DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Byagowi teaches via a fronthaul network (106) connecting the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) within the same access network device (Fig.1, col.5, lines 33-66: network 106 is a land-based WAN (e.g., using fiber optic connections)…network 106 to include satellites (e.g., the same satellites as in satellite system 108)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byagowi et al. (US 11616587 B1).
Considering claim 1, Byagowi teaches a clock synchronization method, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a first apparatus (102), a first time difference (col.6, lines 6-30: first timestamp) and a second time difference (a second timestamp) (col.6, lines 6-30), wherein the first time difference is between the first apparatus (102) and a satellite (108) (Fig.1, 5-6, col.6, lines 6-30: first timestamp), and the first time difference (first timestamp) is determined based on a first pulse signal and information about the satellite (col.4, lines 11-54: time synchronized by receiving a common time from satellite system 108 via broadcasts 110 and 112 (e.g., satellite system 108..For example, a PPS signal generated by a receiver of remote terrestrial site 104 can be utilized to synchronize other devices (clocks) at remote terrestrial site 104; col.6, lines 6-30: a reference time (e.g., a first timestamp) associated with when a satellite signal was received at reference terrestrial site 102 is recorded), and
wherein the second time difference (a second timestamp) is between a second apparatus (104) and the satellite (108), the second time difference comes from the second apparatus (col.4, lines 11-54: time synchronized by receiving a common time from satellite system 108 via broadcasts 110 and 112 (e.g., satellite system 108…For example, a PPS signal generated by a receiver of remote terrestrial site 104 can be utilized to synchronize other devices (clocks) at remote terrestrial site 104; col.6, lines 6-30: Remote terrestrial site 104 also records a time (a second timestamp) associated with when the satellite signal was received at remote terrestrial site 104) via a fronthaul network (106) connecting the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) within the same access network device (Fig.1, col.5, lines 33-66: network 106 is a land-based WAN (e.g., using fiber optic connections)… network 106 to include satellites (e.g., the same satellites as in satellite system 108)), and the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) belong to a same access network device (Fig.1, 5-6, col.5, lines 33-66); and
obtaining, by the first apparatus (102), clock synchronization information between the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) based on the first time difference and the second time difference (Fig.1, 5-6, col.2, lines 25-52: clock synchronization, col.6, lines 6-30: A reference time (e.g., a first timestamp) associated with when a satellite signal was received at reference terrestrial site 102 is recorded. In various embodiments, the reference time is from a master reference clock, such as an atomic clock, OCXO, another clock, etc. Remote terrestrial site 104 also records a time (a second timestamp) associated with when the satellite signal was received at remote terrestrial site 104, col.11, line 38 to col.12, line 33: clock adjustment value is calculated based on a comparison of the determined reference time and the received recorded time).
Considering claim 9, Byagowi teaches a clock synchronization method, wherein the method comprises:
sending, by a second apparatus (104), a second time difference (a second timestamp) to a first apparatus (102, Fig.1, 5-6, col.6, lines 6-30), wherein the second time difference (a second timestamp) is determined based on a second pulse signal (PPS signal) and information about a satellite (108), the second time difference is between the second apparatus and the satellite (col.4, lines 11-54: time synchronized by receiving a common time from satellite system 108 via broadcasts 110 and 112 (e.g., satellite system 108..For example, a PPS signal generated by a receiver of remote terrestrial site 104 can be utilized to synchronize other devices (clocks) at remote terrestrial site 104; col.6, lines 6-30: a reference time (e.g., a first timestamp) associated with when a satellite signal was received at reference terrestrial site 102 is recorded) via a fronthaul network (106) connecting the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) within the same access network device (Fig.1, col.5, lines 33-66: network 106 is a land-based WAN (e.g., using fiber optic connections)… network 106 to include satellites (e.g., the same satellites as in satellite system 108)), and the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) belong to a same access network device (Fig.1, 5-6);
receiving, by the second apparatus (104), clock synchronization information from the first apparatus(col.4, lines 11-54: time synchronized by receiving a common time from satellite system 108 via broadcasts 110 and 112 (e.g., satellite system 108…For example, a PPS signal generated by a receiver of remote terrestrial site 104/reference terrestrial site 102 can be utilized to synchronize other devices (clocks) at remote terrestrial site 104//reference terrestrial site 102; col.6, lines 6-30: Remote terrestrial site 104 also records a time (a second timestamp) associated with when the satellite signal was received at remote terrestrial site 104); and
obtaining, by the second apparatus (104), local clock information of the second apparatus based on the clock synchronization information (Fig.1, 5-6, col.2, lines 25-52: clock synchronization, col. 6, lines 6-30: A reference time (e.g., a first timestamp) associated with when a satellite signal was received at reference terrestrial site 102 is recorded. In various embodiments, the reference time is from a master reference clock, such as an atomic clock, OCXO, another clock, etc. Remote terrestrial site 104 also records a time (a second timestamp) associated with when the satellite signal was received at remote terrestrial site 104, col. 11, line 38 to col.12, line 33: clock adjustment value is calculated based on a comparison of the determined reference time and the received recorded time).
Considering claim 15, Byagowi teaches a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to:
obtain a second time difference (a second timestamp), wherein the second time difference is between a second apparatus (104) and a satellite (108), and the second time difference comes from the second apparatus (col.4, lines 11-54: time synchronized by receiving a common time from satellite system 108 via broadcasts 110 and 112 (e.g., satellite system 108…For example, a PPS signal generated by a receiver of remote terrestrial site 104 can be utilized to synchronize other devices (clocks) at remote terrestrial site 104; col.6, lines 6-30: Remote terrestrial site 104 also records a time (a second timestamp) associated with when the satellite signal was received at remote terrestrial site 104);
obtain a first time difference (col.6, lines 6-30: first timestamp), wherein the first time difference is between the communication apparatus (102) and the satellite (108, Fig.1, 5-6, col.6, lines 6-30: first timestamp), the first time difference is determined based on a first pulse signal and information about the satellite (col.4, lines 11-54: time synchronized by receiving a common time from satellite system 108 via broadcasts 110 and 112 (e.g., satellite system 108..For example, a PPS signal generated by a receiver of remote terrestrial site 104 can be utilized to synchronize other devices (clocks) at remote terrestrial site 104; col.6, lines 6-30: a reference time (e.g., a first timestamp) associated with when a satellite signal was received at reference terrestrial site 102 is recorded) via a fronthaul network (106) connecting the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) within the same access network device (Fig.1, col.5, lines 33-66: network 106 is a land-based WAN (e.g., using fiber optic connections)… network 106 to include satellites (e.g., the same satellites as in satellite system 108)), and the communication apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) belong to a same access network device (Fig.1, 5-6); and
obtain clock synchronization information between the communication apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) based on the first time difference and the second time difference (e.g., a first timestamp) associated with when a satellite signal was received at reference terrestrial site 102 is recorded. In various embodiments, the reference time is from a master reference clock, such as an atomic clock, OCXO, another clock, etc. Remote terrestrial site 104 also records a time (a second timestamp) associated with when the satellite signal was received at remote terrestrial site 104, col.11, line 38 to col.12, line 33: clock adjustment value is calculated based on a comparison of the determined reference time and the received recorded time).
Considering claims 2, 16, Byagowi teaches sending, by the first apparatus (102), the clock synchronization information to the second apparatus (104, Fig.1, 5-6, col.11, line 38 to col.12, line 33: At 508, the clock adjustment value is provided to the remote clock synchronization destination. The clock adjustment value is able to be utilized by the remote clock synchronization destination to adjust the remote clock to increase synchronization with the master reference clock. In various embodiments, the clock adjustment value is transmitted to the remote clock synchronization destination via the network (e.g., network 106 of FIG. 1)).
Considering claims 3, 10, 19, Byagowi teaches wherein that the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) belong to a same access network device (106, Fig.1) comprises: the first apparatus (lock device) is a wireless device controller in the access network device (Fig.6, col.12, lines 34-62: controllers), and the second apparatus is a wireless device (lock device) in the access network device (Fig.1, 6).
Considering claims 4, 11, 20, Byagowi teaches wherein that the first apparatus (102) and the second apparatus (104) belong to a same access network device (106, Fig.1) comprises: both the first apparatus and the second apparatus are wireless devices in the access network device (Fig.6, col.12, lines 34-62).
Considering claims 5, 12, Byagowi teaches wherein the first (102)/second (104) pulse signal is a pulse per second signal (col.4, lines 33-54: reference terrestrial site 102 and remote terrestrial site 104 are configured to generate pulse-per-second (PPS) signals that are associated with (e.g., aligned with) satellite system 108).
Considering claims 6, 13, Byagowi teaches wherein the information about the satellite comprises an identifier of the satellite (Fig.5, col.11, lines 3-37: the satellite signal includes satellite position and time information), and the information about the satellite further comprises at least one of the following: time information of the satellite (col.1, lines 9-33: satellites that broadcast satellite position and time information), status information of the satellite, or ephemeris data information of the satellite.
Considering claims 7, 17, Byagowi teaches wherein the obtaining, by the first apparatus, clock synchronization information between the first apparatus and the second apparatus based on the first time difference and the second time difference comprises: calculating, by the first apparatus, a third time difference (col.11, line 38 to col.12, line 33: a clock adjustment value is calculated based on a comparison of the determined reference time and the received recorded time) based on the first time difference and the second time difference; determining, by the first apparatus (102), an average relative phase frequency difference based on the third time difference (col.6, line 48 to col.7, line 9: adjust the reference oscillator frequency and/or phase); and adjusting, by the first apparatus, local clock information of the first apparatus based on the average relative phase frequency difference (Fig.1, 5-6, col.11, line 38 to col.12, line 33).
Considering claim 8, Byagowi teaches wherein that the first time difference is determined based on a first pulse signal and information about the satellite (col.4, lines 33-54: generate pulse-per-second (PPS) signals) comprises: receiving, by the first apparatus (102), the first pulse signal and the information about the satellite from a first satellite receiver (Fig.1, 5-6); and determining, by the first apparatus, the first time difference based on the first pulse signal and the information about the satellite (col.4, lines 33-54: calculated/received time from satellite system 108 when it appears as if the time deviates from a specified tolerance compared with a prior calculated/received time).
Considering claim 14, Byagowi teaches wherein that the second time difference is determined based on a second pulse signal and information about a satellite col.4, lines 33-54: generate pulse-per-second (PPS) signals) comprises: receiving, by the second apparatus, the second pulse signal and the information about the satellite from a second satellite receiver; and determining, by the second apparatus, the second time difference based on the second pulse signal and the information about the satellite (Fig.1, 5-6, col.4, lines 33-54: calculated/received time from satellite system 108 when it appears as if the time deviates from a specified tolerance compared with a prior calculated/received time).
Considering claim 18, Byagowi teaches receive the first pulse signal and the information about the satellite from a first satellite receiver; and determine the first time difference based on the first pulse signal and the information about the satellite (Fig.1, 5-6, col.4, lines 33-54: calculated/received time from satellite system 108 when it appears as if the time deviates from a specified tolerance compared with a prior calculated/received time).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AI YANJUN (CN 114286286 B) teaches a time synchronization method, equipment, medium and program product, by acquiring first ranging information sent by a satellite navigation system and auxiliary information sent by an auxiliary satellite system, the auxiliary information comprises: precise orbit data and precise clock difference data of the navigation satellite and the auxiliary satellite, second ranging information measured by the auxiliary satellite and first time difference uploaded to the auxiliary satellite by a data center; determining a second time difference between the local time and the navigation time of the ground terminal when the ground terminal is subjected to positioning calculation according to the first ranging information and the auxiliary information by using a preset positioning model; and correcting the local time according to the first time difference and the second time difference so as to synchronize the local time with the reference time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641