DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing 02/23/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been fully examined.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 5, 10, 15, and 19 contain allowable subject matter but are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fruend et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10747258) in view of Greenblat (U.S. PGPub No. 20030172190).
Regarding Claim 1, Fruend teaches,
A system comprising: a debug circuit disposed within the system with connectivity to a central processing unit (CPU), the debug circuit coupled to a plurality of logic blocks forming one or more datapaths, the system configured to: transmit a freeze signal the plurality of logic blocks within the system when an error or trigger event is detected in a logic block of the plurality of logic blocks (CPU: [Col. 3; line 26]; IC: [Col. 4, line 45]; where test circuit (330) is used to debug and is coupled to the plurality of logic blocks [Fig. 3; Col. 9, lines 25-26]; where the system synchronously freezes DRO cells (logic blocks) in response to a triggering event in one of the logic blocks [Col. 5, line 66- Col 6, line 1])
and allow each logic block of the plurality of logic blocks to determine how to respond to the freeze signal (each logic block may provide independent support functions [Col. 5, lines 38-41]; including responding to the freeze signal in not-real time, pending the logic block's timing ("determine how to respond") [Col. 5, lines 44-47]);
and generate, by a debug freeze controller, a freeze clock signal provided to a main functional logic of the logic block to freeze datapaths across the plurality of logic blocks for debugging (the enable signal for the logic blocks is turned off ("freeze clock signal") [Col. 11, lines 16-18]; where the freeze interrupt may also freeze part or all of the system in addition to the DRO system [Col. 10, lines 9-13])
while permitting status, trace, and memory content to be read when the logic block enters into a clock freeze mode (status and memory are read when the blocks are in a freeze mode [Col. 11, lines 34-35]; the system further maintains trace logic for system debugging [Col. 10, line 12]).
Fruend does not appear to disclose and Greenblat teaches,
wherein the response comprises controlling a packet interface by at least one of asserting backpressure, dropping packets at a packet boundary, or single-stepping a packet bus interface (where, in a system with adjacent members in a ring, a backpressure signal may be generated that is used at an interface [0194]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the debug circuit allowing independent responses by logic blocks to a freeze signal as taught by Fruend to incorporate the feature of independent members generating a backpressure signal. The resulting combination of allowing independent logical blocks/members to generate a backpressure signal allows for the message to be carried in a single clock cycle [Greenblat; 0194], therefore allowing rapid independent response to the system freeze signal and preventing input to the now frozen logical blocks/members.
Regarding Claim 2, Fruend teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein a status freeze signal is generated by the debug freeze controller to stop a trace logic block from tracing incoming data (the system may also generate a freeze signal to maintain existing trace data [Col. 10, lines 9-13]).
Regarding Claim 3, Fruend teaches,
The system of claim 2, wherein a debug status of each of the plurality of logic blocks is collected at a time the error or trigger event was detected (snapshots of the system data for a period of time are provided ("collected"), where the data is collected preceding a triggering event [Col. 6, lines 2-6]).
Regarding Claim 4, Fruend teaches,
The system of claim 2, wherein statistics are collected within a same time sampling window across the system (the statistics are collected across a synchronized time window ("same time window") across the system [Col. 5, lines 14-16])
to perform a debug operation to determine a cause for the error or the trigger event (the collected statistics are used to isolate the trigger event to a location [Col. 9, lines 51-54]; furthermore, debugging may be performed from this information (exiting DRO cell 710) [Col. 9, lines 24-26]).
Regarding Claim 6, Fruend teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the debug circuit further includes interface statistics circuitry configured to provide statistics for a packet interface, an Advanced eXtensible Interface (AXI) interface, or other protocol interface to count at least utilization cycles and backpressure cycles (the system may be configured to facilitate packet processing [Col. 11, line 33- Col. 12, line 14], including applicable interfaces [Col. 12, lines 16-17]).
Regarding Claim 7, Fruend teaches,
The system of claim 6, wherein the interface statistics circuitry includes a live counter (counter circuit (420) [Col. 6, lines 23-25]) and a latch counter (storage register (440) [Col. 6, lines 25-26]).
Regarding Claim 8, Fruend teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the debug circuit monitors interface counters during a time sampling window across all the logic blocks of the system (the counters are monitored during a pre-set time window [Col. 6, lines 58-61]).
Regarding Claim 9, Fruend teaches,
The system of claim 8, wherein the time sampling window includes a reset window to determine a sample period and a load window to determine a duration of latched values in latch counters (the sampling occurs during a window ("reset window") [Col. 6, lines 58-61]; with a load window [Col. 6, lines 21-25]).
Claims 11-14 and 16-18 recite a shift in statutory category and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Fruend in view of Greenblat by the same grounds of rejection as Claims 1-4 and 6-8, respectively, above.
Claim 20 recites a shift in statutory category and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Fruend in view of Greenblat by the same grounds of rejection as Claim 1, above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitation of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is the Examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
The subject matter of Claims 5, 10, 15, and 19 remain allowable for the reasons previously provided in the Office Action dated 20 August 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 has been fully considered and the Examiner agrees that the amendments to independent claims 1, 11, and 20 have overcome the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 with respect to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Fruend in view of Greenblat. Please see the rejection above.
Conclusion
/A.E.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2113 /BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113