DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi et al. (CN110895378 A) in view of Park et al. (WO 2017111254 A) in view of Satomi (US PG Pub. 20070262700).
Regarding claim 1, Yamagishi discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising:
a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) irradiated with excitation light (semiconductor laser elements 101a to 101c generated for exciting blue light of the phosphor of the phosphor wheel device 120 of fig. 1);
a substrate (substrate 121 of fig. 1 and 3) having a first surface (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 8); and
a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) that bonds the phosphor (122) to the first surface (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 8) of the substrate (110), wherein the bonding layer (125) includes an adhesive (adhesive 125 of fig. 8) and a plurality of first fillers mixed with the adhesive (filler particles 126 of fig. 8).
Yamagishi fails to teach wherein the bonding layer includes: an adhesive, and a plurality of first fillers mixed with the adhesive, and a plurality of second fillers mixed with the adhesive, wherein each of the plurality of first fillers having has a rod-like shape with a longitudinal axis, and overlaps with the other first fillers in layers in the adhesive to form a fibrous shape, the plurality of first fillers are so oriented that a direction along the longitudinal axis of each of the plurality of first fillers intersects with the first surface of the substrate.
Park discloses wherein the bonding layer includes: an adhesive (conductive adhesive layer 30 of fig. 1), and a plurality of first fillers (needle-shaped fillers) mixed with the adhesive (intermediate layer (32) in which spherical first conductive fillers and needle-shaped second conductive fillers are mixed), and a plurality of second fillers (spherical fillers) mixed with the adhesive (pg. 59 2nd para. an intermediate layer (32) in which spherical first conductive fillers and needle-shaped second conductive fillers are mixed), wherein each of the plurality of first fillers having has a rod-like shape (shown in fig. 1) with a longitudinal axis, and overlaps with the other first fillers in layers in the adhesive to form a fibrous shape (illustrated in figs. 1-4), the plurality of first fillers are so oriented that a direction along the longitudinal axis of each of the plurality of first fillers intersects with the first surface of the substrate (pg. 9 6th para., reduce the resistivity of the conductive adhesive layer, it is preferable that the conductive filler is a mixture of a spherical first conductive filler and a needle-like second conductive filler…by reducing the resistivity the conductive properties of the adhesive increases…therefore, heat and/or electricity may be transmitted through the adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify phosphor layer of Yamagishi with the needle-like fillers of Park in order to efficiently transfer heat (because the adhesive is conductive) from the phosphor layer to the substrate; thereby extending the life of the phosphor material.
Yamagishi as modified by Park fails to teach a thermal conductivity of the first fillers is higher than a thermal conductivity of the adhesive.
Satomi discloses a thermal conductivity of the first fillers (mica 0.7 W/m-k and glass 1.05 W/m-k) is higher than a thermal conductivity of the adhesive (para. 0063 states that the resin is either silicone or epoxy which has a thermal conductivity 0.1-0.4 W/m-k and 0.2 W/m-k respectfully).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the adhesive layer of Yamagishi and Park with the fillers of Satomi in order to increase the life of the wavelength conversion element by delaying the travel of moisture, oxygen and CO2 (Satomi; para. 0007).
Regarding claim 2, Yamagishi discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising: a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) and a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) that bonds the phosphor (122).
Yamagishi fails to teach wherein the plurality of first fillers include fillers in contact with the phosphor and fillers in contact with the substrate.
Satomi discloses an electroluminescent panel (EL panel 110 of fig. 10) wherein the plurality of first fillers include fillers in contact with the substrate (para. 0063; The fillers 122 added to the resin sheet 118 have a needle shape or a long flat shape, and all of them are standing fillers which stand to the substrate surface 12b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the adhesive layer of Yamagishi with the fillers of Satomi in order to increase the life of the wavelength conversion element by delaying the travel of moisture, oxygen and CO2 (Satomi; para. 0007).
Regarding claim 4, Yamagishi as modified by Park discloses further comprising a heat diffusion member (fin 123 of fig. 8) that is disposed at a second surface of the substrate (121) that is opposite from the first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 above) and receives heat of the substrate (pg. 7 last para.; on the surface of the substrate 121 in the presence of the fins 123 portion (i.e., easy to be cooling fin 123 portion)), wherein a thermal conductivity of a phosphor support formed of the heat diffusion member (illustrated in fig. 8) and the substrate (121).
Yamagishi fails to teach wherein the substrate is higher than the thermal conductivity of the plurality of first fillers.
Satomi discloses wherein the substrate is higher than the thermal conductivity of the first fillers (the thermal conductivity of Aluminum is 190 W/m-k for the substrate and the thermal conductivity of (mica 0.7 W/m-k and glass 1.05 W/m-k for the filler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify thermal conductivity of the fillers of Yamagishi and Park wherein the substrate has a higher thermal conductivity than the fillers as shown by Satomi in order to efficiently dissipate the heat to the environment thereby prolonging the life of the phosphor wheel.
Regarding claim 5, Yamagishi discloses wherein the substrate (121) has a reflection surface (reflective layer 127 of fig. 8) that is in contact with the bonding layer (125) and reflects light (para. 0027; the reflection layer RL may be a diffuse reflection layer or a high reflection layer).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Yamagishi discloses wherein the reflectance of the plurality of first fillers (125) is higher than a reflectance of the adhesive (the reflectance of the TiO2 fillers is 95%; pg. 7) and the reflectance of the silicone adhesive is roughly (6% because it is mostly transmissive).
Regarding claim 13, Yamagishi discloses further comprising a heat dissipation member (fin 123) that is disposed at a second surface of the substrate (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 above) that is opposite from the first surface and dissipates heat of the substrate (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 14, Yamagishi discloses further comprising a rotation driver (driving device 124 of fig. 1), wherein the substrate (121) is a wheel substrate (phosphor wheel unit 120 of fig. 1), and the rotation driver rotationally drives the wheel substrate (pg. 12 3rd para.; phosphor wheel unit 120 to the base plate 121 by the driving device 124, the plurality of fins 123 rotate together).
Regarding claim 15, Yamagishi discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising:
a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) irradiated with excitation light (semiconductor laser elements 101a to 101c generated for exciting blue light of the phosphor of the phosphor wheel device 120 of fig. 1);
a substrate (substrate 121 of fig. 1 and 3) having a first surface (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 8); and
a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) that bonds the phosphor (122) to the first surface (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 8) of the substrate (110), wherein the bonding layer (125) includes an adhesive (adhesive 125 of fig. 8) and a plurality of first fillers mixed with the adhesive (filler particles 126 of fig. 8).
Yamagishi fails to teach wherein the bonding layer includes: an adhesive, and a plurality of first fillers mixed with the adhesive, and a plurality of second fillers mixed with the adhesive, wherein each of the plurality of first fillers having has a rod-like shape with a longitudinal axis, and overlaps with the other first fillers in layers in the adhesive to form a fibrous shape, the plurality of first fillers are so oriented that a direction along the longitudinal axis of each of the plurality of first fillers intersects with the first surface of the substrate.
Park discloses wherein the bonding layer includes: an adhesive (conductive adhesive layer 30 of fig. 1), and a plurality of first fillers (needle-shaped fillers) mixed with the adhesive (intermediate layer (32) in which spherical first conductive fillers and needle-shaped second conductive fillers are mixed), and a plurality of second fillers (spherical fillers) mixed with the adhesive (pg. 59 2nd para. an intermediate layer (32) in which spherical first conductive fillers and needle-shaped second conductive fillers are mixed), wherein each of the plurality of first fillers having has a rod-like shape (shown in fig. 1) with a longitudinal axis, and overlaps with the other first fillers in layers in the adhesive to form a fibrous shape (illustrated in figs. 1-4), the plurality of first fillers are so oriented that a direction along the longitudinal axis of each of the plurality of first fillers intersects with the first surface of the substrate (pg. 9 6th para., reduce the resistivity of the conductive adhesive layer, it is preferable that the conductive filler is a mixture of a spherical first conductive filler and a needle-like second conductive filler…by reducing the resistivity the conductive properties of the adhesive increases…therefore, heat and/or electricity may be transmitted through the adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify phosphor layer of Yamagishi with the needle-like fillers of Park in order to efficiently transfer heat (because the adhesive is conductive) from the phosphor layer to the substrate; thereby extending the life of the phosphor material.
Yamagishi as modified by Park fails to teach a thermal conductivity of the first fillers is higher than a thermal conductivity of the adhesive.
Satomi discloses a thermal conductivity of the first fillers (mica 0.7 W/m-k and glass 1.05 W/m-k) is higher than a thermal conductivity of the adhesive (para. 0063 states that the resin is either silicone or epoxy which has a thermal conductivity 0.1-0.4 W/m-k and 0.2 W/m-k respectfully).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the adhesive layer of Yamagishi and Park with the fillers of Satomi in order to increase the life of the wavelength conversion element by delaying the travel of moisture, oxygen and CO2 (Satomi; para. 0007).
Regarding claim 16, Yamagishi discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising: a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) and a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) comprising fillers (126) that bonds the phosphor (122).
Yamagishi fails to teach wherein the plurality of first fillers include fillers in contact with the phosphor and fillers in contact with the substrate.
Satomi discloses wherein the plurality of first fillers include fillers in contact with the substrate (para. 0063; The fillers 122 added to the resin sheet 118 have a needle shape or a long flat shape, and all of them are standing fillers which stand to the substrate surface 12b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the adhesive layer of Yamagishi with the fillers of Satomi in order to increase the life of the wavelength conversion element by delaying the travel of moisture, oxygen and CO2 (Satomi; para. 0007).
Regarding claim 18, Yamagishi discloses further comprising a heat diffusion member (fin 123 of fig. 8) that is disposed at a second surface of the substrate (121) that is opposite from the first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 above) and receives heat of the substrate (pg. 7 last para.; on the surface of the substrate 121 in the presence of the fins 123 portion (i.e., easy to be cooling fin 123 portion)), wherein a thermal conductivity of a phosphor support formed of the heat diffusion member (illustrated in fig. 8) and the substrate (121).
Yamagishi fails to teach wherein the substrate is higher than the thermal conductivity of the plurality of first fillers.
Satomi discloses wherein the substrate is higher than the thermal conductivity of the plurality of first fillers (the thermal conductivity of Aluminum is 190 W/m-k for the substrate and the thermal conductivity of (mica 0.7 W/m-k and glass 1.05 W/m-k for the filler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify thermal conductivity of the fillers of Yamagishi wherein the substrate has a higher thermal conductivity than the fillers as shown by Satomi in order to efficiently dissipate the heat to the environment thereby prolonging the life of the phosphor wheel.
Regarding claim 19, Yamagishi discloses an excitation light source (101a-101c of fig. 1) that outputs the excitation light toward the wavelength converter (122).
Regarding claim 20, Yamagishi discloses a projector (projection-type image display device 300 of fig. 11);
a light modulator (light modulation element 310 of fig. 11) that modulates light emitted from the light source apparatus; and
a projection optical apparatus (projection-type image display device 300 of fig. 11); that projects the light modulated by the light modulator (light modulation element 310 of fig. 11).
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi et al. (CN110895378 A) and Park et al. (WO 2017111254 A) and Satomi (US PG Pub. 20070262700) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamura et al. (US PG Pub. 20110051588).
Regarding claim 9. Yamagishi as modified by Park and Satomi discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising: a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) and a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) comprising fillers (126) that bonds the phosphor (122).
Yamagishi as modified by Park and Satomi fails to teach wherein the bonding layer further includes a plurality of second fillers having a reflectance higher than a reflectance of the plurality of first fillers.
Okamura discloses wherein the bonding layer (adhesive agent 1 of fig. 12) further includes a plurality of second fillers (sphere-like fillers 2 of fig. 12) having a reflectance higher than a reflectance of the plurality of first fillers (needle-like fillers 12 of fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the bonding layer of Yamagishi, Park and Satomi with the second fillers of Okamura in order to reduce the possibility of failure due to uncuring of the adhesive agent (Okamura; para. 0016).
Regarding claim 10, Yamagishi as modified by Park and Satomi discloses as modified by Satomi discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising: a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) and a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) comprising fillers (126) that bonds the phosphor (122).
Yamagishi as modified by Park and Satomi fails to teach wherein a content rate of the plurality first fillers is smaller than a content rate of the second fillers in the bonding layer.
Okamura discloses wherein a content rate of the first fillers (12) is smaller than a content rate of the second fillers (2) in the bonding layer (illustrated in fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify bonding layer of Yamagishi, Park and Satomi with the fillers of Okamura in order to suppress the lowering in the transmissivity of the light for curing the adhesive agent.
Regarding claim 12, Yamagishi as modified by Park discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising: a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) and a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) comprising fillers (126) that bonds the phosphor (122).
Yamagishi as modified by Park fails to teach wherein the second fillers each have a shape having a longitudinal axis.
Satomi discloses wherein the fillers (122) each have a shape having a longitudinal axis (fillers 122 added to the resin sheet 118 have a needle shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the adhesive layer of Yamagishi and Park with the fillers of Satomi in order to increase the life of the wavelength conversion element by delaying the travel of moisture, oxygen and CO2 (Satomi; para. 0007).
Yamagishi as modified by Park and Satomi fails to teach wherein the second fillers have longitudinal axis; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the second fillers to have a longitudinal axis in order to “double up protection” on delaying the travel of moisture, oxygen and CO2.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi et al. (CN110895378 A) and Park et al. (WO 2017111254 A) and Satomi (US PG Pub. 20070262700) and Okamura et al. (US PG Pub. 20110051588) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hector et al. (US Pat. 5,315,579 A).
Regarding claim 11, Yamagishi as modified by Satomi discloses a wavelength converter (phosphor wheel 120 of fig. 8) comprising: a phosphor (phosphor (122) of fig. 8) and a bonding layer (adhesive layer 125 of fig. 8) comprising fillers (126) that bonds the phosphor (122).
Yamagishi as modified by Satomi fails to teach wherein an outer diameter of each of the second fillers is equal to a thickness of the bonding layer.
Hector discloses wherein an outer diameter of each of the second fillers (95%) is equal to a thickness of the bonding layer (col. 5 lines 7-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify Yamagishi and Satomi wherein the diameter of the filler is equal to the thickness of the bonding layer as shown by Hector in order to increase the bond strength (Hector; col. 1 lines 45-48).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 17 September 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882