CTFR 18/757,853 CTFR 87409 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-10 and 12-16 as amended and new claim 21 as set forth in applicants response dated 16 March 2026 are presently under consideration. Claims 17-20 remain withdrawn from consideration and claim 11 is cancelled by applicant’s amendment. Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed with the response dated 16 March 2026 have overcome the indefiniteness rejections of record set forth in the prior office action, which are thus withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed with the response dated 16 March 2026 have overcome the prior art rejections of record set forth in the prior office action, which are thus withdrawn. Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new prior art was uncovered and a new grounds of rejection is set forth below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 9-10, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun et al (US 2020/0361635) and further in view of Aston’495 (US 2021/0061495) and in further view of Aston’859 (US 2021/0354859), and further in view of Murphey et al (US 2022/0306324) . Regarding claim 1 Braun discloses a modular solar array comprising: a plurality of panels ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d see: tiles 10), each one of the panels comprising: a first face sheet ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d see: outer layer/first plate 11) comprising a first lattice region (Figs. 3a-3d see: outer layer/first plate 11 having a grid or lattice design on its surface); a second face sheet spaced apart from the first face sheet ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d see: bottom surface 14 of second plate 13); and a structure connecting the first face sheet and the second face sheet ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d, see: middle layer having a support structure 16); a first splice connector extending along at least a portion of a first perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the first face sheet of directly adjacent ones of the panels ([0012], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 3a and 3d, see: mechanical connectors 20 connecting immediately adjacent tiles 10 at perimeters of adjacent outer layer/first plates 11); and a solar cell coupled to the second face sheet of each at least one of the panels ([0013], [0027] Figs. 3a-3d, see: solar cells provided on the bottom plate 13/bottom surface 14). Braun does not explicitly disclose where the structure connecting the first face sheet and the second face sheet is a truss structure. Braun does not explicitly disclose a plurality of second splice connectors spaced apart along at least a portion of a second perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the second face sheet of the directly adjacent ones of the panels. Aston’495 discloses such a truss structure for forming spacecraft panels between first and second face sheets ([0033], Figs. 2-4 see: truss structure 114 between first skin 110 and second skin 112). Aston’495 discloses this structure can be additively manufactured as a single unitary structure with the first and second face sheets of the panel and customized to provide localized structural functions or features within the panel such as localized structural reinforcement, thermal spreading, or heat dissipation ([0035]-[0037]). Braun and Aston’495 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of spacecraft panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Aston’495 such that the structure connecting the first face sheet and the second face sheet is a truss structure as in Aston’495 ([0033], Figs. 2-4 see: truss structure 114 between first skin 110 and second skin 112) as Aston’495 discloses this structure can be additively manufactured as a single unitary structure with the first and second face sheets of the panel and customized to provide localized structural functions or features within the panel such as localized structural reinforcement, thermal spreading, or heat dissipation ([0035]-[0037]). Furthermore, in the alternative where it’s not clear Braun discloses a first lattice region on the outer face sheet, Aston’859 teaches spacecraft panels including such a lattice region (Aston’859, [0058]-[0059], [0075]-[0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: equipment panel 300 with first side 333 having a stiffening structure 336 (lattice) or see radiator panel 400 including skin 410 with outer surface 418 having stiffening texture 419 of a square grid of linear portions including circular portions at each intersection of the linear portions (also meeting the limitation of a lattice region)). Aston’859 teaches this structure improves stiffness of the skin without reducing radiative efficiency or creating light traps on the panel (para [0076]). Braun and Aston’859 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of spacecraft panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Aston’859 such that the outer face sheet of Braun includes a first lattice region as in Aston’859 (Aston’859, [0058]-[0059], [0075]-[0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: equipment panel 300 with first side 333 having a stiffening structure 336 (lattice) or see radiator panel 400 including skin 410 with outer surface 418 having stiffening texture 419 of a square grid of linear portions including circular portions at each intersection of the linear portions (also meeting the limitation of a lattice region)) as Aston’859 teaches this structure improves stiffness of the skin without reducing radiative efficiency or creating light traps on the panel (para [0076]). Murphy discloses a solar array of panels comprising mechanical connectors as a plurality of second splice connectors spaced apart along at least a portion of a second perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the second face sheet of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Murphy, [0007], [0095] Figs. 1-2, 3A-3E, 4A, 17, 26-27 see: plurality of spaced apart hinges 301 overlapping and connected to adjacent panel frames 305 where solar cell panels 101 are mounted). Murphy teaches the particular hinges are formed as singular parts compared to prior art hinges for lower cost and greater reliability (Murphy, paras [0098]-[0099]). Modified Braun and Murphy are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of spacecraft panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Murphy such that Braun further comprises a plurality of second splice connectors spaced apart along at least a portion of a second perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the second face sheet of the directly adjacent ones of the panels as in Murphy ([0007], [0095] Figs. 1-2, 3A-3E, 4A, 17, 26-27 see: plurality of spaced apart hinges 301 overlapping and connected to adjacent panel frames 305 where solar cell panels 101 are mounted) as Braun teaches the mechanical connectors 20 can take the form of hinges as any suitable connector that stores energy (Braun, paras [0015], [0018]-[0025]) and Murphy teaches the particular hinges are formed as singular parts compared to prior art hinges for lower cost and greater reliability (Murphy, paras [0098]-[0099]). Regarding claim 2 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 1, wherein: the second face sheet of each one of the panels further comprises: a second inner surface; a second outer surface opposite the second inner surface; and a second continuous region (Braun, Figs. 3a-3d, see: bottom plate 13 has an inner surface and outer bottom surface 14 each illustrated with a continuous region); and Murphy teaches the plurality of second splice connectors is coupled to the second continuous region at the second inner surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Murphy, [0095] Figs. 1-2, 3A-3E, 4A, 17, 26-27 see: plurality of spaced apart hinges 301 connected to inner surfaces of adjacent panel frames 305 (continuous perimeter portion) where solar cell panels 101 are mounted). Regarding claim 3 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 2, and Aston’859 discloses wherein the second face sheet further comprises a second lattice region (Aston’859, [0075]-[0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: radiator panel 400 including a first skin 410 and a second skin 412 each with an outer surface 418 having stiffening texture 419 of a square grid of linear portions including circular portions at each intersection of the linear portions (also meeting the limitation of a lattice region)). Regarding claim 4 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 2, wherein the second continuous region extends along at least a portion of the second perimeter edge of the second face sheet (Braun, [0012], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 3a-3d, see: mechanical connectors 20 connecting immediately adjacent tiles 10 and illustrated at inside surfaces (continuous regions) of bottom plate 13 (para [0024]) at a perimeter region of the tiles 10). Regarding claim 9 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 1, further comprising a conductive layer disposed on the first face sheet (Braun, [0013] [0026] Figs. 3a-3d see: antenna 18 on top plate 11). Regarding claim 10 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 1, and Aston’495 further discloses wherein each of the panels is additively manufactured from a metallic alloy using laser powder fusion (Aston’495, [0002]-[0003], [0007], [0040] see: panels are additively manufactured with by a method such as laser sintering a metal powder), and Aston’859 further discloses wherein at least one of the panels comprises a fitting that is additively manufactured with and integral to at least the first face sheet (Aston’859, [0029], [0061], [0073]-[0074], [0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: radiator panel 400 is additively manufactured with skins 410, 412 manufactured integrally with fastener apertures). Regarding claim 12 modified Braun discloses a modular panel assembly comprising: a plurality of panels ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d see: tiles 10), each one of the panels comprising: a first face sheet ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d see: outer layer/first plate 11) comprising a first lattice region (Figs. 3a-3d see: outer layer/first plate 11 having a grid or lattice design on its surface); a second face sheet spaced apart from the first face sheet ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d see: bottom surface 14 of second plate 13); and a structure connecting the first face sheet and the second face sheet ([0012] Figs. 3a-3d, see: middle layer having a support structure 16); and a first splice connector extending along at least a portion of a first perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the first face sheet of directly adjacent ones of the panels ([0012], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 3a and 3d, see: mechanical connectors 20 connecting immediately adjacent tiles 10 at perimeters of adjacent outer layer/first plates 11). Braun does not explicitly disclose where the structure connecting the first face sheet and the second face sheet is a truss structure. Braun does not explicitly disclose a plurality of second splice connectors spaced apart along at least a portion of a second perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the second face sheet of the directly adjacent ones of the panels. Aston’495 discloses such a truss structure for forming spacecraft panels between first and second face sheets ([0033], Figs. 2-4 see: truss structure 114 between first skin 110 and second skin 112). Aston’495 discloses this structure can be additively manufactured as a single unitary structure with the first and second face sheets of the panel and customized to provide localized structural functions or features within the panel such as localized structural reinforcement, thermal spreading, or heat dissipation ([0035]-[0037]). Braun and Aston’495 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of spacecraft panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Aston’495 such that the structure connecting the first face sheet and the second face sheet is a truss structure as in Aston’495 ([0033], Figs. 2-4 see: truss structure 114 between first skin 110 and second skin 112) as Aston’495 discloses this structure can be additively manufactured as a single unitary structure with the first and second face sheets of the panel and customized to provide localized structural functions or features within the panel such as localized structural reinforcement, thermal spreading, or heat dissipation ([0035]-[0037]). Furthermore, in the alternative where it’s not clear Braun discloses a first lattice region on the outer face sheet, Aston’859 teaches spacecraft panels including such a lattice region (Aston’859, [0058]-[0059], [0075]-[0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: equipment panel 300 with first side 333 having a stiffening structure 336 (lattice) or see radiator panel 400 including skin 410 with outer surface 418 having stiffening texture 419 of a square grid of linear portions including circular portions at each intersection of the linear portions (also meeting the limitation of a lattice region)). Aston’859 teaches this structure improves stiffness of the skin without reducing radiative efficiency or creating light traps on the panel (para [0076]). Braun and Aston’859 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of spacecraft panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Aston’859 such that the outer face sheet of Braun includes a first lattice region as in Aston’859 (Aston’859, [0058]- [0059], [0075]-[0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: equipment panel 300 with first side 333 having a stiffening structure 336 (lattice) or see radiator panel 400 including skin 410 with outer surface 418 having stiffening texture 419 of a square grid of linear portions including circular portions at each intersection of the linear portions (also meeting the limitation of a lattice region)) as Aston’859 teaches this structure improves stiffness of the skin without reducing radiative efficiency or creating light traps on the panel (para [0076]). Murphy discloses a solar array of panels comprising mechanical connectors as a plurality of second splice connectors spaced apart along at least a portion of a second perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the second face sheet of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Murphy, [0007], [0095] Figs. 1-2, 3A-3E, 4A, 17, 26-27 see: plurality of spaced apart hinges 301 overlapping and connected to adjacent panel frames 305 where solar cell panels 101 are mounted). Murphy teaches the particular hinges are formed as singular parts compared to prior art hinges for lower cost and greater reliability (Murphy, paras [0098]-[0099]). Modified Braun and Murphy are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of spacecraft panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Murphy such that Braun further comprises a plurality of second splice connectors spaced apart along at least a portion of a second perimeter edge of, overlapping, and coupled to the second face sheet of the directly adjacent ones of the panels as in Murphy ([0007], [0095] Figs. 1-2, 3A-3E, 4A, 17, 26-27 see: plurality of spaced apart hinges 301 overlapping and connected to adjacent panel frames 305 where solar cell panels 101 are mounted) as Braun teaches the mechanical connectors 20 can take the form of hinges as any suitable connector that stores energy (Braun, paras [0015], [0018]-[0025]) and Murphy teaches the particular hinges are formed as singular parts compared to prior art hinges for lower cost and greater reliability (Murphy, paras [0098]-[0099]). Regarding claim 15 modified Braun discloses the modular panel assembly of claim 12, wherein: Aston’495 discloses each of the panels is additively manufactured from a metallic alloy using laser powder fusion (Aston’495, [0002]-[0003], [0007], [0040] see: panels are additively manufactured with by a method such as laser sintering a metal powder); and Aston’859 discloses at least one the panels comprises a fitting that is additively manufactured with and integral to at least the first face sheet (Aston’859, [0029], [0061], [0073]-[0074], [0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: radiator panel 400 is additively manufactured with skins 410, 412 manufactured integrally with fastener apertures). Regarding claim 16 modified Braun discloses a modular solar array comprising: the modular panel assembly of claim 12 (Figs. 3a-3d); and a solar cell coupled to the second face sheet of each of the panels of the modular panel assembly (Braun, [0013], [0027] Figs. 3a-3d, see: solar cells provided on the bottom plate 13/bottom surface 14) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun et al (US 2020/0361635) in view of Aston’495 (US 2021/0061495) and Aston’859 (US 2021/0354859) and Murphey et al (US 2022/0306324) as applied to claims 1-4, 9-10, 12, and 15-16 above, and in further view of Kochiyama et al (US 5,666,127) . Regarding claim 5 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a nonconductive layer disposed between the second face sheet and the solar cell. Kochiyama teaches such solar arrays with a nonconductive layer disposed between the second face sheet and the solar cell (Kochiyama, Abstract, C3/L20-50, Fig. 2 see: insulation film layer 16 disposed between solar battery panels 13 and signal processing/electrical source layer 22). Modified Braun and Kochiyama are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of such solar array panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Kochiyama such that a nonconductive layer is further disposed between the second face sheet and the solar cell as in Kochiyama (Kochiyama, Abstract, C3/L20-50, Fig. 2 see: insulation film layer 16 disposed between solar battery panels 13 and signal processing/electrical source layer 22) for the express purpose of providing electrical insulation between the solar cell and conductive face sheet . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun et al (US 2020/0361635) in view of Aston’495 (US 2021/0061495) and Aston’859 (US 2021/0354859) and Murphey et al (US 2022/0306324) as applied to claims 1-4, 9-10, 12, and 15-16 above, and in further view of Grip et al (US 2013/0104966) . Regarding claim 6 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a strain isolation layer disposed between the second face sheet and the solar cell. Grip teaches aerospace vehicles further comprising a strain isolation layer disposed between an underlying substrate and a solar cell (Grip, [0060], [0095] see: strain isolation layer 30 between rigid solar layer 12 and underlying substrate layer 52). Grip teaches the strain isolation layer isolates the rigid solar layer to reduce one or more strains induced on the rigid solar layer (Abstract). Modified Braun and Grip are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of such solar array panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Grip such that a strain isolation layer is disposed between the second face sheet and the solar cell of Braun as in Grip (Grip, [0060], [0095] see: strain isolation layer 30 between rigid solar layer 12 and underlying substrate layer 52) as Grip teaches the strain isolation layer isolates the rigid solar layer to reduce one or more strains induced on the rigid solar layer (Abstract) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7-8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun et al (US 2020/0361635) in view of Aston’495 (US 2021/0061495) and Aston’859 (US 2021/0354859) in view of Murphey et al (US 2022/0306324) as applied to claims 1-4, 9-10, 12, and 15-16 above, and in further view of Shimizu et al (JP S61141541A, reference made to attached English machine translation) . Regarding claim 7 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 1, wherein: the first face sheet of each one of the panels comprises: a first inner surface; a first outer surface opposite the first inner surface; and a first continuous region (Figs. 3a-3d see: top plates 11 having inside surface and outside top surface 12 with an edge continuous region); and the first splice connector is coupled to the first continuous region at the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Braun, [0012], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 3a-3d, see: mechanical connectors 20 connecting immediately adjacent tiles 10 and illustrated at outside surface (top surface 12 edge continuous region) of top plates 11 (para [0024]) at a perimeter region of the tiles 10). In the alternative where it’s unclear the first splice connector coupled to the first continuous region at the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels of Braun, Shimizu discloses connecting such panels used in airplanes and vessels with splice connectors where a splice connector coupled to the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Shimizu, see pages 1-2 of translation and Fig. 3 see: outer surfaces of adjacent face sheets 11 of adjacent honeycomb board materials 10 connected with reinforcing board 50 at continuous regions at their side perimeter). Shimizu teaches this provides an easy light weight way of connecting adjacent panels (Shimizu, see page 2 of translation and Fig. 3). Braun and Shimizu are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of such structural panels for aerospace applications. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Shimizu such that the first splice connector is coupled to the first continuous region at the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels as in Shimizu (Shimizu, see pages 1-2 of translation and Fig. 3 see: outer surfaces of adjacent face sheets 11 of adjacent honeycomb board materials 10 connected with reinforcing board 50 at continuous regions at their side perimeter) as Shimizu teaches this provides an easy light weight way of connecting adjacent panels (Shimizu, see page 2 of translation and Fig. 3). Regarding claim 8 modified Braun discloses the modular solar array of claim 7, wherein the first continuous region extends along at least a portion of the first perimeter edge of the first face sheet (Braun, [0012], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 3a-3d, see: mechanical connectors 20 connecting immediately adjacent tiles 10 and illustrated at outside surface (top surface 12 edge continuous region) of top plates 11 (para [0024]) at a perimeter region of the tiles 10). Regarding claim 13 modified Braun discloses the modular panel assembly of claim 12, wherein: the first face sheet of each one of the panels further comprises: a first inner surface; a first outer surface opposite the first inner surface; and a first continuous region (Figs. 3a-3d see: top plates 11 having inside surface and outside top surface 12 with an edge continuous region); the second face sheet of each one of the panels comprises: a second inner surface; a second outer surface opposite the second inner surface; and a second continuous region (Braun, Figs. 3a-3d, see: bottom plate 13 has an inner surface and outer bottom surface 14 each illustrated with a continuous region); and the first splice connector is coupled to the first continuous region at the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Braun, [0012], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 3a-3d, see: mechanical connectors 20 connecting immediately adjacent tiles 10 and illustrated at outside surface (top surface 12 edge continuous region) of top plates 11 (para [0024]) at a perimeter region of the tiles 10); and Murphy teaches the plurality of second splice connectors is coupled to the second continuous region at the second inner surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Murphy, [0095] Figs. 1-2, 3A-3E, 4A, 17, 26-27 see: plurality of spaced apart hinges 301 connected to inner surfaces of adjacent panel frames 305 (continuous perimeter portion) where solar cell panels 101 are mounted). In the alternative where it’s unclear the first splice connector coupled to the first continuous region at the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels in Braun, Shimizu discloses connecting such panels used in airplanes and vessels with a first splice connector where a first splice connector coupled to the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels (Shimizu, see pages 1-2 of translation and Fig. 3 see: outer surfaces of adjacent face sheets 11 of adjacent honeycomb board materials 10 connected with reinforcing board 50 at continuous regions at their side perimeter). Shimizu teaches this provides an easy light weight way of connecting adjacent panels (Shimizu, see page 2 of translation and Figs. 1-3). Braun and Shimizu are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of such structural panels for aerospace applications. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Shimizu such that the first splice connector is coupled to the first continuous region at the first outer surface of each of the directly adjacent ones of the panels as in Shimizu (Shimizu, see pages 1-2 of translation and Fig. 3 see: outer surfaces of adjacent face sheets 11 of adjacent honeycomb board materials 10 connected with reinforcing board 50 at continuous regions at their side perimeter) as Shimizu teaches this provides an easy light weight way of connecting adjacent panels, and the interior splice fittings allow connections that do not project from the panel surfaces (Shimizu, see page 2 of translation and Figs. 1-3). Regarding claim 14 modified Braun discloses the modular panel assembly of claim 13, and Aston’859 discloses wherein the second face sheet further comprises a second lattice region (Aston’859, [0075]-[0076], Figs. 3-5 and 7 see: radiator panel 400 including a first skin 410 and a second skin 412 each with an outer surface 418 having stiffening texture 419 of a square grid of linear portions including circular portions at each intersection of the linear portions (also meeting the limitation of a lattice region)) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun et al (US 2020/0361635) in view of Aston’495 (US 2021/0061495) and Aston’859 (US 2021/0354859) in view of Murphey et al (US 2022/0306324) as applied to claims 1-4, 9-10, 12, and 15-16 above, and in further view of Kellett (US 2022/0048109) . Regarding claim 21 modified Braun discloses the modular panel assembly of claim 12, wherein the first splice connector comprises at least two polygon shaped sections connected by a strap section (Braun, Fig. 3(d) see connector 20 includes a strap portion connecting two ends each with a polygon shaped plate portion); and Murphy discloses each one of the plurality of second splice connectors comprises a polygon shape (HSC hinges 301 are generally rectangular) but otherwise does not explicitly disclose said connectors configured to fit through the first lattice region of the first face sheet. However, Kellett discloses modular panels with a plurality of second splice connectors each comprising a polygon shape and configured to fit through the first lattice region of the first face sheet (Kellett, Abstract, [0005], Figs 1 and 3 see: plurality of panel end inserts or insert blocks 120 or 130 disposed within the lattice structure and/or through the first and/or second face sheets for attaching multiple panels together). Kellett teaches such a configuration allows the insert blocks (second splice connectors) to be unitarily formed with the panel structure withing additional fasteners, adhesives or brazing (para [0022]). Braun and Kellett are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of such structural panels for satellite and aerospace applications. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Braun in view of Kellett such that the plurality of second splice connectors comprise a polygon shape and are configured to fit through the first lattice region of the first face sheet of Braun as in Kellett (Kellett, Abstract, [0005], Figs 1 and 3 see: plurality of panel end inserts or insert blocks 120 or 130 disposed within the lattice structure and/or through the first and/or second face sheets for attaching multiple panels together) as Kellett teaches such a configuration allows the insert blocks (second splice connectors) to be unitarily formed with the panel structure withing additional fasteners, adhesives or brazing (para [0022]). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10, 12-16, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW J GOLDEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7935. The examiner can normally be reached 11am-8pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Barton can be reached at 571-272-1307. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ANDREW J. GOLDEN Primary Examiner Art Unit 1726 /ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 2 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 3 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 4 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 5 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 6 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 7 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 8 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 9 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 10 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 11 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 12 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 16 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 17 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 18 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 19 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 20 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 21 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/757,853 Page 22 Art Unit: 1726