9DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (US 6,853,850 B2, hereinafter Shim).
Regarding claim 1, Shim discloses a handheld two-way radio transceiver device (figure 1A, 11) comprising: a first sensor (figure 2, 33-i) configured to detect a first parameter indicative of a position of the handheld two-way radio transceiver device adjacent to a head of a user (col. 3 lines 13-32, the system 31 provides one or more signal sources 32-i and associated signal sensors 33-I at selected locations and angular orientations on a radiotelephone 34, in order to estimate a distance d1 between a user's head 35 and one or more of the signal sources 32-1 and/or to estimate a distance d2 between a user's head 35 and one or more signal sensors 33-1); a first speaker (figure 1A, 15) configured to provide an audio output (col. 2 lines 53-57, speaker 15); a processor; and a memory storing instructions (figure 8, 85 and col. 5 lines 61-65, radiotelephone 80 includes a control processor 85, optionally including a memory unit) that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: receive one or more measurements of the first parameter from the first sensor (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 11-23, the system measures a signal indicium that represents or corresponds to distance d from the object to the radiotelephone sensor and estimates the distance d); and decrease the audio output from a first volume to a second volume based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding a first threshold value of the first parameter (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 24-49, If the answer to the query in step 71 is "no", the system, in step 75, uses at least one of two distance comparison indicia, the difference, d(ref)-d, and the ratio, d/d(ref), to automatically determine and implement an adjustment in speaker volume and/or in microphone gain for the radiotelephone, to an audio signal level that is no greater than the maximum signal level).
Regarding claim 2, Shim discloses that a handheld two-way radio transceiver device, Fig 8 has a processor; and a memory storing instructions (figure 8, 85 and col. 5 lines 61-65, radiotelephone 80 includes a control processor 85, optionally including a memory unit) that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: receive one or more measurements of the first parameter from the first sensor (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 11-23, the system measures a signal indicium that represents or corresponds to distance d from the object to the radiotelephone sensor and estimates the distance d); and increase the audio output from a first volume to a second volume based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding a first threshold value of the first parameter (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 24-49, If the answer to the query in step 71 is "No", the system, in step 73the system adjusts the speaker volume and/or the microphone gain of the radiotelephone to its maximum signal level. uses at least one of two distance comparison indicia, the difference, d(ref)-d, and the ratio, d/d(ref), to automatically determine and implement an adjustment in speaker volume and/or in microphone gain for the radiotelephone, to an audio signal level that is no greater than the maximum signal level).
Regarding claim 6 , Shim’s device uses an automatic speaker volume control system and/or microphone gain control system, based on sensing the radiotelephone position relative to the user or the user's head, where the user need not manually intervene to control speaker volume and/or microphone gain. Preferably, more than one sensing device and/or more than one type of sensing device is used to reduce the possibility of error in relative position. The system distinguishes between a proximity zone surrounding the user or user's head, in which the speaker volume and/or microphone gain are continuously adjusted to provide optimum audio levels, and an outer zone where only maximum speaker volume and/or microphone gain are suitable for maintaining audio communication (col 1 lines41-50).
Shim’s device uses Infrared Sensor and Photoelectric Sensors (figure 2 34 and col. 3 lines 53 – 56, ) as first sensors and the first parameters sensed are infrared or radio wave signals.
Regarding claim 7, Shim’s device uses capacitive proximity sensor (capacitance changes monotonically with distance of the sensor from the body of a nearby object, such as a human being), which rely upon receipt of signals representing temperature of an emitting object, such as the user's exposed head as second sensor (fig 2 and col. 3 lines 57 -62 ). A capacitive proximity sensor and a temperature sensor do not require emission of a standard electrical signal in order to sense proximity of the object (figure 2 and col. 4 lines1- 3 ).
Shim’s device comprised a processor; and a memory storing instructions (figure 8, 85 and col. 5 lines 61-65, radiotelephone 80 includes a control processor 85, optionally including a memory unit) that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: receive one or more measurements of the first parameter from the first sensor (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 11-23, the system measures a signal indicium that represents or corresponds to distance d from the object to the radiotelephone sensor and estimates the distance d); and decrease the audio output from a first volume to a second volume based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding a first threshold value of the first parameter (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 24-49, If the answer to the query in step 71 is "no", the system, in step 75, uses at least one of two distance comparison indicia, the difference, d(ref)-d, and the ratio, d/d(ref), to automatically determine and implement an adjustment in speaker volume and/or in microphone gain for the radiotelephone, to an audio signal level that is no greater than the maximum signal level).
Regarding claim 8, Shim discloses a radio transceiver device (figure 1A, 11) comprising: a first sensor (figure 2, 33-i) configured to detect a first parameter indicative of a position of the handheld two-way radio transceiver device adjacent to a head of a user (col. 3 lines 13-32, the system 31 provides one or more signal sources 32-i and associated signal sensors 33-I at selected locations and angular orientations on a radiotelephone 34, in order to estimate a distance d1 between a user's head 35 and one or more of the signal sources 32-1 and/or to estimate a distance d2 between a user's head 35 and one or more signal sensors 33-1); a first speaker (figure 1A, 15) configured to provide an audio output (col. 2 lines 53-57, speaker 15); a processor; and a memory storing instructions (figure 8, 85 and col. 5 lines 61-65, radiotelephone 80 includes a control processor 85, optionally including a memory unit) that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: receive one or more measurements of the first parameter from the first sensor (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 11-23, the system measures a signal indicium that represents or corresponds to distance d from the object to the radiotelephone sensor and estimates the distance d); and decrease the audio output from a first volume to a second volume based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding a first threshold value of the first parameter (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 24-49, If the answer to the query in step 71 is "no", the system, in step 75, uses at least one of two distance comparison indicia, the difference, d(ref)-d, and the ratio, d/d(ref), to automatically determine and implement an adjustment in speaker volume and/or in microphone gain for the radiotelephone, to an audio signal level that is no greater than the maximum signal level).
Regarding claim 9, the claimed limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claimed limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Shim discloses a handheld two-way radio transceiver device and method (figure 1A, 11) comprising: a first sensor (figure 2, 33-i) configured to detect a first parameter indicative of a position of the handheld two-way radio transceiver device adjacent to a head of a user (col. 3 lines 13-32, the system 31 provides one or more signal sources 32-i and associated signal sensors 33-I at selected locations and angular orientations on a radiotelephone 34, in order to estimate a distance d1 between a user's head 35 and one or more of the signal sources 32-1 and/or to estimate a distance d2 between a user's head 35 and one or more signal sensors 33-1); a first speaker (figure 1A, 15) configured to provide an audio output (col. 2 lines 53-57, speaker 15); a processor; and a memory storing instructions (figure 8, 85 and col. 5 lines 61-65, radiotelephone 80 includes a control processor 85, optionally including a memory unit) that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: receive one or more measurements of the first parameter from the first sensor (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 11-23, the system measures a signal indicium that represents or corresponds to distance d from the object to the radiotelephone sensor and estimates the distance d); and decrease the audio output from a first volume to a second volume based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding a first threshold value of the first parameter (figure 7 and col. 5 lines 24-49, If the answer to the query in step 71 is "no", the system, in step 75, uses at least one of two distance comparison indicia, the difference, d(ref)-d, and the ratio, d/d(ref), to automatically determine and implement an adjustment in speaker volume and/or in microphone gain for the radiotelephone, to an audio signal level that is no greater than the maximum signal level).
Regarding claim 16, which discloses a method corresponding to the devices of claim 2 and 9, which the claimed limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2 and 9.
Regarding claim 20, which discloses a method corresponding to the devices of claim 7 and 14, which the claimed limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et. al. (United States Patent US 6853850 B2) in view of Eubank et. al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2023/0113703 A1).
Claim 5 states that the device of claim 1, further comprising a second speaker configured to provide the audio output, wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: shift the audio output from being provided by the first speaker to being provided by the second speaker based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the first threshold value of the first parameter
Shim does not state the location of 2nd speaker, Therefore, a second reference as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Eubank (US5884156A1) hereinafter Eubank. Paragraph 92 specifically states that the audio at the headphones stops. The controller of Eubank enables the shift of the audio output from being provided by the first speaker to being provided by the second speaker (Eubank [0088]-[0092]). Eubank discloses "Specifically, the controller is determining whether the output device 6 is close to the playback device 5 such that sound produced by the playback device 5 satisfies the target sound level and therefore the output device 6 is no longer needed to produce sound of the audio content." (Eubank, [0092]). This is determined by whether the output device is within the threshold distance. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Shim and Eubank such that the second speaker is added to the device of Shim to arrive at the solution of the claimed invention (KSR Rationale A, from MPEP 2143 (I)(A): combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Eubank device enables to shift the volume from one speaker to another. This allows the automatic speaker volume control based on the distance from the user. The user may prefer that the device may be located at some distant away in hand-free position. The higher volume any not be desirable in case of some secrecy is to be maintained. Specifically, the controller is determining whether the output device 6 is close to the playback device 5 such that sound produced by the playback device 5 satisfies the target sound level and therefore the output device 6 is no longer needed to produce sound of the audio content.
Shim and Eubank are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one of more of same field of for private radio communication for frontline workers. Depending upon the situation, users intend to mute the device, decrease or increase volume based on the situation. The radio device is configured to position of device relative to user’s head via one or more sensors which help to user to shift volume from public to private communication without using volume button. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ease of use for the user for an automatic volume adjustment without having to use a volume button (MPEP 2144.04(III)).
Regarding claim 19, which discloses a method that corresponds to the devices of claims 5 and 12, and the claimed limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 5 and 12.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 6,853,850 B2, hereinafter Shim) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tealdi ( US20140057574 A1, hereinafter Tealdi) .
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Shim discloses the device that is able to adjust volume based on the distance between the device and user as depicted in claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16. However, Shim fails to teach a push-to-talk (PTT) button configured to enable PTT operation of the two-way radio transceiver device via pressing the PTT button, and wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: enable continuous reception of audio input based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the first threshold value of the first parameter; deactivate reception of audio input via pressing the PTT button based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the first threshold value of the first parameter; disable continuous reception of audio input based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the second threshold value of the first parameter; and activate reception of audio input via pressing the PTT button based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the second threshold value of the first parameter.
Tealdi teaches a two-way radio device system 100 includes a two-way radio 101 and a remote speaker accessory 120 (Tealdi Figure 1 Para 0013 and 0014). The two-way radio 101 includes a transceiver 102, an audio processor 104 coupled to the transceiver, a controller 106 and Memory 108. The controller 106 can be operably coupled to the transceiver 102 and audio processor 104, and can coordinate operation of the two-way radio device, such as responsive to certain user interface elements. User interface elements can include buttons, knobs, dials, keypads, and so on. The controller 106 can also output information visually, such as by a graphic display, as is well known. The controller 106 can be operably coupled to a memory 108 that can include one or more types of memory, including read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory, and other known memory types. A part of memory 108 can contain instruction code that can be executed by controller 106 to implement the desired functionality and operation of the two-way radio 100.
Tealdi Figure1 Para 0014 further explains the audio circuitry, necessary to convert the digital audio signal into an analog audio signal that is provided to the speaker at a selected power level corresponding to volume level. The audio processor 104, in some embodiments, can also amplify an analog audio signal from the microphone 114 and convert it into a digital signal, and provide the digitized signal to the transceiver 102 for transmission. The microphone 114 can be operably coupled to the audio processor 104 through a PTT switch 116 which applies a voltage to the microphone 114 when the PTT switch 116 is closed, such as upon actuating a PTT button or similar transmit interface element that is mechanically coupled to the PTT switch 116. Actuation of the PTT switch 116 can be detected by either the audio processor 104 or the controller 106, for example.
Tealdi Figure 1 Para 0015 explains the how the PTT switch allows the user to operate the two-way radio 101 in one of three modes or states; idle or disable, transmit, or receive. In the idle mode the two-way radio 101 is on and tuned to a selected radio channel or channels, but neither transmitting nor receiving. If the user actuates or "keys" the PTT switch 116 from the idle mode, such as by depressing a PTT button, closing PTT switch 116, the two-way radio 101 will begin to transmit, and continue to transmit as long as the PTT button is depressed, as is conventional PTT operation. If the two-way radio 101 detects the presence of a signal in a monitored channel while the two-way radio is in idle mode, it will change to a receive mode and commence demodulating the signal (via transceiver 102) to obtain the transmitted audio (or other) signal and the received audio signal over speaker 112 (or another speaker).
Tealdi reference further teaches that by actuating the push-to-talk (PTT) button, the two-way radio device plays received audio signals, as they are received, over a speaker, and allows a user to transmit audio by speaking into the device, change from the idle mode to receiving mode to enable continuous reception of audio input. The user of the two-way radio that is receiving typically does not have to hold the device to the user's ear to hear the received audio, as in a cellular phone, and the user does not have to “answer” a transmission, rather it is simply received and played over the speaker for the user to hear. As such, two-way radios are useful in situations where immediacy of communication and one-to-many communication are beneficial, such as in emergency response operations. In emergency services such as law enforcement, firefighting, disaster response and rescue operation, where users are deployed in in loud noisy environments and they have to set their device to higher volumes. This creates an issue in certain emergency situations, as feedback results as when a user depresses or otherwise actuates the PTT button, the radio can begin transmitting the user's voice as the user speaks into the device, or a connected audio accessory. Those of skill in the art will appreciate the various ways in which a PTT actuation can be detected, and how various types of PTT actuations can be determined. For example, a timer can be used to determine short actuations (referring to the time between pressing and releasing the PTT button), and long actuations. Furthermore, a timer and a count can be used to determine a number of actuations. Shim’s reference fails to teach the use of a push-to-talk (PTT) button configured to enable PTT; push-to-talk (PTT) button enable continuous reception of audio input from the idle state. PTT method also allows fast communication by pressing the button rather than dialing a number as this enables immediate voice transmission to one person or to entire team. The volume can be decreased or increased depending upon the saturation by pressing the PTT button. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim’s reference in having the inclusion of push-to-talk (PTT) button as per teaching of Tealdi reference.
Shim and Tealdi are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one of more of same field of for private radio communication for frontline workers. A push-to-talk (PTT) button configured to enable PTT operation of the two-way radio transceiver device via pressing the PTT button, and when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to enable or disable continuous reception of audio input, when the based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the first threshold value of the first parameter; deactivate reception of audio input via pressing the PTT button based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the first threshold value of the first parameter; disable continuous reception of audio input based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the second threshold value of the first parameter; and activate reception of audio input via pressing the PTT button based on the first parameter meeting or exceeding the second threshold value of the first parameter.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tealdi to incorporate the teachings of Shim. Tealdi device lower the volume level, change the volume level between a low volume level and a high-volume level in response to PTT switch being actuated with the help of processor configured when the device is in receiving mode. Tealdi device further shift to transmit mode from the receiving mode with the actuation of PTT switch, is able to change the initial volume to lower level, to higher level or mute the device with help processor. PTT method also allows fast communication by pressing the button rather than dialing a number as this enables immediate voice transmission to one person or to entire team Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim’s reference in having the inclusion of push-to-talk (PTT) button as per teaching of Tealdi reference. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the reasonable expectation of success requirement refers to "the likelihood of success" in combining or modifying prior art disclosures to meet the limitations of the claimed invention to provide ease of use with actuation o of PTT switch, allowing the user for to shift the device instantly from receiving mode to transmit mode, muting the device and shift the volume levels from low to high or high with processor configured to make this change (MPEP 2143.02).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Shim discloses a device that is able to adjust its volume based on the distance detected between the device and the user as depicted in claim 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16. However, Shim fails to disclose further comprising a PTT button configured to enable PTT operation of the two-way radio transceiver device via pressing the PTT button, and wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: decrease the audio output from the first volume to the second volume based further on pressing the PTT button; and increase the audio output from the second volume to the first volume based further on releasing the PTT button. Tealdi teaches further comprising a PTT button configured to enable PTT operation of the two-way radio transceiver device via pressing the PTT button (Tealdi Figure 1 Para 0016, 0017), and wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the handheld two-way radio transceiver device to: decrease the audio output from the first volume to the second volume based further on pressing the PTT button; and increase the audio output from the second volume to the first volume based further on releasing the PTT button (Tealdi Fig 1 Para 0018). Tealdi Figure 1 Para 0016, 0017 explains that while in the receive mode, embodiments of the invention allow the user to change the volume level of the played audio signal by actuating the push-to-talk (PTT) switch 116. For example, the controller 106, by executing a PTT volume control instruction code 124, can determine that the two-way radio 101 is in receive mode, and that the PTT switch 116 has been actuated while receiving an audio signal. In response, the controller 106 can cause the audio processor 104 to change the volume at which the received audio signal is played over the speaker 112. In some embodiments actuation of the PTT switch 116 while receiving an audio signal can cause the two-way radio 101 to reduce the volume level from an initial preselected level to a lower level. The reduction can be to a preset level, or by a preset amount. In another embodiment actuation of the PTT switch 116 while receiving an audio signal can cause the two-way radio 101 to increase the volume of the audio being played over the speaker 112. In other embodiments different types of actuations of the PTT switch 116, such as single short press, or double short presses, for example, can cause the two-way radio to decrease or increase the volume, respectively. A long press (press and hold) can cause the radio to begin transmitting regardless of the channel status or two-way radio mode.
Tealdi Fig 1 Para 0018 shows the two-way radio 101 can be part of the two-way radio device system 100 that includes the two-way radio 101, and an external audio accessory such as a remote speaker accessory (RSA) 120. The RSA 120 can connect 122 (wired or wirelessly) to the two-way radio 101. A wired connection can be made via an external interface 118, such as a side connector, that contains conductors for power and signals as necessary, and a wireless connection can be made using, for example, a personal area network radio link such as that known by the trade name "Bluetooth." The RSA 120 can include a speaker and microphone (not shown), and a PTT button/switch 126. The two-way radio system 100 can allow a user to, for example, wear a two-way radio 101 on the user's belt, and have the RSA 120 attached near the user's shoulder, on the user's chest (e.g. on a lapel, pocket, or other part of clothing), on a belt or strap, and so on. As with PTT switch 116 on the two-way radio 101, the PTT button/switch 126 on the RSA 120 can be used while receiving an audio signal that is being played over the speaker of the RSA 120 to change the volume level of the audio being played over the RSA speaker by actuating the PTT button/switch 126 while an audio signal is being played over the speaker of the RSA 120. The audio volume level at the RSA 120 can be controlled by circuitry in the RSA 120, or by the two-way radio controlling the audio signal level provided to the RSA 120 by the two-way radio 101.
Shim and Tealdi are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one of more of same field of for private radio communication for frontline workers. Depending upon the situation, users intend to mute the device, decrease or increase volume based on the situation. The radio device is configured to position of device relative to user’s head via one or more sensors which help to user to shift volume from public to private communication without using volume button. The radio device is also containing a push-to-talk (PTT) which is used as an input to mute, disable able and control the volume instantly depending upon the situation.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tealdi to incorporate the teachings of Shim to use the signals from one of more proximity sensors to adjust the speaker volume. The device may be muted instantly and the volume can be decreased or increased depending upon the saturation by pressing the PTT button quickly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim’s reference in having the inclusion of push-to-talk (PTT) button as per teaching of Tealdi reference
Conclusion
/TIKKA JAGJIT SINGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/JOSHUA L SCHWARTZ/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649