DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1, 8-12 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 2-7 are canceled. The remarks are not persuasive in that the features discussed are either present in the primary reference or taught for the reasons discussed below in the secondary teaching references. In particular applicant remarks that secondary teaching reference Frigerio does not disclose two shear pins as arranged in the application, but the remarks are only directed to Frigerio. In other words, applicant argues against the references individually, but one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Riccardi discloses that which applicant argues is not taught in Frigerio, and so the reasons cited by the office for combining Riccardi with Frigerio are not addressed and the remark cannot be found persuasive.
The same reasoning applies to the remarks regarding secondary teaching reference Ido. The features taught in Riccardi meet the limitations as applied, and Ido is merely combined for the reasons of positioning/terminating the ends as discussed below. The remarks cannot be found persuasive.
Applicant reiterates regarding Riccardi that the shear pin arrangement is not provided, but clearly this is not the case as modified by Frigerio and Ido as discussed for the reasons indicated below as modified to meet the adjusted claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “and a shoulder at least partially surrounding the opening is seated on a ball check of the first part”. It is unclear and/or uncertain (i.e. there appears to be a zone of uncertainty) from a reading of the claim as to what is intended by the term/phrase/idea and how such a term/phrase/idea should be interpreted. In other words, there is a lack of objective meaningful reference as to where the shoulder is located, on the first part, the second part, as well as relative to the ball check. In the interest of compact prosecution, the term/phrase will be given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riccardi (US 2023/0415176) and further in view of Frigerio (US 11428339) and Ido (US 2004/0184205).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected (as indefinitely understood) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riccardi in view of Frigerio and Ido, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sacks (US 2297076.)
Riccardi discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 5 and partially annotated figure 4 below)
A valve timing solenoid (the term “timing” considered a term of intended use as it adds no meaningful limitation to the body of the claimed apparatus under MPEP 2114) (see 1 figure 4 and 5) comprising: a first part (7) with an open end (at 1002) defined by a surrounding wall (of 1004) that has a pair of apertures (7a) and a pair of recesses (at 1006 defined by the inside passage and wall of 7a, and as the bore of 7a penetratingly opens into the inside cylindrical surface of 7 there is an open radially inward facing recess as noted at 1006 to provide for exposure of the pin 8) that are aligned with respective ones of the apertures (8 left/right); a second part (3f) having a projection (at 1008) that fits within the open end and has a circumferential slot (3g) that is positioned to align with the pair of apertures and the pair of recesses; and, a pair of shear pins (8 left/right pin projections and each), each said shear pin passes through a respective one of the apertures (7a) and the corresponding one of the recesses (1006) so that a first end (the end at 1010b) of each of the shear pins is within the respective aperture and a second end (the end at 1010a) of each of the shear pins is within respective recess (there being a middle as indicated that divides the axial ends), wherein each respective pair of the aperture and the recess are dimensioned to receive the respective shear pin (as shown), the circumferential slot permits passage of the pair of shear pins (as shown), Riccardi does not disclose, two separate shear pins, nor the first and second ends of the shear pins are contained within the first part in order to join the first part to the second part;
But Frigerio teaches, two separate pins 204A figure 6 and Col 5 ln 22-23, provided for the purpose of stably fixing the valve body on either side; and Ido teaches: both the first and second ends (see figure 2) of the shear pin (23) are contained (i.e. terminate) within the first part (22) in order to join the first part (22) to the second part (21, all for the purpose of for example, reducing access of the pin from outside interference and reducing the effect of inadvertent decoupling of the parts.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Riccardi as taught in Frigerio, two separate pins, for the purpose of stably fixing the valve body on either side, as also taught in Riccardi, especially since it has been held that the provision of separability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) and
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Riccardi/Frigerio as taught in Ido, with the two pins of Riccardi/Frigerio with separate first and second ends as taught in Ido for the respective the shear pins so as to be contained within the first part as taught in Ido in order to join the first part of Riccardi as taught in Ido to the second part thereof, and all for the purpose of for example, reducing access of the pin from outside interference and reducing the effect of inadvertent decoupling of the parts.
Riccardi discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 8: The valve timing solenoid of claim 1, wherein the pair of shear pins (as separately modified for the reasons discussed above) are inserted into the first part from opposite sides (left and right sides) of the surrounding wall.
Riccardi discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 9: The valve timing solenoid of claim 1, wherein each recess of the pair of recesses is formed in an inner portion of the surrounding wall opposite a respective aperture of the pair of apertures (the recess is the inner through passage in the body of the surrounding wall, and the apertures are merely the openings at the ends of the passages respectively.)
Riccardi discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 10: The valve timing solenoid of claim 1, wherein each shear pin extends through the circumferential slot (as discussed) and terminates within the first part without extending (when seated therein) radially outwardly beyond the surrounding wall.
Riccardi discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 11: The valve timing solenoid of claim 1, wherein the projection of the second part includes an opening (at 1000), and a shoulder (that of 9) at least partially surrounding the opening; Riccardi does not disclose, although Sacks teaches: a seated ball check (26 figure 1) of the first part (V) supported by a shoulder (at 27, and all for the purpose of for example, providing a minimum required fluid pressure past the ball check when the valve is open for the purpose of fluid pressure control as well as reducing fluid hammer)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide in Riccardi as taught by Sacks, a seated ball check arranged in the first part of Riccardi as taught by Sacks, with the ball supported by a shoulder as taught in Sacks, and all for the purpose of for example, providing a minimum required fluid pressure past the ball check when the valve is open for the purpose of fluid pressure control as well as reducing fluid hammer.
Riccardi discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 12: The valve timing solenoid of claim 11, wherein the ball check is (fluidly) biased toward the second part by a spring (28) disposed in the first part.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753