DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 9-18) in the reply filed on 3/31/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-18 will be examined on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “power source” of claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 12, each claim recites “the engagement member” (Claim 9, line 5; Claim 12, lines 2-3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this is intended to refer to the “elongate engagement element” recited in line 2 of claim 9.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “the recess” and “the cavity of the delivery assembly” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0273086).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. disclose a docking station (cleaning cartridge 112 in Fig. 1, 1200 in Fig. 12) for a formulation delivery appliance (104), the appliance including an elongate engagement element (602, 604; Paragraph 0086-0087; Fig. 6) having a channel (606, 608) in fluid communication with a pump (614; Paragraph 0088; Fig. 6) configured to draw fluid through the engagement element and to discharge the fluid into a manifold (624) that provides the fluid to at least one nozzle (618; Paragraph 0089), the docking station comprising: a mount (see 806 of 1200 in Fig. 12) configured to sealingly receive the engagement member (via 1208; Paragraph 0120) so that the pump is in fluid engagement with a storage tank (1206) filled with a cleaning fluid (1202; Paragraph 0120), wherein the pump is configured to draw cleaning fluid from the storage tank and to discharge the cleaning fluid into the manifold and through the at least one nozzle (cleaning cartridge provides cleaning fluid in the same manner as described for formulation cartridges; Paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. further discloses that the engagement element is disposed with a cavity of a delivery assembly, the mount being sized and configured to be received within the cavity (Paragraph 0024, 0027, 0120; Fig. 1).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark et al. (US 4,790,454).
Regarding claim 9, Clark et al. disclose a docking station (14; Fig. 1) for a formulation delivery appliance (16), the appliance including an elongate engagement element (28/29) having a channel in fluid communication with a pump (29 connected to pump 1 via conduit containing orifice 7, check valve 5; Col. 5, lines 41-50) configured to draw fluid through the engagement element and to discharge the fluid into a manifold (13) that provides the fluid to at least one nozzle (15; Col. 5, lines 57-59), the docking station comprising: a mount (attachment portion of 14 corresponding to 30) configured to sealingly receive the engagement member so that the pump is in fluid engagement with a storage tank (29 interacts with valve 9 to connect pump to storage tank 8; Col. 4, line 67 - Col. 5, line 3; Col. 5, lines 21-29) filled with a cleaning fluid (chemical concentrate such as soap; Col. 1, lines 16-18), wherein the pump is configured to draw cleaning fluid from the storage tank and to discharge the cleaning fluid into the manifold and through the at least one nozzle (Examiner notes the pump is configured to perform this function with a variety of liquids, including for cleaning the internal passages of the appliance; Col. 6, lines 38-43).
Regarding claim 10, Clark et al. further disclose that the engagement element is disposed with a cavity of a delivery assembly (interior space of 28), the mount being sized and configured to be received within the cavity (via bayonet or threaded connection, for example; Col. 5, lines 21-25; Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Charraud et al. (US 2023/0346109) and Fujimoto et al. (US 2010/0180920).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. disclose the docking station of Claim 9, but do not disclose that the mount is rotatably coupled to a base. Lee et al. describes the docking station as being in the form of a cleaning cartridge containing the mount, as well as a handle portion (see 802 in Fig. 10).
Charraud et al. teach a formulation delivery appliance (100) that is cleaned in a similar manner (Paragraphs 0030-0031) by attachment to a cleaning cartridge via a base device (200; see annotated Fig. 3B below). Charraud et al. further teach that such a base device may have additional functionality, such as providing communication with other devices (Paragraphs 0039-0040).
Fig. 3B of Charraud, annotated by Examiner
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the docking station of Lee et al. in the form of a base with attached mount for connecting to the appliance, as taught by Charraud et al., in order to provide a more convenient means of performing the cleaning operation (i.e., to act as a stand so that the user would not be required to hold the appliance while cleaning). One having ordinary skill in the art would be further motivated to make such a modification to enable additional functionality such as wired connections for communication or power, as is well-known in the art.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be capable of making such a modification with predictable results (e.g., by replacing the handle portion of the docking station of Lee et al. with the base of Charraud, such that the storage tank is located in the base and connected to the mount via the passageway identified in annotated Fig. 3B of Charraud et al. above). However, the combined invention of Lee et al.-Charraud et al. still does not disclose a rotatable coupling between the mount and the base.
Fujimoto et al. teach a docking station (see especially 1B in Fig. 13) for a formulation delivery appliance (2B in Fig. 13) in which a mount (40B) is rotatably coupled to a base (at 39; Paragraph 0065). Fujimoto et al. teach this configuration as a means of rotating the appliance between one angle to perform a cleaning operation and another angle when cleaning is complete and/or to perform another operation (such as drying the device, or applying an additional material to the cleaned portion of the appliance; e.g., see Paragraphs 0067, 0072, 0074 and Figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the base of the combined invention with a rotatable coupling to the mount, as taught by Fujimoto et al., in order to rotate the appliance to a different position after cleaning so that drying or another operation may be performed, thus arriving at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 12-13, Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto in combination disclose the docking station of Claim 11, wherein the storage tank is disposed within the base. When modified as described above, the storage tank would be in fluid connection with the engagement member through a tube (see the passageway in annotated Fig. 3B above) when the engagement member is received by the mount, in accordance with claim 12.
Lee et al. further discloses a valve that limits flow of the fluid toward the storage tank (output nozzles 1208 are valves; Paragraphs 0025, 0028; see 824 in Fig. 10). When implemented in the combined invention as described above, this valve would be in fluid communication with the tube and limit flow of the fluid from the tube toward the storage tank (i.e., preventing backflow from entering the tube), in accordance with claim 13. Examiner notes as well that Charraud et al. teach a valve for a similar purpose in the form of lid 250 (Paragraph 0029; see annotated Fig. 3B above).
Regarding claim 14, Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto in combination disclose the docking station of Claim 11. The base of Charraud et al. includes a recess (see annotated Fig. 3B above), but Charraud et al. is silent regarding the recess receiving fluid discharged from the nozzle.
However, Fujimoto et al. further teach that the appliance is rotated to a cleaning position in which a dispensing end of the appliance is located in a recess (17) that receives cleaning fluid after it has been discharged through the device (via 67; Paragraph 0098). Fujimoto et al. teach this configuration as a means for temporarily storing used cleaning fluid to be filtered and recirculated into a storage tank (fluid leaves 17 via filter unit 18 and returns to tank 16; Paragraph 0049).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to configure the combined invention of Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto with a recess configured to receive fluid discharged from the at least one nozzle, as taught by Fujimoto et al., in order to temporarily store the used cleaning fluid discharged from the at least one nozzle for filtering and reuse.
Regarding claim 15, when configured as described above regarding claim 14, the combined invention of Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto teach that the mount is configured for reciprocating rotation between two positions such that the at least one nozzle at least partially extends into the recess when the mount is received within the cavity of the delivery assembly and the appliance is rotated into a cleaning position. Charraud et al. teach that the appliance is mounted to the docking station in a vertical position, but is silent regarding what happens to the cleaning fluid after it passes through the appliance. None of the cited references explicitly disclose that the cleaning position is a horizontal position.
However, when viewing the three references as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to configure the combined invention of Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto such that the appliance is attached to the mount in a vertical position and rotated to a horizontal position for cleaning, since this position would facilitate collection of the used cleaning fluid to be filtered and recirculated. Thus, Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto in combination render obvious the docking station configuration of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, when configured as described above regarding claim 14, the combined invention of Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto teach that the recess is in fluid communication with the storage tank so that fluid discharged from the at least one nozzle is returned to the storage tank (via filter as described above regarding claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto in combination disclose the docking station of Claim 14. As cited above regarding claim 14, Fujimoto et al. teach a recess that temporarily stores the fluid discharged from the at least one nozzle. According to Examiner’s best understanding, the instant claim requires a tank that is separate from the storage tank and performs the same function described by Fujimoto et al. Thus, a recess in the form of element 17 of Fujimoto et al. would be considered to meet this limitation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the combined invention of Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto with such a tank inside the larger recess that contains the mount, since this would facilitate collection of the fluid for further processing, as taught by Fujimoto et al. One having ordinary skill in the art would be further motivated to do so in order to prevent the soiling of the mount inside the recess (i.e., to isolate the used cleaning fluid from components that may need to remain clean for normal operation of the device). Thus, Lee-Charraud-Fujimoto in combination render obvious the docking station configuration of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al. disclose the docking station of Claim 9, and further discloses that the appliance is powered by a rechargeable battery (Paragraph 0036), but do not disclose a power source for charging the appliance via the docking station. However, when modified in view of Charraud et al. and Fujimoto et al. as described above in accordance with claim 11, the combined invention would include a base capable of providing additional functionality, as cited above regarding the teaching of a base device by Charraud et al.
Fujimoto et al. further teach that the mount and base may include connection terminals for supplying electricity to the appliance (Paragraph 0068). When modifying the device of Lee et al. to include a base, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide a power source configured to charge the delivery appliance, as taught by Fujimoto et al. Since the appliance disclosed by Lee et al. already includes a rechargeable battery, one having ordinary skill in the art would be capable of making such a modification with predictable results (namely, improved functionality and convenience for the user).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form for additional references relevant to the claims of the instant application. In particular, Van Der Scheer et al. (US 2010/0059092) and Bordeaux (WO 2022/112361) teach devices that circulate fluid through an appliance, Sprada et al. (WO 2013/057223) teach a cartridge combined with a base to dock an appliance, and Paliobeis (WO 2020/263589) teaches a docking station with a mount rotatably coupled to a base.
/MICHAEL C PATTERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 June 15, 2026