DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2025 has been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
5. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 1 recites the limitation “and/or”. It is unclear that what follows the limitation is required to be disclosed by the prior art of record, or is considered to be alternative in nature. For purposes of examination, the limitations that follow “and/or” will be treated as alternative in form.
b) Claims 2-12 do not satisfy the deficiencies of the rejected base claim and are therefore also rejected.
c) Claim 13 recites the limitation “and/or”. It is unclear that what follows the limitation is required to be disclosed by the prior art of record, or is considered to be alternative in nature. For purposes of examination, the limitations that follow “and/or” will be treated as alternative in form.
d) Claims 14-18 and 20 do not satisfy the deficiencies of the rejected base claim and are therefore also rejected.
e) Claim 19 recites the limitation “and/or”. It is unclear that what follows the limitation is required to be disclosed by the prior art of record, or is considered to be alternative in nature. For purposes of examination, the limitations that follow “and/or” will be treated as alternative in form.
f) Claim 8 recites the limitation “and/or”. It is unclear that what follows the limitation is required to be disclosed by the prior art of record, or is considered to be alternative in nature. For purposes of examination, the limitations that follow “and/or” will be treated as alternative in form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0147446 A1 to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”), claiming benefit to foreign-filed applications No. 202110745712.6, filed June 30, 2021 and No. 202111296615.X, filed November 3, 2021.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a frequency hopping method for an uplink transmission, comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, first information (Liu: Figure 6 with [0259-0260], S601); and
determining, by the terminal based on the first information, whether to perform frequency hopping for the uplink transmission (Liu: Figure 6 with [0278], [0305] – corresponds to receiving frequency hopping configuration for terminal to transmit on PUCCH.), and/or determining, based on the first information, information related to a frequency hopping position when frequency hopping is performed for the uplink transmission (Liu: [0278-0281], [0305] – corresponds to determining hop frequency-domain resource index on a PUCCH.), wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
indication information of a network-side device (Liu: Figure 6 with [0259-0260] – receiving first indication information.); or
configuration information of a frequency domain resource type (Liu: [0261-0266] – corresponds to determining, based on first information (as a configuration) a frequency domain resource of a PUCCH.).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information comprises first indication information (Liu: Figure 6 with [0259-0260], S601 – first indication information), and the first indication information is used to indicate whether to perform frequency hopping for the uplink transmission (Liu: Figure 6 with [0278], [0305] – corresponds to receiving frequency hopping configuration for terminal to transmit on PUCCH.).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information comprises second indication information, and the second indication information is used to indicate a starting physical resource block (PRB) index of at least one hop of the uplink transmission (Liu: [0263-0268] with Table 5 ([0280-0281]) – corresponds to receiving information of a start PRB index related to the hop position in a PUCCH.).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate a starting PRB index of an mth hop of the uplink transmission (Liu: [0263-0268] with Table 5 ([0280-0281]) – corresponds to receiving information of a start PRB index related to the hop position in a PUCCH.), wherein the mth hop is at least one of all hops of the uplink transmission (Interpreted as a ”hop” in the sense that a hop may be a number of a hop, or a number of hops, disclosed by Liu in at least [0280-0281], [0302], and [0305-0306].) the starting PRB index of the mth hop is at least one of a plurality of PRB indexes configured for the terminal, and m is a positive integer (Liu: [0305-0306] – “…a quantity of PRBs occupied by the PUCCH resource is N, where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1. The frequency-domain position to which the PUCCH resource is mapped may include the start PRB index of the PUCCH resource in the first mapping position and the start PRB index of the PUCCH resource in the second mapping position.”); or
the second indication information is used to indicate a starting PRB index combination of at least two hops of the uplink transmission, wherein the starting PRB index combination of the at least two hops is one of a plurality of PRB index combinations configured for the terminal (alternative language or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information comprises third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate a reference position of a starting PRB index of at least one hop of the uplink transmission (Interpreted to correspond to a mapping position of the frequency domain position comprising a start PRB index, disclosed by Liu in at least [0017-0021]).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information is used to indicate a frequency hopping offset of an ath hop of the uplink transmission relative to a bth hop thereof, wherein a and b are positive integers (Liu: [0351] – corresponds to a hop offset of the PRB indices for PUCCH, in which there may a plurality of hop offsets.).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information is carried by downlink control information (DCI) (Liu: [0240] – the DCI includes at least PUCCH resource information.);
wherein the DCI is either of the following:
DCI for scheduling the uplink transmission (Liu: [0240] – the DCI includes at least PUCCH resource information which necessarily include the resource and slot to transmit PUCCH.); and
layer 1 signaling, wherein a sending time of the layer 1 signaling is before a sending time of the uplink transmission, and a predetermined time interval requirement is met between the layer 1 signaling and the uplink transmission (alternative language or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information comprises the configuration information of the frequency domain resource type (Liu: [0261-0266] – corresponds to determining, based on first information (as a configuration) a frequency domain resource of a PUCCH.); and
the determining, based on the first information, whether to perform frequency hopping for the uplink transmission, and/or determining, based on the first information, information related to a frequency hopping position when frequency hopping is performed for the uplink transmission comprises:
determining, by the terminal, a starting PRB index of a first hop and/or a second hop of the uplink transmission based on the configuration information of the frequency domain resource type (Liu: [0263-0268] with Table 5 ([0280-0281]) – corresponds to receiving information of a start PRB index related to the hop position in a PUCCH.);
and/or determining, by the terminal, a frequency hopping offset of a second hop of the uplink transmission relative to a first hop thereof based on the configuration information of the frequency domain resource type (Liu: [0351] – corresponds to a hop offset of the PRB indices for PUCCH, in which there may a plurality of hop offsets.).
Regarding Claim 9, Liu discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the reference position of the starting PRB index is any one of the following:
a lowest PRB index of a current bandwidth part (BWP) and/or carrier (alternative language or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.);
a lowest PRB index of an available uplink resource (Liu: [0313] – corresponds to lowest PRB index of the PUCCH.); or
a highest PRB index of an available uplink resource (Liu: [0313] – corresponds to a highest PRB index of a PUCCH.), wherein a time-frequency domain resource type of the available uplink resource is configured as uplink (Liu: [0261-0266] – corresponds to determining, based on first information (as a configuration) a frequency domain resource of a PUCCH.) and/or flexible (alternative language or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the first information, information related to a frequency hopping position when frequency hopping is performed for the uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following:
determining, by the terminal for each uplink transmission, the information related to the frequency hopping position when frequency hopping is performed for the uplink transmission (Liu: [0007-0009], [0024-0025] – corresponds for each PUCCH transmission, a frequency domain position, RB position, or mapping position is determined.);
determining, by the terminal for each time unit, the information related to the frequency hopping position when frequency hopping is performed for the uplink transmission (Liu: [0234], [0244] - Interpreted to correspond to a slot index/position (time domain) of the PUCCH when frequency hopping is required.); or
determining, by the terminal for each repetition of the uplink transmission, the information related to the frequency hopping position when frequency hopping is performed for the uplink transmission (alternative language or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on configuration information of the network-side device, whether to perform frequency hopping for the uplink transmission (Liu: Figure 6 with [0278], [0305] – corresponds to receiving frequency hopping configuration for terminal to transmit on PUCCH.).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu discloses a frequency hopping method for an uplink transmission, comprising:
sending, by a network-side device, indication information to a terminal (Liu: Figure 6 with [0259-0260], S601), wherein the indication information is used by the terminal to determine whether to perform frequency hopping for the uplink transmission (Liu: Figure 6 with [0278], [0305] – corresponds to receiving frequency hopping configuration for terminal to transmit on PUCCH.), and/or determine information related to a frequency hopping position when frequency hopping is performed for the uplink transmission (Liu: [0278-0281], [0305] – corresponds to determining hop frequency-domain resource index on a PUCCH.).
Regarding Claim 14, Liu discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the indication information comprises first indication information (Liu: Figure 6 with [0259-0260] – receiving first indication information.), and the first indication information is used to indicate whether to perform frequency hopping for the uplink transmission (Liu: Figure 6 with [0278], [0305] – corresponds to receiving frequency hopping configuration for terminal to transmit on PUCCH.).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the indication information comprises second indication information, and the second indication information is used to indicate a starting PRB index of at least one hop of the uplink transmission (Liu: [0263-0268] with Table 5 ([0280-0281]) – corresponds to receiving information of a start PRB index related to the hop position in a PUCCH.);
wherein the second indication information is used to indicate a starting PRB index of an mth hop of the uplink transmission (Liu: [0263-0268] with Table 5 ([0280-0281]) – corresponds to receiving information of a start PRB index related to the hop position in a PUCCH.), wherein the mth hop is at least one of all hops of the uplink transmission (Interpreted as a ”hop” in the sense that a hop may be a number of a hop, or a number of hops, disclosed by Liu in at least [0280-0281], [0302], and [0305-0306].), the starting PRB index of the mth hop is at least one of a plurality of PRB indexes configured for the terminal, and m is a positive integer (Liu: [0305-0306] – “…a quantity of PRBs occupied by the PUCCH resource is N, where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1. The frequency-domain position to which the PUCCH resource is mapped may include the start PRB index of the PUCCH resource in the first mapping position and the start PRB index of the PUCCH resource in the second mapping position.”); or
the second indication information is used to indicate a starting PRB index combination of at least two hops of the uplink transmission, wherein the starting PRB index combination of the at least two hops is one of a plurality of PRB index combinations configured for the terminal (alternative language or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the indication information comprises third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate a reference position of a starting PRB index of at least one hop of the uplink transmission (Interpreted to correspond to a mapping position of the frequency domain position comprising a start PRB index, disclosed by Liu in at least [0017-0021]).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the indication information comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information is used to indicate a frequency hopping offset of an ath hop of the uplink transmission relative to a bth hop thereof, wherein a and b are positive integers (Liu: [0351] – corresponds to a hop offset of the PRB indices for PUCCH, in which there may a plurality of hop offsets.).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the indication information is carried by downlink control information (DCI) (Liu: [0240] – the DCI includes at least PUCCH resource information.);
wherein the DCI is either of the following:
DCI for scheduling the uplink transmission (Liu: [0240] – the DCI includes at least PUCCH resource information which necessarily include the resource and slot to transmit PUCCH.); and
layer 1 signaling, wherein a sending time of the layer 1 signaling is before a sending time of the uplink transmission, and a predetermined time interval requirement is met between the layer 1 signaling and the uplink transmission (alternative language or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Claim 19, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1. Liu discloses the apparatus as a terminal comprising at least a processor and memory in Figure 20.
Claim 20, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 13, recites similar features as claim 13 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 13. Please see above rejection of claim 13. Liu discloses the apparatus as a network device comprising at least a processor and memory in Figure 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 July 6, 2026