DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a packing portion (disclosed in the specification as element 130) in claims 1-2 and 6;
a packing member (disclosed in the specification as element 131) in claims 1, 3, 4-5, and 7; and
a fixing member (disclosed in the specification as element 132) in claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear what is meant by the phrase “above the head portion to cover portion an open upper surface”. The claim also recites an “extended” handle. It is unclear what length of handle would or would not be considered to be “extended”. For examination purposes, any handle that is located above an upper surface of a packing member will be considered to meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claims 8-12, the claims are rejected due to depending from claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaga (US 2007/0006606) in view of Kawada (JP 2004-101108, see attached English translation) and Knatt (US 2021/0222937).
As to claim 1, Kaga teaches a feed tank 33 equipped with a packing structure of a float sensor 38, the feed tank comprising:
a feed tank 33 including a storage portion provided with a storage space in which ice-making water is stored (Fig. 1); and
a float sensor 38 inserted at a top of the feed tank 33 and detecting a level of the ice-making water (Fig. 1).
Kaga is silent regarding a detachable cover portion for the feed tank 33, a packing portion with a hollow a packing member that penetrates the cover, or a fixing member extending in a spiral direction along an inner circumferential surface of the packing member as claimed.
However, Kawada teaches that it is known to utilize a detachable lid member 26/126 for an ice maker feed tank (Figs. 3-4). As such it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kaga to utilize a detachable lid as claimed and taught by Kawada in order to allow for ease of access for maintenance in the interior of the feed tank.
Additionally, Knatt teaches that it is known to utilize a packing portion with a hollow packing member 122 provided to penetrated a cover of a feed tank and a fixing member 130 extending in a spiral direction along an inner circumferential surface of the packing member 122, wherein a float sensor 90 is inserted into the packing portion (Figs. 5-6 and 8-12). Such a configuration allows for ease of maintenance and repair of the ice maker (Knatt, paragraph 32). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kaga to be configured in the manner as claimed and taught by Knatt in order to facilitate ease of maintenance of the feed tank.
As to claim 2, the float sensor of the modified apparatus is rotated to be fixed to or separated from the packing portion (Knatt, Figs 10-12).
As to claim 3, the fixing member of the modified apparatus is provided to surround a portion of an outer circumferential surface of the float sensor inside the packing member (Knatt, Fig. 10).
As to claims 4-5, the fixing member of Knatt includes portions 130 and 126 utilized to fix the sensor in place (Figs. 5-6 and 8-12) and therefore is equivalent to the claimed fixing member of the instant application.
As to claim 6, Kaga teaches a float sensor 38 with a head portion, body portion, and lifting portion as claimed (Fig. 1).
As to claim 7, Knatt teaches a handle portion 222 above the head portion of the sensor (Fig. 10).
As to claim 8, Knatt teaches use of recesses 228 and protrusions 126 (Fig. 10).
As to claim 9, Knatt teaches a support member 220 (Fig. 10).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaga, Kawada, and Knatt as applied in the rejections above, and further in view of Gu (CN 114597701, see attached English translation).
As to claim 10, the modified apparatus is silent regarding a sealing recess and sealing member as claimed. However, Gu teaches that it is known to use a sealing recess 222 an a sealing member 223 for a sensor that is mounted by insertion (Fig. 3). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify Kaga such that the sensor includes a sealing ring and recess as claimed and taught by Gu in order to prevent leakage of stored water.
As to claim 11, the modified apparatus includes most of the claimed limitations as discussed above, and further Kaga teaches an ice generating unit 21 and an ice storage portion as claimed (paragraph 40).
As to claim 12, the ice generating unit of Kaga includes a hollow cylinder 21, an auger 23 in the cylinder 21, and a refrigerant pipe 15 surrounding the cylinder 21 with a refrigerant inlet and outlet at opposite ends of the cylinder 21 (Fig. 1; paragraphs 39-40).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763