This action is in response to the amendments filed on 01/29/2024, in which claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13/31/2025, 01/22/2026, 01/29/2026, 0423/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Stillwell fails to teach or suggest hardware-based architecture state save and restore mechanisms integrated with processing element (PE) power-state transitions and further fails to disclose hardware-enforced access blocking and re-routing of architecture state information while a PE is in a powered down state.
With respect to independent claims 1, 9 and 17, the examiner disagrees. A previously noted, Stillwell discloses determining whether a save architectural state trigger event has occurred, wherein examples of such trigger events including entering and exiting a power state (Stillwell, [0058]). Thus, Stillwell expressly associates with architectural-state save operations with power-state transitions. Stillwell further discloses restoring architectural state information (Stillwell, [0062]) to enable continued execution following the triggering event. Accordingly, Stillwell teaches triggering save and restore operations before and after transitions between operational states, including power states.
Regarding claim 7, applicant argues that Stillwell fails to disclose “the sequencing element is configured to signal the routing interface to block access to the architecture state information while the Pes are in the second state”. The examiner notes that architectural state information saved to memory for later restoration would necessarily be managed through control logic that governs access to the saved state during the period in which the processing element is unavailable.
Accordingly, the rejections of claims 1, 7, 9 and 17 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stillwell, JR. et al. (US 2009/0172369, referred herein after Stillwell).
As per claim 1, 9, 17, Stillwell discloses a method, comprising:
triggering, via a first circuit element, saving of architecture state information of multiple processing elements (PEs) to at least one memory prior to the multiple PEs transitioning from a first state to a second state (Fig. 3, step 315, [0058], “t is determined if a save architectural state trigger event has occurred…..Examples of a save architectural state trigger event includes a core failure, …., entering/exiting a power state”);
and
triggering, via the first circuit element, restoration of the architecture state information from the at least one memory to the multiple PEs prior to the multiple PEs transitioning from the second state to the first state (Fig. 3, step 330, [0062], “the architectural sate is restored to a second processing element, such as a core, thread, or other context. “).
As per claim 2, 10, 18, Stillwell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the PEs transition from the first state to the second state as part of a power down sequence ([0058] power exit- power down as claimed); and
the PEs transition from the second state to the first state as part of a power up sequence ([0058], power enter- power up as claimed).
As per claim 3, 11, 19, Stillwell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first circuit element comprises a sequencing element to trigger the saving and restoration (Fig. 3, step 315, [0055], [0058]).
As per claim 4, 12, 20, Stillwell discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the sequencing element is configurable to trigger or skip the saving and restoration of the architecture state information (Fig. 3 step 315, yes and no arrow, [0055]-[0058]).
As per claim 5, 13, Stillwell discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the sequencing element signals at least one routing interface to transfer architecture state information between state registers of the multiple PEs and the at least one memory ([0013], [0014], [0020], [0032]-[0036]).
As per claim 6, 14, Stillwell discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the routing interface allows access to the architecture state information (Fig. 2, [0031], [0032]).
As per claim 8, 16, Stillwell discloses the method of claim 5, wherein: the at least one memory comprises at least one architecture state random access memory (RAM); and the routing interface is configured to, while the PE are in the second state, re-route requests to access the state registers to the architecture state RAM ([0040], [0041], “the controlling software determines that the workload on processor 205 should be moved to another cooler section of the processor, which includes processor 210. Instead of scrapping execution and restarting on a new core, the current architectural state of core 205 is saved and restored to core 210”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stillwell in view Govindan et al. (US 2016/0321183, referred herein after Govindan).
As per claim 7, 15, Stillwell does not specifically disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the sequencing element is configured to signal the routing interface to block access to the architecture state information while the PEs are in the second state;
However, Govindan discloses the sequencing element is configured to signal the routing interface to block access to the architecture state information while the PEs are in the second state ([0038], power gating processor is interpreted as blocking the access as claimed);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Govindan’s power management method in computing systems into method of saving and restoring architectural state for processor cores because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to secure a system during a low-power, sleep, or blocked state, or when transitioning between different security levels.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMINI B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114