DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120263225 A1 (hereinafter Lee )
US 20210076033 A1 (hereinafter HU)
US 20130343459 A1 (hereinafter Bici)
US 20160316211 A1 (reference status available or unavailable for slices {para 181, Fig.8})
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for following reason.
Re: Prior art rejection of independent claims
Applicant argued in substance that the claim limitations are not by the prior art combination. Specifically, encoding the second slice at a second GPU based on the first predicted value.
Examiner respectfully disagrees . First of all, it should be noted the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim only requires that the encoding process of the second slice is based on (i.e. in anyway dependents on or related to the first predicted value), and that this is performs at a second GPU. There is no selection process of a second GPU nor the selection process depends on predicted value.
Lee teaches multiple processors encode multiple slices, whereas encoding of the second slice is based on the first predicted value (Fig.2),while Lee’s processors are not to explicitly shown as GPU, however use of GPU as processor for video processing is commonplace in the art, as shown in HU. Additionally HU teaches that for slice coding, slice across boundary may or may not be available and using information indicating availability during slice coding is known technique.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive
Re: Prior art rejection of dependent claims
Applicant has presented no additional argument, other than arguments already presented with respect to independent claims. Therefore, the arguments are similarly not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of HU.
Regarding Claim 1: Lee teaches a method, comprising: encoding, at a first [(Fig.2, 1st 2nd and 3rd slice are processed by 1st, 2nd and 3rd processor; the left side of Fig.2 shows processing of slices of first frame and right side shows that of second frame)] : and encoding, at a second GPU, a second slice of a second image based on the first predicated value [(Fig.2 unit 250 to encoder a second slice of a second frame uses 212-1 and 212 from the output of 211 {see the arrow})] .
Lee does not explicitly show that the first predicted value indicates availability of a slice, Lee also does not teach GPU
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, HU teaches that the boundary (as taught by Lee) information indicates availability of a slice [(HU para 187; please note ALF or loop filtering is part of encoding steps {Fig.18} )] , as well as indicates that gpu is commonplace processing unit in the field [(HU para 379)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Lee additionally teaches, with respect to claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein encoding the second slice comprises: encoding the second slice using the first slice based on the first predicated value indicating the first slice is available. [(Fig.2 unit 250 to encoder a second slice of a second frame uses 212-1 and 212 from the output of 211 {see the arrow})] .
Lee teaches, with regards to claim 3. The method of claim 2, wherein encoding the second slice comprises: reconstructing a reference image using the first slice based on the first predicated value indicating the first slice is available. [(para 7-8; “The reconstructed image is input to the reference frame buffer 170 and is used as a reference image of subsequent input source images” para 37)]
Lee teaches, with regards to claim 4. The method of claim 3, wherein encoding the second slice comprises: encoding the second slice based on the reference image. [(para 48)]
Lee teaches, with regards to claim 5. The method of claim 3, wherein encoding the second slice comprises: encoding, at the second GPU a third slice of the first image: [(Fig.2 and para 45-46)] and reconstructing the reference image based on the first slice and the third slice. [(para 7-8)]
Lee teaches, with regards to claim 6. The method of claim 3, wherein encoding the second slice comprises performing motion estimation based on the reference image. [(para 51-53, 37)]
Lee teaches, with regards to claim 8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: encoding, at the second GPU a third slice of the first image and storing a second predicated value that indicates availability of the third slice: [(output of 221 of Fig.2)] and encoding, at the first GPU, a fourth slice of the second image based on the second predicated value. : [(output of 240 of Fig.2)]
Regarding Claims 9-14, 16-18 and 20: See analysis of claims 1-6 & 8 and see para 51, 33 & 37
Claims 7, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of HU in view of Bici.
Regarding Claims 7, 15, 19: Lee in view of HU does not explicitly show encoding the second slice based on a previously stored reference image based on the first predicated value indicating the first slice is not available.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Bici teaches [(Bici “Abstract” and para 324 if the first reference is not available then next available reference is used. Please note all references are stored in reference frame memory {para 197 })]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426