DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claim(s) 1 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/28/2024 noted and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/28/2024. These drawings are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritala et al. (US 6,632,279) in view of Jones (US 7,927,661) and Yoshino et al. (US 2017/0050998).
Ritala discloses a method for growing thin oxide films on the surface of a substrate by alternatively reacting the surface of the substrate with a metal source material and an oxygen source material. The oxygen source material is preferably a metal alkoxide. The metal source material may be a metal halide, hydride, alkoxide, alkyl, a cyclopentadienylcompound, or a diketonate (abstract). Ritala discloses that, the deposition of a thin film is carried out by means of alternating saturated surface reactions. These reactions are implemented by directing gaseous or vaporized source materials alternately into the reactor and by rinsing the reactor with an inert gas between the source material pulses and thin oxide films are deposited at a temperature which is so high that, when becoming adsorbed to the substrate surface, a vaporized source material reacts with a molecule layer of a second source material, or that a vaporized source material becomes adsorbed as such and reacts with a second source material directed to the substrate surface in the subsequent step (Col. 4 line 27-40). The metal may be, for example, lanthanum, cerium, praseodymium, neodymium, promethium, samarium, europium, gadolinium, terbium, dysprosium, holmium, erbium, thulium, or ytterbium (Col. 5 line 50+). In preferred embodiment, a protective layer is deposited on the surface of a readily oxidizing substrate material. The protective layer is typically fewer than 20, and preferably approximately 1-5 atom layers thick. When the substrate has been covered with a film thus deposited, the deposition is continued by some other process, for example, by using water or hydrogen peroxide as the oxygen source material (Col. 3 lines 16-25). By the procedure according to the embodiment it is possible to optimize, for example, the film growth rate and/or the purity of the film (Col. 8 lines 37-41). Additional disclosure includes that, considerable advantages are achieved by means of the invention. Owing to the new oxygen source materials, ALD can also be exploited in applications in which present-day oxygen source materials cause problems, for example, by oxidizing the substrate surface, since oxygen is bound directly to the metal in the metal compounds to which the invention relates, oxidation of the substrate surface presupposes the breaking of the metal-oxygen bond. On the other hand, the metal-oxygen bond can be affected by the selection of the metal and the compound type.
Ritala fails to disclose alkoxide compounds and carbon content in thin film is less than 1.0 atom % and thickness of 0.06 nm or more per one cycle.
Jones discloses stable volatile rare earth metal oxide precursors suitable for use in chemical vapour deposition techniques. Preferred precursors have the general formula: M[OCR¹(R²)(CH₂)nX]₃, wherein M is a rare earth metal, especially praseodymium, R¹ is H or an alkyl group, R² is an optionally substituted alky group and X is selected from OR and NR₂, R is an alkyl group or a substituted alkyl group (Col. 2 lines 7-28). The precursor may also be suitable for use in the deposition of praseodymium oxide films by other chemical vapour deposition techniques, such as atomic layer deposition (ALD). Other volatile rare earth precursors for use in MOCVD, ALD, or sol-gel processes may include lanthanide (rare-earth) elements, such as La, Ce, Gd, Pm, Eu, Th, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yo and Lu as well as Group IIIB elements including Sc and Y (Col. 3 lines 12-26). Analysis of the films by scanning electron microscopy (SEM) showed that all the as-grown films exhibited smooth surfaces and uniform cross-sectional thicknesses (Col. 4 lines 65+). Analysis by auger electron spectroscopy (AES) analysis of Pr-oxide films deposited from [Pr(mmp)3] showed that the films are pure Pr-oxide, with no detectable carbon (Table 2). Carbon was not detected in any of the films at the estimated detection limit of <0.5 at -% and carbon free La-oxide films were obtained, even in the absence of oxygen (Col. 6 lines 28-35).
Yoshino discloses compound of general formula (I):
, wherein R¹ and R² independently
represent a straight chain or branched chain alkyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and a thin film-forming raw material that uses this cobalt compound (abstract). The physical properties of the cobalt compound of this invention, which is a precursor, are suitable for vapor phase thin film formation methods, and especially CVD methods and ALD methods, the thin film-forming raw material of this invention is particularly useful as a raw material used in these film formation methods (0032). The deposition rate can be controlled by adjusting raw material supply conditions (vaporization temperature and vaporization pressure), reaction temperature and reaction pressure. If the deposition rate is too high, the characteristics of the obtained thin film may deteriorate, and if the deposition rate is too low, productivity problems may occur. Therefore, the deposition rate is preferably 0.01 to 5000 nm/min, and more preferably 0.1 to 1000 nm/min. In addition, in the case of an ALD method, the number of cycles should be controlled so as to obtain the desired film thickness (0072). When using an ALD method to produce thin film, one cycle is deemed to be one series of steps comprising the precursor thin film formation step, the discharge step and the thin film formation step, and this cycle may be repeated a plurality of times until a thin film having the required film thickness is obtained. In such cases, it is preferable to carry out one cycle, discharge unreacted raw material gas, reactive gas and by-produced gas from the film formation chamber in the same way as in the discharge step, and then carry out the next cycle (0076). The obtained thin film was measured in terms of film thickness using an X-ray reflectance method, and the structure and composition of the thin film were confirmed using an X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy. The results showed that the film thickness obtained per unit time was 0.2 to 1.0 nm/min, and that the obtained thin films were all cobalt oxide thin films (0139). Additional disclosure includes that the deposition rate can be controlled by adjusting raw material supply conditions (vaporization temperature and vaporization pressure), reaction temperature and reaction pressure. If the deposition rate is too high, the characteristics of the obtained thin film may deteriorate, and if the deposition rate is too low, productivity problems may occur. Therefore, the deposition rate is preferably 0.01 to 5000 nm/min, and more preferably 0.1 to 1000 nm/min. In addition, in the case of an ALD method, the number of cycles should be controlled so as to obtain the desired film thickness.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Jones and Yoshino into Ritala to arrive at the claimed thin film containing metal compound. Jones teaches that the precursors of the invention can also be used in in combination with an appropriate silicon precursor for the MOCVD of lanthanide silicates, and with appropriate co-precursors for the MOCVD of multi-component oxides, such as PrxMyOz containing praseodymium, or other rare earth metals with metals (M) from other groups of the periodic table (Col. 3 lines 27-35), Yoshino teaches that the deposition rate can be controlled by adjusting raw material supply conditions (vaporization temperature and vaporization pressure), reaction temperature and reaction pressure, and in the case of an ALD method, the number of cycles should be controlled so as to obtain the desired film thickness When using an ALD method to produce thin film, one cycle is deemed to be one series of steps comprising the precursor thin film formation step, the discharge step and the thin film formation step, and this cycle may be repeated a plurality of times until a thin film having the required film thickness is obtained. In such cases, it is preferable to carry out one cycle, discharge unreacted raw material gas, reactive gas and by-produced gas from the film formation chamber in the same way as in the discharge step, and then carry out the next cycle ( 0072 and 0076). Given the physical properties of the metal alkoxides implicit in Ritala to the application of the metal alkoxide to ALD processes, one skied in the art would be motivated to use the compounds with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining an economically viable source of thin film precursors.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
/J.R.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618