Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Figure 3 is described in the specification as comprising numeral 300 which is not present in the Drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Each of independent claims 1, 10, and 19 introduce the limitations, “wherein the architecture state information comprises information associated with different hierarchical levels”.
The hierarchical levels are not defined in the Specification in a way to allow an interpretation to be applied to the limitation. Using Figures 9-11 as support, it is unclear if the hierarchical levels are defining different processing elements, different locations for storing architecture state information of the processing elements, or something different.
- For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the different hierarchical levels to represent different memory locations where the architecture state information can be stored.
With respect to claim 5, it is unclear how claim 5 can require “a single sequencing element capable of saving architecture state information at different hierarchical levels”, when claim 4 (which claim 5 is dependent from) already requires there to be a sequencing element per hierarchical level. Therefore, embodiments with more than one level, according to claims 4 and 5, would require both multiple sequencing elements and only a single sequencing element.
- For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the limitations of claim 5 the same as presented in claim 4, until clarification is provided.
Claim Interpretation
- This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure (e.g. “circuit elements”), materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for triggering” via one or more circuit elements, in claim 19.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gendler et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0378660.
Per Claim 1, Gendler discloses a method, comprising:
triggering, via one or more circuit elements (Paragraph 20; power management controller 128; Also, Paragraph 52, power management agent (PMA)),
saving of architecture state information of at least one processing element (PE) (cores 102/104) to multiple memories (Save state SRAM 116 and system memory 110)
prior to the at least one PE transitioning from a first state to a second state wherein the architecture state information comprises information associated with different hierarchical levels (Paragraphs 26-41 detail the “Saving and Restoring Processor Core State” process. Specifically, Paragraph 26 states that SRAM 116 is used to save the architectural state of the core 102 when entering the C6 power state. Transitioning between power states triggers saving the contents of SRAM 116 to a memory external to the processor core, such as DRAM 110. Paragraphs 33 and 34 further define that the C6 SRAM contents (which includes the architectural state) are stored at a specific DRAM base address, and this specific DRAM base address is stored in two locations, one inside the processor core itself and one outside the power domain of the processor core. The DRAM base address used to store the architecture state reads on the claimed “architecture state information”.);
and triggering, via the one or more circuit elements, restoration of the architecture state information from the multiple memories to the at least one PE prior to the at least one PE transitioning from the second state to the first state (Paragraph 30, “the processor core needs to restart and restore from the C6 SRAM”. Paragraphs 50-54).
Per Claim 2, Gendler discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one PE transitions from the first state to the second state as part of a power down sequence (Paragraph 26; The processor core transitions from power saving mode C6 state to a deeper sleep state, C10.); and the at least one PE transitions from the second state to the first state as part of a power up sequence (Paragraph 30; Waking out of the C10 state.).
Per Claim 3, Gendler discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuit elements comprise, at least one sequencing element to trigger the saving and restoration (Paragraph 20; power management controller 128); and at least one routing interface to transfer architecture state information between state registers of the at least one PE and the at least one memory (Paragraph 34; “the C6 DRAM base address is stored in a register in the processor core”. Paragraph 13, Fig. 1; Memory controller 106 is considered a routing interface as it controls the transfer of information from core 102 to system memory 110.).
Per Claim 4, Gendler discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the at least one sequencing element comprises a sequencing element per hierarchical level at which architecture state information is saved (Paragraph 19; ACPI 126 represents a sequencing element at the system memory level and Paragraph 20 teaches a power management microcontroller 128 responsible for the core 102 level.).
Per Claim 5, Gendler discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the at least one sequencing element comprises a single sequencing element capable of saving architecture state information at different hierarchical levels (Paragraph 20; Power management microcontroller 128 can perform power state transitions for multiple different cores 102/104, which each represent different hierarchical levels.).
Per Claim 6, Gendler discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the saving comprises: saving architecture state information associated with a first hierarchical level at a memory associated with a second hierarchical level (Paragraphs 26-41 detail the “Saving and Restoring Processor Core State” process. Specifically, Paragraph 26 states that SRAM 116 is used to save the architectural state of the core 102 when entering the C6 power state. Transitioning between power states triggers saving the contents of SRAM 116 to a memory external to the processor core, such as DRAM 110. Paragraphs 33 and 34 further define that the C6 SRAM contents (which includes the architectural state) are stored at a specific DRAM base address, and this specific DRAM base address is stored in two locations, one inside the processor core itself and one outside the power domain of the processor core. The DRAM base address used to store the architecture state reads on the claimed “architecture state information”.).
Per Claim 7, Gendler discloses the method of claim 3, wherein: the at least one PE comprises multiple Pes (Cores 102 and 104); and the at least one sequencing element comprises: a sequencing element per each of the multiple PEs, or a single sequence element that saves architecture state information for the multiple PEs (Paragraph 20; Power management microcontroller 128 can perform power state transitions for multiple different cores 102/104 of processor 100.).
Per Claim 8, Gendler discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the at least one sequencing element is configurable to trigger or skip the saving and restoration of the architecture state information (Paragraphs 20-25; Power Mgmt Microcontroller 128 controls the entry/exit to/from different power states with respect to the cores 102/104, and therefore the triggering or skipping of the saving/restoration of the architecture state information based on the power states the cores of the processor are transitioning to/from.).
Per Claim 9, Gendler discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the routing interface allows access to the architecture state information (Paragraph 34; “the C6 DRAM base address is stored in a register in the processor core”. Paragraph 13, Fig. 1; Memory controller 106 is considered a routing interface as it controls the transfer of information from core 102 to system memory 110.).
Per Claims 10-18, please refer to the above rejection of claims 1-9 as the limitations are substantially similar and the mapping of the reference is equally applicable.
Per Claims 19 and 20, please refer to the above rejection of claims 1 and 2 as the limitations are substantially similar and the mapping of the reference is equally applicable.
Conclusion
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175