DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 11143830 B2).
As per claim 1, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, adapted to be installed on a housing 13 of a connector 1, comprising: at least one heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) including a plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) extending in a longitudinal direction (along up/down direction of 1, shown in figure 4) of the heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2), the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) stacked in a spaced (along 11, shown in figure 4 and 5) manner in a width direction (of 1 and 2) of the heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) and assembled together to define an air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) extending in the longitudinal direction (along up/down direction of 1, shown in figure 4) between adjacent heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59), wherein at least one of a plurality of air passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) defined by the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) is sized to allow a longitudinally extending heat generation device 18 to at least partially pass through (17 to 111) and be positioned within a corresponding one of the at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11).
As per claim 2, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the sizes of the other air passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) of the plurality of air passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) are distinct from that of the at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) and prevent the heat generation device 18 from being positioned within the other air passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11).
As per claim 3, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the size of the at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) is greater than the sizes of the other air passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2).
As per claim 4, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the plurality of air passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) include a plurality of first passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) and at least one second passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11), wherein the at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) comprises the at least one second passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11).
As per claim 5, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the sizes of the plurality of first passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) are the same as each other and are smaller than the size of the second passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) so as to allow only the heat generation device 18 to be positioned within the second passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11).
As per claim 6, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein each second passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) is positioned between adjacent first passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2).
As per claim 7, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the at least one second passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) comprises two second passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) spaced (along 11, shown in figure 4 and 5) apart in the width direction (of 1 and 2), and the number of the first passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) between the two second passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) is more than the number of the first passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) positioned outside of each second passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11).
As per claim 8, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) of each heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) are fixedly assembled together such that spacings between the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) are constant.
As per claim 9, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) of each heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) are movable relative to each other in the width direction (of 1 and 2), spacings between the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) are adjustable to adjust the size of at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) in the width direction (of 1 and 2) to allow the corresponding heat generation device 18 to be positioned therein.
As per claim 10, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein each heatsink fin (see column 1, lines 56-59) has opposite bottom and top ends in a height direction (along left/right direction of 1, shown in figure 4) of the heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2), and the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) of each heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) are fixedly or detachably assembled together at one of the bottom and top ends (see figure 4 and 5).
As per claim 11, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, further comprising a heat transferring base plate 12 on which the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) are arranged, the heat transferring base plate 12 adapted to be installed on the housing 13 of the connector 1 to conduct heat from the connector 1 to the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59).
As per claim 12, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the heatsink 11 further comprises a holding member 17 adapted to be engaged with the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59), the heat transferring base plate 12, and the housing 13 of the connector 1 so as to fixedly hold the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) and the heat transferring base plate 12 relative to the housing 13.
As per claim 13, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein each heatsink fin (see column 1, lines 56-59) is formed with a groove 111 penetrating through the heatsink fin (see column 1, lines 56-59) in the width direction (of 1 and 2).
As per claim 14, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the grooves 111 of the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) of each heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) are aligned with each other in the width direction (of 1 and 2) to allow the holding member 17 to pass through (17 to 111) the grooves 111 and to fix the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) and the heat transferring base plate 12 onto the housing 13.
As per claim 15, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein a portion of the holding member 17 passing through the grooves 111 in the width direction (of 1 and 2) is positioned close to the heat transferring base plate 12.
As per claim 16, Luo teaches a heatsink 11, wherein the main body portion of the heat generation device 18 positioned in the at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) is positioned above the portion of the holding member 17.
As per claim 17, Luo teaches a connector assembly (figure 1), comprising: a connector 1 including a housing 13 defining an accommodating cavity (wherein 2 fits in, see figure 20) adapted to accommodate a connector module (of 1) and receive an insertion module (of 1) of a mating connector 2; and a heatsink 11 installed on the housing 13 to at least dissipate heat from the connector module (of 1) or insertion module (of 1) positioned in the accommodating cavity (wherein 2 fits in, see figure 20), including: at least one heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) including a plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) extending in a longitudinal direction (along up/down direction of 1, shown in figure 4) of the heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2), the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) stacked in a spaced (along 11, shown in figure 4 and 5) manner in a width direction (of 1 and 2) of the heatsink assembly (shown in figure 2) and assembled together to define an air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) extending in the longitudinal direction (along up/down direction of 1, shown in figure 4) between adjacent heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59), at least one of a plurality of air passages (along 18 either on left or right side of 11) defined by the plurality of heatsink fins (see column 1, lines 56-59) is sized to allow a longitudinally extending heat generation device 18 to at least partially pass through (17 to 111) and be positioned within a corresponding one of the at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11).
As per claim 18, Luo teaches a connector assembly (figure 1), further comprising a heat generation device 18 extending in the longitudinal direction (along up/down direction of 1, shown in figure 4) and at least partially passing through and positioned within a corresponding one of the at least one air passage (along 18 either on left or right side of 11).
As per claim 19, Luo teaches a connector assembly (figure 1), wherein the heat generation device 18 is connected to the connector module (of 1).
As per claim 20, Luo teaches a connector assembly (figure 1), wherein the connector 1 is a socket connector 1, and the heat generation device 18 includes a light guide tube (see column 6, lines 23-34).
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831