The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite on lines 10-12 because there is no clear antecedent basis for “the first end part” on line 10, nor is there clear antecedent basis for “the cantilever” on line 11. Which “first end part” of the plurality of cantilevers is one referring to here on line 10? Which “cantilever” of the plurality of cantilevers is one referring to here on line 11? It appears the claim language on lines 10-12 of claim 1 is referring to the cantilever labeled as ‘33’ in fig. 3, and not all the cantilevers. Perhaps the claim should be amended to be “the first end part of one cantilever of the plurality of cantilevers is connected to a side of the first auxiliary part that is close the second side, and the one cantilever extends in an extension direction of the second side”.
Claim 2 is indefinite on lines 3-4 because “and the first edge and/or the second edge are/is parallel to the second side of the polygonal opening” is unclear. Further, there is no clear antecedent basis for “the first edge” on line 3, nor is there clear antecedent basis for “the second edge” on line 3. Which “first edge” of the plurality of cantilevers is one referring to here on line 10? Which “second edge” of the plurality of cantilevers is one referring to here on line 10? It appears the claim language on lines 3-4 of claim 2 is referring to the cantilever labeled as ‘33’ in fig. 3, and not all the cantilevers. Perhaps the claim should be amended to be “and at least one of the first edge and the second edge of the one cantilever is parallel to the second side of the polygonal opening” to clarify the claim language.
Claim 10 is indefinite on line 2 because it is unclear what one means by “a width of each of the plurality of cantilevers in a direction perpendicular to the second side” when the second side is defined in clam 1 as being the side ‘3132’ labeled in fig. 3. It appears only the cantilever labeled as ‘33’ in figs. 3 and 5, and the cantilever opposite to the cantilever labeled as ‘33’ in figs. 3 and 5, fits this claim description. Perhaps the claim should be amended to be “a width of each of the plurality of cantilevers in a direction perpendicular to a side of the polygonal opening is a first width, and the first width gradually increases or decreases from the first end part to the second end part”.
Claim 11 is indefinite on lines 1-3 because “the first edge and/or the second edge of each of the plurality of cantilevers are/is perpendicular to the first side connected to the cantilever” is unclear and indefinite. It appears the claim language on lines 1-3 of claim 11 is referring to the cantilever labeled as ‘33’ in fig. 3 and not all the cantilevers. Note that the horizontal first side is labeled as ‘3131’ and the vertical second side is labeled as ‘3132’ in fig. 3 and as such only the cantilever labeled as ‘33’ in fig. 33 fits the claim description in claim 11 and in clam 2.
Claim 12 is indefinite on lines 1-2 because there is no clear antecedent basis for “the first side of an inner cavity”. Perhaps the claim should be amended to be “a side of an inner cavity”.
Claim 13 is indefinite on line 3 because it is not clear how “the first auxiliary part”, which is labeled as ‘361’ in fig. 3, can be connected to a corresponding cantilever as claimed. It appears from fig. 3, that the first auxiliary part 361 is only connected to the cantilever labeled as ‘33’. Perhaps the claim should be amended to be “and that is close to an auxiliary part connected to the corresponding cantilever”.
Claims 1-6 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Najafi et al. (US 2016/0211439).
Regarding claim 1, as clear and understood, Najafi discloses a piezoelectric sensing unit (see figs. 1A, 4B, 6A, 7, 8A, and 9A, for example), comprising: a base 110, forming a cavity (see fig. 4B, which illustrates a cavity between left and right base 110) extending in a first direction, wherein the cavity forms a polygonal opening (opening inside the square-shaped structure of base 110 as shown in fig. 1A) on a first surface of the base 110, and the polygonal opening comprises a first (bottom) side and a second (left) side that are adjacent to each other; an auxiliary layer 130 (non-piezoelectric structure layer as shown in figs. 4A, 8A, and 9A), formed on the first surface of the base 110, wherein the auxiliary layer 130 comprises a first auxiliary part located in a region that is on the first surface and adjacent to the first (bottom) side (as shown in fig. 1A); a plurality of cantilevers 106, one-to-one corresponding to sides of the polygonal opening (see fig. 1A), wherein each of the plurality of cantilevers 106 comprise a first end part (adjacent to element 136 as shown in fig. 6A) and a second end part (adjacent to element 134 as shown in fig. 6A) that are opposite to each other, a first end part of bottom left cantilever as shown in fig. 1A is connected to a side of the first auxiliary part that is close to the second (left) side, and the bottom left cantilever extends in a direction of the second (left) side; a central film 104, wherein the central film 104 is connected to the second end part of each of the plurality of cantilevers 106 (see fig. 1A and 6A), and an orthographic projection of the polygonal opening on a first plane (e.g., plane parallel to square-shaped base 110 as shown in fig. 1A) completely covers an orthographic projection of the central film 104 on the first plane, wherein the first plane is perpendicular to the first direction; and a plurality of pieces of piezoelectric film, each disposed on a surface of each of the plurality of cantilevers 106, wherein each of the plurality of pieces of piezoelectric film comprises a piezoelectric material layer 122, a first electrode layer 126, and a second electrode layer 124, and the piezoelectric material layer 122 is connected to the first electrode layer 126 and the second electrode layer 124 (see figs. 7 and 8A, for example).
Regarding claim 2, as clear and understood, each of the plurality of cantilevers 106 comprises a first edge and a second edge that are opposite to each other. The first edge and the second edge of the bottom left cantilever as shown in fig. 1A, as well as the top right cantilever as shown in fig. 1A, are parallel to the second (left) side of the polygonal opening.
Regarding claim 3, the central film 104 and the plurality of cantilevers 106 form an integrated structure. See fig. 1A, for example.
Regarding claim 4, the central film 104 has a hole. See fig. 4B, for example, wherein the area between the elements 138 can be considered to be a hole (e.g., a hollow area in a solid body or surface) in the central film 104 structure as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, the central film 104 is located on a side of each of the plurality of cantilevers 106 that faces the base 110. See figs. 1A and 4B, for example. The central film 104 is connected to each of the plurality of cantilevers 106 through a connection part 134. See fig. 6A, for example.
Regarding claim 6, at least a partial structure of the central film 104 overlaps each of the plurality of cantilevers 106. See figs. 1A and 6A, for example, wherein the connection part 134 can be considered a partial structure of the central film 104 which overlaps each of the cantilevers 106 as claimed.
Regarding clam 11, as clear and understood, the first edge and the second edge of bottom left cantilever as shown in fig. 1A is perpendicular to the first (bottom) side connected to the cantilever.
Regarding claim 12, as clear and understood, a first side of an inner cavity (e.g., the cavity as shown in fig. 4B, which illustrates a cavity between left and right base 110) has at least a protrusion 136 corresponding to each of the plurality of cantilevers 106. See figs. 1A and 6A, which illustrates a connection member 136 which is considered the claim protrusion.
Regarding claim 13, as clear and understood, an effective working region of each of the plurality of pieces of piezoelectric film is located on a side that is of the corresponding cantilever and that is close to a first auxiliary part connected to the corresponding cantilever. See figs. 1A, 4B, and 6A, which illustrates a connection member 136, or area adjacent the connection member 136, which is considered the effective working region of each of the plurality of pieces of piezoelectric film as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, the central film 104 has an additional mass block 138. See fig. 4B, for example.
Regarding claim 15, in the embodiments of fig. 5A and 5B, the length of the plurality of cantilevers are different.
Regarding claim 16, a material of each of the plurality of cantilevers 106 is the same as a material of the piezoelectric material layer 122. See figs. 7 and 8A, for example.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the auxiliary layer 130 and the plurality of cantilevers 106 form an integrated structure. See figs. 4A, 8A, and 9A, for example.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wan et al. (US 10,999,684).
Regarding claim 1, as clear and understood, Wan discloses a piezoelectric sensing unit (see figs. 2 and 3, for example), comprising: a base 2, forming a cavity (see fig. 3, which illustrates a cavity between left and right base 2) extending in a first direction, wherein the cavity forms a polygonal opening (opening inside the square-shaped structure of base 2 as shown in fig. 2) on a first surface of the base 2, and the polygonal opening comprises a first (bottom) side and a second (left) side that are adjacent to each other (see fig. 2); an auxiliary layer 3, formed on the first surface of the base 2, wherein the auxiliary layer 3 comprises a first auxiliary part located in a region that is on the first surface and adjacent to the first (bottom) side (as shown in fig. 2); a plurality of cantilevers 21-24, one-to-one corresponding to sides of the polygonal opening (see fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 comprise a first end part (adjacent to base 10 as shown in figs 2-3) and a second end part (adjacent to element 25 as shown in figs. 2-3) that are opposite to each other, the first end part of cantilever 21 as shown in fig. 2 is connected to a side of the first auxiliary part that is close to the second (left) side, and the cantilever 21 extends in a direction of the second (left) side; a central film 25, wherein the central film 25 is connected to the second end part of each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 (see figs. 2-3), and an orthographic projection of the polygonal opening on a first plane (e.g., plane parallel to square-shaped base 2 as shown in fig. 2) completely covers an orthographic projection of the central film 25 on the first plane, wherein the first plane is perpendicular to the first direction; and a plurality of pieces of piezoelectric film, each disposed on a surface of each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24, wherein each of the plurality of pieces of piezoelectric film comprises a piezoelectric material layer 21a, a first electrode layer 15, and a second electrode layer 14, and the piezoelectric material layer 21a is connected to the first electrode layer 15 and the second electrode layer 14 (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, as clear and understood, each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 comprises a first edge and a second edge that are opposite to each other. The first edge and the second edge of the cantilever 21as shown in fig. 2, as well as the cantilever 23 as shown in fig. 2, are parallel to the second (left) side of the polygonal opening.
Regarding claim 3, the central film 25 and the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 form an integrated structure. See fig. 3, for example.
Regarding claim 5, the central film 25 is located on a side of each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 that faces the base 10. See figs. 2-3, for example. The central film 25 is connected to each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 through a connection part. See fig. 2, for example.
Regarding claim 6, at least a partial structure of the central film 25 overlaps each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24. See fig. 3.
Regarding claim 7, the connection part comprises a first connection part (end of elements 20b, 23b adjacent to element 3 as shown in fig. 3) and a second connection part (other part of elements 20b, 23b). The first connection part and the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 form an integrated structure. The second connection part is connected to the first connection part and the central film 25.
Regarding claim 10, as clear and understood, a width of each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 in a direction perpendicular to a side of the polygonal opening is a first width, and the first width gradually increases or decreases from the first end part to the second end part.
Regarding clam 11, as clear and understood, the first edge and the second edge of cantilever 21 as shown in fig. 2 is perpendicular to the first (bottom) side connected to the cantilever.
Regarding claim 13, as clear and understood, an effective working region of each of the plurality of pieces of piezoelectric film is located on a side that is of the corresponding cantilever and that is close to a first auxiliary part connected to the corresponding cantilever. See fig. 3, which illustrates that left end 21a of cantilever 21, for example, is located on a side that is of the corresponding cantilever and that is close to a first auxiliary part connected to the corresponding cantilever as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, the central film 25 has an additional mass block, i.e., the element 25 is a mass block.
Regarding claim 16, a material of each of the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 is the same as a material of the piezoelectric material layer 12. See fig. 3.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the auxiliary layer and the plurality of cantilevers 21-24 form an integrated structure. See figs. 2-3.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Wan discloses a piezoelectric microphone (see fig. 18, for example), and a terminal including the piezoelectric microphone, the piezoelectric microphone including a circuit board 30, a chip 92 and a piezoelectric sensing unit as claimed, wherein the chip 92 is disposed on the circuit board 30 and a first electrode 32 and a second electrode 34 are connected to the chip 30.
Regarding claim 19, the piezoelectric microphone can further include a housing 99, 30c, wherein the circuit board 30, the chip 92, and the piezoelectric sensing unit as claimed are disposed inside the housing as claimed. See fig. 18.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najafi et al. (US 2016/0211439), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wan et al. (US 10,999,684).
Najafi discloses the invention as claimed, including the piezoelectric sensing unit as claimed, but fails to specifically teach a piezoelectric microphone, or a terminal including the piezoelectric microphone, the piezoelectric microphone includes a circuit board, a chip and the piezoelectric sensing unit as claimed, wherein the chip is disposed on the circuit board and a first electrode and a second electrode are connected to the chip. Wan discloses a piezoelectric microphone (see fig. 18, for example), and a terminal including the piezoelectric microphone, the piezoelectric microphone including a circuit board 30, a chip 92 and a piezoelectric sensing unit 10, wherein the chip 92 is disposed on the circuit board 30 and a first electrode 32 and a second electrode 34 are connected to the chip 30, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of integrating the piezoelectric sensing unit 10 into a piezoelectric microphone device which can be utilized in a terminal for detecting sound.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Najafi, in view of Wan, such that the piezoelectric sensing unit as claimed and as taught by Najafi is included in a piezoelectric microphone, and a terminal includes the piezoelectric microphone, the piezoelectric microphone further includes a circuit board and a chip, wherein the chip is disposed on the circuit board and a first electrode and a second electrode are connected to the chip. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of integrating the piezoelectric sensing unit into a piezoelectric microphone device which can be utilized in a terminal for detecting sound.
Further regarding claim 19, the piezoelectric microphone can further include a housing 99, 30c, wherein the circuit board 30, the chip 92, and the piezoelectric sensing unit as claimed are disposed inside the housing as claimed. See Wan, fig. 18.
Claims 8 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record considered as a whole fails to teach or suggest a piezoelectric sensing unit.
/PAUL W HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
pwh
January 3, 2026