Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1), comprising: a photosensitive drum (fig.1, #2) by emitting laser light (para.0037); an exposing portion that exposes the photosensitive drum (fig.1, #6); a developing portion (fig.1&3, #4) that includes a frame body (fig.3&4 #40) that has a toner accommodating portion (fig.3&4, space containing #44 & #45) in which toner is accommodated (para.0044), a developing roller (fig.3&4, #41) that develops an electrostatic image, formed on the photosensitive drum by the laser light (para.0037), by toner accommodated in the toner accommodating portion, and a light-transmitting portion attached to the frame body (fig.4, #50); and a sensing portion (fig.4, #514) that includes a light-emitting portion that emits light (fig.4, #51), and a light-receiving portion (fig.4, #52) that receives the light that is emitted from the light-emitting portion, and that passes through inside of the toner accommodating portion via the light-transmitting portion and exits to outside of the toner accommodating portion (para.0052-0053), the sensing portion emitting a sensing signal in accordance with a level of light received at the light-receiving portion (para.0070), wherein the light-transmitting portion includes a first lightguide portion that guides the light emitted from the light-emitting portion to the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, #53 guides light from #51), the first lightguide portion including a first incident surface into which the light emitted by the light-emitting portion enters (fig.4, end face of #53 facing #51) and a first exiting surface from which the light, entering from the first incident surface, exits toward the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.7, #53b; para.0058), and a second lightguide portion that guides the light that has passed through the inside of the toner accommodating portion to the light-receiving portion (fig.4, #54 guides light to #52), the second lightguide portion including a second incident surface into which the light passing through the inside of the toner accommodating portion enters (fig.7, #54b; para.0058) and a second exiting surface from which the light, entering from the second incident surface, exits toward the light-receiving portion (fig.4, end face of #54 facing #52), wherein the image forming apparatus has a cover member (fig.5, unlabeled cover corresponding to the location of #53 & #54 in fig.4), wherein a closest part of a lightguide portion (fig.4&5, straight part of #53 near #51) that is closest to a passage region where the laser light of the exposing portion passes (fig.1&4, where #6 shines on #2 near #41) is provided at a position closer to the passage region than any of parts of the other lightguide portion (fig.4, straight part of #53 is closer to that region than any other portion of #54), and is provided outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.5, at least the partially uncovered upper portion of #53/#54 above the top surface of the cartridge) and at a position different from a position at which the second existing surface of the second lightguide portion is provided (fig.4&5, surface of #53 facing #51 and #54 facing #52 at a different position laterally), and wherein the cover member covers the first lightguide portion and the second lightguide portion, except for the closest part of the lightguide portion (fig.5, unlabeled cover does not cover front side end of #53).
Regarding claim 10, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach a cartridge (fig.3) that is detachable from and attachable to an apparatus main body of an image forming apparatus (fig.1&2), the apparatus main body including an exposing portion (fig.1, #6) which emits laser light (para.0037) and a sensor which emits light (fig.4, #514), the cartridge comprising: a photosensitive drum (fig.1, #2); a developing roller configured to supply toner to the photosensitive drum (fig.3&4, #41); a frame body (fig.3&4 #40) that has a toner accommodating portion in which the toner is accommodated (fig.3&4, space containing #44 & #45; para.0044); a first lightguide portion that is attached to the frame body and that guides light emitted by the sensor, from outside of the toner accommodating portion to inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, #53 guides light from #51), the first lightguide portion including a first incident surface into the light emitted by the sensor enters (fig.4, end face of #53 facing #51) and a first exiting surface from which the light, entering from the first incident surface, exits toward the inside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.7, #53b; para.0058); a second lightguide portion that is attached to the frame body and that guides the light that has passed through the inside of the toner accommodating portion to the outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, #54 guides light to #52), the second lightguide portion including a second incident surface into which the light passing through the inside of the toner accommodating portion enters (fig.7, #54b; para.0058) and a second exiting surface from which the light, entering from the second incident surface, exits toward the outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.4, end face of #54 facing #52); and a cover member (fig.5, unlabeled cover corresponding to the location of #53 & #54 in fig.4), wherein a closest part of a lightguide portion (fig.4&5, straight part of #53 near #51) that is closest to a passage region, where the laser light emitted by the exposing portion for exposing the photosensitive drum passes (fig.1&4, where #6 shines on #2 near #41), is provided at a position closer to the passage region than any of parts of the other lightguide portion (fig.4, straight part of #53 is closer to that region than any other portion of #54), and is provided outside of the toner accommodating portion (fig.5, at least the partially uncovered upper portion of #53/#54 above the top surface of the cartridge) and at a position different from a position at which the second exiting surface of the second lightguide portion is provided (fig.4&5, surface of #53 facing #51 and #54 facing #52 at a different position laterally), and wherein the cover member covers the first lightguide portion and the second lightguide portion, except for the closest part of the lightguide portion (fig.5, unlabeled cover does not cover front side end of #53).
However, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) discloses the input light from #51 entering #53 instead of #53 being the output light guide, as a result, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) fail to teach “wherein the cover member is configured so as not to cover the part that is closest” wherein the part is a part of the second lightguide.
While Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach one particular orientation of the photodiode and photodetector #51 and #52, the reference does not teach any sort of criticality of this configuration. Additionally, there are only two possible orientations of the photodiode and photodetector. As a result, the Office believes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sensing configuration of Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) by reversing the position of the two because it is a mere reversal of parts that would not materially affect the functioning of the apparatus and thus it would be an obvious modification, easily arrived at by one of ordinary skill in the art. If such a reversal were made, the claim limitations would necessarily be met since upon reversal, #53 would then meet the definition of the “second” lightguide.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the closest part extends along a scanning direction of the laser light (fig.1&4, scanning direction is along the axial direction of #2 which corresponds with the axial direction of #41 along which direction #53 and #54 are oriented).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the closest part extends along a rotation axial line of the developing roller (fig.4, #53/#54 aligned with axial direction of #41).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the first incident surface and the second exiting surface are each provided on a first end portion of the frame body in a direction of a rotation axial line of the developing roller (see fig.4&5).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the first exiting surface and the second incident surface are disposed such that, between the first end portion of the frame body and a second end portion opposite from the first end portion in the direction of the rotation axial line (see fig.4&7), the first exiting surface is at a position closer to the first end portion than the second incident surface, and such that the first exiting surface and the second incident surface are aligned in the direction of the rotation axial line so as to face each other with a space in the direction of the rotation axial line (see fig.4, if the configuration of #54 and #53 were reversed).
While Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach one particular orientation of the long light guide and the short light guide #53 and #54, the reference does not teach any sort of criticality of this configuration. Additionally, there are only two possible orientations of the light guides. As a result, the Office believes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sensing configuration of Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) by swapping the length configuration of the two because it is a mere reversal of parts that would not materially affect the functioning of the apparatus and thus it would be an obvious modification, easily arrived at by one of ordinary skill in the art. If such a reversal were made, the claim limitations would necessarily be met since upon reversal, a guide configured like a mirror image of #54 would then be in the position of #53 under the cover and meet the definition of the “second” lightguide.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the first lightguide portion includes a first straight portion that extends along the rotation axial line (fig.4, straight advance portion near #51), wherein the second lightguide portion includes a second straight portion that extends along the rotation axial line (fig.4, straight advance portion near #52), and wherein the first straight portion and the second straight portion are aligned in a direction orthogonal to the rotation axial line (see fig.4).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the second straight portion includes he closest part (fig.4&5, if #53 and #54 positions are reversed, this will be satisfied).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Sakaya et al. (US Pub.2015/0132018) teach an image forming apparatus and a cartridge wherein the second straight portion is closer to the photosensitive drum than the first straight portion (fig.1,3&4, upon reversal of #53 and #54, this limitation would be satisfied).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “the second straight advance portion is longer than the first straight advance portion” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 8.
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “the second straight advance portion is longer than the first straight advance portion” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.10, filed 29 April 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C.102 has been withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments filed 29 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding the reference of Sakaya et al., the applicant argues that only the end portion of the first light guide is uncovered. In response to this, the Office restates that if a rearrangement of the parts by swapping the photodiode/photoreceiver positions were to occur, the light guide #53 would necessarily meet the claim definition of the ‘second lightguide’ and the uncovered limitation would be met. Thus, this argument is not persuasive. The applicants also allege that one of ordinary skill in the art would not arrive at the currently selective cover arrangement. On this point the Office respectfully disagrees since a mere change of locations of the photodetector/photodiode at the respective ends of the lightguides would de facto change which portion of the claim limitations would be met by which light guide and #53 would end up satisfying the definition of the “second lightguide” portion. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not need to arrive at selectively covering as it would just be a necessary outcome of the rearrangement.
As such, the Office finds the applicants’ arguments not to be persuasive.
Contact Information
/LKR/
6/9/2026 /STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852