DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 06/28/2024. The applicant does not submit an Information Disclosure Statement. The applicant does not make a claim for Foreign priority. The applicant does make a claim for Domestic priority to applications with filing dates of 06/01/2020 and 05/28/2021.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,037,130. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same structure of a first and second interface connected with an antenna that collects data at varying times regarding the environment and performance of an aircraft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claims 1, 9 & 17 contain the feature defined as “piece of equipment” without defining the feature in the claims or drawings. The specification has numerous structural components without stating with particularity the scope of the feature. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know what the features scope constitutes. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 & 18-20 are rejected because they depend from independent claims 1, 9 & 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ziarno US 2015/0363981.
As per claim 1, An apparatus comprising:
a housing; (Ziarno paragraph 0047 discloses, “the PC card 30 of the present invention includes a PC card-16 I/F interface circuit 34. A Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) 36 circuit acts as logic circuitry to interface a CF socket 38, the ATA 512 megabyte compact flash memory 40, and the interface circuit 34. The PC card 30 of the present invention includes a central processing unit or processor 42, which interfaces through a development header circuit 44 with the field programmable gate array 36 and through another development header circuit 46 to the wireless local area network radio transceiver 32 via a radio socket circuit 48.”)
a first interface configured to be coupled to and receive data from a piece of equipment; (Ziarno paragraph 0054 discloses, “Aircraft data could also be transmitted to a Central Maintenance Display Unit (CMDU) 90 that indicates in real-time the health and status of aircraft systems. The CMDU 90 could be located in the cockpit 92 to allow the pilot to view real-time health and status data.”)
at least one processor disposed in the housing; (Ziarno paragraph 0010 discloses, “An aircraft data communications system for an aircraft comprises an engine monitoring module configured to be mounted at an aircraft engine of the aircraft and comprising a wireless engine monitoring transceiver, a first memory, and a first processor coupled to the first memory and wireless engine monitoring transceiver. The processor is configured to collect and store in the first memory engine data relating to at least one engine parameter sensed during operation of the aircraft engine and transmit the engine data over a wireless communications signal. A Data Acquisition Unit (DAU) records aircraft data and a PC card is interfaced to the DAU and comprises a second memory that stores aircraft data from the DAU and engine data received from the engine monitoring module. A second processor is coupled to the second memory and configured to retrieve aircraft data and engine data. A first wireless transceiver is controlled by the second processor and receives engine data transmitted from the engine monitoring module for storage within the second memory and wirelessly transmit the aircraft data and engine data along a wireless communications signal. A wireless local area network (LAN) communications unit is configured as an access point and positioned within the aircraft and transmits and receives wireless communications signals to and from the PC card. A second wireless transceiver is mounted within the aircraft and receives the wireless communications signal containing aircraft data from the wireless LAN communications unit for transmitting the aircraft data from the aircraft.”)
at least one memory device disposed in the housing and configured to store at least a portion of the data; (Ziarno paragraph 0010 discloses, “An aircraft data communications system for an aircraft comprises an engine monitoring module configured to be mounted at an aircraft engine of the aircraft and comprising a wireless engine monitoring transceiver, a first memory, and a first processor coupled to the first memory and wireless engine monitoring transceiver. The processor is configured to collect and store in the first memory engine data relating to at least one engine parameter sensed during operation of the aircraft engine and transmit the engine data over a wireless communications signal. A Data Acquisition Unit (DAU) records aircraft data and a PC card is interfaced to the DAU and comprises a second memory that stores aircraft data from the DAU and engine data received from the engine monitoring module. A second processor is coupled to the second memory and configured to retrieve aircraft data and engine data. A first wireless transceiver is controlled by the second processor and receives engine data transmitted from the engine monitoring module for storage within the second memory and wirelessly transmit the aircraft data and engine data along a wireless communications signal. A wireless local area network (LAN) communications unit is configured as an access point and positioned within the aircraft and transmits and receives wireless communications signals to and from the PC card. A second wireless transceiver is mounted within the aircraft and receives the wireless communications signal containing aircraft data from the wireless LAN communications unit for transmitting the aircraft data from the aircraft.”)
a second interface disposed in the housing and configured to wirelessly transmit the at least the portion of the data; (Ziarno paragraph 0095 discloses, “the WEMS module 94 includes an EWSN CPU 522 as shown in FIG. 12 that could be remotely configurable by a processor in the WEMS module 94, on the crew or a processor at the flight deck, or by the Engine Service Provider operations center 562. The ESP operations center 562 can also transmit instructions to the EWSN 600 via the WEMS module to vary sampling rates on specific wireless engine sensors. The sampling rates are programmable for each of the different wireless engine sensors to permit programmable sensor monitoring, provide detection and diagnosis of faults and allow intelligent maintenance for “real-time” monitoring of critical engine parameters using “customized sampling.””)
and
an antenna coupled to an exterior of the housing and communicatively coupled to the second interface. (Ziarno paragraph 0107 discloses, “The antenna was mounted on a nonconductive pole approximately 2 meters long. This height placed it at the outer bulge of the aircraft skin and above the level of local sources of multi-path and other unintentional re-radiators.”)
As per claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the antenna is removably coupled to the exterior of the housing. (Ziarno paragraph 0042 discloses, “The present invention uses a removable PC card, such as a PCMCIA card, with a flash storage memory circuit, control logic circuitry, a processor, wide local area network (WLAN) radio drivers, and a complete 802.11 WLAN transceiver that transmits the aircraft data and receives data for on-board processing.” And paragraph 0039 discloses, “An optional portion of the DAU typically includes a separate CPU and an optional/auxiliary output, for example, formed as a PCMCIA slot. The prior art multiple-LARU approach using an external fuselage antenna and a ground data link unit, or similar devices, typically required expensive equipment acquisition and aircraft modifications.”)
As per claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one sensor disposed in the housing. (Ziarno paragraph 0039 discloses, “The Digital Access Unit system typically includes a separate central processing unit (CPU) for a mandatory portion or segment that connects by a ARINC 717 link to the Digital Flight Data Recorder (DFDR). The DAU receives sensor information from the aircraft engines, flaps, electronics and numerous other aircraft systems, sometimes as many as 2,000 different systems in large commercial aircraft.”)
As per claim 4, The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of an inertial sensor or a barometric pressure sensor. (Ziarno paragraph 0039 discloses, “The Digital Access Unit system typically includes a separate central processing unit (CPU) for a mandatory portion or segment that connects by a ARINC 717 link to the Digital Flight Data Recorder (DFDR). The DAU receives sensor information from the aircraft engines, flaps, electronics and numerous other aircraft systems, sometimes as many as 2,000 different systems in large commercial aircraft.”)
As per claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: an antenna port positioned along an exterior of the housing; and the antenna coupled to the antenna port. (Ziarno paragraph 0042 discloses, “The present invention uses a removable PC card, such as a PCMCIA card, with a flash storage memory circuit, control logic circuitry, a processor, wide local area network (WLAN) radio drivers, and a complete 802.11 WLAN transceiver that transmits the aircraft data and receives data for on-board processing.”)
As per claim 6, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first interface comprises a pin connector. (Ziarno paragraph 0043 discloses, “FIG. 1 illustrates a conventional Digital Acquisition Unit (DAU) 20 and a PC card designed as a PCMCIA flash memory card 22 connected into the optional PCMCIA connector 24 of the DAU, which interfaces an auxiliary ARINC 429 link.”)
As per claim 7, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a first portion of the first interface is disposed outside of the housing and a second portion of the first interface is disposed within the housing. (Ziarno paragraph 0107 discloses, “The antenna was mounted on a nonconductive pole approximately 2 meters long. This height placed it at the outer bulge of the aircraft skin and above the level of local sources of multi-path and other unintentional re-radiators.”)
As per claim 8, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the housing is configured to be disposed within a vehicle. (Ziarno paragraph 0107 discloses, “The antenna was mounted on a nonconductive pole approximately 2 meters long. This height placed it at the outer bulge of the aircraft skin and above the level of local sources of multi-path and other unintentional re-radiators.”)
As per claim 9, An apparatus comprising:
a housing; (Ziarno paragraph 0047 discloses, “the PC card 30 of the present invention includes a PC card-16 I/F interface circuit 34. A Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) 36 circuit acts as logic circuitry to interface a CF socket 38, the ATA 512 megabyte compact flash memory 40, and the interface circuit 34. The PC card 30 of the present invention includes a central processing unit or processor 42, which interfaces through a development header circuit 44 with the field programmable gate array 36 and through another development header circuit 46 to the wireless local area network radio transceiver 32 via a radio socket circuit 48.”)
a first interface configured to be coupled to and receive data from a piece of equipment; (Ziarno paragraph 0054 discloses, “Aircraft data could also be transmitted to a Central Maintenance Display Unit (CMDU) 90 that indicates in real-time the health and status of aircraft systems. The CMDU 90 could be located in the cockpit 92 to allow the pilot to view real-time health and status data.”)
at least one processor disposed in the housing; (Ziarno paragraph 0010 discloses, “An aircraft data communications system for an aircraft comprises an engine monitoring module configured to be mounted at an aircraft engine of the aircraft and comprising a wireless engine monitoring transceiver, a first memory, and a first processor coupled to the first memory and wireless engine monitoring transceiver. The processor is configured to collect and store in the first memory engine data relating to at least one engine parameter sensed during operation of the aircraft engine and transmit the engine data over a wireless communications signal. A Data Acquisition Unit (DAU) records aircraft data and a PC card is interfaced to the DAU and comprises a second memory that stores aircraft data from the DAU and engine data received from the engine monitoring module. A second processor is coupled to the second memory and configured to retrieve aircraft data and engine data. A first wireless transceiver is controlled by the second processor and receives engine data transmitted from the engine monitoring module for storage within the second memory and wirelessly transmit the aircraft data and engine data along a wireless communications signal. A wireless local area network (LAN) communications unit is configured as an access point and positioned within the aircraft and transmits and receives wireless communications signals to and from the PC card. A second wireless transceiver is mounted within the aircraft and receives the wireless communications signal containing aircraft data from the wireless LAN communications unit for transmitting the aircraft data from the aircraft.”)
at least one memory device disposed in the housing and configured to store at least a portion of the data; (Ziarno paragraph 0010 discloses, “An aircraft data communications system for an aircraft comprises an engine monitoring module configured to be mounted at an aircraft engine of the aircraft and comprising a wireless engine monitoring transceiver, a first memory, and a first processor coupled to the first memory and wireless engine monitoring transceiver. The processor is configured to collect and store in the first memory engine data relating to at least one engine parameter sensed during operation of the aircraft engine and transmit the engine data over a wireless communications signal. A Data Acquisition Unit (DAU) records aircraft data and a PC card is interfaced to the DAU and comprises a second memory that stores aircraft data from the DAU and engine data received from the engine monitoring module. A second processor is coupled to the second memory and configured to retrieve aircraft data and engine data. A first wireless transceiver is controlled by the second processor and receives engine data transmitted from the engine monitoring module for storage within the second memory and wirelessly transmit the aircraft data and engine data along a wireless communications signal. A wireless local area network (LAN) communications unit is configured as an access point and positioned within the aircraft and transmits and receives wireless communications signals to and from the PC card. A second wireless transceiver is mounted within the aircraft and receives the wireless communications signal containing aircraft data from the wireless LAN communications unit for transmitting the aircraft data from the aircraft.”)
a second interface disposed in the housing and configured to wirelessly transmit the at least the portion of the data; and at least one sensor disposed in the housing. (Ziarno paragraph 0095 discloses, “the WEMS module 94 includes an EWSN CPU 522 as shown in FIG. 12 that could be remotely configurable by a processor in the WEMS module 94, on the crew or a processor at the flight deck, or by the Engine Service Provider operations center 562. The ESP operations center 562 can also transmit instructions to the EWSN 600 via the WEMS module to vary sampling rates on specific wireless engine sensors. The sampling rates are programmable for each of the different wireless engine sensors to permit programmable sensor monitoring, provide detection and diagnosis of faults and allow intelligent maintenance for “real-time” monitoring of critical engine parameters using “customized sampling.””)
As per claim 10, The apparatus of claim 9, further comprising an antenna communicably coupled to the second interface and disposed outside of the housing. (Ziarno paragraph 0042 discloses, “The present invention uses a removable PC card, such as a PCMCIA card, with a flash storage memory circuit, control logic circuitry, a processor, wide local area network (WLAN) radio drivers, and a complete 802.11 WLAN transceiver that transmits the aircraft data and receives data for on-board processing.” And paragraph 0039 discloses, “An optional portion of the DAU typically includes a separate CPU and an optional/auxiliary output, for example, formed as a PCMCIA slot. The prior art multiple-LARU approach using an external fuselage antenna and a ground data link unit, or similar devices, typically required expensive equipment acquisition and aircraft modifications.”)
As per claim 11, The apparatus of claim 10, further comprising: an antenna port positioned along an exterior of the housing; (Ziarno paragraph 0107 discloses, “The antenna was mounted on a nonconductive pole approximately 2 meters long. This height placed it at the outer bulge of the aircraft skin and above the level of local sources of multi-path and other unintentional re-radiators.”) and
the antenna coupled to the antenna port. (Ziarno paragraph 0107 discloses, “The antenna was mounted on a nonconductive pole approximately 2 meters long. This height placed it at the outer bulge of the aircraft skin and above the level of local sources of multi-path and other unintentional re-radiators.”)
As per claim 12, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of an inertial sensor or a barometric pressure sensor. (Ziarno paragraph 0039 discloses, “The Digital Access Unit system typically includes a separate central processing unit (CPU) for a mandatory portion or segment that connects by a ARINC 717 link to the Digital Flight Data Recorder (DFDR). The DAU receives sensor information from the aircraft engines, flaps, electronics and numerous other aircraft systems, sometimes as many as 2,000 different systems in large commercial aircraft.”)
As per claim 13, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the second interface comprises a wireless transceiver. (Ziarno paragraph 0042 discloses, “The present invention uses a removable PC card, such as a PCMCIA card, with a flash storage memory circuit, control logic circuitry, a processor, wide local area network (WLAN) radio drivers, and a complete 802.11 WLAN transceiver that transmits the aircraft data and receives data for on-board processing.”)
As per claim 14, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first interface comprises a pin connector. (Ziarno paragraph 0043 discloses, “FIG. 1 illustrates a conventional Digital Acquisition Unit (DAU) 20 and a PC card designed as a PCMCIA flash memory card 22 connected into the optional PCMCIA connector 24 of the DAU, which interfaces an auxiliary ARINC 429 link.”)
As per claim 15, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein a first portion of the first interface is disposed outside of the housing and a second portion of the first interface is disposed within the housing. (Ziarno paragraph 0054 discloses, “Aircraft data could also be transmitted to a Central Maintenance Display Unit (CMDU) 90 that indicates in real-time the health and status of aircraft systems. The CMDU 90 could be located in the cockpit 92 to allow the pilot to view real-time health and status data.”) and (Ziarno paragraph 0095 discloses, “the WEMS module 94 includes an EWSN CPU 522 as shown in FIG. 12 that could be remotely configurable by a processor in the WEMS module 94, on the crew or a processor at the flight deck, or by the Engine Service Provider operations center 562. The ESP operations center 562 can also transmit instructions to the EWSN 600 via the WEMS module to vary sampling rates on specific wireless engine sensors.”)
As per claim 16, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one sensor is communicatively coupled to at least one of the second interface or the at least one sensor. (Ziarno paragraph 0095 discloses, “the WEMS module 94 includes an EWSN CPU 522 as shown in FIG. 12 that could be remotely configurable by a processor in the WEMS module 94, on the crew or a processor at the flight deck, or by the Engine Service Provider operations center 562. The ESP operations center 562 can also transmit instructions to the EWSN 600 via the WEMS module to vary sampling rates on specific wireless engine sensors.”)
As per claim 17, An apparatus comprising:
an aircraft; (Ziarno paragraph 0052 discloses, “FIG. 4 shows an aircraft 60 with the wireless PC card 30 of the present invention incorporated with the DAU 20.”)
a housing disposed within the aircraft; (Ziarno paragraph 0047 discloses, “the PC card 30 of the present invention includes a PC card-16 I/F interface circuit 34. A Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) 36 circuit acts as logic circuitry to interface a CF socket 38, the ATA 512 megabyte compact flash memory 40, and the interface circuit 34. The PC card 30 of the present invention includes a central processing unit or processor 42, which interfaces through a development header circuit 44 with the field programmable gate array 36 and through another development header circuit 46 to the wireless local area network radio transceiver 32 via a radio socket circuit 48.”)
a first interface configured to be communicatively coupled to and receive data from a piece of equipment; (Ziarno paragraph 0054 discloses, “Aircraft data could also be transmitted to a Central Maintenance Display Unit (CMDU) 90 that indicates in real-time the health and status of aircraft systems. The CMDU 90 could be located in the cockpit 92 to allow the pilot to view real-time health and status data.”)
at least one processor disposed in the housing; (Ziarno paragraph 0010 discloses, “An aircraft data communications system for an aircraft comprises an engine monitoring module configured to be mounted at an aircraft engine of the aircraft and comprising a wireless engine monitoring transceiver, a first memory, and a first processor coupled to the first memory and wireless engine monitoring transceiver. The processor is configured to collect and store in the first memory engine data relating to at least one engine parameter sensed during operation of the aircraft engine and transmit the engine data over a wireless communications signal. A Data Acquisition Unit (DAU) records aircraft data and a PC card is interfaced to the DAU and comprises a second memory that stores aircraft data from the DAU and engine data received from the engine monitoring module. A second processor is coupled to the second memory and configured to retrieve aircraft data and engine data. A first wireless transceiver is controlled by the second processor and receives engine data transmitted from the engine monitoring module for storage within the second memory and wirelessly transmit the aircraft data and engine data along a wireless communications signal. A wireless local area network (LAN) communications unit is configured as an access point and positioned within the aircraft and transmits and receives wireless communications signals to and from the PC card. A second wireless transceiver is mounted within the aircraft and receives the wireless communications signal containing aircraft data from the wireless LAN communications unit for transmitting the aircraft data from the aircraft.”) and
a second interface disposed in the housing and configured to change, based on an operational status of the aircraft, a transmitting operation of the received data by the second interface. (Ziarno paragraph 0095 discloses, “the WEMS module 94 includes an EWSN CPU 522 as shown in FIG. 12 that could be remotely configurable by a processor in the WEMS module 94, on the crew or a processor at the flight deck, or by the Engine Service Provider operations center 562. The ESP operations center 562 can also transmit instructions to the EWSN 600 via the WEMS module to vary sampling rates on specific wireless engine sensors. The sampling rates are programmable for each of the different wireless engine sensors to permit programmable sensor monitoring, provide detection and diagnosis of faults and allow intelligent maintenance for “real-time” monitoring of critical engine parameters using “customized sampling.””)
As per claim 18, The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising an antenna coupled to an exterior of the housing and communicatively coupled to the second interface. (Ziarno paragraph 0062 discloses, “The radio frequency transceiver capability is built into the WEMS module 94 and is operative for recording, compressing and encrypting full flight data files. It typically will use a conformal antenna 130 that is formed in one example as a small patch antenna the size of a postage stamp, for example, mounted on a casing 131 that forms a protective housing for the WEMS module 94.”)
As per claim 19, The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising at least one sensor disposed in the housing. (Ziarno paragraph 0039 discloses, “The Digital Access Unit system typically includes a separate central processing unit (CPU) for a mandatory portion or segment that connects by a ARINC 717 link to the Digital Flight Data Recorder (DFDR). The DAU receives sensor information from the aircraft engines, flaps, electronics and numerous other aircraft systems, sometimes as many as 2,000 different systems in large commercial aircraft.”)
As per claim 20, The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of an inertial sensor or a barometric pressure sensor. (Ziarno paragraph 0039 discloses, “The Digital Access Unit system typically includes a separate central processing unit (CPU) for a mandatory portion or segment that connects by a ARINC 717 link to the Digital Flight Data Recorder (DFDR). The DAU receives sensor information from the aircraft engines, flaps, electronics and numerous other aircraft systems, sometimes as many as 2,000 different systems in large commercial aircraft.”)
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664