DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in reply to papers filed on 2025-10-23. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-14, 16-25 are pending, following Applicant's cancellation of claims 2, 5, 12, 15, and addition of new claims 22-25. Claims 1, 11, 21 is/are independent.
The objections to informalities in the claims are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection(s) of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection(s) of claims on double patenting grounds are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
With respect to claim(s) 1 (see page(s) 3-4 of Applicant’s Remarks), Applicant argues that the prior art of record (in particular, European Patent 3544258 to Nimmagadda et al. (hereinafter "Nimmagadda '258")) does not disclose an agent on each switch and Wi-Fi access point of the entire network. However, the claim does not require both switches and access points. Use of the word "or" means that agents on either switches or access points is sufficient. Compare claim 22. U.S. Publication 20170289191 to Thioux al. (hereinafter "Thioux '191") discloses putting security agents on switches [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344, 0346, 0349, 0356, 0055, 0156]. As detailed in the rejections below, this feature of the claim(s) would have been obvious over Nimmagadda '258 in view of Thioux '191.
With respect to claim(s) 1 (see page(s) 3-4 of Applicant’s Remarks), Applicant argues that the prior art of record (in particular, Nimmagadda '258) does not disclose the claimed notification and pull distribution of updates. However, U.S. Publication 20020194495 to Gladstone et al. (hereinafter "Gladstone '495") discloses agents downloading configuration changes [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038] while Nimmagadda '258 discloses sending information to agents indicating that the configuration Is changing [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 1D; Fig. 5 at 550, 570]. As detailed in the rejections below, this feature of the claim(s) would have been obvious over Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495.
With respect to claim(s) 1 (see page(s) 3-4 of Applicant’s Remarks), Applicant argues that the prior art of record (in particular, Nimmagadda '258) does not disclose managing the entire network via agents. However, the claim does not require a multi-segment network, nor a diversity of vendors of network equipment. Thus, Nimmagadda '258 satisfies the claim with regard to managing a network using agents. Applicant's argument is unpersuasive.
With respect to claim(s) 22, Examiner notes that U.S. Publication 20200162904 to Jiang et al. (hereinafter "Jiang '904") discloses installing security agents on Wi-Fi access points [Jiang '904 ¶ 0019-0020, 0023]. As detailed in the rejections below, this feature of the claim(s) would have been obvious over Nimmagadda '258 in view of Jiang '904. The same applies to claims 23-25 mutadis mutandis.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the remaining claim(s) is/are based on Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and have been considered as detailed above.
Summary of Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
The following table summarizes the rejections set forth in detail below of the claims over the prior art.
Claim No.
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of Spisak '319
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of Thomas '719
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of Official Notice
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of Jiang '904
1
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
3
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
4
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
6
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
7
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
8
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
9
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
10
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
11
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
13
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
14
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
16
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
17
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
18
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
19
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
20
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
21
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
22
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
23
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
24
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
25
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 7, 11-14, 16, 17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent 3544258 to Nimmagadda et al. (hereinafter "Nimmagadda '258") in view of U.S. Publication 20020194495 to Gladstone et al. (hereinafter "Gladstone '495") in view of U.S. Publication 20170289191 to Thioux al. (hereinafter "Thioux '191"). Nimmagadda '258 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). Gladstone '495 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2). Thioux '191 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 1 (independent):
Nimmagadda '258 discloses a method for responding to a threat with host isolation (isolates/quarantines threat endpoint throughout network via switches [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078])
Nimmagadda '258 discloses receiving, by one or more processors of a threat management computer system, endpoint health information for a plurality of endpoints of a monitored network system managed by the threat management computer system (identifies threats from threat information concerning endpoints [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0013, 0081-0083])
Nimmagadda '258 discloses identifying, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a threat associated with the monitored network system (identifies threats from threat information concerning endpoints [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0013, 0081-0083])
Nimmagadda '258 discloses identifying, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a known device identifier or user identification associated with an endpoint of the plurality of endpoints that is responsible for the threat (identifies threat endpoint address [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0093, 0081-0083; Fig. 5 at 520])
Nimmagadda '258 discloses propagating, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a global isolation of the endpoint across network devices of the monitored network system, wherein the global isolation is configured to block the device identifier or user identification associated with the endpoint that is responsible for the threat (identifies network nodes, e.g. switches, firewalls, to enforce remediation of threat host [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 1D; Fig. 5 at 550, 570]; isolates/quarantines threat endpoint throughout network via switches [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078])
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose the notification causes the software agents of the switches or Wi-Fi access points to pull a configuration change corresponding to a device identifier filter and apply the configuration change on the switch or Wi-Fi access point
Further:
Gladstone '495 discloses the notification causes the software agents of the nodes to pull a configuration change corresponding to a device identifier filter and apply the configuration change on the nodes (security agent 45 sends and receives notifications of updates, e.g. notifications to firewall to update rules to quarantine a particular device [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 with the security agents on network nodes of Gladstone '495 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the notification causes the software agents of the nodes to pull a configuration change corresponding to a device identifier filter and apply the configuration change on the nodes
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because security agents on network nodes would have provided a robust and secure means of communicating between network nodes concerning event data and security commands. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Gladstone '495 teaches [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035 ] modifying a threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] such as that of Nimmagadda '258 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Gladstone '495 and Nimmagadda '258 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (security agents on network nodes [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (security agents on network nodes [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035]) to known devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] identifies nodes to isolate and implements commands via security agents on network nodes [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Further:
Thioux '191 discloses the notification causes the software agents of the switches or Wi-Fi access points to change configuration corresponding to a device identifier filter and apply the configuration change on the switch or Wi-Fi access point (security agent in switch or router [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344]; security agent isolates endpoint from network upon suspicion of compromise [Thioux '191 ¶ 0055, 0156]; security agent receives configuration from data control center [Thioux '191 ¶ 0346, 0349, 0356])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 with the security agents on network switches of Thioux '191 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the notification causes the software agents of the switches or Wi-Fi access points to pull a configuration change corresponding to a device identifier filter and apply the configuration change on the switch or Wi-Fi access point
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because security agents on network switches would have provided allowed uniform control of network switches in applying the security remediations Nimmagadda '258 concerning event data and security commands. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Thioux '191 teaches [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344, 0346, 0349, 0356, 0055, 0156] modifying a threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] such as that of Nimmagadda '258 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Thioux '191 and Nimmagadda '258 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (security agents on network switches [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344, 0346, 0349, 0356, 0055, 0156]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (security agents on network switches [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344, 0346, 0349, 0356, 0055, 0156]) to known devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] identifies nodes to isolate and implements commands via security agents on network switches [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344, 0346, 0349, 0356, 0055, 0156]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 3 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 discloses the device identifier comprises a media access control (MAC) address; and the propagating the global isolation of the endpoint across network devices of the monitored network system further comprises blocking, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, the device identifier by a MAC filter at a VLAN level, a LAN level and/or a port level of one or more switches of the monitored network system (filters MAC address at network nodes, e.g. switches, firewalls, to enforce remediation of threat host [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 2]; isolates/quarantines threat endpoint throughout network via switches [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] at LAN or VLAN level [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0034]; enforces policy via MAC address and/or IP address on LAN, VLAN, and WLAN [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0026-0027, 0034, 0093])
Per claim 4 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 discloses blocking, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, the device identifier at a service set identifier (SSID) level of one or more Wi-Fi access points of the monitored network system (isolates / quarantines threat endpoint at WLAN devices [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0029, 0036; Fig. 1F, 1K])
Per claim 6 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose receiving, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a report of success or failure from one or more of the software agents
Further:
Gladstone '495 discloses receiving, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a report of success or failure from one or more of the software agents (security agent 45 sends and receives notifications of status of its device [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0035, 0044, 0047])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 with the security agents on network nodes of Gladstone '495 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
receiving, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a report of success or failure from one or more of the software agents
Per claim 7 (dependent on claim 6):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 6 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose verifying, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, the status of whether the software agents of each of the switches or access points within the monitored network system successfully applied the device identifier to block the device identifier
Further:
Gladstone '495 discloses verifying, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, the status of whether the software agents of each of the switches or access points within the monitored network system successfully applied the device identifier to block the device identifier (security agent 45 sends and receives notifications of updates, e.g. notifications to firewall to update rules to quarantine a particular device [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038]; security agent 45 sends and receives notifications of status of its device [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0035, 0044, 0047])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 with the security agents on network nodes of Gladstone '495 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
verifying, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, the status of whether the software agents of each of the switches or access points within the monitored network system successfully applied the device identifier to block the device identifier
Per claim 11 (independent):
Nimmagadda '258 discloses computer system comprising one or more processors; one or more computer readable storage media; computer readable code stored collectively in the one or more computer readable storage media, with the computer readable code including data and instructions to cause the one or more computer processors to perform a method (processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0060-0067])
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 13 (dependent on claim 11):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 11 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 3 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 14 (dependent on claim 11):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 11 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 4 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 16 (dependent on claim 11):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 11 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 6 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 17 (dependent on claim 16):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 16 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 7 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 21 (independent):
Nimmagadda '258 discloses a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media having computer readable program code collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the computer readable program code being executed by one or more processors of a threat management computer system to cause the threat management computer system to perform a method (processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0060-0067])
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of U.S. Publication 20200092319 to Spisak et al. (hereinafter "Spisak '319"). Spisak '319 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 8 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose alerting, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a network administrator of the monitored network system of the identified threat and the identified known device identifier or user identification associated with the threat
However, Nimmagadda '258 discloses identifying, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, in the monitored network system of the identified threat and the identified known device identifier or user identification associated with the threat (filters MAC address at network nodes, e.g. switches, firewalls, to enforce remediation of threat host [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 2]; isolates/quarantines threat endpoint throughout network via switches [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] at LAN or VLAN level [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0034])
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose receiving, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, approval from the network administrator to propagate the isolation of the endpoint that is responsible for the threat before the propagating
However, Nimmagadda '258 discloses receiving, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, instructions to propagate the isolation of the endpoint that is responsible for the threat before the propagating (filters MAC address at network nodes, e.g. switches, firewalls, to enforce remediation of threat host [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 2]; isolates/quarantines threat endpoint throughout network via switches [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] at LAN or VLAN level [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0034])
Further:
Spisak '319 discloses alerting, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a network administrator of the monitored network system of a proposed configuration change associated with the threat (alerts admin of needed configuration change and gets approval before implementing change [Spisak '319 ¶ 0028, 0099, 0046])
Spisak '319 discloses receiving, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, approval from the network administrator to propagate the configuration change before the propagating (alerts admin of needed configuration change and gets approval before implementing change [Spisak '319 ¶ 0028, 0099, 0046])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 with the administrator approval of Spisak '319 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
alerting, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a network administrator of the monitored network system of the identified threat and the identified known device identifier or user identification associated with the threat
receiving, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, approval from the network administrator to propagate the isolation of the endpoint that is responsible for the threat before the propagating
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because waiting for administrator approval before automatically implementing certain kinds of changes would allow the administrator to evaluating them in the larger context of the system and prevent the changes from accidentally breaking something else unintentionally. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Spisak '319 teaches [Spisak '319 ¶ 0028, 0099, 0046] modifying a threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] such as that of Nimmagadda '258 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Spisak '319 and Nimmagadda '258 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (administrator approval [Spisak '319 ¶ 0028, 0099, 0046]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (administrator approval [Spisak '319 ¶ 0028, 0099, 0046]) to known devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] identifies nodes to isolate and implements the change based on administrator approval [Spisak '319 ¶ 0028, 0099, 0046]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 18 (dependent on claim 11):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 11 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 8 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of U.S. Publication 20230114719 to Thomas et al. (hereinafter "Thomas '719"). Thomas '719 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Per claim 9 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose the one or more processors of the threat management computer system is a cloud-based system includes a managed detection and response (MDR) service in communication with a data lake, the data lake is configured to receive and store activity information associated with the plurality of endpoints of the monitored network system, and the MDR service is configured to facilitate the identifying the threat associated with the monitored network system based on the activity information received and stored in the data lake
Further:
Thomas '719 discloses the one or more processors of the threat management computer system is a cloud-based system includes a managed detection and response (MDR) service in communication with a data lake, the data lake is configured to receive and store activity information associated with the plurality of endpoints of the monitored network system, and the MDR service is configured to facilitate the identifying the threat associated with the monitored network system based on the activity information received and stored in the data lake (analyzes data lake of network data to identify security events [Thomas '719 ¶ 0209, 0211, 0249, 0282, Fig. 21])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 with the network event data lake analysis of Thomas '719 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the one or more processors of the threat management computer system is a cloud-based system includes a managed detection and response (MDR) service in communication with a data lake, the data lake is configured to receive and store activity information associated with the plurality of endpoints of the monitored network system, and the MDR service is configured to facilitate the identifying the threat associated with the monitored network system based on the activity information received and stored in the data lake
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because storing network events in a data lake for analysis permits the system to look for threat indicators in vast amounts of unprocessed data from network nodes. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Thomas '719 teaches [Thomas '719 ¶ 0209, 0211, 0249, 0282, Fig. 21] modifying a threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] such as that of Nimmagadda '258 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Thomas '719 and Nimmagadda '258 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (network event data lake analysis [Thomas '719 ¶ 0209, 0211, 0249, 0282, Fig. 21]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (network event data lake analysis [Thomas '719 ¶ 0209, 0211, 0249, 0282, Fig. 21]) to known devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] identifies nodes to isolate using network event data lake analysis [Thomas '719 ¶ 0209, 0211, 0249, 0282, Fig. 21]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 19 (dependent on claim 11):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 11 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 9 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of the knowledge of a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 10 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 discloses initiating, by the one or more processors of the threat management computer system, a request to the network devices of the monitored network system to block the device identifier or user identification associated with the endpoint that is responsible for the threat (filters MAC address at network nodes, e.g. switches, firewalls, to enforce remediation of threat host [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 2]; isolates/quarantines threat endpoint throughout network via switches [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] at LAN or VLAN level [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0034])
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose verifying, by a gateway in communication with the threat management computer system, authenticity of the request before forwarding the request to network devices of the monitored network system
Further:
The Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known and conventional in the art at the time to cryptographically verify received security commands before forwarding them and/or carrying them out. For example, U.S. Publication 20150326589 to Smith (hereinafter "Smith '589") teaches cryptographically authenticating communications with security agents on network nodes [Smith '589 ¶ 0078].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 with the cryptographic verification within the knowledge of a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
verifying, by a gateway in communication with the threat management computer system, authenticity of the request before forwarding the request to network devices of the monitored network system
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because security agents on network nodes would have provided a robust and secure means of communicating between network nodes concerning event data and security commands. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Gladstone '495 teaches [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035 ] modifying a threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] such as that of Nimmagadda '258 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Gladstone '495 and Nimmagadda '258 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (security agents on network nodes [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (security agents on network nodes [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035]) to known devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] identifies nodes to isolate and implements commands via security agents on network nodes [Gladstone '495 ¶ 0044, 0047, 0038, 0035]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 20 (dependent on claim 11):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 11 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 10 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of U.S. Publication 20200162904 to Jiang et al. (hereinafter "Jiang '904"). Jiang '904 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 22 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose the propagating includes sending the notification to the software agent of each switch and Wi-Fi access point within the monitored network system
However, Nimmagadda '258 discloses the propagating includes sending the notification to the software agent of each node within the monitored network system (identifies network nodes, e.g. switches, firewalls, to enforce remediation of threat host [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 1D; Fig. 5 at 550, 570]; isolates/quarantines threat endpoint throughout network via switches [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078])
Further:
Thioux '191 discloses the propagating includes sending the notification to the software agent of each switch within the monitored network system (security agent in switch or router [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344]; security agent isolates endpoint from network upon suspicion of compromise [Thioux '191 ¶ 0055, 0156]; security agent receives configuration from data control center [Thioux '191 ¶ 0346, 0349, 0356])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 with the security agents on network switches of Thioux '191 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the propagating includes sending the notification to the software agent of each switch within the monitored network system
Further:
Jiang '904 discloses the propagating includes sending the notification to the software agent of each Wi-Fi access point within the monitored network system (security agent installed to wireless AP receives security commands from agent controller [Jiang '904 ¶ 0019-0020, 0023])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 with the security agents on network access points of Jiang '904 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the propagating includes sending the notification to the software agent of each switch and Wi-Fi access point within the monitored network system
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because security agents on network access points would have provided allowed uniform control of network access points in applying the security remediations Nimmagadda '258 concerning event data and security commands. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Jiang '904 teaches [Jiang '904 ¶ 0019-0020, 0023] modifying a threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] such as that of Nimmagadda '258 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Jiang '904 and Nimmagadda '258 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (security agents on network access points [Jiang '904 ¶ 0019-0020, 0023]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (security agents on network access points [Jiang '904 ¶ 0019-0020, 0023]) to known devices and/or methods (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (threat mitigation system [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0036, 0078] identifies nodes to isolate and implements commands via security agents on security agents on network access points [Jiang '904 ¶ 0019-0020, 0023]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 23 (dependent on claim 22):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of Jiang '904 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 22 above, incorporated herein by reference
Nimmagadda '258 does not disclose the configuration change applied on the switch comprises a MAC filter at a VLAN level, a LAN level and/or a port level, and the configuration change applied on the Wi-Fi access point comprises a MAC filter at a service set identifier (SSID) level
However, Nimmagadda '258 discloses the configuration change applied on the node comprises a MAC filter at a VLAN level, a LAN level and/or a port level, and the configuration change applied on the node comprises a MAC filter at a service set identifier (SSID) level (filters MAC address at network nodes, e.g. switches, firewalls, to enforce remediation of threat host [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0092-0093; Fig. 2]; enforces policy via MAC address and/or IP address on LAN, VLAN, and WLAN [Nimmagadda '258 ¶ 0026-0027, 0034, 0093])
Further:
Thioux '191 discloses the configuration change applied on the switch comprises a MAC filter at a VLAN level, a LAN level and/or a port level, (security agent in switch or router [Thioux '191 ¶ 0344]; security agent isolates endpoint from network upon suspicion of compromise [Thioux '191 ¶ 0055, 0156]; security agent receives configuration from data control center [Thioux '191 ¶ 0346, 0349, 0356])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 with the security agents on network switches of Thioux '191 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the configuration change applied on the switch comprises a MAC filter at a VLAN level, a LAN level and/or a port level
Further:
Jiang '904 discloses the configuration change applied on the Wi-Fi access point comprises a MAC filter at a service set identifier (SSID) level (security agent installed to wireless AP receives security commands from agent controller [Jiang '904 ¶ 0019-0020, 0023])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 22, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 with the security agents on network access points of Jiang '904 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the configuration change applied on the switch comprises a MAC filter at a VLAN level, a LAN level and/or a port level, and the configuration change applied on the Wi-Fi access point comprises a MAC filter at a service set identifier (SSID) level
Per claim 24 (dependent on claim 1):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 22 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 25 (dependent on claim 24):
Nimmagadda '258 in view of Gladstone '495 in view of Thioux '191 in view of Jiang '904 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 24 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 23 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THEODORE C PARSONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494