DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 6 and 16 recite an additive B, wherein the additive B may be one selected from the recited group, and/or the weight percentage of the additive B is 0.01% to 16% based on the weight of the electrolyte. Based on the inclusion of and/or and its placement, the examiner interprets claims 6 and 16 to require an electrolyte including a component (additive B) that is not otherwise claimed, which (1) may be from the claimed group but at any mass percent, (2) may be from the claimed group and within the claimed mass percent range, or (3) may be a component not included in the claimed group so long as its content is within the claimed mass percent range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 9,461,334), hereinafter “Ito”.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Ito teaches the use of nonaqueous electrolyte batteries in consumer products such as mobile phones and notebook computers (corresponding to the claimed electronic device) (Ito, col. 1 ln. 12-17), a nonaqueous electrolyte battery (corresponding to the claimed electrochemical device), a negative electrode (Ito, col. 4 ln. 1-5), a positive electrode fabricated by forming a positive electrode active material layer onto a current collector, wherein the positive electrode active material layer contains a positive electrode active material (Ito, col. 112 ln. 65 - col. 113 ln. 5) having a specific surface area which may be 0.1 - 30 m2/g (corresponding to the claimed X m2/g) (Ito, col. 112 ln. 20-30);
a nonaqueous electrolytic solution (corresponding to the claimed electrolyte) (Ito, col. 2 ln. 20-25) which may contain lithium difluorophosphate (corresponding to the claimed LiPO2F2) which may be present at 0.01 – 2 mass % (corresponding to the claimed Y% weight percentage) (Ito, col. 91 ln. 55, 60-67).
While Ito does not explicitly disclose an X/Y range, Ito’s specific surface area of the positive electrode active material range and mass % range of lithium difluorophosphate correspond to an X/Y range of 0.02 – 3,000, as calculated by the examiner, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ito’s suggested mass % range for lithium difluorophosphate overlaps with the claimed Y range, Ito’s specific surface area of the positive electrode active material range overlaps with the claimed X range at the endpoint, and the X/Y range suggested by Ito as calculated by the examiner overlaps with the claimed X/Y range (see discussion regarding claims 1 and 11 above). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Ito teaches an unsaturated cyclic carbonate as a component of the electrolyte which may be vinylene carbonate and may be present at a mass % (corresponding to the claimed Z% weight percentage) of 0.001 – 5 % which overlaps with the claimed Z range of 0.01 to 6 (Ito, col. 61 ln. 35, 45, 60-65). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Alternately, Ito also teaches a range of 0.01 – 5 % which meets the claimed range.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, while Ito does not explicitly disclose a Z/Y range, the examiner calculates a Z/Y range of 0.002 – 500 (using Ito’s 0.01 – 5 % range for vinylene carbonate), from Ito’s mass % range of lithium difluorophosphate and mass % range of vinylene carbonate, which overlaps with the claimed Z/Y range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ito teaches a fluorinated ethylene carbonate, which may be monofluoroethylene carbonate (corresponding to the claimed fluoroethylene carbonate), as a component of the electrolyte, wherein the monofluoroethylene carbonate may be present at a mass % of 0.001 – 10 % (Ito, col. 21 ln. 17, 35-45) which overlaps with the claimed fluoroethylene carbonate weight percentage range of 0.01 – 5 %. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Alternately, Ito also teaches a range of 0.01 – 5 % which meets the claimed range.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, as interpreted in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Ito teaches a borate salt, oxalate salt, and/or fluorosulfonate salt (corresponding to the claimed additive B) (Ito, col. 90 ln. 50-60). The oxalate salt is of the general formula M1a[M2(C2O4)bRc91]d wherein M1 may be Li, M2 may be B, R91 may be F, a may be 1, b may be 1 or 2, c may be 0 or 2, and d may be 1 (corresponding to the claimed lithium difluoro(oxalate)borate or lithium bis(oxalate)borate) (Ito, col. 93 ln. 1-20). Ito further teaches the electrolyte may include LiBF4, LiPF6, LiN(FSO2)2, LiN(CF3SO3)2, LiSO3CF3. The disclosed lithium salts may be present at a mass % of 0.01 – 20 % which overlaps with the claimed weight percentage range of additive B (Ito, col. 90 ln. 50 - col. 91 ln. 10). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Alternately, Ito also teaches a range of 0.01 – 10 % which meets the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Ito teaches the positive electrode active material may comprise Fe, Mn, Al, K, Na, Mg, Ti, and Zn (Ito, col. 109 ln. 65 – col. 110 ln. 10).
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Ito teaches a sulfur-containing organic compound (corresponding to the claimed compound containing a S=O functional group) may be present in the electrolyte, and the sulfur-containing organic compound may be 1,2-ethylene sulfate and/or 1,3-propanesultone (Ito, col. 28 ln. 25-45).
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Ito teaches the sulfur-containing organic compound may be present at a mass % of 0.001 – 10 % which overlaps with the claimed mass percent range of the compound containing the S=O functional group (Ito, col. 28 ln. 30-45). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Alternately, Ito also teaches a range of 0.01 – 5 % which meets the claimed range.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito as applied to claims 3 and 13, respectively, above, and further in view of Cui et al. (CN 111430795 A), hereinafter “Cui”, wherein an English language machine translation of Cui is used and cited herein.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Ito teaches a vinylene carbonate mass % range of 0.01 – 5 % based on the total mass of the electrolyte but is silent to the absolute mass of vinylene carbonate and the negative electrode active material and does not teach the claimed W1/W2 range.
However, Cui teaches an electrochemical device (Cui, [0054]) having an electrolyte including vinylene carbonate and a C/B range of 0.001 to 0.03 wherein B is the specific surface area of the negative electrode active material and C is the mass in grams of vinylene carbonate (corresponding to the claimed W1) corresponding to 1 g of the negative electrode active material (corresponding to the claimed W2) (Cui, [0059], [0088]). The examiner notes that as C is mass of vinylene carbonate for 1 g of the negative electrode active material, C is the mass in grams of vinylene carbonate divided by 1 g of the negative electrode active material; thus, C corresponds to the claimed W1/W2. Cui also teaches when the C/B ratio is within the given range, the amount and rate of decomposition of vinylene carbonate on the surface of the negative electrode active material in the electrochemical device is within a suitable range, and too much high-resistance LiF will not be formed, which further improves the fast-charging performance and cycle performance of the electrochemical device (Cui, [0089]). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Cui’s C/B range to the electrochemical device of Ito in order to provide a battery with better fast-charging and cycle performance (Cui, [0089]).
Ito teaches a specific surface area range for the negative electrode active material may be 1 – 10 m2/g which the examiner uses to convert Cui’s C/B range, as combined with Ito’s electrode, to a W1/W2 range (W1/W2 = C = C/B * Ito’s specific surface area of the negative electrode active material) of 0.001 – 0.03, which overlaps with the claimed W1/W2 range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Conclusion
/SIMRAN S. SAUND/Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734