DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This is a Final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 4/20/2026.
Claims 1, 11, 15, 17-19 are amended. Claims 20-21 are cancelled. Claims 22-24 are newly added. Claims 1-19, 22-24 are pending and considered.
The objection to Specification has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment to the Specification submitted 4/20/2026.
The objections to claims 1, 11, 15, 17-19 due to informalities has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment to the claims. See updated Claim Objections below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, see pages 9-10 of the Remarks filed 4/20/2026 with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102 over prior arts of record has been fully considered and are persuasive in view of applicant’s amendment to the claims 1, 18-19 respectively. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC 102 has been withdrawn.
However, upon review and updated search, examiner asserts combination of Nabeel, Lem and Crabtree teaches all limitations recited in the amended independent claims. See the updated Claim Rejections under 35 USC 103 below.
Applicant is encouraged to include innovative features into the independent claims to advance the case.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15, 18-19, 23-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 9, “identify a set of network neighborhoods” may read “identify the set of network neighborhoods”.
Claim 1 line 12, “… for the network neighborhood” may read “… for the each of the set of network neighborhoods”.
Similarly, claim 18 line 9; claim 19 line 10.
Claim 15 lines 3-5 recites limitations “performing a clustering with respect to the expanded one or more network graphs to identify a set of network neighborhoods; determining a toxicity level for each of the set of network neighborhoods”, which have been recited in claim parent claim 1, therefore being redundant.
Claim 23 line 3, “the expansion” is suggested to read “the expanding one or more network graphs”. Similarly, claim 24 line 2.
Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 line 6 recites “the weighted domain graph”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel et al (US20240333749A1, hereinafter, "Nabeel"), in view of Lem et al (US20190132344A1, hereinafter, “Lem”), and further in view of Crabtree et al (US20230362141A1, hereinafter, “Crabtree”).
Regarding claim 1, similarly claim 18, claim 19, Nabeel teaches:
A system/a method/a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to provide the one or more processors with instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (Nabeel, discloses system and method of proactively detecting malicious domain using graph representation learning, see [Abstract]. And Fig. 9 Processor 910 and Memory, and [0090] non-transitory computer readable medium), to:
determine a set of seed malicious domains (e.g., [0023] On a batch-mode basis, security system 160 first compiles a seed malicious domain list first seen on a given day and identifies other recent domains hosted on the same infrastructure where the seed malicious domains are hosted. Further refer to Fig. 4, and [0040] FIG. 4 is a flowchart of a method 400 for generating likely malicious seed domains for a batch period);
expand one or more network graphs for the set of seed malicious domains to obtain a set of network neighborhoods ([0029] Thus, after the PDNS crawl is executed, the security system 160 expands a graph in the neighborhood of seed malicious domains to likely discover additional, malicious domains that were not identified in step one);
determine a set of domains expected to be malicious from a set of toxic network neighborhoods, wherein the set of toxic network neighborhoods are determined based at least in part on the set of network neighborhoods, and a particular toxic network neighborhood shares a plurality of hosting environments (e.g., [0033] Following this observation, at block 230, the security system 160 executes a PDNS crawl of recently hosted domains and expands the graph in the neighborhood of seed malicious domains to discover other likely malicious domains. While the toxicity of the neighborhood is relatively high compared to random neighborhoods, there are still many benign domains in these neighborhoods, mainly due to shared hosting on public infrastructures);
and perform an action based at least in part on the set of domains expected to be malicious (e.g., [0037] At block 280, once the GNN is trained, then the security system 160 is able to perform domain classification into benign or malicious domains to threat detection, mitigation, and quarantining. The classified domains may be provided individually to a user in response to a query related to a particular domain or as a block list to a user to aid the user in avoiding accessing (or blocking access to or communication from) domains identified as being malicious);
Nabeel does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Lem teaches:
perform clustering with respect to the expanded one or more network graphs to identify a set of network neighborhoods (Lem, discloses system and method for using graph analysis for detecting malicious activity in time evolving networks, see [Abstract]. And [0012] … wherein said analyst feedback comprises confirming, rejecting, and/or modifying the malicious predictions of said output. In further aspects, the analyst feedback step further comprises generation of malicious scores for entities with neighboring relationships to the labeled/predicted entities, a graph clustering step, comprising clustering the output generated according to the malicious inference method, wherein clustering comprises grouping entities presented in the output according to a logic which facilitates analyst investigation);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Lem in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel by performing graph clustering. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to detect malicious entities and malicious behavior in a time evolving network via a graph framework by modeling activity in a network graph representing associations between entities (Lem, [Abstract]).
The combination of Nabeel-Lem does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Crabtree teaches:
determine a toxicity level for each of the set of network neighborhoods based at least in part on a number of seed malicious domains in relation to a total number of domains within a graph for the network neighborhood (Crabtree, discloses system and method for network authentication toxicity assessment, see [Title]/[Abstract]. And [0054] ... determine the total amount of authentication objects gathered; determine what portion of the authentication objects are bad authentication objects; output a network toxicity report comprising the number of bad authentication objects as a proportion of the total amount of authentication objects gathered; and where the proportion meets or exceeds a threshold, issue a warning to a network administrator that the network’s toxicity has exceeded the threshold. And [0155] Accordingly, a useful metric in such analysis is network “toxicity,” defined as the proportion of “good” authentications in the network versus “bad” or less secure authentications);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Crabtree in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem by determining toxicity in network authentication. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine what level of network “toxicity” is operationally acceptable to ensure that a network (or a process within a network) is generally safe to enable zero trust network security (Crabtree, [Abstract], [0159]).
Regarding claim 3, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein performing the action comprises performing a maliciousness classification for the set of domains expected be malicious (e.g., [0037] At block 280, once the GNN is trained, then the security system 160 is able to perform domain classification into benign or malicious domains to threat detection, mitigation, and quarantining. The classified domains may be provided individually to a user in response to a query related to a particular domain or as a block list to a user to aid the user in avoiding accessing (or blocking access to or communication from) domains identified as being malicious).
Regarding claim 4, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein performing the action comprises performing a crawling of the set of domains based at least in part on using a guided domain crawler (e.g., [0033] Following this observation, at block 230, the security system 160 executes a PDNS crawl of recently hosted domains and expands the graph in the neighborhood of seed malicious domains to discover other likely malicious domains).
Regarding claim 6, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein the plurality of hosting environments comprise two or more of (a) [a hosting IP address], (b) a TLS certificate, (c) an implemented phishing kit, (d) a registration record, (e) a CNAME record, (f) one or more hyperlinks comprised in a website, (g) malware files hosted at a domain, (h) a redirection chain, (i) a set of keywords, (j) a tracking identifier, and (k) a logo hosted comprised in the website (e.g., [0018] As illustrated, a malicious domain registration 110 occurs at a first time, and is made available via hosting infrastructure 120 at a second time, is issued a TLS certificate 130 at a third time, provided with host content 140 (i.e., malware files hosted at a domain) at a fourth time. And [0046] At block 425, the security system 160 identifies URLs with phishing keywords, such as popular brand impersonating keywords that are more likely to be malicious).
Regarding claim 7, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein determining the set of toxic network neighborhoods comprises identifying a set of network neighborhoods based at least in part on a set of associations among domains within the set of network neighborhoods (e.g., [0064] the security system 160 takes the five nearest neighbors from the node's neighborhood, and takes the average of the neighbor's features as the node's features. The intuition is that nodes closer to one another tend to have similar characteristics. The more IPs that the two domains are co-hosted at, the more likely there exist strong associations between those domains. The same intuition is also applied to discover the strong association between two IPs if those IPs host many common domains).
Regarding claim 8, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: obtain a stream of malicious domains from one or more domain classification sources; and determine a set of recently observed malicious domains within the stream of malicious domains (Refer to Fig. 5, and [0048] FIG. 5 is a flowchart of a method 500 for malicious ground truth generation, according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In addition to the output of the seed selection pipeline (e.g., per method 400 discussed in relation to FIG. 4), the security system 160 at block also actively queries a sample set of newly observed domains (e.g., a randomly or otherwise selected subset thereof) to enrich and diversify the batch-period list of malicious domains. In both cases, the security system 160 may use one of the most conservative thresholds of X positive consensus scanners to construct the malicious ground truth).
Regarding claim 10, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 8,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: obtain a stream of malicious IP addresses from one or more IP classification sources; and determine a set of recently observed malicious IP addresses within the stream of malicious IP addresses (e.g., Fig. 2. [0030] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of an example method 200 for the overall pipeline of detecting malicious domains for a given batch period (e.g., day), according to embodiments of the present disclosure. [0031] At block 210, the security system 160 receives a URL feed for the blocklisted URLs for the batch period. [0032] At block 220, the security system 160 extracts a set of seed domains in the batch period malicious seed domains using the daily blocklisted URLs. And [0029] The security system 160 then executes a PDNS crawl, using the second set of daily malicious domains. The PDNS crawl is executed to further identify domains with the same IP address as the malicious domains of the second set).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree as applied above to claim 1, further in view of Khalil et al (US20180343272A1, hereinafter, “Khalil”).
Regarding claim 2, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Khalil teaches:
wherein a domain is deemed to be a seed domain in response to determining that a likelihood that the domain is malicious exceeds a predefined maliciousness threshold (Khalil, discloses system and method to identify malicious web domain names, see [Abstract]. And [0129] The above experiment results suggest that to have a good tradeoff between true positives and false positives some embodiments could either have small set of seeds with low malicious thresholds or have a large set of seeds (relative to all malicious domains) while setting the threshold relatively high (between 0.7 to 0.85). In practice, however, it is not possible to know for sure whether the known malicious domains collected is large enough. Thus, the general practice of some embodiments would be to obtain as many known malicious domains as possible to form the seeds, and then set a high threshold value (e.g., 0.85) to avoid high false positives).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Khalil in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree by determining seed malicious domain based on setting of relative threshold. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to avoid false positive for detecting malicious domains (Khalil, [Abstract]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination as applied above to claim 1, further in view of Voros et al (US20220353284A1, hereinafter, “Voros”).
Regarding claim 5, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Voros teaches:
wherein performing the action comprises prioritizing a classifying of the set of domains expected to be malicious over domains comprised in a non-toxic network neighborhood (Voros, discloses methods and apparatus to classify malicious infrastructure using machine learning, [Abstract]. And [0093] The classification of an infrastructure such as an IP address may be used in combination with other events or other factors to determine the likelihood of maliciousness of an application that is in communication with a given infrastructure. For example, an application with an unknown reputation that is determined to be in communication with an IP address with a likelihood of maliciousness may be determined to be a potential threat for further investigation or remediation. The application may be classified as high-risk or malicious. Additional restrictions or changes to rule thresholds may be instituted for a given network flow, application, compute instance, endpoint, or other artifact that relates to communication with a given IP address based on a classification. Other events associated with the network flow, application, compute instance, or other artifact that relates to the communication may be prioritized for investigation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Voros in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree by classifying infrastructure such as an IP address in combination with other events or other factors to determine the likelihood of maliciousness of an application with priority for investigation. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to detect a reputation of infrastructure associated with potentially malicious content (Voros, [Abstract]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination as applied above to claim 8, further in view of Jursa et al (US20230283632A1, hereinafter, “Jursa”).
Regarding claim 9, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 8,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Jursa teaches:
wherein a recently observed malicious domain corresponds to a domain for which network traffic was intercepted within a most recent predefined number of days (Jursa, discloses methods and system for detecting malicious URL redirection chains, [Abstract]. And [0022] Security module 114 uses browser plugin 116 and redirect processing module 118 to evaluate the redirects, using recent data (e.g. over a recent period of hours or days) including observed malicious landing domain data and/or redirect data for redirects associated with malicious landing domains. Examiner notes, in this case, redirect is interpreted as intercepted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Jursa in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree by blocking the redirection domain if the rate of occurrence of the subject redirection domain exceeds a rate of occurrence threshold. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to detect and avoid malicious URL redirection chains (Jursa, [Abstract], [0001]).
Claims 11, 13-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination as applied above to claim 10, further in view of Chen et al (US20230188541A1, hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 11, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 10,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Chen teaches:
wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to: query one or more machine learning models for a predicted maliciousness classification based at least in part on one or more of the set of recently observed malicious domains and the set of recently observed IP addresses (Chen, discloses system and method for determining whether a registered domain is malicious, [Abstract]. And [0036] For example, prediction engine 174 applies a machine learning model to determine whether the newly registered domain is malicious. Applying the machine learning model to determine whether the newly registered domain is malicious may include prediction engine 174 querying machine learning model 176 (e.g., with the registration information for the domain));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Chen in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree by querying machine learning model for newly registered domain. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to predict whether a domain is malicious (Chen, [Abstract]).
Nabeel further teaches: and the set of seed malicious domains is determined based at least in part on identifying domains having an associated predicted maliciousness classification that satisfies a maliciousness criteria ([0071] The goal of the security system 160 as a real-time classifier is to assess the maliciousness of any domain in the world. Thus, the aim of the real-time classifier includes further functionality beyond blocklist generation (i.e., maliciousness criteria). In blocklist generation, the seed nodes are known to be highly likely to be malicious, and within the computation graph of each node there exists at least one malicious node. And [0073] The security system 160 generates a batch-period (e.g., daily) blocklist based on the newly observed seed malicious domains gathered from a consensus feed every batch period and other data sources 820 via the graph classifier 810).
Regarding claim 13, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen combination teaches the system of claim 11,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein the set of seed domains are used for a guided crawling of domains to identify a set of domains observed within an immediately preceding N days, where N is a predefined positive integer ([0051] At block 530, the security system 160 checks the WHOIS or other registration data for the domain. If the domain is new (e.g., registered or tracked for less than R or D days), or registration data are unavailable, the security system 160 labels the domain as malicious as part of the batch-period seed domains 550).
Regarding claim 14, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen combination teaches the system of claim 11,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein the set of network neighborhoods is determined based at least in part on the set of seed domains ([0029] Thus, after the PDNS crawl is executed, the security system 160 expands a graph in the neighborhood of seed malicious domains to likely discover additional, malicious domains that were not identified in step one. And [0033] the security system 160 executes a PDNS crawl of recently hosted domains and expands the graph in the neighborhood of seed malicious domains to discover other likely malicious domains).
Regarding claim 15, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen combination teaches the system of claim 14,
Lem further teaches: wherein determining the set of domains expected to be malicious from the set of toxic network neighborhoods comprises: performing a clustering with respect to the expanded one or more network graphs to identify a set of network neighborhoods ([0012] … wherein said analyst feedback comprises confirming, rejecting, and/or modifying the malicious predictions of said output. In further aspects, the analyst feedback step further comprises generation of malicious scores for entities with neighboring relationships to the labeled/ predicted entities, a graph clustering step, comprising clustering the output generated according to the malicious inference method, wherein clustering comprises grouping entities presented in the output according to a logic which facilitates analyst investigation); Same motivation as presented in claim 1 would apply.
Crabtree further teaches: determining a toxicity level for each of the set of network neighborhoods; and determining the set of toxic network neighborhoods based at least in part on determining a subset of the set of network neighborhoods having a corresponding toxicity level above a predefined toxicity threshold ([0054] ... determine the total amount of authentication objects gathered; determine what portion of the authentication objects are bad authentication objects; output a network toxicity report comprising the number of bad authentication objects as a proportion of the total amount of authentication objects gathered; and where the proportion meets or exceeds a threshold, issue a warning to a network administrator that the network’s toxicity has exceeded the threshold. And [0155] Accordingly, a useful metric in such analysis is network “toxicity,” defined as the proportion of “good” authentications in the network versus “bad” or less secure authentications). Same motivation as presented in claim 1 would apply.
Regarding claim 17, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen combination teaches the system of claim 15,
Nabeel further teaches: wherein the toxicity of a network neighborhood is determined based at least in part on a number of seed malicious domains in relation to a total number of domains within a graph for the network neighborhood ([0020] The security system 160 differentiates malicious domains from benign domains with much less available information than content-based approaches. A key observation is that while the toxicity, (e.g., the ratio of malicious domains to all domains)).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen as applied above to claim 11, further in view of Ron et al (US20230114721A1, hereinafter, “Ron”).
Regarding claim 12, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen combination teaches the system of claim 11,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Ron teaches:
wherein the maliciousness criteria is one of: (a) a domain is within a top N most malicious domains where N is a predefined positive integer, and (b) a domain has an associated predicted maliciousness classification that exceeds a predefined maliciousness threshold (Ron, discloses method for classifying domains to malware families, [Abstract]. And [0005] … identifying one or more suspicious domains, extracting a timeframe corresponding to the one or more suspicious domains, calculating a rank coefficient between the one or more suspicious domains and a current seed domain of the corpus of malicious domains, determining whether the rank correlation coefficient exceeds a rank threshold for the one or more suspicious domains, comparing a number of suspicious domains whose correlation coefficients exceed the rank threshold to a relation threshold, and responsive to determining the number of suspicious domains whose correlation coefficients exceed the rank threshold exceeds the relation threshold, applying a tag to the suspicious domains indicating that the one or more suspicious domains correspond to a same malware family as the current seed domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Ron in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen by calculating a rank coefficient between suspicious domains and a current seed domain of corpus of malicious domains. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine the suspicious domains correspond to a same malware family as the current seed domain (Ron, [Abstract]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen as applied above to claim 15, further in view of Weber et al (US20190238576A1, hereinafter, “Weber”).
Regarding claim 16, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen combination teaches the system of claim 15,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Weber teaches:
wherein determining the set of domains expected to be malicious from the set of toxic network neighborhoods comprises: identifying domains within a set of clusters associated with the set of toxic network neighborhoods (Weber, discloses techniques for clustering algorithm to identify additional malicious domains based on known malicious domains, see [Abstract]. And [0026] Once identified, domain identifier system 101 may send identified malicious domains 122 to domain filter 102. Domain filter 102 may then operate on network traffic on data path 131 to compare domains in the network traffic to those in identified malicious domains 122. If there is a match, domain filter 102 may block the network traffic including the matched domain, may notify the sender of that network traffic of the malicious domain, or may perform some other function. Domain identifier system 101 may also or instead provide identified malicious domains 122 to a user and may indicate the groupings of identified malicious domains 122 or may perform some other function with respect to identified malicious domains 122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Weber in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree-Chen by clustering algorithm with unsupervised clustering. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to identify additional malicious domains based on known malicious domains (Weber, [Abstract]).
Claims 22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree as applied above to claim 1, further in view of Nabeel et al (US20200382533A1, hereinafter, “Nabeel2”).
Regarding claim 22, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Nabeel2 teaches:
wherein expanding the one or more network graphs for the set of seed malicious domains comprises, for each node in the graph, determining whether to further expand the node along a particular dimension based at least in part on a prediction obtained from querying a lightweight machine learning model or based on one or more predefined rules or heuristics (Nabeel2, discloses system and method for exploiting information and traces contained in DNS data to determine maliciousness of a domain based on the relationship it has with other domains, [Abstract]. e.g., [0071] The graph 400 is expanded beyond the example graph 300 by implementing association rules according to the present disclosure. For example, the association module 132 has determined more domain associations 144 based on a dedicated IP address relationship. For example, the association module 132 deems two domains associated if they share at least on dedicated IP address. This association method is referred to as G-IP within this disclosure. In example graph 200, domains D4 216, D5 220, and D6 224 share the dedicated IP6 222. This association method combined with the association rules used to build graph 300, combine to produce the example graph 400, containing four of the eight domains found in the example IP address and domain graph 200, providing an expanded graph for maliciousness analysis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Nabeel2 in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree by tracing DNS data to determine maliciousness of a domain based on the relationship it has with other domains using domain graph. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for assessing the maliciousness of domains via real-time graph inference (Nabeel2, [Abstract], [0004]).
Regarding claim 24, Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree combination teaches the system of claim 1,
The combination of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Nabeel2 teaches:
wherein expanding the one or more network graphs comprises limiting the expansion to only those resources and domains that were hosted or observed within a most recent predefined time period (Nabeel2, discloses system and method for exploiting information and traces contained in DNS data to determine maliciousness of a domain based on the relationship it has with other domains via real-time graph inference, [Abstract]. And [0072] The graph 500 is expanded beyond the example graph 400 by implementing further association rules according to the present disclosure. For example, the association module 132 has determined more domain associations 144 based on a dedicated apex domain relationship. For example, the association module 132 deems two domains associated if they are co-hosted domains and belong to the same dedicated apex domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Nabeel2 in the detecting malicious domains using graph representation learning of Nabeel-Lem-Crabtree by tracing DNS data to determine maliciousness of a domain based on the relationship it has with other domains using domain graph. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for assessing the maliciousness of domains via real-time graph inference (Nabeel2, [Abstract], [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim(s), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as resolving of the identified issues of formalities and concerns under 35 USC 112(b) presented in this office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 23 depends on claim 1, further specifies “convert heterogeneous associations identified during the expansion into a weighted homogeneous domain-to-domain graph, wherein a weight of an edge between two domains is proportional to the number of hosting environments shared between the two domains; and perform clustering on the weighted domain graph to identify strongly connected components as the network neighborhoods”.
The prior arts identified, Nabeel, Lem, Crabtree, Khalil, Voros, Jursa, Chen, Ron, Weber, Nabeel2, either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations of claim shown above.
Citation of References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited but not been replied upon for this office action:
Liu et al (US20160021141A1) discloses method for profiling network-level malicious activity for rating network security posture and comparing network maliciousness.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is
reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436