DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
The invention, as taught in Claims 1-10, is directed to “mental steps” and “mathematical steps” without significantly more.
The claims recite:
• “a first training dataset”/“second training dataset”/
“third training dataset” (i.e., mathematical expressions or
linguistic mental expressions/steps)
• “distinguished styles” (i.e., mental linguistic expressions)
• classified by domain (i.e., mental steps)
Claim 1
Step 1 inquiry: Does this claim fall within a statutory category?
The preamble of the claim recites “1. A method of training a language model from a stylistic perspective, the method comprising:…” Therefore, it is a “method” (or “process”), which is a statutory category of invention. Therefore, the answer to the inquiry is: “YES.”
Step 2A (Prong One) inquiry:
Are there limitations in Claim 1 that recite abstract ideas?
YES. The following limitations in Claim 1 recite abstract ideas that fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG. Specifically, they are “mental steps” and “mathematical steps”:
• “a first training dataset”/“second training dataset”/
“third training dataset” (i.e., mathematical expressions or
linguistic mental expressions/steps)
• “distinguished styles” (i.e., mental linguistic expressions)
• classified by domain (i.e., mental steps)
Step 2A (Prong Two) inquiry:
Are there additional elements or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception?
Applicant’s claims contain the following “additional elements”:
(1) A “training of a language model”/“pre-training a language model”/
“unsupervised training”/“re-training the pre-trained language
model”/“fine-tuning the re-trained language model”/“supervised
learning”
Specifically, (1) A “training of a language model”/“pre-training a language model”/“unsupervised training”/“re-training the pre-trained language model”/“fine-tuning the re-trained language model”/“supervised learning” is a broad term which is described at a high level. M.P.E.P. § 2106.05 (f)(2) recites in part:
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process.
Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
TLI Communications provides an example of a claim invoking computers and other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. The court stated that the claims describe steps of recording, administration and archiving of digital images, and found them to be directed to the abstract idea of classifying and storing digital images in an organized manner. 823 F.3d at 612, 118 USPQ2d at 1747. The court then turned to the additional elements of performing these functions using a telephone unit and a server and noted that these elements were being used in their ordinary capacity (i.e., the telephone unit is used to make calls and operate as a digital camera including compressing images and transmitting those images, and the server simply receives data, extracts classification information from the received data, and stores the digital images based on the extracted information). 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48. In other words, the claims invoked the telephone unit and server merely as tools to execute the abstract idea. Thus, the court found that the additional elements did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea on a telephone network without any recitation of details of how to carry out the abstract idea.
This “training of a language model”/“pre-training a language model”/“unsupervised training”/“re-training the pre-trained language model”/“fine-tuning the re-trained language model”/“supervised learning” limitation does not integrate the additional element into a practical application and represents “insignificant extra-solution activity”. (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(I)(A)).
The answer to the inquiry is “NO”, no additional elements integrate the claimed abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B inquiry:
Does the claim provide an inventive concept, i.e., does the claim recite additional element(s) or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim?
Applicant’s claims contain the following “additional elements”:
(1) A “training of a language model”/“pre-training a language model”/
“unsupervised training”/“re-training the pre-trained language
model”/“fine-tuning the re-trained language model”/“supervised
learning”
Specifically, (1) A “training of a language model”/“pre-training a language model”/“unsupervised training”/“re-training the pre-trained language model”/“fine-tuning the re-trained language model”/“supervised learning” is a broad term which is described at a high level.
Further, since the “training of a language model”/“pre-training a language model”/“unsupervised training”/“re-training the pre-trained language model”/“fine-tuning the re-trained language model”/“supervised learning” is well understood, routine and conventional, simply using the generically claimed “language model” to produce a result is not eligible. M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(f) recites:
For claim limitations that do not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners should explain why they do not meaningfully limit the claim in an eligibility rejection. For example, an examiner could explain that implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two…
Further, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(f)(2) recites:
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
Therefore, simply using the “training of a language model”/“pre-training a language model”/“unsupervised training”/“re-training the pre-trained language model”/“fine-tuning the re-trained language model”/“supervised learning” to produce a result is not eligible.
Therefore, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (i.e., there is no inventive concept in the claim). (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(II)).
Therefore, the answer to the inquiry is “NO”, no additional elements provide an inventive concept that is significantly more than the claimed abstract ideas the claimed abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 2
Claim 2 recites:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first training dataset is a large corpus created regardless of the domain and the styles.
Applicant’s Claim 2 merely teaches a “large” corpus of unspecified data. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 2 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 3
Claim 3 recites:
3. The method of claim 1, wherein in the second step, the pre-trained language model is re-trained through unsupervised learning.
Applicant’s Claim 3 merely teaches the use of a generic language model. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 3 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 4
Claim 4 recites:
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the second training dataset has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.
Applicant’s Claim 4 merely teaches unspecified training data. In the broadest reasonable interpretation, these expressions may be purely mathematical. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 4 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 5
Claim 5 recites:
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the second training dataset is a dataset different from the first training dataset and has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.
Applicant’s Claim 5 merely teaches unspecified training data. In the broadest reasonable interpretation, these expressions may be purely mathematical. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 5 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 6
Claim 6 recites:
6. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in which a program for causing a computer to execute the method according to claim 1.
Applicant’s Claim 6 merely teaches a generic computer readable medium. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 6 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 7
Step 1 inquiry: Does this claim fall within a statutory category?
The preamble of the claim recites “7. A computing device comprising:…” Therefore, it is a “device” (or “apparatus”), which is a statutory category of invention. Therefore, the answer to the inquiry is: “YES.”
Step 2A (Prong One) inquiry:
Are there limitations in Claim 7 that recite abstract ideas?
YES. The following limitations in Claim 7 recite abstract ideas that fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG. Specifically, they are “mental steps” and “mathematical steps”:
• “infers a result from an input” (i.e., mental steps)
• “a first training dataset”/ “second training dataset”/ “third training dataset”
(i.e., mathematical expressions or linguistic mental expressions/steps)
• “distinguished styles” (i.e., mental linguistic expressions)
• “classified by domain” (i.e., mental steps)
Step 2A (Prong Two) inquiry:
Are there additional elements or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception?
Applicant’s claims contain the following “additional elements”:
(1) A “processor configured to execute the language model”
(2) A “memory”
(3) A “the language model is pre-trained”/“unsupervised learning”/“re-trained”/“fine-tuned”/“supervised learning”
(1) A “processor configured to execute the language model” is a broad term which is described at a high level and includes general purpose computers. M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(f) recites:
For claim limitations that do not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners should explain why they do not meaningfully limit the claim in an eligibility rejection. For example, an examiner could explain that implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two…
Further, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(f)(2) recites:
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
This “processor configured to execute the language model” limitation does not integrate the additional element into a practical application and represents “insignificant extra-solution activity”. (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(I)(A)).
(2) A “memory” is a broad term which is described at a high level. M.P.E.P. § 2106.05 (f)(2) recites in part:
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
TLI Communications provides an example of a claim invoking computers and other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. The court stated that the claims describe steps of recording, administration and archiving of digital images, and found them to be directed to the abstract idea of classifying and storing digital images in an organized manner. 823 F.3d at 612, 118 USPQ2d at 1747. The court then turned to the additional elements of performing these functions using a telephone unit and a server and noted that these elements were being used in their ordinary capacity (i.e., the telephone unit is used to make calls and operate as a digital camera including compressing images and transmitting those images, and the server simply receives data, extracts classification information from the received data, and stores the digital images based on the extracted information). 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48. In other words, the claims invoked the telephone unit and server merely as tools to execute the abstract idea. Thus, the court found that the additional elements did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea on a telephone network without any recitation of details of how to carry out the abstract idea.
Further, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(g) recites:
2106.05(g) Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity [R-10.2019]
Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more in Step 2B is whether the additional elements add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. The term “extra-solution activity” can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity.
This “memory” limitation does not integrate the additional element into a practical application and represents “insignificant extra-solution activity”. (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(I)(A)).
(3) A “the language model is pre-trained”/“unsupervised learning”/“re-trained”/“fine-tuned”/“supervised learning” is a broad term which is described at a high level. M.P.E.P. § 2106.05 (f)(2) recites in part:
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process.
Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
TLI Communications provides an example of a claim invoking computers and other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. The court stated that the claims describe steps of recording, administration and archiving of digital images, and found them to be directed to the abstract idea of classifying and storing digital images in an organized manner. 823 F.3d at 612, 118 USPQ2d at 1747. The court then turned to the additional elements of performing these functions using a telephone unit and a server and noted that these elements were being used in their ordinary capacity (i.e., the telephone unit is used to make calls and operate as a digital camera including compressing images and transmitting those images, and the server simply receives data, extracts classification information from the received data, and stores the digital images based on the extracted information). 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48. In other words, the claims invoked the telephone unit and server merely as tools to execute the abstract idea. Thus, the court found that the additional elements did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea on a telephone network without any recitation of details of how to carry out the abstract idea.
This “the language model is pre-trained”/“unsupervised learning”/“re-trained”/“fine-tuned”/“supervised learning” limitation does not integrate the additional element into a practical application and represents “insignificant extra-solution activity”. (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(I)(A)).
The answer to the inquiry is “NO”, no additional elements integrate the claimed abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B inquiry:
Does the claim provide an inventive concept, i.e., does the claim recite additional element(s) or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim?
Applicant’s claims contain the following “additional elements”:
(1) A “processor configured to execute the language model”
(2) A “memory”
(3) A “the language model is pre-trained”/“unsupervised learning”/“re-trained”/“fine-tuned”/“supervised learning”
(1) A “processor configured to execute the language model” is a broad term which is described at a high level and includes general purpose computers. M.P.E.P. § 2016.05(f) recites:
2106.05(f) Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception [R-10.2019]
Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more than a judicial exception in Step 2B is whether the additional elements amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. As explained by the Supreme Court, in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do “‘more than simply stat[e] the [judicial exception] while adding the words ‘apply it’”. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (warning against a § 101 analysis that turns on “the draftsman’s art”).
Further, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(f)(2) recites:
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process.
Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
Therefore, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (i.e., there is no inventive concept in the claim). (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(II)).
(2) A “memory” is a broad term which is described at a high level. M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(f) recites:
For claim limitations that do not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners should explain why they do not meaningfully limit the claim in an eligibility rejection. For example, an examiner could explain that implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two…
Therefore, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (i.e., there is no inventive concept in the claim). (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(II)).
(3) A “the language model is pre-trained”/“unsupervised learning”/“re-trained”/“fine-tuned”/“supervised learning” is a broad term which is described at a high level. M.P.E.P. § 2106.05 (f) recites in part:
2106.05(f) Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception [R-10.2019]
Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more than a judicial exception in Step 2B is whether the additional elements amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer.
Therefore, simply using the “language model” to produce a result is not eligible.
Therefore, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (i.e., there is no inventive concept in the claim). (See, M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(II)).
Therefore, the answer to the inquiry is “NO”, no additional elements provide an inventive concept that is significantly more than the claimed abstract ideas the claimed abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 7 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 8
Claim 8 recites:
8. The computing device of claim 7, wherein the first training dataset is a large corpus created regardless of the domain and the styles.
Applicant’s Claim 8 merely teaches a “large” corpus of unspecified data. In the broadest reasonable interpretation, these expressions may be purely mathematical. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 8 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 9
Claim 9 recites:
9. The computing device of claim 7, wherein the second training dataset has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.
Applicant’s Claim 9 merely teaches unspecified training data. In the broadest reasonable interpretation, these expressions may be purely mathematical. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 9 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 10
Claim 10 recites:
10. The computing device of claim 7, wherein the second training dataset is a dataset different from the first training dataset and has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.
Applicant’s Claim 10 merely teaches unspecified training data. In the broadest reasonable interpretation, these expressions may be purely mathematical. It does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application, nor is it anything significantly more than the abstract idea. (See, 2106.05(a)(II).)
Claim 10 is, therefore, NOT ELIGIBLE subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai, et al., Semi-supervised Sequence Learning, arXiv:1511.01432v1 [cs.LG], 04 NOV 2015, pp. 1-10.
Claim 1
Claim 1’s “a first step of pre-training a language model using an unsupervised training method using a first training dataset” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Claim 1’s “a second step of re-training the pre-trained language model using a second training dataset with distinguished styles” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Claim 1’s “a third step of fine-tuning the re-trained language model using a third training dataset classified by domain through supervised learning” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Claim 2
Claim 2’s “2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first training dataset is a large corpus created regardless of the domain and the styles.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Note that applicant did not give any range or standard that would define the term “large.” Therefore, any size of corpus that is larger than another size corpus satisfies the meaning of the word large in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term. This means that any sized corpus in the prior art satisfies the meaning of the term.
Claim 3
Claim 3’s “3. The method of claim 1, wherein in the second step, the pre-trained language model is re-trained through unsupervised learning.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
The prior art teaches two unsupervised approaches for pre training before using the supervised training step.
Claim 4
Claim 4’s “4. The method of claim 1, wherein the second training dataset has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art includes second pre-training data that are identical as well as pre training data that are different.
Claim 5
Claim 5’s “5. The method of claim 1, wherein the second training dataset is a dataset different from the first training dataset and has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art includes second pre-training data that are identical as well as pre training data that are different.
Claim 6
Claim 6’s “6. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in which a program for causing a computer to execute the method according to claim 1.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 3, third full paragraph, where it recites:
In our experiments with the sequence autoencoder, we train it to reproduce the full document after reading all the input words. In other words, we do not perform any truncation or windowing. We add an end of sentence marker to the end of each input sequence and train the network to start reproducing the sequence after that marker. To speed up performance and reduce GPU memory usage, we perform truncated backpropagation up to 400 timesteps from the end of the sequence. We preprocess the text so that punctuation is treated as separate tokens and we ignore any non-English characters and words in the DBpedia text. We also remove words that only appear once in each dataset and do not perform any term weighting or stemming.
Claim 7
Claim 7’s “a memory configured to store a language model for machine reading comprehension” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 3, third full paragraph, where it recites:
In our experiments with the sequence autoencoder, we train it to reproduce the full document after reading all the input words. In other words, we do not perform any truncation or windowing. We add an end of sentence marker to the end of each input sequence and train the network to start reproducing the sequence after that marker. To speed up performance and reduce GPU memory usage, we perform truncated backpropagation up to 400 timesteps from the end of the sequence. We preprocess the text so that punctuation is treated as separate tokens and we ignore any non-English characters and words in the DBpedia text. We also remove words that only appear once in each dataset and do not perform any term weighting or stemming.
Claim 7’s “a processor configured to execute the language model and infers a result from an input” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 3, third full paragraph, where it recites:
In our experiments with the sequence autoencoder, we train it to reproduce the full document after reading all the input words. In other words, we do not perform any truncation or windowing. We add an end of sentence marker to the end of each input sequence and train the network to start reproducing the sequence after that marker. To speed up performance and reduce GPU memory usage, we perform truncated backpropagation up to 400 timesteps from the end of the sequence. We preprocess the text so that punctuation is treated as separate tokens and we ignore any non-English characters and words in the DBpedia text. We also remove words that only appear once in each dataset and do not perform any term weighting or stemming.
Claim 7’s “wherein the language model is pre-trained using a first training dataset through unsupervised learning” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Claim 7’s “re-trained using a second training dataset with distinguished styles through unsupervised learning” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Claim 7’s “fine-tuned using a third training dataset classified by domain through supervised learning” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Claim 8
Claim 8’s “8. The computing device of claim 7, wherein the first training dataset is a large corpus created regardless of the domain and the styles.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
Note that applicant did not give any range or standard that would define the term “large.” Therefore, any size of corpus that is larger than another size corpus satisfies the meaning of the word large in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term. This means that any sized corpus in the prior art satisfies the meaning of the term.
Claim 9
Claim 9’s “9. The computing device of claim 7, wherein the second training dataset has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art includes second pre-training data that are identical as well as pre training data that are different.
Claim 10
Claim 10’s “10. The computing device of claim 7, wherein the second training dataset is a dataset different from the first training dataset and has a domain identical to a domain of the third training dataset.” is anticipated by Dai, et al., page 1, Abstract, where it recites:
In other words, the parameters obtained from the unsupervised step can be used as a starting point for other supervised training models. In our experiments, we find that long short term memory recurrent networks after being pretrained with the two approaches are more stable and generalize better.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art includes second pre-training data that are identical as well as pre training data that are different.
Conclusion
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Wilbert L. Starks, Jr., who may be reached Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. EST. or via telephone at (571) 272-3691 or email: Wilbert.Starks@uspto.gov.
If you need to send an Official facsimile transmission, please send it to (571) 273-8300.
Hand-delivered responses should be delivered to the Receptionist @ (Customer Service Window Randolph Building 401 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA 22313), located on the first floor of the south side of the Randolph Building.
Finally, information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Moreover, status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have any questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) toll-free @ 1-866-217-9197.
/WILBERT L STARKS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122
WLS
19 SEP 2026