DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 1 and 16 recite “Rc is CH2H2O”. The group is missing a carbon atom. Examiner will interpret the claim as being directed to “Rc is CH2CH2O”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "hexanoyl-ethyl-3-hydroxybutyrate” and “octanoyl-ethyl-3-hydroxybutyrate" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 limits Rd to O-C4-30 alkyl. In the above compounds Rd is an O-C2 alkyl which is outside of the scope of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Verdin et al (US 10,562,839).
In column 46, lines 5-19, Verdin exemplifies a composition comprising C6 diesters of β-hydroxy butyrate and C6-diesters of butanediol which have the following structure and correspond to hexanoyl-hexyl-3-hydroxybutyrate and bis-hexanoyl-1,3-butanediol, respectively:
hexanoyl-hexyl-3-hydroxybutyrate
bis-hexanoyl-1,3-butanediol
Verdin teaches food compositions prepared by mixing the compounds in ground chow and administering them to mice. Mice meet the limitations directed to mammal. The compounds themselves meet the limitation directed to food additive because they are added to food. The mixture of compound and ground chow meets the limitation directed a non-human mammal food and a non-human mammal food supplement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verdin et al (US 10,562,839).
Scope of prior art
Verdin teaches increasing ketone body concertation in a subject comprising administration of β-hydroxyester compounds (column 12, lines 48-56).
Increasing ketone body concentration meets the limitation directed to inducing ketosis. (claim 1)
Verdin defines the term subject to include mammals including canines, felines and equines. (column 4, lines 48-52; limitation of current claims 12-15)
β-hydroxyester compounds include the currently claimed “hexanoyl-hexyl-3-hydroxybutyrate” and “bis-hexanoyl-1,3-butanediol” (current claims 2-4)
hexanoyl-hexyl-3-hydroxybutyrate (column 18, lines 20-25)
bis-hexanoyl-1,3-butanediol (column 15, lines 10-15)
Verdin teaches administration of the active agent as a food supplement in combination with one or more components of a ketogenic diet. (column 20, lines 40-42; current claims 5, 10 and 11)
With regards to dosage and frequency of administration, Verdin teaches that the dose will vary depending on the compound administered, clinical goals, specifics of the subject and the disorder to be treated. Verdin provides wide ranges that encompass the claimed doses and states that a proper dosages are readily determined by those skilled in the art. (column 22, lines 31-46; column 28, lines 53-67). Regarding frequency of administration, Verdin teaches twice daily and daily administration (column 22, lines 47-51; column 29, lines 10-13).
Ascertaining the difference
Verdin teaches ranges that encompass the claimed 125mg/kg – 500mg/kg range (column 29, line 1) but does not exemplify administration of a 125mg/kg, 250mg/kg or 500mg/kg dose.
Verdin teaches subjects to include canines, felines, and equines but only exemplifies administration to mice.
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application, would have found it obvious to practice the invention as described by Verdin within the stated parameters. Verdin teaches administration of hexanoyl-hexyl-3-hydroxybutyrate and bis-hexanoyl-1,3-butanediol to mammals to increase ketone body concertation and exemplifies the method in Example 11 by administrating mice. It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to increase ketone body concentration in mammals such as felines canines or equines by administration of the same active agent because Verdin teaches these mammals to be within the scope of subjects for whom treatment is intended. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to determine the optimal dose and frequency of administration. Verdin teaches that such determinations can readily be determined by skilled practitioners. It would have been obvious to experiment within the ranges disclosed by Vermin to arrive at the optimal safe and effective dosage and administration frequency.
Conclusion
Claims 1-19 are pending
Claims 1-19 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628