Notice of Pre-AlA or AIA Status The present application is being examined under the pre-AlA first to invent provisions.
DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Remarks filed on 1/2/2026. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 19 and 20 are rejected under pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hall, US Pub.20160299698.
As to claim 1, Hall discloses a method, comprising:
creating, in a storage array (40 fig.3), a plurality of realms (1-N of fgi.3), wherein each realm comprises a logical isolation of a corresponding one or more storage resources within the storage array and restricting access to each of the plurality of realms using one or more configurable realm- specific access controls (using a controller to dynamically designate physical regions to be one of an I-region or an E-region, for example, the physical regions may take on the attributes of an I-region, an E-region, or a spare physical region, fig.1, [0027[ to [0029]).
As to claim 8, Moss discloses restricting access to each of the plurality of realms comprises restricting access to a particular realm via one or more defined networks (using a controller to dynamically designate physical regions to be one of an I-region or an E-region, for example, the physical regions may take on the attributes of an I-region, an E-region, or a spare physical region, fig.1, [0027[ to [0029]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1 and 1 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall, US pub. No. 20160299698 in view of Moss at al., US Pub. No.20130145367.
As to claim 2, Hall does not specifically disclose the corresponding one or more storage resources comprises at least one of: provisioned storage or one or more workloads. However, Moss discloses disclose the corresponding one or more storage resources comprises at least one of: provisioned storage or one or more workloads (The realm manager 28 handles the input, setup and configuration of any load and work product distribution logic, see [0041] to [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Moss’s teachings into the computer system of Hall to monitor data information because it would have enabled custom algorithms to be encapsulated and incorporated directly into the realm load management models (see Moss’ [0040]).
As to claim 3, Moss discloses tracking, for a particular realm of the plurality of realms, one or more usage metrics (usage and distribution preferences aligned against cost of processing, see [0054]).
As to claim 4, Moss discloses calculating a cost for one or more usage metrics (processing cost, see [0054] to [0055])).
As to claim 5, Moss discloses presenting the one or more usage metrics to a user associated with the particular realm (usage, see [0054] to [0056)).
As to claim 6, Moss discloses performing data reduction across the plurality of realms (usage and distribution preferences aligned against cost of processing, see [0055] to [0056]).
As to claim 7, Moss discloses controlling resource consumption by one or more of the plurality of realms (see [0054] to [0056)).
As to claim 9, Moss discloses wherein restricting access to each of the plurality of realms comprises restricting access to a particular realm using a realm access key (see [0028] and [0040]).
As to claim 10, Moss discloses restricting access to each of the plurality of realms comprises applying an access policy associated with a user (configuring a realm manager with two or more client determined configuration policies; allowing input, setup and configuration of the two or more client determined configuration policies through the use of a design studio application program, see [0028] to [0030]).
As to claim 11, Moss discloses the user is associated with a plurality of access policies and wherein applying the access policy associated with the user comprises determining a set of permissions for the user based on the plurality of access policies (configuring a realm manager with two or more client determined configuration policies; allowing input, setup and configuration of the two or more client determined configuration policies through the use of a design studio application program, see [0028] to [0032]).
As to claim 12, Moss discloses copying a database to a particular realm from another storage location in the storage array (The automatic distributed net cloud node instance 40 creates nodes, which are an automatic replication of a pneuron and this process is established when volume creases., see [0047] to [0048]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1 and 1 respectively.
Claims 13-18 are rejected under pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hall and Moss as in above and in view of Darji et al., US Pub. No.20220365821.
As to claims 13-18, neiwther Hall nor Moss specifically disclose copying the database comprises establishing a replication connection between the database and the particular realm, wherein migrating the realm preserves the replication connection, the plurality of realms is encrypted using a data encryption key different than the realm access key, performing a replication of a particular realm and a failover of the particular realm and using a data encryption key different than the realm access key. However, Darji discloses copying the database comprises establishing a replication connection
between the database and the particular realm, wherein migrating the realm preserves the replication connection, the plurality of realms is encrypted using a data encryption key different than the realm access key, performing a replication of a particular realm and a failover of the particular realm and using a data encryption key different than the realm access key (two or more of the storage systems may synchronously replicate a dataset between each other, failover process and encryption technique, see [0128], [0241] to [0242]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Darji’s teachings into the computer system of Hall to control data system because it would have created secure zones in data centers and cloud deployments that enables the isolation of workloads from one another (see [0128]). Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 1/2/26 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moss, US Pub. No.20130145367 and Hall et al., US Pub. No.20130299698.
Conclusion
/KHANH Q DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458