Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second existing surface" in line 35. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 10, line 24-25, the claim recites “exposing the photosensitive drum of passes”. It is unclear what is meant by this phrasing.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second existing surface" in line 28. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US 6,016,408).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto et al. (US 6,016,408) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1), comprising: a photosensitive drum (fig.1, #4); an exposing portion that exposes the photosensitive drum (fig.1, #13) by emitting laser light (col.3, ln.22-25); a developing portion (fig.1, any of #8Y-M) that includes: a frame body (fig.2, #33) that has a toner accommodating portion (fig.2, containing #42) in which toner is accommodated (col.3, ln.48), a developing roller (fig.2, #8YS) that develops an electrostatic image, formed on the photosensitive drum by the laser light (col.3, ln.23-32), by the toner accommodated in the toner accommodating portion, and a light-transmitting portion attached to the frame body (fig.5, #38 & #39); and a sensing portion (fig.5, #39a&b) that includes: a light-emitting portion that emits light (fig.5, #39a), and a light-receiving portion (fig.5, #39b) that receives the light that is emitted from the light-emitting portion, and that passes through inside of the toner accommodating portion through the light-transmitting portion and exits to outside of the toner accommodating portion (col.9, ln.48-62), the sensing portion emitting a sensing signal in accordance with a level of light received at the light-receiving portion, wherein the light-transmitting portion includes: a first lightguide portion that guides the light emitted from the light-emitting portion to the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.5, #37 guides light from #39a), the first lightguide portion including a first incident surface into which the light emitted by the light-emitting portion enters (fig.5, portion of #37 in #41a) and a first exiting surface from which the light, entering from the first incident surface, exits toward the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.2&4-5, surface of #37 facing #36a), and a second lightguide portion that guides the light that has passed through the inside of the toner accommodating portion to the light-receiving portion (fig.5&2, #38 guides light to #39b), the second lightguide portion including a second incident surface into which the light passing through the inside of the toner accommodating portion enters (fig.2&4-5, surface portion of #37 facing #36b) and a second exiting surface from which the light, entering from the second incident surface, exits toward the light-receiving portion (fig.5, portion of #38 in #41b), wherein the image forming apparatus has a cover member that covers the first lightguide portion and the second lightguide portion (fig.4, #41; col.10, ln.36-44), wherein a closest part of the second lightguide portion (fig.5, near #38b) that is closest to a passage region (fig.1, space between #8BS and #12) where the laser light passes is at a position closer to the passage region than any of parts of the first lightguide portion (fig.2&5, location of #38b is closer to that region in at least the vertical direction than any other portion of #37), and wherein the cover member is configured so as not to cover the closest part that of the second lightguide portion (fig.5, #41 does not cover #38b; col.10, ln.45-52).
Regarding claim 10, Hashimoto et al. (US 6,016,408) teach a cartridge (fig.2) that is detachable from and attachable to an apparatus main body of an image forming apparatus (fig.1, #8Y-M), the apparatus main body including an exposing portion (fig.1, #13) which emits laser light (col.3, ln.22-25) and a sensor (fig.5, #39a&b) which emits light (col.9, ln.48-61), the cartridge comprising: a photosensitive drum (fig.1, #4); a developing roller configured to supply toner to the photosensitive drum (fig.2, #8YS); a frame body (fig.2, #33) that has a toner accommodating portion (fig.2, containing #42) in which the toner is accommodated (col.3, ln.48); a first lightguide portion that is attached to the frame body and that guides light emitted by the sensor from outside of the toner accommodating portion to inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.2&5, #37 guides light from #39a), the first lightguide portion including a first incident surface into the light emitted by the sensor enters (fig.5, portion of #37 in #41a) and a first exiting surface from which the light, entering from the first incident surface, exits toward the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.2&4-5, surface of #37 facing #36a); a second lightguide portion that is attached to the frame body and that guides the light that has passed through the inside of the toner accommodating portion to the outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.5&2, #38 guides light to #39b), the second lightguide portion including a second incident surface into which the light passing through the inside of the toner accommodating portion enters (fig.2&4-5, surface portion of #37 facing #36b) and a second exiting surface from which the light, entering from the second incident surface, exits toward the outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.5, portion of #38 in #41b); and a cover member covering the first lightguide portion and the second lightguide portion (fig.4, #41; col.10, ln.36-44), wherein a closest part of the second lightguide portion (fig.5, near #38b) that is closest to a passage region, where the laser light emitted by the exposing portion for exposing the photosensitive drum of passes (fig.1, space between #8BS and #12), is provided at a position closer to the passage region than any of parts of the first lightguide portion (fig.2&5, location of #38b is closer to that region in at least the vertical direction than any other portion of #37), and is provided outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.2&4, entirety of #38 is provided outside of #33) and at a position different from a position at which the second existing surface of the second lightguide portion is provided (fig.5, upper surface of #38b closest and different from surface facing #36b), and wherein the cover member is configured so as not to cover the closest part of the second lightguide portion (fig.5, #41 does not cover #38b; col.10, ln.45-52).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Hashimoto et al. (US 6,016,408) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the closest part extends along a scanning direction of the laser light (fig.1,2,&5, scanning direction is along the axial direction of #4 which corresponds with the axial direction of #8YS along which direction #37 and #38 are oriented).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Hashimoto et al. (US 6,016,408) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the closest part extends along a rotation axial line of the developing roller (fig.2&5, #37/#38 aligned with axial direction of #8YS).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Hashimoto et al. (US 6,016,408) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the first incident surface and the second exiting surface are each provided on a first end portion of the frame body in a direction of a rotation axial line of the developing roller (see fig.5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1), comprising: a photosensitive drum (fig.1, #2) by emitting laser light (para.0037); an exposing portion that exposes the photosensitive drum (fig.1, #6); a developing portion (fig.1&3, #4) that includes a frame body (fig.3&4 #40) that has a toner accommodating portion (fig.3&4, space containing #44 & #45) in which toner is accommodated (para.0044), a developing roller (fig.3&4, #41) that develops an electrostatic image, formed on the photosensitive drum by the laser light (para.0037), by toner accommodated in the toner accommodating portion, and a light-transmitting portion attached to the frame body (fig.4, #50); and a sensing portion (fig.4, #514) that includes a light-emitting portion that emits light (fig.4, #51), and a light-receiving portion (fig.4, #52) that receives the light that is emitted from the light-emitting portion, and that passes through inside of the toner accommodating portion through the light-transmitting portion and exits to outside of the toner accommodating portion (para.0052-0053), the sensing portion emitting a sensing signal in accordance with a level of light received at the light-receiving portion (para.0070), wherein the light-transmitting portion includes a first lightguide portion that guides the light emitted from the light-emitting portion to the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, #53 guides light from #51), the first lightguide portion including a first incident surface into which the light emitted by the light-emitting portion enters (fig.4, end face of #53 facing #51) and a first exiting surface from which the light, entering from the first incident surface, exits toward the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.7, #53b; para.0058), and a second lightguide portion that guides the light that has passed through the inside of the toner accommodating portion to the light-receiving portion (fig.4, #54 guides light to #52), the second lightguide portion including a second incident surface into which the light passing through the inside of the toner accommodating portion enters (fig.7, #54b; para.0058) and a second exiting surface from which the light, entering from the second incident surface, exits toward the light-receiving portion (fig.4, end face of #54 facing #52), wherein the image forming apparatus has a cover member that covers the first lightguide portion and the second lightguide portion (fig.5, unlabeled cover corresponding to the location of #53 & #54 in fig.4), wherein a closest part of a lightguide portion (fig.4&5, straight part of #53 near #51) that is closest to a passage region where the laser light of the exposing portion passes (fig.1&4, where #6 shines on #2 near #41) is provided at a position closer to the passage region than any of parts of the other lightguide portion (fig.4, straight part of #53 is closer to that region than any other portion of #54), and is provided outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.5, at least the partially uncovered upper portion of #53/#54 above the top surface of the cartridge) and at a position different from a position at which the second existing surface of the second lightguide portion is provided (fig.4&5, surface of #53 facing #51 and #54 facing #52 at a different position laterally), and wherein the cover member is configured so as not to cover the closest part of the lightguide portion (fig.5, unlabeled cover does not cover front side end of #53).
Regarding claim 10, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach a cartridge (fig.3) that is detachable from and attachable to an apparatus main body of an image forming apparatus (fig.1&2), the apparatus main body including an exposing portion (fig.1, #6) which emits laser light (para.0037) and a sensor which emits light (fig.4, #514), the cartridge comprising: a photosensitive drum (fig.1, #2); a developing roller configured to supply toner to the photosensitive drum (fig.3&4, #41); a frame body (fig.3&4 #40) that has a toner accommodating portion in which the toner is accommodated (fig.3&4, space containing #44 & #45; para.0044); a first lightguide portion that is attached to the frame body and that guides light emitted by the sensor, from outside of the toner accommodating portion to inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, #53 guides light from #51), the first lightguide portion including a first incident surface into the light emitted by the sensor enters (fig.4, end face of #53 facing #51) and a first exiting surface from which the light, entering from the first incident surface, exits toward the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.7, #53b; para.0058); a second lightguide portion that is attached to the frame body and that guides the light that has passed through the inside of the toner accommodating portion to the outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, #54 guides light to #52), the second lightguide portion including a second incident surface into which the light passing through the inside of the toner accommodating portion enters (fig.7, #54b; para.0058) and a second exiting surface from which the light, entering from the second incident surface, exits toward the outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, end face of #54 facing #52); and a cover member covering the first lightguide portion and the second lightguide portion (fig.5, unlabeled cover corresponding to the location of #53 & #54 in fig.4), wherein a closest part of a lightguide portion (fig.4&5, straight part of #53 near #51) that is closest to a passage region, where the laser light emitted by the exposing portion for exposing the photosensitive drum passes (fig.1&4, where #6 shines on #2 near #41), is provided at a position closer to the passage region than any of parts of the other lightguide portion (fig.4, straight part of #53 is closer to that region than any other portion of #54), and is provided outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.5, at least the partially uncovered upper portion of #53/#54 above the top surface of the cartridge) and at a position different from a position at which the second existing surface of the second lightguide portion is provided (fig.4&5, surface of #53 facing #51 and #54 facing #52 at a different position laterally), and wherein the cover member is configured so as not to cover the closest part of the lightguide portion (fig.5, unlabeled cover does not cover front side end of #53).
However, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) discloses the input light from #51 entering #53 instead of #53 being the output light guide, as a result, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) fail to teach “wherein the cover member is configured so as not to cover the part that is closest” wherein the part is a part of the second lightguide.
While Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach one particular orientation of the photodiode and photodetector #51 and #52, the reference does not teach any sort of criticality of this configuration. Additionally, there are only two possible orientations of the photodiode and photodetector. As a result, the Office believes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sensing configuration of Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) by reversing the position of the two because it is a mere reversal of parts that would not materially affect the functioning of the apparatus and thus it would be an obvious modification, easily arrived at by one of ordinary skill in the art. If such a reversal were made, the claim limitations would be met.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the closest part extends along a scanning direction of the laser light (fig.1&4, scanning direction is along the axial direction of #2 which corresponds with the axial direction of #41 along which direction #53 and #54 are oriented).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the closest part extends along a rotation axial line of the developing roller (fig.4, #53/#54 aligned with axial direction of #41).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the first incident surface and the second exiting surface are each provided on a first end portion of the frame body in a direction of a rotation axial line of the developing roller (see fig.4&5).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the first exiting surface and the second incident surface are disposed such that, between the first end portion of the frame body and a second end portion opposite from the first end portion in the direction of the rotation axial line (see fig.4&7), the first exiting surface is at a position closer to the first end portion than the second incident surface, and such as to be arrayed along the rotation axial line (see fig.4, if the configuration of #54 and #53 were reversed), and wherein the toner accommodating portion has a sensed region which is between the first exiting surface and the second incident surface in the direction along the rotation axial line (see fig.4&7), and through which the light passes (para.0052).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the first lightguide portion includes a first straight portion that extends along the rotation axial line (fig.4, straight advance portion near #51), wherein the second lightguide portion includes a second straight portion that extends along the rotation axial line (fig.4, straight advance portion near #52), and wherein the first straight portion and the second straight portion extend arrayed in a direction orthogonal to the rotation axial line (see fig.4).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the closest part is the second straight portion (fig.4&5, if #53 and #54 positions are reversed, this will be satisfied).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the second straight portion is closer to the photosensitive drum than the first straight portion (fig.1,3&4, upon reversal of #53 and #54, this limitation would be satisfied).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “the second straight advance portion is longer than the first straight advance portion” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 8.
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “the second straight advance portion is longer than the first straight advance portion” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 15 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the reference of Hashimoto et al., the applicants argue that nothing in the reference indicates that “portion 38b “protrudes outward of the frame" or is "externally exposed."” and then proceed to argue that col.9 lines 48-62 disclose these portions as “an internal feature”. The Office respectfully disagrees on both points. On the first point, the wording “protrudes outward of the frame” and “externally exposed” are not part of the claim limitations, as such this argument is moot. On the second point, col.9, lines 48-62 specifically state “the first and second light guides (light transmission member) 37 and 38 are directly mounted to the outer surface of the toner container 33.”, which appears to be distinctly contrary to the applicants’ assertion. The guides are also distinctly depicted as outside, see for example fig.2, #37 and #38 relative to the interior of #33. As such, the Office does not find these arguments to be persuasive.
Regarding the reference of Sakaya et al., the applicant argues that only the end faces of the light guides are uncovered. The applicants also state that fig.5 omits depiction of the cover. The Office respectfully disagrees. As can be seen in annotated fig.5, below, a portion of the cover is clearly depicted as cut away and exposing a side portion of the light guide.
Annotated fig.5:
As such, the Office finds the applicants’ arguments not to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/LKR/
1/26/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852