DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 2/13/2026. Claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending. Claims 1, 4, and 20 have been amended. The applicant’s amendment has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment to recite wherein the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack in the first direction has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is applied to the claims below. As such, applicant's arguments with respect to the 103 rejection over Yu in view of Chang have not been found persuasive. A new interpretation of Yu in view of Chang as stated below in the 103 rejection teaches each and every limitation including wherein the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack in the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 114688313 A) in view of Chang et al. (US 2003/0125842, hereafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a water supply device comprising: a casing (100); a component storage part (the portion within 100 as shown in Fig. 2) formed inside the casing; a flow path guide pack (the housing that defines the flow paths within 100 as shown in Figs. 2, 3, 5) which is disposed inside the casing and defines a portion of the component storage part; a flow rate controller (500; Fig. 11; page 7, see how 500 is rotated to adjust flow or temperature) connected to the flow path guide pack; and a water-flow generator (310; page 6; Fig. 2) connected to the flow path guide pack, wherein the flow rate controller, and the water-flow generator are disposed in the component storage part (Figs. 2, 3, 5), but fails to disclose a thermostat connected to the flow path guide pack; a filter connected to the flow path guide pack; wherein the thermostat and the filter are disposed in the component storage part, and the filter and the water-flow generator are disposed between the flow rate controller the thermostat, wherein the flow path guide pack is disposed on a rear side of the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator with respect to a first direction which is a front-rear direction, and wherein the filter and the water-flow generator are disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, and are placed apart from each other along a second direction different from the first direction, and wherein the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack in the first direction.
Chang teaches a thermostat (32 and the temperature control portion; para. [0025]) connected to the flow path guide pack; a filter (36) connected to the flow path guide pack; wherein the thermostat and the filter are disposed in the component storage part (the volume defined by the housing of 100; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the assembly of Yu to include a filter and thermostat within the component storage part as taught by Chang since this is combining prior art elements (filters and thermostats) according to known methods to yield predictable results (providing a filter and thermostat to filter and control the temperature of the fluid flowing through the assembly). The motivation for doing so is to provide a means to filter the water and control the temperature of the water. (para. [0025] and [0026])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the filter and the water-flow generator to be disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, as well as the flow path guide pack is disposed on a rear side of the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator with respect to a first direction which is a front-rear direction, as well as the filter and the water-flow generator are disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, and are placed apart from each other along a second direction different from the first direction since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
The combination of Yu and Chang as modified above necessarily disclose the limitation of wherein the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack in the first direction. (each of these components are necessarily connected to the flow path guide pack in Yu)
Regarding claim 3, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, wherein the second direction is a left-right direction. (this limitation would necessarily be true based on the devices orientation relative to the user)
Regarding claim 4, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the water-flow generator and the filter are received in the component storage part in the first direction, wherein connectors of the water-flow generator, the filter and the flow path guide pack are formed in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water-flow generator and the filter to be received in the component storage part in the first direction, and wherein connectors of the water-flow generator, the filter and the flow path guide pack are formed in the first direction since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 5, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein flow paths formed inside the flow path guide pack are formed in the second direction and the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the flow paths formed inside the flow path guide pack to be formed in the second direction and the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 6, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 5, wherein a filter part is stored inside the filter (as taught by Change; para. [0026]), but fails to disclose wherein the filter part is attached and detached in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the filter part to be attached and detached in the second direction since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 7, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the filter is disposed closer to the flow rate controller than the water-flow generator.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the filter to be disposed closer to the flow rate controller than the water-flow generator since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 8, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of a filter inlet and a filter outlet of the filter connected to the flow path guide pack is open in a front-rear direction toward the flow path guide pack, and a power generation inlet of the water-flow generator connected to the flow path guide pack is open in the front-rear direction toward the flow path guide pack.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify each of a filter inlet and a filter outlet of the filter connected to the flow path guide pack to be open in a front-rear direction toward the flow path guide pack, and a power generation inlet of the water-flow generator connected to the flow path guide pack to be open in the front-rear direction toward the flow path guide pack since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 9, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the filter inlet and the filter outlet are disposed on a higher or equal position than the power generation inlet.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the filter inlet and the filter outlet to be disposed on a higher or equal position than the power generation inlet since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 10, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, wherein a water discharge selector (140-160) which selectively discharges raw water inside the flow path guide pack to an outside is disposed in the component storage part (Figs. 1-3), but fails to disclose the water-flow generator is disposed on a rear side closer to the flow path guide pack than the water discharge selector.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water-flow generator to be disposed on a rear side closer to the flow path guide pack than the water discharge selector since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 11, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the water-flow generator is stacked on an upper portion of a water discharge selector.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water-flow generator to be stacked on an upper portion of a water discharge selector since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 12, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 11, wherein the water-flow generator comprises: a power generation inlet connected to the flow path guide pack; and a power generation outlet connected to the water discharge selector. (Fig. 2; note that each of these components are necessarily “connected” in the assembly)
Regarding claim 13, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a lower end of the water-flow generator is spaced further apart upward from a bottom surface of the component storage part than a lower end of the filter.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify a lower end of the water-flow generator to be spaced further apart upward from a bottom surface of the component storage part than a lower end of the filter since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 14, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, wherein a display (900) which receives power from the water-flow generator is disposed in the component storage part.
Regarding claim 15, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the display is disposed on an opposite side of the filter, relative to the water-flow generator.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the display to be disposed on an opposite side of the filter, relative to the water-flow generator since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 16, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the display is disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, and wherein the display is disposed closer to the thermostat than the flow rate controller.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the display to be disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, and wherein the display is disposed closer to the thermostat than the flow rate controller since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 17, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, wherein the flow path guide pack is provided with an inlet through which external raw water is introduced (page 1), but fails to disclose wherein the inlet is open in a first direction in which the filter and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack, and the inlet is provided on an opposite side of the component storage part, relative to the flow path guide pack.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the inlet to be open in a first direction in which the filter and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack, and the inlet is provided on an opposite side of the component storage part, relative to the flow path guide pack since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 18, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 1, wherein the flow path guide pack is provided with a pair of inlets through which external raw water is introduced (page 1), but fails to disclose wherein the pair of inlets is disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the pair of inlets to be disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 19, Yu in view of Chang further disclose the water supply device of claim 17, wherein the flow path guide pack is provided with an outlet configured to supply the raw water to an outside (page 1), but fails to disclose wherein the outlet is open in the second direction, and the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the outlet is open in the second direction, and the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
Regarding claim 20, Yu in view of Chang further disclose a faucet (the faucet connected with 100; Abstract) comprising: a casing (100); a component storage part (the portion within 100 as shown in Fig. 2) formed inside the casing; a flow path guide pack (the housing that defines the flow paths within 100 as shown in Figs. 2, 3, 5) which is disposed inside the casing and defines a portion of the component storage part; a flow rate controller (500; Fig. 11; page 7, see how 500 is rotated to adjust flow or temperature) connected to the flow path guide pack; and a water-flow generator (310; page 6; Fig. 2) connected to the flow path guide pack, wherein the flow rate controller, and the water-flow generator are disposed in the component storage part (Figs. 2, 3, 5), but fails to disclose a thermostat connected to the flow path guide pack; a filter connected to the flow path guide pack; wherein the thermostat and the filter are disposed in the component storage part, and the filter and the water-flow generator are disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, wherein the flow path guide pack is disposed on a rear side of the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator with respect to a first direction which is a front-rear direction, and wherein the filter and the water-flow generator are disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, and are placed apart from each other along a second direction different from the first direction, and wherein the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack in the first direction.
Chang teaches a thermostat (32 and the temperature control portion; para. [0025]) connected to the flow path guide pack; a filter (36) connected to the flow path guide pack; wherein the thermostat and the filter are disposed in the component storage part (the volume defined by the housing of 100; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the assembly of Yu to include a filter and thermostat within the component storage part as taught by Chang since this is combining prior art elements (filters and thermostats) according to known methods to yield predictable results (providing a filter and thermostat to filter and control the temperature of the fluid flowing through the assembly). The motivation for doing so is to provide a means to filter the water and control the temperature of the water. (para. [0025] and [0026])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the filter and the water-flow generator to be disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, as well as the flow path guide pack is disposed on a rear side of the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator with respect to a first direction which is a front-rear direction, as well as the filter and the water-flow generator are disposed between the flow rate controller and the thermostat, and are placed apart from each other along a second direction different from the first direction since applicant has not disclosed that having this positional relationship of parts solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of having this positional relationship of parts, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the original specification is silent to any criticality directed to this positional relationship.
The combination of Yu and Chang as modified above necessarily disclose the limitation of wherein the thermostat, the flow rate controller, the filter, and the water-flow generator are connected to the flow path guide pack in the first direction. (each of these components are necessarily connected to the flow path guide pack in Yu)
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753