DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the identification information is determined by the user equipment from a group identifier and a paging occasion identifier (Applicant’s Arguments and Remarks, page 8).
Regarding Xu, applicant argues that the PO ID and group ID are not disclosed as jointly determining the identification information. Examiner agrees.
Regarding, Peng, applicant argues that Peng likewise does not disclose coupling of PO and group ID. Examiner disagrees based on the combination of Xu and Peng. That is, Xu teaches that the last bits of the S-TMSI determine a paging occasion and therefore can be considered a paging occasion identifier. Further Peng teaches that the last bits of the S-TMSI can also be used to determine the group ID. The combination of the two teachings is that when the last bits of the S-TMSI are used as the identification information (as taught by Peng) the identification information is determined based both on the paging occasion identifier and the group ID (see combination, infra, for further details). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding Li/Liu/Wagner, applicant further argues that these references do not disclose the joint determination as well, however the arguments are moot in view of the teachings of Peng, as discussed, supra.
Second, Applicant argues that Xue “teaches away” from the proposed combination as Xue is directed to skipping PDCCH monitoring (Id at 8). Paragraph 0071 of Xue does discuss that monitoring PDCCH is power intensive, but this is in reference to using a high powered receiver to monitor the PDCCH and the solution of Xue is to use a low power receiver for monitoring using a WUR signal. This is not incompatible with the idea of subsequent PDCCH decoding as taught by Peng, as the initial low power wake up signal dramatically reduces the need to monitor PDCCH and gives a very high rate of success to waking up to monitor PDCCH based on small overlaps of the truncated indicators, thereby also achieving power savings. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are not persuasive.
Finally, applicant discusses the technical problem solved by the present invention and contrasts it with the prior art and argues that there is not logical reason to combine the Po identifier and the group ID in the prior are (Id at 9). Examiner disagrees and notes the the combination of Xue and Peng teaches this combination as the last digits of the S-TMSI combine both as they are used both for group ID and the PO identification. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding the dependent claims, Applicant argues the claims are allowable for the same reasons as the independent claims (Id at 11). Therefore, examiner disagrees for the same reasons stated in the independent claim, supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 13-14, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, et al. (US Pre Grant publication No. 2024/0298296; note WO/2023/083137 (“137”) and CN 202111511839 (“839”) with translations attached) in view of Peng, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0354190; note also PCT/CN2021/082978, with identical disclosure, attached).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Xue discloses a method for receiving wake-up signals, wherein the method is applicable to a terminal, and the method comprises and a chip, comprising programmable logic circuitry and/or one or more program instructions, wherein the chip is run to perform: receiving a wake-up signal, the wake-up signal comprises a wake-up radio (WUR) signal. (Xue discloses the use of a separate wake up/first module radio including a small low power circuit to receive WUR signals and to wake the second module/main radio [paragraph 0072, 0078 note also 137, paragraph 0075, 0082; 139, pages 17 and 18]. The WUR signal may include an identifier of the UE determined from the RNTI/S-TMSI [0213-0214 – first identifier from a truncated RNTI/S-TMSI; see also 137, paragraphs 222-224, 839, pages 37-38; paragraphs 0168-0172, 0190 – WUR includes first identifier; see also 137, paragraphs 0177-0181, 0199, 839, pages 32-35]. The first identifier/last bits of the truncated RNTI/S-TMSI also identify the PO of the UE and are therefore a PO identifier [paragraph 0127 – “…The terminal device determines [i.e. identifies], based on a least significant bit of the 5G-S-TMSI, a PO corresponding to the terminal device…. The first identifier is least significant bits of the 5G-TMSI, so that different terminal devices may correspond to different paging identifiers as far as possible, thereby reducing, as far as possible, a probability that the terminal device is mistakenly woken up”)
Xue fails to disclose the wake-up signal carries reception information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or the wake-up signal carries identification information, wherein the identification information is determined by a user equipment group identifier and a paging occasion identifier (i.e. Xue does not disclose a subsequent access to PDCCH, as the WUR in Xue initiates RACH access, however, the truncated identifiers in Xue can lead to collisions that result in unnecessary RACH or that require additional coordination overhead to guarantee the truncated ID is unique. The system of Peng addresses these issues by having a two-part paging system where an initial WUS contains a truncation of an identifier, such as combined truncated RNTI and group ID of the PO and the remainder of the identifier is retrieved via the standard PDCCH paging channel). In the same field of endeavor, Peng discloses the wake-up signal carries reception information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (The system of Peng discloses that wake-up-signal (WUS) paging information in Rel-18 can be carried in a separate paging indication channel/first signal channel from the PDCCH and can include identification information is determined by using a truncated UE group identifier and paging occasion identifier [paragraph 0038, 0099-0103]. The wake-up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal indicates if paging information is available for reception on the PDCCH [i.e. it carries reception information of the PDCCH] [paragraphs 0101-0103,0149-0150]. Peng further discloses the last 3 bits of the TMSI may be used as the group ID [paragraph 0047, 0099, 0100] noting that in view of Xue the last bits of the TMSI also act as a PO indicator [see discussion, supra]. The wake-up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal will reduce, but not eliminate the “false alarm” rate, which is the UE waking up and monitoring PDCCH unnecessarily [i.e. because of collisions caused by the partial inclusion of a least significant bits of TMSI and , group ID, etc, the PDCCH is still necessary to clarify the collisions but the partial inclusion of a subset/most/lest significant bits of UE IE, TMSI, group ID, etc, will act to greatly reduce false alarms in which the UE wakes but does not have an indication on PDCCH [paragraph 0103-0104].)
Therefore, since Peng discloses using a two step process for PDCCH reception involving sending a up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal on a separate channel from the PDCCH with a truncated TMSI/group identifier of the UE to be paged to reduce the false alarm rate of the PDCCH, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the two step process of Peng with the system of Xue by treating the WUR signal of Xue, which likewise includes truncated TMSI of the UE to be paged, as a first paging indication like that of the system of Peng by including the last 3 bits of the TMSI as both a group ID [per Peng] and a PO identifier [per Xue] in the first indication so that the UE may determine, based on the inclusion, that the PDCCH likely has paging for the UE, and to receive the PDCCH, determine the remainder of the TMSI/ID from the PDCCH and then complete the paging based on confirmation the TMSI/ID of the UE was paged. The motive to combine is to use a two-step paging process to eliminate the need to coordinate unique TMSI of the UE to reduce overhead or false paging events caused by collisions of the truncated TMSI/group ID of the UE to improve the efficiency of the base station/core network.
Regarding claim 3, Xue as previously modified by Peng fails to disclose monitoring the PDCCH in a second time unit associated with the wake-up signal in a case that the wake-up signal carries identification information of the terminal. In the same field of endeavor, another portion of Peng further discloses monitoring the PDCCH in a second time unit associated with the wake-up signal in a case that the wake-up signal carries identification information of the terminal. (fig. 3 – first signal and second signal are in separate time units; see also paragraph 0128, 0132-0133 – separate paging indicator frames].)
Therefore, since Peng discloses a first and separated second time unit for the wake-up signal and the PDCCH, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the separated time units of Peng with the system of Xue as modified by Peng by including the wake-up signal in a first time unit/frame and the PDCCH to be monitored in a second time unit/frame such that the UE detects the truncated TMSI in the first time unit and then proceeds to wake to decode the second time unit/PDCCH to receive the full TMSI for confirmation. The motive to combine is to give the UE time to decode the first time unit before it must receive the second time unit that is indicated in the first to allow for reduced processing requirements at the UE.
Regarding claim 4, Xue as modified by Peng discloses the identification information comprises a user equipment (UE) identifier (see combination in independent claim, supra – Xue discloses the first identifier is made from a truncated S-TMSI of the UE [paragraphs 0213-0214 – first identifier from a truncated RNTI/S-TMSI; see also 137, paragraphs 222-224, 839, pages 37-38; paragraphs 0168-0172, 0190 – WUR includes first identifier; see also 137, paragraphs 0177-0181, 0199, 839, pages 32-35]).
Regarding claim 6, Xue discloses the terminal is in an idle/inactive state; and a UE identifier of the terminal is acquired based on an evolved packet system temporary mobile station identity (S-TMSI) of the terminal (In idle mode the identifier is based on all or part of the S-TMSI [paragraph 0124; see also 137, paragraph 0130; 839, page 25]).
Regarding claim 11, Xue discloses a terminal, comprising a wake-up receiver, wherein the wake-up receiver is configured to receive a wake-up signal, wherein the wake-up signal comprises a wake-up radio (WUR) signal. (Xue discloses the use of a separate wake up/first module radio including a small low power circuit to receive WUR signals and to wake the second module/main radio [paragraph 0072, 0078 note also 137, paragraph 0075, 0082; 139, pages 17 and 18]. The WUR signal may include an identifier of the UE determined from the RNTI/S-TMSI [0213-0214 – first identifier from a truncated RNTI/S-TMSI; see also 137, paragraphs 222-224, 839, pages 37-38; paragraphs 0168-0172, 0190 – WUR includes first identifier; see also 137, paragraphs 0177-0181, 0199, 839, pages 32-35]. The first identifier/last bits of the truncated RNTI/S-TMSI also identify the PO of the UE and are therefore a PO identifier [paragraph 0127 - …The terminal device determines [i.e. identifies], based on a least significant bit of the 5G-S-TMSI, a PO corresponding to the terminal device…. The first identifier is least significant bits of the 5G-TMSI, so that different terminal devices may correspond to different paging identifiers as far as possible, thereby reducing, as far as possible, a probability that the terminal device is mistakenly woken up)
Xue fails to disclose the wake-up signal carries reception information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or the wake-up signal carries identification information, wherein the identification information is determined by a user equipment group identifier and a paging occasion identifier (i.e. Xue does not disclose a subsequent access to PDCCH, as the WUR in Xue initiates RACH access, however, the truncated identifiers in Xue can lead to collisions that result in unnecessary RACH or that require additional coordination overhead to guarantee the truncated ID is unique. The system of Peng addresses these issues by having a two-part paging system where an initial WUS contains a truncation of an identifier, such as combined truncated RNTI and group ID of the PO and the remainder of the identifier is retrieved via the standard PDCCH paging channel). In the same field of endeavor, Peng discloses the wake-up signal carries reception information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (The system of Peng discloses that wake-up-signal (WUS) paging information in Rel-18 can be carried in a separate paging indication channel/first signal channel from the PDCCH and can include identification information is determined by using a truncated UE group identifier and paging occasion identifier [paragraph 0038, 0099-0103]. The wake-up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal indicates if paging information is available for reception on the PDCCH [i.e. it carries reception information of the PDCCH] [paragraphs 0101-0103,0149-0150]. Peng further discloses the last 3 bits of the TMSI may be used as the group ID [paragraph 0047, 0099, 0100] noting that in view of Xue the last bits of the TMSI also act as a PO indicator [see discussion, supra]. The wake-up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal will reduce, but not eliminate the “false alarm” rate, which is the UE waking up and monitoring PDCCH unnecessarily [i.e. because of collisions caused by the partial inclusion of a least significant bits of TMSI and , group ID, etc, the PDCCH is still necessary to clarify the collisions but the partial inclusion of a subset/most/lest significant bits of UE IE, TMSI, group ID, etc, will act to greatly reduce false alarms in which the UE wakes but does not have an indication on PDCCH [paragraph 0103-0104].)
Therefore, since Peng discloses using a two step process for PDCCH reception involving sending a up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal on a separate channel from the PDCCH with a truncated TMSI/group identifier of the UE to be paged to reduce the false alarm rate of the PDCCH, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the two step process of Peng with the system of Xue by treating the WUR signal of Xue, which likewise includes truncated TMSI of the UE to be paged, as a first paging indication like that of the system of Peng by including the last 3 bits of the TMSI as both a group ID [per Peng] and a PO identifier [per Xue] in the first indication so that the UE may determine, based on the inclusion, that the PDCCH likely has paging for the UE, and to receive the PDCCH, determine the remainder of the TMSI/ID from the PDCCH and then complete the paging based on confirmation the TMSI/ID of the UE was paged. The motive to combine is to use a two-step paging process to eliminate the need to coordinate unique TMSI of the UE to reduce overhead or false paging events caused by collisions of the truncated TMSI/group ID of the UE to improve the efficiency of the base station/core network.
Regarding claim 13, Xue as modified by Peng discloses the terminal further comprises a primary transceiver, configured to monitor the PDCCH i associated with the wake-up signal in a case that the wake-up signal carries identification information of the terminal (see combination in the independent claim, supra,)
Xue as previously modified by Peng fails to disclose monitoring the PDCCH in a second time unit. In the same field of endeavor, another portion of Peng further discloses monitoring the PDCCH in a second time unit. (fig. 3 – first signal and second signal are in separate time units; see also paragraph 0128, 0132-0133 – separate paging indicator frames].)
Therefore, since Peng discloses a first and separated second time unit for the wake-up signal and the PDCCH, it would have ben obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the separated time units of Peng with the system of Xue as modified by Peng by including the wake-up signal in a first time unit/frame and the PDCCH to be monitored in a second time unit/frame such that the UE detects the UE ID in the first time unit and then proceeds to wake the primary transceiver to decode the second time unit/PDCCH. The motive to combine is to give the UE time to decode the first time unit before it must receive the second time unit that is indicated in the first to allow for reduced processing requirements at the UE.
Regarding claims 14, Xue discloses a network device, comprising a transceiver wherein the transceiver (paragraph 0208, note also 137, paragraph 0217, 0082; 139, page 37) is configured to transmit a wake-up signal, the wake-up signal comprises a wake-up radio (WUR) signal. (Xue discloses the use of a separate wake up/first module radio including a small low power circuit to receive WUR signals transmitted by a base station/network device and to wake the second module/main radio [paragraph 0072, 0078 note also 137, paragraph 0075, 0082; 139, pages 17 and 18; for base station/network device - paragraph 0208, note also 137, paragraph 0217, 0082; 139, page 37]. The WUR signal may include an identifier of the UE determined from the RNTI/S-TMSI [0213-0214 – first identifier from a truncated RNTI/S-TMSI; see also 137, paragraphs 222-224, 839, pages 37-38; paragraphs 0168-0172, 0190 – WUR includes first identifier; see also 137, paragraphs 0177-0181, 0199, 839, pages 32-35]. The first identifier/last bits of the truncated RNTI/S-TMSI also identify the PO of the UE and are therefore a PO identifier [paragraph 0127 – “…The terminal device determines [i.e. identifies], based on a least significant bit of the 5G-S-TMSI, a PO corresponding to the terminal device…. The first identifier is least significant bits of the 5G-TMSI, so that different terminal devices may correspond to different paging identifiers as far as possible, thereby reducing, as far as possible, a probability that the terminal device is mistakenly woken up”)
Xue fails to disclose the wake-up signal carries reception information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or the wake-up signal carries identification information, wherein the identification information is determined by a user equipment group identifier and a paging occasion identifier (i.e. Xue does not disclose a subsequent access to PDCCH, as the WUR in Xue initiates RACH access, however, the truncated identifiers in Xue can lead to collisions that result in unnecessary RACH or that require additional coordination overhead to guarantee the truncated ID is unique. The system of Peng addresses these issues by having a two-part paging system where an initial WUS contains a truncation of an identifier, such as combined truncated RNTI and group ID of the PO and the remainder of the identifier is retrieved via the standard PDCCH paging channel). In the same field of endeavor, Peng discloses the wake-up signal carries reception information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (The system of Peng discloses that wake-up-signal (WUS) paging information in Rel-18 can be carried in a separate paging indication channel/first signal channel from the PDCCH and can include identification information is determined by using a truncated UE group identifier and paging occasion identifier [paragraph 0038, 0099-0103]. The wake-up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal indicates if paging information is available for reception on the PDCCH [i.e. it carries reception information of the PDCCH] [paragraphs 0101-0103,0149-0150]. Peng further discloses the last 3 bits of the TMSI may be used as the group ID [paragraph 0047, 0099, 0100] noting that in view of Xue the last bits of the TMSI also act as a PO indicator [see discussion, supra]. The wake-up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal will reduce, but not eliminate the “false alarm” rate, which is the UE waking up and monitoring PDCCH unnecessarily [i.e. because of collisions caused by the partial inclusion of a least significant bits of TMSI and , group ID, etc, the PDCCH is still necessary to clarify the collisions but the partial inclusion of a subset/most/lest significant bits of UE IE, TMSI, group ID, etc, will act to greatly reduce false alarms in which the UE wakes but does not have an indication on PDCCH [paragraph 0103-0104].)
Therefore, since Peng discloses using a two step process for PDCCH reception involving sending a up-signal (WUS)/paging information/first signal on a separate channel from the PDCCH with a truncated TMSI/group identifier of the UE to be paged to reduce the false alarm rate of the PDCCH, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the two step process of Peng with the system of Xue by treating the WUR signal of Xue, which likewise includes truncated TMSI of the UE to be paged, as a first paging indication like that of the system of Peng by including the last 3 bits of the TMSI as both a group ID [per Peng] and a PO identifier [per Xue] in the first indication sent by the network device so that the UE may determine, based on the inclusion, that the PDCCH likely has paging for the UE, and to receive the PDCCH, determine the remainder of the TMSI/ID from the PDCCH and then complete the paging based on confirmation the TMSI/ID of the UE was paged. The motive to combine is to use a two-step paging process to eliminate the need to coordinate unique TMSI of the UE to reduce overhead or false paging events caused by collisions of the truncated TMSI/group ID of the UE to improve the efficiency of the base station/core network.
Regarding claim 16, Xue as modified by Peng discloses the identification information comprises a user equipment (UE) identifier (see combination in independent claim, supra – Xue discloses the first identifier is made from a truncated RNTI/S-TMSI of the UE [paragraphs 0213-0214 – first identifier from a truncated RNTI/S-TMSI; see also 137, paragraphs 222-224, 839, pages 37-38; paragraphs 0168-0172, 0190 – WUR includes first identifier; see also 137, paragraphs 0177-0181, 0199, 839, pages 32-35]).
Regarding claim 18, Xue discloses the terminal is in an idle/inactive state; and a UE identifier of the terminal is acquired based on an evolved packet system temporary mobile station identity (S-TMSI) of the terminal (In idle mode the identifier is based on all or part of the S-TMSI [paragraph 0124; see also 137, paragraph 0130; 839, page 25]).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, et al. (US Pre Grant publication No. 2024/0298296; note WO/2023/083137 (“137”) and CN 202111511839 (“839”) with translations attached) and Peng, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0354190; note also PCT/CN2021/082978, with identical disclosure, attached) as applied to claims 1 and 11 and further in view of Li, et al. (WIPO Publication 2019/0149105 A1 -note attached translation with all citations to translation)
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Xue as modified by Peng fails to disclose the terminal is in a connected state; and a UE identifier of the terminal is acquired based on a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses the terminal is in a connected state; and a UE identifier of the terminal is acquired based on a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the terminal. (The system of Li discloses that a WUS/wake-up-signal in RRC connected state may use the C-RNTI for an indication in a WUR, as long as it is accepted that the C-RNTI is not universal and cannot be used in RRC idle [last partial paragraph of page 19 to first full paragraph of page 20].)
Therefore, since Li discloses the use of C-RNTI in connected mode, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use all or a part (per the partial inclusion of a RNTI via MSB/LSB truncation of Xue and Ping) of the C-RNTI as the first identifier of the WUS/WUR of the system of Xue and Ping when the UE is in connected mode. The motive to combine is to reduce the need for assignment of a different RNTI (and associated overhead) by re-using the already present C-RNTI either directly or in a truncated form.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, et al. (US Pre Grant publication No. 2024/0298296; note WO/2023/083137 (“137”) and CN 202111511839 (“839”) with translations attached) and Peng, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0354190; note also PCT/CN2021/082978, with identical disclosure, attached) as applied to claims 1 and 11 and further in view of Liu, et al. (CIPO Publication No. 110536382 - note attached translation with all citations to translation)
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Xue as modified by Peng fails to disclose the PO/PF group identifier is acquired based on the PO/PF identifier. In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses the PO/PF group identifier is acquired based on the PO/PF identifier. (Liu discloses that the group identifier used to indicate a paged UE in a wake-up signal is calculated based on PO/PF index/identifier (page 25, second to last paragraph to page 26, fifth paragraph – Group ID calculated from PO index; page 25, second paragraph Group ID is included wake-up signal).
Therefore, since Liu discloses group ID calculated form PO index included in wake-up signals and Xue as modified by Peng includes group IDs as the indicated identification information which are based on the last digits of the TMSI, which also indicate the PO index (see independent claim, supra), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the PO index based group IDs in the system of Xue as modified by Peng by determining the group IDs based on the PO index [and by extension the TMSI]. The motive to combine is to use the already unique PO index as a starting point to determine a non-colliding group ID to reduce overhead vs having to separately generate a unique index.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, et al. (US Pre Grant publication No. 2024/0298296; note WO/2023/083137 (“137”) and CN 202111511839 (“839”) with translations attached) and Peng, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0354190; note also PCT/CN2021/082978, with identical disclosure, attached) as applied to claims XXX and further in view of Wagner, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0247555)
Regarding claim 8, Xue as modified by Peng fails to disclose the second time unit associated with the wake-up signal is determined based on a first time unit where the wake-up signal is located and a delay, wherein the delay describes a time interval between the first time unit and the second time unit. In the same field of endeavor, Wagner discloses the second time unit associated with the wake-up signal is determined based on a first time unit where the wake-up signal is located and a delay, wherein the delay describes a time interval between the first time unit and the second time unit (Wagner discloses that the a wake up signal/first time unit is transmitted a predefined time interval/delay before the occurrence of the paging occasion/second time unit [paragraph 0010].)
Therefore, since Wagner discloses a predefined offset from a PO, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the predefined offset of Wagner with the system of Xue as modified by Peng by transmitting the WUR/first interval a predefined time duration/delay before the PO/PDCCH/second time interval. The motive to combine is to allow the UE to quickly determine the second time interval so it may determine when to wake the primary receiver to receive the PO to allow for simplified timing calculations and power conservation.
Regarding claim 9, Xue as modified by Peng and Wagner discloses the delay is predefined (see combination in claim 8, supra)
Regarding claim 10, Xue as modified by Peng discloses the wake up signal carries PO/PF group identifier (see claim 1, supra). Xue as modified by Peng fails to disclose the delay is determined based on a most recent PO after the first time unit in a case that the wake-up signal carries a PO/PF identifier or a PO/PF group identifier. In the same field of endeavor, Wagner discloses the delay is determined based on a most recent PO after the first time unit in a case that the wake-up signal carries a PO/PF identifier or a PO/PF group identifier (Wagner discloses that in group PO transmission cases, the delay is determine based on the next PO occasion/most recent PO after the first time unit [paragraphs 0045-0046, claim 1 – The delay utilized is selected such that the WUS for the group PO is transmitted at the determined time offset before the start of the next PO/most recent PO after the first time unit.)
Therefore, since Wagner discloses determining delay/offset based on the next PO in group ID situations, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the determination of Wagner with the system of Xue as modified by Peng by transmitting the WUR/first interval containing the PO/PF group identifier a time duration/delay before the next PO/PDCCH/second time interval. The motive to combine is to improve flexibility by allowing a determination of different delays/offsets to allow from more than one wake up signal per PO at different offsets.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466