DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 07/02/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 11 and 18-20 are currently pending. Claims 12-17 are previously cancelled.
Claims 7 and 9 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-11, and 18-20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 07/02/2026, with respect to claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection of claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument (regarding claim 1) that the circulation line P13 is a circulation within a substrate processing system, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The structures/limitations as defined by the amended claim 1, are demonstrated by the combination of Kim and Higuchi. Specifically, Higuchi teaches a circulation line that is branched from a discharge line (See following annotated Higuchi’s FIG. 19) and gas lines supplying gas to the supply line (paragraph [0070] pipe P12 supplies nitrogen) and the circulation line (paragraph [0157] supplier S41 provides nitrogen gas to circulation pipe P13). The combination of the Kim and Higuchi references would result in a structure that is able to clean a component.
[AltContent: textbox (Discharge line)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (Circulation line branched from the discharge line)]
[AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR20110006254 (henceforth referred to as Kim) in view of Higuchi et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0014873 (henceforth referred to as Higuchi).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Kim teaches an apparatus for cleaning a first component, the apparatus comprising:
a cleaning fluid supply source (page 9 the boiler reads on the claimed cleaning fluid supply source);
a supply line configured to receive cleaning fluid from the cleaning fluid supply source and connected with a first port of the first component (FIG. 2 page 9 fluid inlet pipe 101 is connected to a first port of a component (inflow direction switching valve 209));
a discharge line connected with a second port of the first component (FIG. 2 pipe 110 and drain port 208, which read on the claimed discharge line, is connected with a second port of the component (inflow direction switching valve 209)); and
a circulation line branched from the discharge line and connected with a third port of the first component (See annotated Figure 2).
Kim differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning fluid supply source comprises a gas supply unit, the gas supply unit including a first gas line and a second gas line, the first gas line configured to supply drying gas to the supply line, the second gas line configured to supply the drying gas to the circulation line.
Higuchi teaches a processing system (paragraph [0064] processing liquid supply units 2). Higuchi teaches a gas supply unit, the gas supply unit including a first gas line and a second gas line, the first gas line configured to supply drying gas to the supply line (FIG. 19 paragraph [0070] pipe P12 supplies nitrogen), the second gas line configured to supply the drying gas to the circulation line (FIG. 19 paragraph [0157] supplier S41 provides nitrogen gas to circulation pipe P13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Kim with a gas supply unit as taught by Higuchi. It is known in the art to supply gas in order to increase the flow speed of the cleaning liquid (paragraph [0131]). Additionally, it is known in the art to supply gas to a fluid line in order to dry the fluid within the line.
Examiner regards the operation of the claimed apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The pipe layout as described would be capable of cleaning components. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. An apparatus claim may be unobvious even if it operates in the same way as the prior art, as long as there are structural differences. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 15 USPQ 2d 1525 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR20110006254 (henceforth referred to as Kim) and Higuchi et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0014873 (henceforth referred to as Higuchi) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Amamiya et al. JP2017200683 (henceforth referred to as Amamiya).
As to claim 2, (Currently Amended) Kim further teaches a supply valve installed in the supply line (FIG. 2 page 11 opening/closing valve 101a).
Kim and Higuchi differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a regulating valve unit configured to selectively regulate drainage from the discharge line to an outside and circulation to the circulation line.
Amamiya teaches an apparatus with a circulation line branched from the discharge line (FIG. 1). Amamiya teaches regulating valve unit provided for selectively regulating drainage from the discharge line to the outside and circulation to the circulation line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] a drain pipe 18 for discharging water outside the system is connected to the circulation pipe 19 via a three-way valve V2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Kim and Higuchi with a regulating valve unit as taught by Amamiya. It is known in the art to have a regulation valve to control the flow direction of a fluid to either discharge or to recirculate.
As to claim 3, (Original) Amamiya further teaches the regulating valve unit includes a three-way valve installed at a point where the circulation line is branched from the discharge line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] a drain pipe 18 for discharging water outside the system is connected to the circulation pipe 19 via a three-way valve V2).
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) Kim further teaches a controller configured to control the supply valve and the regulating valve unit (page 6 a controller that logicizes the operation sequence linking the aforementioned pump, directional valve, and timer),
wherein the controller is configured to control the supply valve and the regulating valve unit so that the cleaning fluid supplied from the supply line passes sequentially through the first port of the first component, the second port of the first component, the discharge line, the circulation line, the third port of the first component, the second port of the first component, and the discharge line (FIGS. 2a-2b pages 10-12 fluid can be supplied through fluid inflow pipe 101. The valves 102a and 101a are closed so that the flow path is directed as shown in Figure 2a. When cleaning is finished, valve 207 is opened to discharge the dirty fluid mixed with scale and rust.).
Claims 5-6, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR20110006254 (henceforth referred to as Kim) and Higuchi et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0014873 (henceforth referred to as Higuchi) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Yoneda U.S. Patent 5,896,875 (henceforth referred to as Yoneda).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) Kim and Higuchi differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning fluid supply source includes: a cleaning solution supply unit configured to supply a cleaning solution to the supply line; and a rinse solution supply unit configured to supply a rinse solution to the supply line.
Yoneda teaches an apparatus that cleans (FIG. 1 column 7 line 18 an equipment for cleaning). Yoneda teaches a cleaning solution supply unit that supplies a cleaning solution to the supply line; and a rinse solution supply unit that supplies a rinse solution to the supply line (See following annotated Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Kim and Higuchi with a cleaning and rinsing fluid as taught by Yoneda. It is known in the art to use cleaning solutions to address different types of contamination and then rinse a component to flush out spent cleaning solution.
As to claim 6, (Currently Amended) Yoneda teaches the cleaning solution supply unit includes: a first supply unit configured to supply the rinse solution at a first temperature (column 10 line 63 ultrapure water is set at 40°C by the inline heater filter block 26); and a second supply unit that configured to supply the rinse solution at a second temperature lower than the first temperature (column 11 lines 7-8 inline heater block 26 is changed to 25°C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Kim and Higuchi with a way to control the temperature as taught by Yoneda. It is known in the art to control temperature to change/enhance the cleaning effects of a fluid.
As to claim 8, (Currently Amended) Kim and Higuchi differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the gas supply unit includes: a first supply unit configured to supply the drying gas at a first temperature; and a second supply unit configured to supply the drying gas at a second temperature higher than the first temperature.
Yoneda teaches an apparatus that cleans (FIG. 1 column 7 line 18 an equipment for cleaning). Yoneda teaches the gas supply unit includes: a first supply unit configured to supply the drying gas at a first temperature (column 13 line 22-28 nitrogen gas is supplied to the nitrogen gas supply line 17 at 20°C by inline heater filter block 41); and a second supply unit configured to supply the drying gas at a second temperature higher than the first temperature (column 13 lines 43-44 mixture of gas and nitrogen is about 25°C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Kim and Higuchi with gas at different temperatures as taught by Yoneda. It would have been obvious to supply gases at different temperatures to achieve different levels of dryness.
As to claim 10, (Currently Amended) Kim and Higuchi differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the supply line includes: a first line connected with a first port of a second component; and a second line connected with a second port of the second component, and the second line is connected with the first port of the first component.
Yoneda teaches an apparatus that cleans (FIG. 1 column 7 line 18 an equipment for cleaning). Yoneda teaches the supply line includes: a first line connected with a first port of a second component (FIG. 1 filter blocks 21, 22, 23, 24, or 25 read on the claimed other component); and a second line connected with a second port of the second component, and the second line is connected with the first port of the first component (FIG. 1 a line is coming out of filter blocks 21-25 and connects with a port of the three-way valve 33, which reads on the component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Kim and Higuchi with another component as taught by Yoneda. Adding another component with ports, would result in a more efficient cleaning process as the components are being cleaned in a series and would not need to be cleaned separately.
As to claim 11, (Currently Amended) Kim and Yoneda further teach the second component is a filter (Yoneda column 8 line 11 filter block 21, 22, 23, 24, or 25), and the first component is a three-way valve (Kim page 9 inflow direction switching valve 209 or Yoneda column 8 line 46 three-way valve 33).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0197237 (henceforth referred to as Yun) in view of Higuchi et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0014873 (henceforth referred to as Higuchi).
As to claim 18, (Currently Amended) Yun teaches an apparatus for cleaning a first component and a second component each having a first port, a second port, and a third port, the apparatus comprising:
a cleaning fluid supply source (FIG. 3 paragraph [0051] first chemical supply source 4112 reads on the claimed cleaning fluid supply source);
a first supply line for receiving cleaning fluid from the cleaning fluid supply source and connected with the first port of the first component;
a first discharge line connected with the second port of the first component (paragraph [0050] drain 4181);
a second supply line for receiving the cleaning fluid from the cleaning fluid supply source and connected with the first port of the second component (FIG. 3 paragraph [0054] inlet line 4133);
a second discharge line connected with the second port of the second component (paragraph [0050] drain 4182).
Yun differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a first circulation line branched from the first discharge line and connected with the third port of the second component; and a second circulation line branched from the second discharge line and connected with the third port of the first component, wherein the first circulation line and the second circulation line are separate from each other.
Higuchi teaches a processing system (paragraph [0064] processing liquid supply units 2). Higuchi teaches a first circulation line branched from the first discharge line (see following figure) and connected with the third port of the second component (FIG. 20 a pipe P13 shows a circulation connection with liquid tank 21); and a second circulation line branched from the second discharge line and connected with the third port of the first component (FIG. 20 pipe P13a shows a circulation connection with the liquid tank 21a), wherein the first circulation line and the second circulation line are separate from each other (FIG. 20 the pipes P13 and P13a are separate from each other).
[AltContent: textbox (Second Discharge line)][AltContent: textbox (First Discharge line)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (First circulation line branched from the first discharge line)]
[AltContent: textbox (Second circulation line branched from the second discharge line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Yun with circulation and discharge lines as taught by Higuchi. Branching a circulation line from a discharge line is a cost-effective way to simplify a piping layout.
As to claim 20, (Currently Amended) Higuchi further teaches the cleaning fluid supply source includes a gas supply unit, and the gas supply unit includes:
a first gas line configured to supply drying gas to the first supply line and the second supply line (FIG. 20 paragraphs [0070] and [0102] a nitrogen gas is supplied to the pipes P11 and P11a through the pipes P12 and P12a, respectively);
a second gas line configured to supply the drying gas to the first circulation line (FIG. 20 paragraph [0125] a nitrogen gas is supplied to the first circulation path via gas supply path 109); and
a third gas line configured to supply the drying gas to the second circulation line (FIG. 20 paragraph [0126] a nitrogen gas is supplied to the second circulation path via gas supply path 110).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0197237 (henceforth referred to as Yun) and Higuchi et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0014873 (henceforth referred to as Higuchi) as applied to claim 18 above, in further view of Yoneda U.S. Patent 5,896,875 (henceforth referred to as Yoneda).
As to claim 19, (Currently Amended) Yun and Higuchi differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning fluid supply source includes: a cleaning solution supply unit configured to supply a cleaning solution to the first supply line; and a rinse solution supply unit configured to supply a rinse solution to the first supply line.
Yoneda teaches an apparatus that cleans (FIG. 1 column 7 line 18 an equipment for cleaning). Yoneda teaches the cleaning fluid supply source includes: a cleaning solution supply unit configured to supply a cleaning solution to the first supply line; and a rinse solution supply unit configured to supply a rinse solution to the first supply line (See previously annotated Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Yun and Higuchi with a cleaning and rinsing fluid as taught by Yoneda. It is known in the art to use cleaning solutions to address different types of contamination and then rinse a component to flush out spent cleaning solution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711