DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits, claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed December 12th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-16, 18-21 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102 remain rejected. Specifically..
Applicant asserts
The applicant argues that Morris lacks the condition where a user “the user has not moved for more than a preset time”
Examiner response
The examiner has carefully considered applicant arguments but respectfully disagrees. Morris reads directly on the user not moving for more than a preset time, (See paragraph [0059] “Processor 104 may execute instructions stored in route tagging module in memory 118 to determine a threshold time period, one or more motion profiles, and/or one or more sensor metric thresholds. Processor 104 may store as rock climbing navigational data the orientation of rock climbing watch 102.1 is being pointed at a rock face location by measuring via sensor array 108 when the user maintains the orientation of rock climbing watch 102.1 pointed towards rock face location 204.1 from base location 202 for a threshold minimum period of time (e.g., 2 or 3 seconds). That is, if the changes in sensor metric values measured by sensor array 108 (e.g., magnetometer or accelerometer metric values) are less than one or more sensor metric thresholds during the threshold period of time, then processor 104 may determine that rock climbing watch 102.1 is sufficiently still”. Therefore applicant argument and amendments do not overcome the art of record.
Applicant asserts
The applicant argus that Morris fails to disclose adjusting the display angle of the 3D model “in response to receiving a perspective conversion operation, controlling the display component to adiust a display angle of the three-dimensional model,"
Examiner response
The examiner has carefully considered applicant arguments but respectfully disagrees. Morris states (See at least paragraph [0008] “The rock climbing navigational map may be presented as a wireframe map, which may be rotated in all three dimensions, that accurately represents the path of the climbing route along the surface of the rock face.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0043-0044] “User interface 116 may be configured to facilitate user interaction with rock climbing watch 102.1. For example, user interface 116 may include one or more user-input devices such as an interactive portion of display 114 (e.g., a menu displayed on display 114), one or more buttons, crowns, knobs, switches, etc. User interface 116 may detect user interactions with rock climbing watch 102.1 such as button presses, a user twisting and/or pressing a crown, etc.”)
Therefore applicant argument and amendments do not overcome the art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160299230, to Morris et al. (hereinafter Morris).
Regarding claim 1, and commensurate claims 11, and 20, Morris teaches, A route processing method comprising: obtaining a three-dimensional climbing route of a user, (See at least paragraph [Abstract] “A processor may convert route climbing navigational data into a three-dimensional wireframe rock climbing navigational map including rock face locations, calculated distances and angles between rock face locations, and a rock climbing route. The rock climbing watch may present information to guide the user along a rock climbing route by displaying a graphical directional indicator and a distance to the next rock face location.”). the three-dimensional climbing route including one or more first three-dimensional positions of the user during climbing; (See at least paragraph [0028] “known and/or estimated geographic location of the rock climbing watch at various positions along the rock climbing route. In embodiments, the rock climbing navigational data may be presented as a three-dimensional wireframe rock climbing navigational map including the abovementioned information associated with a rock face.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0036] “rock climbing watch 102.1 to calculate its three-dimensional position.”).
determining whether a preset marking condition is satisfied; the preset marking condition including that the user has not moved for more than a preset time; (See at least paragraph [0059] “Processor 104 may execute instructions stored in route tagging module in memory 118 to determine a threshold time period, one or more motion profiles, and/or one or more sensor metric thresholds. Processor 104 may store as rock climbing navigational data the orientation of rock climbing watch 102.1 is being pointed at a rock face location by measuring via sensor array 108 when the user maintains the orientation of rock climbing watch 102.1 pointed towards rock face location 204.1 from base location 202 for a threshold minimum period of time (e.g., 2 or 3 seconds). That is, if the changes in sensor metric values measured by sensor array 108 (e.g., magnetometer or accelerometer metric values) are less than one or more sensor metric thresholds during the threshold period of time, then processor 104 may determine that rock climbing watch 102.1 is sufficiently still such that the data measured via sensor array 108 accurately reflects the orientation of rock climbing watch 102.1 as it is being pointed towards a rock face location of interest by a user.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0006] “a processor of the rock climbing watch may receive a user input from a user interface, a hands-free gesture, or metal detection of an object such as a bolt, indicating that the user has arrived at a rock face location.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0106] “Method 400 may start when one or more processors receive an input indicative of a route tagging mode of operation (block 402).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0103] “climber indicates that he or she has reached the next rock face location”).
determining a second three-dimensional position of a target point according to the one or more first three-dimensional positions in response to the marking condition being satisfied; (See at least paragraph [0022] “To provide another example, sensor array 108 may facilitate the determination of whether the motion of rock climbing watch 102.1 matches a predetermined motion profile.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0005] “the rock climbing watch may calculate a first angle between a starting location and a first rock face location based upon the orientation of the rock climbing watch when the rock climbing watch is pointed from the starting location towards the first rock face location and store the first angle as rock climbing navigational data. The rock climbing watch may also calculate a second angle between the first rock face location and a second rock face location based upon the orientation of the rock climbing watch when the rock climbing watch is pointed from the first rock face location towards the second rock face location and store the second angle as rock climbing navigational data. In embodiments, the rock climbing watch may calculate a first distance between the starting location and the first rock face location based upon the first angle and a change in elevation of the rock climbing watch between the starting location and the first rock face location.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0076] “processor 104 may use the known location of base location 202 and the angles ψ.sub.1 and θ.sub.1 (and/or ψ.sub.2 and θ.sub.2) to calculate an estimated location of rock climbing route segment 206.1 and an estimated geographic location of rock face location 204.1. Processor 104 may store the estimated geographic location information in memory 118. Similarly, an estimated geographic location of rock face location 204.2 may be calculated with reference to the estimated geographic location of rock face anchor 204.1”).
obtaining map information, the map information including a preset three-dimensional model; (See at least paragraph [0010] “users may access the servers to download the rock climbing navigational data and/or three-dimensional rock climbing navigational map to their own rock climbing watches”).
controlling a display component to display the map information; (See at least paragraph [1000] “Display 306 may present information to aid a rock climber with determining the direction to the first rock face location 204.1 and the length of rock climbing route segment 206.1. ”).
and controlling the display component to superimpose and display the three-dimensional climbing route and the target point on the three-dimensional model according to the one or more first three-dimensional positions and the second three-dimensional position. (See at least paragraph [0008] “a processor may convert the route climbing navigational data into a three dimensional rock climbing navigational map including rock face locations, and a rock climbing route between rock face locations.The rock climbing navigational map may be presented as a wireframe map, which may be rotated in all three dimensions, that accurately represents the path of the climbing route along the surface of the rock face.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0045] “The rock climbing route may include a number of rock climbing segments represented by the relatively short rock climbing route between each two adjacent anchor locations. ”). Further, (See at least paragraph [Abstract] “The rock climbing watch may present information to guide the user along a rock climbing route by displaying a graphical directional indicator and a distance to the next rock face location.. ”).
Regarding claim 2, and commensurate claim 12, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses, wherein obtaining the three-dimensional climbing route includes: obtaining the one or more first three-dimensional positions; and generating the three-dimensional climbing route according to the one or more first three-dimensional positions. (See at least paragraph [0074] “Processor 104 may store in any suitable portion of memory 118 the calculated or determined rock climbing route 206 associated with route segments 206.1-206.M. Once a rock climbing route segment 206 has been calculated, the data may form part of the rock climbing navigational data. As described elsewhere, the route climbing navigational data may be presented as a three-dimensional rock climbing navigational map. For example, at this point of the climb of rock face 200 from base location 202, the rock climbing navigational data may include the initial geographic location of base location 202 as determined by the location determining component 112, a direction to rock face location 204.1 from base location 202 based upon angles ψ.sub.1 and θ.sub.1 determined based on the orientation of the rock climbing watch while it was pointed towards rock face location 204.1, and the calculated rock climbing route segment 206.1.”).
Regarding claim 3, and commensurate claim 13, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein determining whether the preset marking condition is satisfied includes: monitoring a marking operation; and in response to detecting the marking operation, determining that the preset marking condition is satisfied. (See at least paragraph [0106] “receive an input indicative of a route tagging mode of operation (block 402).This input may indicate that the user wishes to store a new rock climbing navigational data (block 402).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0108] “the climber indicating that he or she has reached the next rock face location via any suitable input (block 408).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0067] “processor 104 may recognize the sound of a carabiner clip being attached to a bolt located at a rock face location to determine that that the user of rock climbing watch 102.1 is located approximately at or near a rock face location of rock face 200.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0070] “if rock climbing watch 102.1 is within a threshold proximity to metallic objects typically present at rock face locations. In such a case, processor 104 may recognize this proximity as an input corresponding to the climber reaching rock face location 202, 204.1-204.N, or 210.”).
Regarding claim 4, and commensurate claim 14, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein determining the second three-dimensional position in response to the marking condition being satisfied includes: in response to detecting a marking operation, obtaining one first three-dimensional position of the one or more first three-dimensional positions that the user is located at when performing the marking operation; and determining the one first three-dimensional position as the second three-dimensional position. (See at least paragraph [0069] “Processor 104 may determine a current geographic location of rock climbing watch 102.1 using location determining component 112 and associate this geographic location with the rock face location at which the metallic object is sensed by one or more sensors of sensor array 108. Again, processor 104 may store this current geographic location in memory 118 or transmit this current geographic location to one or more backend components 180.”).
Regarding claim 5, and commensurate claim 15, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: receiving a target point editing operation; and editing the target point according to the target point editing operation. (See at least paragraph [0094] “processor 104 may access instructions stored in error correction module 124 to adjust rock face location 202, 204.1-204.N and 210 along rock climbing route 206 and/or the lengths of rock climbing route segments 206.1-206.M stored in memory 118.”).
Regarding claim 6, and commensurate claim 16, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: receiving a target point saving operation; and saving the target point according to the target point saving operation. (See at least paragraph [0069] “Processor 104 may determine a current geographic location of rock climbing watch 102.1 using location determining component 112 and associate this geographic location with the rock face location at which the metallic object is sensed by one or more sensors of sensor array 108. Again, processor 104 may store this current geographic location in memory 118 or transmit this current geographic location to one or more backend components 180.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0025] “The rock climbing watches 102.1-102.N may, upon completion of the climb, automatically store, share or upload stored rock climbing navigational data to one or more external computing devices 150 and to one or more backend computing devices 180 accessible by the other climbers.”).
Regarding claim 7, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: receiving a route saving operation; and saving the three-dimensional climbing route according to the route saving operation. (See at least paragraph [0025] “The rock climbing watches 102.1-102.N may, upon completion of the climb, automatically store, share or upload stored rock climbing navigational data to one or more external computing devices 150 and to one or more backend computing devices 180 accessible by the other climbers.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0110] “storing the base location, angles between each of the rock face locations (and base and peak locations), and the distances between each of the rock face locations (and base and peak) as part of rock climbing navigational data (block 412). This may include, for example, calculating route segments and directions from a calculated mean, median or mode of angles using multiple sets of orientation data, as previously discussed with reference to FIG. 1 (block 412).”).
Regarding claim 8, and commensurate claim 18, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: receiving a perspective conversion operation; and controlling the display component to display at least one of the map information, the three-dimensional climbing route, or the target point, under a perspective corresponding to the perspective conversion operation. (See at least paragraph [0006] [0026] “a processor of the rock climbing watch may receive a user input from a user interface, a hands-free gesture, or metal detection of an object such as a bolt, indicating that the user has arrived at a rock face location. By storing the location of bolts, calculated angles between bolts, calculated distances between bolts, and/or measured sensor metrics, the rock climbing watch may store rock climbing navigational data may include rock climbing route segments extending between rock face locations. The rock climbing navigational data may be used by other climbers as a guide when traversing the same rock face.”).
Regarding claim 9, and commensurate claim 19, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the three-dimensional climbing route is one of at least one three-dimensional climbing route; (See at least paragraph [0008] “a processor may convert the route climbing navigational data into a three-dimensional rock climbing navigational map”).
the method further comprising: receiving a route selection operation; (See at least paragraph [0010] “The servers may aggregate or combine the received information to create a single set of route climbing navigational data and/or a single three-dimensional rock climbing navigational map..”).
determining a target route from the at least one three-dimensional climbing route according to the route selection operation; (See at least paragraph [0002] “rock climbing navigational watch and, more particularly, to a watch that guides climbers ascend or descend a rock face along one or more rock climbing routes”).
obtaining a position of a start point of the target route; and generating a navigation route according to the position of the start point. (See at least paragraph [0009] “As the climber reaches a starting location, which may be any rock face location (e.g., a base location, a peak location, or an intermediate location therebetween), the rock climbing watch may present information to guide the user from the current rock face location to the next rock face location along a rock climbing route by displaying a graphical directional indicator (e.g., arrow, text, etc.) and a distance to the next rock face location. An identifier, such as a number or name, associated with the next anchor location may also be presented.”).
Regarding claim 10, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 9, and further discloses further comprising: obtaining a target point position corresponding to the target route; and in response to detecting that the user has arrived at the start point, providing instructions to the user to climb according to the target route. (See at least paragraph [0112] “Method 500 may start when one or more processors receive an input indicative of a navigating mode of operation (block 502). This input may be received, for example, via a user selecting the appropriate option from a display associated with the rock climbing watch. This input may indicate that the user desires to navigate a rock face along a rock climbing route (block 502).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [Abstract] “The rock climbing watch may present information to guide the user along a rock climbing route by displaying a graphical directional indicator and a distance to the next rock face location.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0009] “the rock climbing watch may present information to guide the user from the current rock face location to the next rock face location along a rock climbing route by displaying a graphical directional indicator (e.g., arrow, text, etc.) and a distance to the next rock face location. An identifier, such as a number or name, associated with the next anchor location may also be presented.”).
Regarding claim 21, Morris discloses the claimed features of claim 1, and further discloses,
A route processing method comprising: obtaining a three-dimensional climbing route of a user, the three-dimensional climbing route including one or more first three-dimensional positions of the user during climbing; (See claim 1)
determining whether a preset marking condition is satisfied; determining a second three-dimensional position of a target point according to the one or more first three-dimensional positions in response to the marking condition being satisfied, the target point being one of a plurality of target points; (See at least paragraph [0048] “As shown in FIG. 2, rock face 200 includes a base location 202 at the bottom of a rock climb, a peak location 210 typically associated with an rock face location at the top of a rock climb, intermediate locations 204.1-204.N, and a rock climbing route 206 connecting the base location 202, one or more intermediate locations 204.1-204.N and the peak location 210. Rock climbing route 206 includes M number of rock climbing route segments 206.1-206.M between the base location 202, N number of rock face locations 204.1-204.N, and the peak location 210 of rock face 200. Rock face locations 204.1-204.N may coincide with the locations of preexisting bolts that may be used by climbers engaging in sport climbs. In embodiments, rock face locations 204.1-204.N may also coincide with the locations of traditional climbing gear (e.g., nuts, hexes, cams) accessible to a climber as he traverses rock face 200 in accordance with a traditional climb.”).
obtaining map information, the map information including a preset three-dimensional model; (See claim 1)
controlling a display component to display the map information; (See claim 1)
controlling the display component to superimpose and display the three-dimensional climbing route and the plurality of target points on the three-dimensional model according to the one or more first three-dimensional positions and the second three-dimensional position; (See at least paragraph [0008] “In embodiments, a processor may convert the route climbing navigational data into a three-dimensional rock climbing navigational map including rock face locations, calculated distances and angles between the rock face locations, and a rock climbing route between rock face locations. The rock climbing navigational map may be presented as a wireframe map, which may be rotated in all three dimensions, that accurately represents the path of the climbing route along the surface of the rock face.”).
and in response to receiving a perspective conversion operation, controlling the display component to adjust a display angle of the three-dimensional model. (See at least paragraph [0043-0044] “User interface 116 may be configured to facilitate user interaction with rock climbing watch 102.1. For example, user interface 116 may include one or more user-input devices such as an interactive portion of display 114 (e.g., a menu displayed on display 114), one or more buttons, crowns, knobs, switches, etc. User interface 116 may detect user interactions with rock climbing watch 102.1 such as button presses, a user twisting and/or pressing a crown, etc. In an embodiment, the user's interaction with rock climbing watch 102.1 via user interface 116 may result in processor 104 detecting one or more inputs and/or commands. Rock climbing watch 102.1 may perform various acts upon receipt of these input or commands, which are further discussed below.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESAM NMN ALMADHRHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666