016) comprising: a feeding rotor (element 18) and a guide (element 20) having a wiping edge (see figure 3-4 annotated below Detail B). Mallaley further teaches wherein the feeding rotor further comprises a wiping region (see figure 4 annotated below Detail A) extending circumferentially away from the wiping edge. (see figure 4 annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rossberger to incorporate the teachings Mallaley of to provide wherein the feeding rotor further comprises a wiping region extending circumferentially away from the wiping edge. The resultant combination would have the feeding portion (element 10) which comprises the wiping region (see figure 4 annotated above Detail C) extending circumferentially away from the wiping edge (see figure 4 annotated above) of Mallaley now placed in between the comminutor (elements 5/13) of Rossberger which also comprises a “discharge opening” (see figure 7a element 124) formed in the bottom which is now in fluid communication with the above opening (see figure 2 element 42 of Mallaley) and the module (element 6) of Rossberger which also comprises an upper opening (see figure 9b annotated above on page 16 Detail B) now in fluid communication with the bottom opening (see figure 4 elements 72/74/76 of Mallaley). Therefore, as modified, the wiping region (Detail C) of Mallaley would necessarily be disposed in alignment with the first edge of Rossberger. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the assembly with the additional elements including the claimed feeding rotor, guide, and wiping region would necessarily allow the assembly to continue to function as intended in order to transport a media to be delivered against a workpiece or other target, while also providing the additional feature of offering a precise and consistent delivery means (i.e. feeding rotor) having a plurality of pockets in order to allow the user to easily control the media delivery rate which may be set by the operator for the task at hand.
Regarding claim 11, Rossberger modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 10, but appears to be silent wherein the wiping region extends circumferentially away from the wiping edges a distance
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Rossberger wherein the wiping region extends circumferentially away from the wiping edges a distance approximately equal to one of the respective circumferential pocket widths, since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of the component. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the wiping region distance being equal to one of the respective circumferential pocket widths allow the assembly to continue to function as intended in order to transport a media to be delivered against a workpiece or other target, while also providing the additional feature of offering a precise and consistent delivery means (i.e. feeding rotor) having a plurality of pockets in order to allow the user to easily control the media delivery rate which may be set by the operator for the task at hand (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A)). Furthermore, the applicant has failed to place any criticality on the claimed distance provides any unexpected result (see specification paragraph 00153).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossberger (EP 2343157) in view of Mallaley (US Pub. No. 2016/0257506) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Matsumoto (US Pub. No 2015/0322180).
Regarding claim 5, Rossberger modified discloses: wherein the metering the rotor is rotatable about the axis in a direction of rotation (see paragraph 0022 where the prior art discloses element 46 (metering rotor) in “rotating” in an operation state about the axis (element 59) and see figure 4c annotated below showing the a direction of rotation (Detail A)).
However, Rossberger modified appears to be silent wherein a plurality of the plurality of pockets have a chevron shape.
Matsumoto is also concerned in providing feeder assembly (Figures 1-3 and see also paragraphs 0191/0192) comprising a metering rotor (element 2) having a plurality of pockets (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) and a comminutor (element 5) configured to pulverization a particle to a desired particle size (see paragraph 0215) from an initial size (figure 1 element 4) to a second size (figure 1 element 6). Matsumoto further teaches wherein a plurality of the plurality of pockets have a chevron shape (see figure 2 annotated below showing a plurality of the plurality of pockets (Detail A) having a chevron shape).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Rossberger to incorporate the teachings Matsumoto of to provide wherein a plurality of the plurality of pockets have a chevron shape. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the chevron shaped pockets of the metering rotor would necessarily allow the rotor to continue to function as intended in order to order to allow the user to easily and precisely control the amount of media being fed into the comminutor during operations. Furthermore, the applicant has failed to place any criticality on the claimed shaped provides any unexpected result and further states that “any suitable radial shape may be used, including pockets that extend straight from first end to second end” (see specification paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 6, Rossberger modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1-2 and 5, but appears to be silent wherein the chevron shape points opposite the direction of rotation.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the point of the chevron shape to be opposite the direction of rotation would result in a difference in function of Rossberger modified metering rotor. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the chevron shape points opposite the direction of rotation of Rossberger modified, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the assembly would function as intended. Lastly, the applicant has failed to place any criticality on the chevron shape points pointing in the opposite direction of rotation produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rossberger to provide wherein the chevron shape points opposite the direction of rotation, since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the chevron shaped pockets of the metering rotor having points pointing opposite the direction of rotation would necessarily allow the rotor to continue to function as intended in order to order to allow the user to easily and precisely control the amount of media being fed into the comminutor during operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossberger (EP 2343157) in view of Mallaley (US Pub. No. 2016/0257506) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Flair (US Patent No. 3,862,721).
Regarding claim 9, Rossberger modified discloses: the feeder assembly of claim 8, wherein the comminutor comprises a converging region (see figure 7a annotated below Detail A) upstream of the gap (see figure 7a annotated below), the converging region defined by the gap, the at least one first roller and the at least one second roller (see figure 7a annotated below), wherein each said at least one first roller comprises a respective first roller peripheral surface (see figure 7d annotated below Detail B), wherein each said at least one second roller comprises a respective second roller peripheral surface (see figure 7d annotated below Detail C).
However, Rossberger modified appears to be silent wherein each respective first roller peripheral surface collectively comprising a plurality of first raised ridges, wherein each respective second roller peripheral surface collectively comprising a plurality of second raised ridges, and wherein the plurality of first raised ridges and the plurality of second raised ridges form a diamond pattern in the converging region.
Flair is also concerned in providing a feeder assembly (Figures 1-11 and see also col. 2, ll. 35-49) comprising a comminutor having at least one first/second rollers (elements 24/26) with first/second peripheral surfaces (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A). Flair further teaches w wherein each respective first peripheral surface collectively comprising a plurality of first raised ridges (elements 38), each respective second peripheral surface collectively comprising a plurality of second raised ridges (elements 50/52), and wherein the plurality of first raised ridges and the plurality of second raised ridges form a diamond pattern in the converging region (see figure 4 annotated below Detail B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Rossberger to incorporate the teachings Flair to provide wherein each respective first roller peripheral surface collectively comprising a plurality of first raised ridges, wherein each respective second roller peripheral surface collectively comprising a plurality of second raised ridges, and wherein the plurality of first raised ridges and the plurality of second raised ridges form a diamond pattern in the converging region. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the rollers with the claimed raised ridges which form a diamond pattern would necessarily allow the rollers shear the particles to smaller sizes as disclosed by Flair (see col. 3, ll. 19-31).
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallaley (US Pub. No. 2016/0257506) in view of Rossberger (EP 2343157).
Regarding claim 1, Mallaley discloses: a feeder assembly (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0016) configured to transport cryogenic blast media from a source of cryogenic blast media into a flow of transport gas, the cryogenic blast media comprising a plurality of particles, each particle of the plurality of particles having a respective initial size (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)), the feeder assembly comprising:
b. a feeding rotor (element 18) rotatable about a feeding rotor axis (see figure 3 annotated below X-X axis and see also paragraph 0018), wherein the feeding rotor comprises
i. a circumferential surface (element 18c), and
ii. a plurality of pockets (element 44) disposed in the circumferential surface (see figure 4), each of the plurality of pockets having a respective circumferential pocket width (see figure 4 annotated below Detail A);
d. a guide (element 20) disposed on the feeding rotor (see figure 4), the guide configured to receive particles guide the particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates (see paragraph 0019 where the prior art discloses element 20 includes an “opening” (element 42) that is “configure to receive particles” and see also figure 4 annotated below showing the guide (element 20) comprising walls directed towards the plurality of pockets (element 44), thus the guide would necessarily be capable of receiving particles and guiding the particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates), the guide comprising a wiping edge (see figure 3-4 annotated below Detail B) disposed adjacent the circumferential surface (see figure 4 annotated below), wherein the wiping edge is oriented generally parallel to the feeding rotor axis (see figure 3 annotated below), wherein the wiping edge is configured to force particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates (See figure 4 annotated below showing the indicated portion of the wiping edge (Detail B) covering an outer open portion of the plurality of pockets (element 44) when it rotate towards the guide (element 20), thus the portions of the particles would necessarily reside within the pocket. Therefore, the wiping edge would necessarily be capable of forcing particles into the plurality of pockets as the feeding rotor rotates.); and
d. a transport gas flow path (elements 70/72/76/78) through which the transport gas flows during operation of the feeder assembly (see paragraphs 0016/0024),
wherein the feeding rotor is:
disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media through the guide (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the feeder assembly including the feeding rotor (element 18) and the guide (element 20) which includes an “opening” (element 42) that is “configure to receive particles” and see also figure 4 annotated below showing the guide (element 20) comprising walls directed towards the plurality of pockets (element 44) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the guide would necessarily be capable of having the feeding rotor disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media through the guide, as recited.); and
ii. configured to introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the feeder assembly including the feeding rotor (element 18) and the transport gas flow path (elements 70/72/76/78) that has particles introduced (see figure 4 and see also paragraphs 0016/0024) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the feeding rotor introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path, as recited.).
Furthermore, see paragraph 0019, Mallaley discloses that the components of the feeding portion (element 10) which comprises an opening (element 42) is “configured to receive particles” from an above element 4 (see figure 4 and see also paragraph 0019), and further discloses element 4 is “any suitable source, such as a hopper or a device which meters particles from a storage area, such as shaving or passing particles through openings” directly to opening (element 42). However, Mallaley appears to be silent wherein the feeder assembly comprises a metering element, a comminutor disposed between the metering element and the feeding rotor, the guide disposed between the comminutor and the feeding rotor, the guide configured to receive particles from the comminutor, wherein the metering element is configured to: i. receive from a first region the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media, ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly, and iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor, wherein the comminutor is: i configured to receive cryogenic blast media from the metering element; ii. configured to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size, and iii. disposed to discharge the cryogenic blast media directly to the feeding rotor through the guide, and the feeding rotor is disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media directly from the comminutor through the guide.
Rossberger is also concern in providing a feeder assembly (Figures 1a-9b and see also paragraph 0010) comprising:
a metering element (elements 4/46 and see also paragraph 0017);
a comminutor (element 5/13) disposed between the metering element (see figure 1a) and an element (element 6);
d. a transport gas flow path (elements 10) through which the transport gas flows during operation of the feeder assembly (see figure 1a via element 16 and see also paragraph 0010-0011),
wherein the metering element is configured to:
i. receive from a first region the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the metering element (element 46) receiving from a first region (see figure 1a annotated below Detail A) a media (element 2 and see also paragraph 0011) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the metering element would necessarily be capable of receiving from the first region the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media, as recited.);
ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly (Giving that the prior art discloses all structural limitations including the metering element (element 46) including receiving the media (element 2) and discharging the media to the comminutor (element 13) and there is no additional structure or structural difference provided, thus the prior art would be capable of having the metering element control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly, as recited.); and
iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor (see figure 1a and see also paragraph 0026); and
wherein the comminutor is:
i. configured to receive cryogenic blast media from the metering element (see figure 1a and see also paragraph 0026);
ii. configured to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size (see paragraph 0027-0028 where the prior art disclose utilizing elements 85/86 of the comminutor (element 5/13) in order for the size of element 2 to be “reduced” (see paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mallaley to incorporate the teachings of Rossberger to provide a metering element, a comminutor disposed between the metering element and an element, wherein the metering element is configured to: i. receive from a first region the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media, ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly, and iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor, wherein the comminutor is: i configured to receive cryogenic blast media from the metering element; ii. configured to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size.
The resultant combination would have the metering element (elements 4/46) and comminutor (element 5/13) which also comprises “discharge opening” (see figure 7a element 124) of Rossberger now above the feeding portion (element 10), which includes the feeding rotor, and in fluid communication with the opening (element 42) that is “configured to receive particles” (see paragraph 0019) of Mallaley. Therefore, as modified, the comminutor (elements 5/13 of Rossberger) would necessarily be disposed between the metering element (elements 4/46 of Rossberger) and the feeding rotor (element 18 of Mallaley), the guide (element 20 of Mallaley) would necessarily be disposed between the comminutor (elements 5/13 of Rossberger) and the feeding rotor (element 18 of Mallaley), the guide configured to receive particles from the comminutor (since the guide is in between the comminutor and feeding rotor), and the comminutor would necessarily be iii. disposed to discharge the cryogenic blast media directly to the feeding rotor through the guide (since the comminutor is disposed directly above the guide and the feeding rotor), and the feeding rotor is disposed to receive the cryogenic blast media directly from the comminutor through the guide (since the comminutor is disposed directly above the guide and the feeding rotor).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the assembly with the additional elements including the claimed metering element and the comminutor would necessarily allow the assembly to continue to function as intended in order to transport a media to be delivered against a workpiece or other target. While also including the additional features of providing a means of having the metering element with a number of depressions arranged uniformly for receiving the dry ice in order to have a defined metering quantity for the dry ice to be processed as disclosed by Rossberger (see paragraph 0022), thus preventing an overflow of material being supplied to the assembly. Furthermore, having the comminutor would necessarily allow the dry ice to desired grain size and thus homogenized as disclosed by Rossberger (see paragraph 0026), thus having the dry ice produced in a comminution degree suitable for the surface treatment as disclosed by Rossberger (see paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 17, Mallaley discloses: a feeder assembly (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0016) configured to transport cryogenic blast media from a source of cryogenic blast media into a flow of transport gas, the cryogenic blast media comprising a plurality of particles, each particle of the plurality of particles having a respective initial size (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)), the feeder assembly comprising:
b. a feeding rotor (element 18) rotatable about a feeding rotor axis (see figure 3 annotated below X-X axis and see also paragraph 0018), the feeding rotor comprising:
i. a circumferential surface (element 18c);
ii. a plurality of pockets (element 44) disposed in the circumferential surface (see figure 4);
d. a transport gas flow path (elements 70/72/76/78) through which the transport gas flows during operation of the feeder assembly (see paragraphs 0016/0024), wherein the transport gas flow path extends through at least one of the plurality of pockets disposed on the circumferential surface of the feeding rotor as the feeding rotor rotates about the feeding rotor axis (see figure 4 and see also paragraph 0024),
wherein:
the feeding rotor is configured to:
i. receive the cryogenic blast media (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the feeder assembly including the feeding rotor (element 18) which includes an “opening” (element 42) that is “configure to receive particles” and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the guide would necessarily be capable of receiving the cryogenic blast media); and
ii. introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow transport gas in the transport gas flow path (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the feeder assembly including the feeding rotor (element 18) and the transport gas flow path (elements 70/72/76/78) that has particles introduced (see figure 4 and see also paragraphs 0016/0024) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the feeding rotor introduce the cryogenic blast media into the flow of transport gas in the transport gas flow path, as recited.).
Furthermore, see paragraph 0019, Mallaley discloses that the components of the feeding portion (element 10) which comprises an opening (element 42) is “configured to receive particles” from an above element 4 (see figure 4 and see also paragraph 0019), and further discloses element 4 is “any suitable source, such as a hopper or a device which meters particles from a storage area, such as shaving or passing particles through openings” directly to opening (element 42). However, Mallaley appears to be silent wherein the feeder assembly comprises a. a metering element, c. a comminutor disposed between the metering element and the feeding rotor, the metering element is configured to: i. receive the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media, ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly, and iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor, wherein the comminutor is configured to receive the cryogenic blast media from the metering element and to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size, and the feeding rotor is configured to receive the cryogenic blast media discharged by the comminutor.
Rossberger is also concern in providing a feeder assembly (Figures 1a-9b and see also paragraph 0010) comprising:
a metering element (elements 4/46 and see also paragraph 0017);
a comminutor (element 5/13) disposed between the metering element (see figure 1a) and an element (element 6);
wherein the metering element is configured to:
i. receive the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media (The examiner indicates that the cryogenic blast media and any associated structure has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. feeder assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the metering element (element 46) receiving a media (element 2 and see also paragraph 0011) and giving that there is no structural difference, thus the metering element would necessarily be capable of receiving from the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media, as recited.),
ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly (Giving that the prior art discloses all structural limitations including the metering element (element 46) including receiving the media (element 2) and discharging the media to the comminutor (element 13) and there is no additional structure or structural difference provided, thus the prior art would be capable of having the metering element control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly, as recited.), and
iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor (see figure 1a and see also paragraph 0026), wherein the comminutor is configured to receive the cryogenic blast media from the metering element and to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size (see paragraph 0027-0028 where the prior art disclose utilizing elements 85/86 of the comminutor (element 5/13) in order for the size of element 2 to be “reduced” (see paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mallaley to incorporate the teachings of Rossberger to provide wherein the feeder assembly comprises a. a metering element, c. a comminutor disposed between the metering element and the feeding rotor, the metering element is configured to: i. receive the cryogenic blast media from the source of cryogenic blast media, ii. control the rate of flow of the cryogenic blast media through the feeder assembly, and iii. discharge the cryogenic blast media to the comminutor, wherein the comminutor is configured to receive the cryogenic blast media from the metering element and to reduce the size of a plurality of the plurality of particles from each particle’s respective initial size to a second size which is smaller than a predetermined size. The resultant combination would have the metering element (elements 4/46) and comminutor (element 5/13) which also comprises “discharge opening” (see figure 7a element 124) of Rossberger now above the feeding portion (element 10), which includes the feeding rotor, and in fluid communication with the opening (element 42) that is “configured to receive particles” (see paragraph 0019) of Mallaley. Therefore, as modified, the feeding rotor would necessarily be capable to receive the cryogenic blast media discharged by the comminutor (since the comminutor is disposed directly above the guide and the feeding rotor). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the assembly with the additional elements including the claimed metering element and the comminutor would necessarily allow the assembly to continue to function as intended in order to transport a media to be delivered against a workpiece or other target. While also including the additional features of providing a means of having the metering element with a number of depressions arranged uniformly for receiving the dry ice in order to have a defined metering quantity for the dry ice to be processed as disclosed by Rossberger (see paragraph 0022) ,thus preventing an overflow of material being supplied to the assembly. Furthermore, having the comminutor would necessarily allow the dry ice to desired grain size and thus homogenized as disclosed by Rossberger (see paragraph 0026), thus having the dry ice produced in a comminution degree suitable for the surface treatment as disclosed by Rossberger (see paragraph 0040).
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723