DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6, 7, 9, and 10 contain the limitation "Shore D hardness (according to DIN EN ISO 868)". Where a government or industry standard is used in a claim as a limitation, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph because the claim scope is uncertain since standards are subject to change over time. In order to overcome this rejection, applicant must file a copy of the standard (excerpts of the applicable portions are acceptable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Densel et al. (WO 2005/057075A1 hereinafter “Densel”).
In regards to claim 1, Densel discloses an adapter for connecting a second sleeve of an upper part and a first sleeve of a lower part of a fluid dispensing device, the adapter comprising:
a ring-shaped base body (216) with:
a longitudinal axis;
an inner surface (244), which encloses a through opening (central bore) for accommodating the first sleeve and includes an inner locking structure (246); and
an outer surface (218), which is insertable into an opening of the second sleeve and includes an outer locking structure (220),
wherein at least one of the locking structures is designed such that when the adapter is connected to one of the first or second sleeve, resistance to a relative movement of the adapter to the one of the first or second sleeve in a first direction along the longitudinal axis is greater than in a second direction opposed to the first direction (shown in fig. 11).
In regards to claim 2, Densel further discloses the inner locking structure comprises at least one projection, which protrudes radially inwards from the inner surface and has an insertion bevel that decreases an inner diameter of the adapter in the first direction in sections and forms an undercut with an inner diameter that is increased in sections (shown in fig. 10).
In regards to claim 3, Densel further discloses the outer locking structure comprises at least one projection, which protrudes radially outwards from the outer surface and has an insertion bevel that increases an outer diameter of the adapter in the second direction in sections and forms an undercut with the outer diameter that is decreased in sections (shown in fig. 10).
In regards to claim 4, Densel further discloses at least one of the inner or outer locking structures is formed by a circumferential projection (shown in fig. 10).
In regards to claim 5, Densel further discloses the inner surface comprises a first region having a first inner diameter (at “220’) and a second region (at “246”) having a second inner diameter that is smaller relative to the first region.
In regards to claim 8, Densel discloses a fluid dispensing device comprising:
an upper part (94), which comprises at least one second sleeve (96);
a lower part (212), which comprises at least one first sleeve (body of 212), the lower part being connectable to the upper part; and
an adapter according to claim 1 (see above),
wherein the second sleeve of the upper part is connected to the first sleeve of the lower part via the adapter (shown in fig. 11), and
wherein the adapter is respectively connected to the second sleeve of the upper part and the first sleeve of the lower part at least one of in a form fit or by a press fit (shown in fig. 11).
In regards to claim 11, Densel further discloses the second sleeve of the upper part comprises at least one of a retaining groove (see groove at “220” is connected) or a projection protruding radially inwards which, with the undercut of the outer locking mechanism, form a snap-lock connection.
In regards to claim 13, Densel discloses a method for assembling a fluid dispensing device according to claim 8, comprising: inserting the adapter into the first sleeve of the upper part, then inserting the first sleeve of the lower part into the adapter (shown in figs. 10 and 11).
In regards to claim 14, Densel discloses a fluid dispensing device comprising:
an adapter (216);
an upper part (96), which comprises at least one head sleeve (94); and
a lower part (212), which comprises at least one cone sleeve (body of “212”), the lower part being connectable to the upper part;
wherein the head sleeve is connectable to the cone sleeve via the adapter (shown in fig. 11), and
wherein the adapter is respectively connected to the head sleeve and the cone sleeve via at least one of a form fit connection or a press fit connection (shown in fig. 11).
In regards to claim 15, Densel further discloses the adapter includes an inner locking structure (246) for connecting to the cone sleeve and an outer locking structure (220) for connecting to the head sleeve.
In regards to claim 16, Densel further discloses the adapter has an outer surface (244) insertable into the head sleeve and an inner surface (218) configured to receive the cone sleeve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Densel as applied to claims 1 and 8 above.
In regards to claims 6 and 7, Densel discloses the adapter of claim 1 and further discloses the adapter is formed of plastic (see paragraph [0031]).
Densel discloses the claimed invention except for the plastic having a shore D hardness of between 80 and 90. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Densel by making the adapter from a material with a shore hardness of between 80 and 90 such as PPE due to its strength, corrosion resistance, etc., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claims 9 and 10, Densel discloses the claimed device except for the first sleeve having a shore D hardness of between 45 and 70. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Densel by making the adapter from a material with a shore hardness of between 80 and 90 such as PVC due to its strength, corrosion resistance, etc., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claim 12, while Densel does not expressly disclose a first assembly force, which is required for inserting the adapter into the second sleeve of the upper part, is greater than a second assembly force, which is required for fitting the adapter onto the first sleeve of the lower part, and that a first disassembly force, which is required for pulling the adapter out of the first sleeve of the upper part, is less than a second disassembly force, which is required for pulling the adapter off the sleeve of the lower part; the forces required for assembly/disassembly may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Densel to have a first assembly force, which is required for inserting the adapter into the second sleeve of the upper part, be greater than a second assembly force, which is required for fitting the adapter onto the first sleeve of the lower part, and that a first disassembly force, which is required for pulling the adapter out of the first sleeve of the upper part, be less than a second disassembly force, as the forces required for assembly/disassembly may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar adapter.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
05/19/2026