DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure remains objected to because it contains the implied phrase "One or more embodiments relate to" multiple times. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is
required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP §608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Umemoto et al. (US 2024/0219258 hereinafter "Umemoto") in view of Schmidt et al. (US
2024/0295281 hereinafter "Schmidt").
In regards to claim 5, Umemoto discloses a pipe having a pipeline connection seal
device, the pipe comprising:
a first pipeline (248);
a second pipeline (249); and
the pipeline connection seal device in contact with the first pipeline and the second
pipeline, the pipeline connection seal device comprising:
a first pipe connector (248a) having a first pipeline outer wall defining a first
pipeline interior (central bore);
a second pipe connector (249a) having a second pipeline outer wall defining a
second pipeline interior (central bore); and
a vacuum-pumped interspace (250c) defined by at least the first pipe connector
and the second pipe connector, whereby the vacuum-pumped interspace reduces the
pressure gradient across the pipeline connection seal device and monitors leaking
hazardous substances and prevents them from escaping the seal device and going ambient
(see at least paragraph [0040)]).
Umemoto does not disclose the first pipeline interior containing a first pipeline inner wall and defining a first pipeline second interior between the first pipeline outer wall and the first pipeline inner wall, the second pipeline interior containing a second pipeline inner wall and defining a second pipeline second interior between the second pipeline outer wall and the second pipeline inner wall, the first pipeline second interior is in fluid communication with at least the first pipe connector, or the second pipeline second interior is in fluid communication with at least the second pipe connector.
However, Schmidt shows that it is known to use double-walled pipes (60, 50) that have first and second interiors (61) between the walls in a connection with vacuum interspace (see fig. 2D and paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the
art to provide the first pipeline interior with a first inner wall and the second pipeline interior
with a second inner wall, in order to provide insulation of the inner space and allow the pipes to
transport hot or cold fluids, as taught by Schmidt at paragraph [0003]. Further, it is inherent in the combination that the interior spaces (61) of the pipelines would be in fluid communication with the first and second pipelines (see fig. 2D of Schmidt and fig. 4 of Umemoto.
In regards to claim 6, Umemoto further discloses at least one seal (250a) in
communication with at least the vacuum-pumped interspace.
In regards to claim 7, Umemoto further discloses a first seal (250a) and a second seal
(250b), wherein at least one of the first seal and second seal is in communication with the
vacuum-pumped interspace and at least one of the first pipe connector and the second pipe
connector (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 8, Umemoto further discloses a port (249d) in fluid communication
with the vacuum-pumped interspace.
In regards to claim 11, Umemoto discloses a pipe having a pipeline connection seal device, the pipe comprising:
a first pipeline (248) having a first pipeline outer wall defining a first pipeline
interior (central bore);
a second pipeline (249) having a second pipeline outer wall defining a second
pipeline interior (central bore); and
the pipeline connection seal device in contact with the first pipeline and the second pipeline, the pipeline connection seal device comprising:
a first pipe connector (248a);
a second pipe connector (249a); and
a vacuum-pumped interspace (250c) defined by at least the first pipe
connector and the second pipe connector, whereby the vacuum-pumped interspace
reduces the pressure gradient across the pipeline connection seal device and
monitors leaking hazardous substances and prevents them from escaping the
scaling device and going ambient (see at least paragraph [0040]).
Umemoto does not disclose the first pipeline interior containing a first pipeline inner wall and defining a first pipeline second interior between the first pipeline outer wall and the first pipeline inner wall, the second pipeline interior containing a second pipeline inner wall and defining a second pipeline second interior between the second pipeline outer wall and the second pipeline inner wall, the first pipeline second interior is in fluid communication with at least the first pipe connector, or the second pipeline second interior is in fluid communication with at least the second pipe connector.
However, Schmidt shows that it is known to use double-walled pipes (60, 50) that have first and second interiors (61) between the walls in a connection with vacuum interspace (see fig. 2D and paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the
art to provide the first pipeline interior with a first inner wall and the second pipeline interior
with a second inner wall, in order to provide insulation of the inner space and allow the pipes to
transport hot or cold fluids, as taught by Schmidt at paragraph [0003]. Further, it is inherent in the combination that the interior spaces (61) of the pipelines would be in fluid communication with the first and second pipelines (see fig. 2D of Schmidt and fig. 4 of Umemoto.
In regards to claim 16, Umemoto further discloses the first pipeline interior is in fluid
communication with the second pipeline interior (shown in fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the amended language, see the rejection above which shows how these limitations are taught by Umemoto in view of Schmidt.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, while Umemoto discloses use of the invention with gas, no where does Umemoto disclose that the device may not be used in transporting other fluids. As such, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the
art to provide the first pipeline interior with a first inner wall and the second pipeline interior
with a second inner wall, in order to provide insulation of the inner space and allow the pipes to transport hot or cold fluids, as taught by Schmidt at paragraph [0003].
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 02/24/2026