DETAILED ACTION/
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/2026, 5/19/2026, 7/15/2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 22, 23 and others are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 7, “a first light-transmissive opening” should be “a plurality of the first light-transmissive openings” because Fig. 7 and ¶ [0072] disclose the isolation structure is surrounded by first light-transmissive openings and second light-transmissive openings.
Claim 22, line 7, “a first light-transmissive opening” should be “a plurality of the first light-transmissive openings” because Fig. 7 and ¶ [0072] disclose the isolation structure is surrounded by first light-transmissive openings and second light-transmissive openings.
Claim 23, multiple “second light-transmissive opening(s)” should be “first light-transmissive opening(s)”. As described in
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-3, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon (US 20180076270 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses (Fig. 5) A display panel (20, Fig. 3), comprising: a substrate (10); a pixel definition layer (350) located on one side of the substrate, wherein the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of first light-transmissive openings (352) that define pixel units; and conductive layers (171, 171) disposed between the substrate and the pixel definition layer; wherein the conductive layers comprise a first wire (171, Fig. 14), and overlapping positions between a vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate are different (Fig. 14), wherein an overlapping position of the overlapping positions is a position of an overlapping portion relative to a vertical projection of a corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate, and the overlapping portion is an overlap between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses (Fig. 14) the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first wire comprises a body portion and a branch portion the branch portion comprises a first connection subportion and a second connection subportion, the second connection subportion is connected to the body portion by the first connection subportion, the body portion and the second connection subportion extend in a first direction (body portion of 171 and protrusion portion of 171), the first connection subportion extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular (thickness direction perpendicular to layer surface of 171, 171) to a thickness direction of the substrate (Fig. 14); and a vertical projection of the second connection subportion on the substrate overlaps central areas (171 protrusion portion overlap central area of R) of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings (R) on the substrate, and a vertical projection of the body portion on the substrate overlaps edge areas (171 body portion overlaps edge area of pixel B) of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings (B) on the substrate; or a vertical projection of the body portion on the substrate overlaps central areas of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate, and a vertical projection of the second connection subportion on the substrate overlaps edge areas of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses (Fig. 14) the display panel of claim 1, wherein the pixel units comprise different types of subpixels (R, G, B), and overlapping positions between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and vertical projections of first light-transmissive openings corresponding to different types of subpixels on the substrate are different (Fig. 14); sizes of the first light-transmissive openings corresponding to the different types of subpixels are different (Fig. 14); and overlapping positions between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and vertical projections of first light-transmissive openings corresponding to the same type of subpixels on the substrate are the same (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 19, Kwon discloses (Fig. 5) A display panel (20, Fig. 3), comprising: a substrate (10); a pixel definition layer (350) located on one side of the substrate, wherein the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of first light-transmissive openings (353) that define pixel units; and conductive layers disposed between the substrate and the pixel definition layer, wherein the conductive layers (170) comprise a first wire (171, Fig. 14) and a second wire (172), and at least one of following configurations is satisfied: a vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate being located on a central axis of a vertical projection of a first light-transmissive opening (R, Fig. 14) in at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate; and a vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and a vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate being located on two sides of a central axis of a vertical projection of a first light-transmissive opening in at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 20, Kwon discloses (Fig. 14) the display panel of claim 19, wherein the first wire comprises a body portion (171 body) and a branch (171 protrusion branch), the branch portion comprises a first connection subportion and a second connection subportion, the second connection subportion is connected to the body portion by the first connection subportion, the body portion and the second connection subportion extend in a first direction, the first connection subportion extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a thickness direction of the substrate (Fig. 14), and a vertical projection of the body portion on the substrate overlaps central areas of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings (R) on the substrate; and a vertical projection of the second connection subportion on the substrate overlaps edge areas (edge of B) of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate; or a vertical projection of the second connection subportion on the substrate overlaps central areas of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate, and a vertical projection of the body portion on the substrate overlaps edge areas of vertical projections of at least part of the plurality of first light-transmissive openings on the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20180076270 A1)
Regarding claim 4. Kwon discloses (Fig, 14) the display panel of claim 3, wherein the pixel units comprise a first subpixel (R) and a second subpixel (B) and the first subpixel and the second subpixel have different emission colors; in an extension direction of the first wire, the first subpixel alternates with the second subpixel; and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate overlaps a central area of a vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the first subpixel on the substrate (R), and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate overlaps an edge area of a vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (B).
Though not disclosing an opening size of a first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel is greater than an opening size of a first light-transmissive opening of the first subpixel, Kwon discloses (¶ [0102]) the width of the opening varies according to the pixel size used. As such where there are general conditions of the claims (opening size difference) are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges (size difference between red and blue pixels) by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a size difference between the pixels red and blue as for optimal application.
Regarding claim 5, Kwon discloses (Fig. 14) the display panel of claim 4, wherein the pixel units further comprise a third subpixel (G), and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate does not overlap a vertical projection of a first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate; and the first subpixel is a red subpixel, the second subpixel is a blue subpixel, the third subpixel is a green subpixel, the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate is located on a central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the first subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14), and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate is located on one side of a central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (Fig., 14).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses (Fig. 4) the display panel of claim 5, wherein the conductive layers further comprise a second wire (172), and the second wire and the first wire are disposed in a same conductive layer (Fig. 5); and a vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate overlaps the edge area of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (172 overlaps edge of B), and the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate are located on two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (171, 172 on two sides of B).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses (Fig. 14) the display panel of claim 6, wherein on the two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate, an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate and an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate are the same; a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate is the same as a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14); at the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel, the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate are symmetrical about the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14); and an extension direction of the second wire is the same as the extension direction of the first wire (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon disclose (Fig. 14) the display panel of claim 6, wherein the conductive layers further comprise a third wire (first wire overlapping G pixel from left side of Fig. 14), and a vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate are located on two sides of a central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate (third wire and second wire on both side of central axis of G).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses the display panel of claim 8, the third wire and the first wire are disposed in a same conductive layer (¶ [080]), and an extension direction of the third wire is the same as the extension direction of the second wire Fig. 14), Kwon is silent regarding wherein on the two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate, an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate and an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate are the same; a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate is the same as a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate; at the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel, the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate are symmetrical about the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate;
Though being silent to the second and third wire are symmetrical about the central axis of the third pixel, Kwon discloses the wiring layer 170 may overlap and have a symmetric shape in the opening 352. As such, where there are general conditions (wiring lines overlapping the openings and being symmetrical about a central axis in the opening), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges (second and third wires overlapping the third opening and being symmetrical about the central axis of the third opening) by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.06
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select the implementation of the second and third wires to overlap the third opening and be symmetrical about the central axis of the third opening to optimize device applications.
Doing so would enhance the symmetrical flatness of the thin film to yield color uniformity over the display panel.
Regarding claim 10, Kwon discloses the display panel of claim 6, wherein at least one pixel circuit is formed on the substrate, each of the at least one pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor and a first initialization transistor (¶ [0085]), the first initialization transistor is connected between the first wire and a light-emitting element, and the first initialization transistor is configured to transmit a first initialization voltage on the first wire to the light-emitting element; and the drive transistor is connected to the second wire, and the drive transistor is configured to transmit a power voltage on the second wire to the light-emitting element to drive the light-emitting element to emit light (how the wires are configured to supply voltage is intended use and it does not change the structure of the wires).
Regarding claim 21, Kwon discloses the display panel of claim 19, wherein the pixel units (Fig. 14) comprise a first subpixel (R) and a second subpixel (B), and the first subpixel and the second subpixel have different emission colors; the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate is located on a central axis of a vertical projection of a first light-transmissive opening of the first subpixel on the substrate, and the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate are located on two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14); on the two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate, an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate and an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate are the same (Fig. 14); a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate is the same as a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14); at the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel, the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate are symmetrical about the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14); the first wire and the second wire are arranged in a same conductive layer (170); the pixel units further comprise a third subpixel (G) and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate does not overlap a vertical projection of a first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14); the conductive layers further comprise a third wire (the wire overlapping G pixels, Fig 14), and a vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate are located on two sides of a central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14, third line is the second wire from the two wires projectedly overlapping G pixel and the furthest away from the second wire);
Kwon is silent regarding on the two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate, an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate and an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate are the same; a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate is the same as a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate; and at the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel, the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate are symmetrical about the central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate.
Though being silent to the second and third wire are symmetrical about the central axis of the third pixel, Kwon discloses the wiring layer 170 may overlap and have a symmetric shape in the opening 352. As such, where there are general conditions (wiring lines overlapping the openings and being symmetrical about a central axis in the opening), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges (second and third wires overlapping the third opening and being symmetrical about the central axis of the third opening) by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.06
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select the implementation of the second and third wires to overlap the third opening and be symmetrical about the central axis of the third opening to optimize device applications.
Doing so would enhance the symmetrical flatness of the thin film to yield color uniformity over the display panel.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20180076270 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20260182175 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Kwon discloses the display panel of claim 4. Kwon is silent regarding wherein the conductive layers further comprise fourth wires, and the fourth wires and the first wire are disposed in different conductive layers; and vertical projections of fourth wires on the substrate are located on two sides of another central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, discloses five conductive layers wherein the fourth and the fifth layers including initial lines and power lines respectively and the fourth layer lines and the fifth layer lines are perpendicular to each other projected on the substrate (¶¶ [0162-0166]).
Adding conductive layers to distribute wiring in layers perpendicular to each other would minimize crosstalk and EMI (electromagnetic interference) thus enhance signal integrity. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add another conductive layer for power lines on the conductive layer of Kwon facing away from the substrate and having lines of the two layers perpendicular to each other projected on the substrate.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20180076270 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20260182175 A1) and Yang (US 20260033176 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Kwon in view of Zhang discloses the display panel of claim 11. Zhang further discloses the fourth wires are located on a side of the first wire facing away from the substrate (the fourth wire on the fifth conductor layer, ¶ [00169]); the conductive layers comprise a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer, a third conductive layer, a fourth conductive layer, and a fifth conductive layer that are stacked (; and transistors of a pixel circuit are formed in the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer (¶ [0019]); and the first wire is located in the fourth conductive layer (¶ [0026]), and the fourth wires are located in the fifth conductive layer (¶ [0029]);
Zhang is silent regarding on the two sides of the another central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate, an overlapping area between a vertical projection of a fourth wire on one of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate and an overlapping area between a vertical projection of a fourth wire on another of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate are the same; a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the fourth wire on the one of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the another central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate and a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the fourth wire on the another of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the another central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate are the same; overlapping portions between the vertical projections of the fourth wires on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate are symmetrical about the another central axis of the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate; a vertical projection of a fourth wire on the substrate covers the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate; a vertical projection of a fourth wire on the substrate does not overlap the vertical projection of the first light-transmissive opening of the first subpixel on the substrate;
Though not disclosing the fourth wire overlaps and symmetrical about a midline of the second opening, Zhang discloses (¶ [0136]) the need for arranging signals lines in such a way that their overlapping projection over a pixel opening is symmetrically about the midline of the pixel opening to avoid color cast. As such, another analogous art, Yang discloses (Fig. 6) a fourth line (71) projectedly overlaps symmetrically about the midline of second pixel opening (100B). It is predictable for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the symmetrical signal lines about a midline of a pixel opening for cast alleviation disclosed by Zhang in such a way disclosed by Yang. Such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the fourth signal lines’ overlapping projection on the opening of the second pixel as disclosed by Yang to the modified display of Kwon and Zhang to improve the color performance.
Regarding claim 13, Kwon in view of Zhang discloses the display panel of claim 11. Zhang is silent regarding the conductive layers further comprise fifth wires, and the fifth wires and the fourth wires are disposed in a same conductive layer; and the fifth wires are located on a side of first light-transmissive openings of the first subpixel and the second subpixel facing the substrate, and vertical projections of the fifth wires on the substrate are located on two sides of another central axis of a vertical projection of a corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate.
Though not disclosing the fifth wire overlaps and symmetrical about a midline of the first opening, Zhang discloses (¶ [0136]) the need for arranging signals lines in such a way that their overlapping projection over a pixel opening is symmetrically about the midline of the pixel opening to avoid color cast. As such, another analogous art, Yang discloses (Fig. 6) a fifth line (72) in the same conductive layer as 71 (¶ [0091]) projectedly overlaps symmetrically about the midline of the first pixel opening (100A). It is predictable for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the symmetrical signal lines about a midline of a pixel opening for cast alleviation disclosed by Zhang in such a way disclosed by Yang. Such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the fifth signal lines’ overlapping projection on the opening of the first pixel as disclosed by Yang to the modified display of Kwon and Zhang to improve the color performance.
Regarding claim 14, Kwon in view of Zhang and Yang discloses the display panel of claim 13. Yang further discloses on the two sides of the another central axis of the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate, an overlapping area between a vertical projection of a fifth wire on one of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate and an overlapping area between a vertical projection of a fifth wire on another of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate are the same; a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the fifth wire on the one of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the another central axis of the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate and a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the fifth wire on the another of the two sides of the another central axis on the substrate and the another central axis of the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate are the same; the vertical projections of the fifth wires on the substrate are symmetrical about the another central axis of the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate; an extension direction of the fifth wires is the same as an extension direction of the fourth wires (Yang: Fig. 6);
the conductive layers further comprise a sixth wire (Yang: 82, Fig. 6), and the sixth wire and the fourth wires are disposed in a same layer (¶ [0091]); and a vertical projection of the sixth wire on the substrate is located on the another central axis of the vertical projection of the corresponding first light-transmissive opening on the substrate (Yang: Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 15-17, 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20180076270 A1) in view of Shi (US 20240365594 A1)
Regarding claim 15, Kwon discloses the display panel of claim 1. Kwon further discloses (Fig. 14) the display panel further comprises first electrodes (191), the first electrodes are located on a side of the pixel definition layer (350) facing the substrate (191 on bottom of 350), and the first electrodes are exposed by the plurality of first light-transmissive openings (352);
Kwon is silent regarding the display panel comprises an insolation structure, the insolation structures are located on a side of the pixel definition layer facing away from the substrate, the isolation structures are provided with a plurality of second light-transmissive openings, and the plurality of first the pixel light-transmissive openings and at least part of the pixel definition layer are exposed by a second light-transmissive opening of the plurality of second light-transmissive openings.
Shi discloses (Fig. 12) isolation structures (901, 501) disposed at intervals on the pixel defining layer (30) between pixel openings (301) wherein non-light-transmissive openings are between the isolation structures and second electrodes (402) in contact with at least part of the insolation structures (402 on top of 501). The isolation structures allow separation enhancement between pixels to avoid crosstalk between adjacent light emitting devices (¶ [0153]).
As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the isolation structure over the pixel defining layer as taught by Shi into the pixel defining layer of Kwon’s display device to further enhance pixel performance.
Regarding claim 16, Kwon in view of Shi discloses the display panel of claim 15. Kwon further discloses (Fig. 5) wherein the display panel further comprises light-emitting function layers (360) and second electrodes (270), the light-emitting function layers are located on a side of the first electrodes facing away from the substrate (Fig. 5), the second electrodes are located on a side of the light-emitting functions layers facing away from the substrate (Fig. 5), and a second electrode of the second electrodes is located in a first light-transmissive opening and a second light-transmissive opening; and the second electrode is in contact with at least part of the isolation structures. Shi discloses the second electrode is in contact with at least part of the isolation structures (Shi: Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 17, Kwon in view of Shi discloses the display panel of claim 16. Kwon discloses (Fig. 12) at least part of adjacent second electrodes are insulated from each other; wherein the plurality of first light-transmissive openings are arrayed (Fig. 3) at least part of the isolation structures (901, 501) are disposed around a first light-transmissive opening, isolation structures corresponding to adjacent pixel units in at least a same row of the pixel units of the display panel are insulated from each other (¶ [0075]), and a second electrode and an isolation structure in a same pixel unit of the pixel units of the display panel contact each other (cathodes 402 may be connected thru the gaps, Fig. 4, ¶¶ [0129-0130]); isolation structures corresponding to adjacent pixel units in a same column of the pixel units of the display panel are insulated from each other or connected to each other (¶¶ [0074, 0132]); and an isolation structure of the isolation structures comprises a conductive material (cathode layer on top of 501, Fig. 14), and the isolation structure is further configured to transmit a power voltage to a second electrode of the second electrodes (this limitation is intended use, the isolation structure configured to transmit a power voltage does not change the structure of the display).
Regarding claim 22, Kwon discloses the display panel of claim 19, wherein the display panel (Fig. 5) further comprises first electrodes (191) the first electrodes are located on a side of the pixel definition layer (350) facing the substrate, and the first electrodes are exposed by the plurality of first light-transmissive openings; the display panel further comprises light-emitting function layers (360) and second electrodes (270), the light-emitting function layers are located on a side of the first electrodes facing away from the substrate (Fig. 5), the second electrodes are located on a side of the light-emitting function layers facing away from the substrate (Fig. 5), and a second electrode of the second electrodes is located in a first light-transmissive opening and a second light-transmissive opening; and the second electrode is in contact with at least part of the isolation structures. Kwon is silent regarding isolation structures, the isolation structures are located on a side of the pixel definition layer facing away from the substrate, the isolation structures are provided are provided with a plurality of second light-transmissive openings, and a first light-transmissive opening and at least part of the pixel definition layer are exposed by a second light-transmissive opening of the plurality of second light-transmissive openings; the display panel further comprises light-emitting function layers and second electrodes, the light-emitting function layers are located on a side of the first electrodes facing away from the substrate, the second electrodes are located on a side of the light-emitting function layers facing away from the substrate, and a second electrode of the second electrodes is located in a first light-transmissive opening and a second light-transmissive opening; and the second electrode is in contact with at least part of the isolation structures.
Shi discloses (Fig. 12) isolation structures (901, 501) disposed at intervals on the pixel defining layer (30) between pixel openings (301) and second electrodes (402) in contact with at least part of the insolation structures. The isolation structures allow separation enhancement between pixels to avoid crosstalk between adjacent light emitting devices (¶ [0153]).
As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the isolation structure over the pixel defining layer as taught by Shi into the pixel defining layer of Kwon’s display device to further enhance pixel performance.
Regarding claim 23, Kwon discloses (Fig. 5) A display panel (20, Fig. 3), comprising: a substrate (10); pixel defining layers (350) located on one side of the substrate, wherein the pixel defining layers comprise a plurality of second light-transmissive openings (352), and the plurality of second light-transmissive openings are in one-to-one correspondence with pixel units (R, B, G, Fig. 14) in the display panel; and conductive layers disposed between the substrate and the isolation structures, wherein the conductive layers (170, Fig. 14) comprise a first wire (171) and a second wire (172), and at least one of following configurations is satisfied: a vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate being located on a central axis of a vertical projection of a second light-transmissive opening (R) in at least part of the second light-transmissive openings on the substrate; and a vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and a vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate being located on two sides of a central axis of a vertical projection of a second light-transmissive opening (B) in at least part of the second light-transmissive openings on the substrate (Fig. 14).
Kwon discloses the pixel defining layer used to separate pixel, thus fails to disclose the pixel defining layer being replaced with an insolation structure. Shi discloses (Fig. 12) an insulation structure integrated (901, 501) with a pixel defining structure (30) to enhance crosstalk prevention (¶ [0153]), and (Fig. 14, ¶¶ [0185-0186]) the pixel defining layer (30) is made of the same material as the isolation layer (901). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the pixel defining layer of Kwon for the isolation structure of Shi to enhance optical isolation and crosstalk reduction.
Regarding claim 24, Kwond in view of Shi discloses the display panel of claim 23. Kwon further discloses (Fig. 14) the first wire (171) comprises a body portion and a branch portion (the protrusion portion of 171), the branch portion comprises a first connection subportion and a second connection subportion, the second connection subportion is connected to the body portion by the first connection subportion, the body portion and the second connection subportion extend in a first direction (Fig. 14), the first connection subportion extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a thickness direction of the substrate (thickness of substrate perpendicular to the surface layer 170); and a vertical projection of the body portion on the substrate overlaps central areas of vertical projections of at least part of the second light-transmissive openings on the substrate, and a vertical projection of the second connection subportion on the substrate overlaps edge areas of vertical projections of at least part of the second light-transmissive openings on the substrate; or a vertical projection of the second connection subportion on the substrate overlaps central areas of vertical projections of at least part of the second light-transmissive openings (R) on the substrate, and a vertical projection of the body portion on the substrate overlaps edge areas of vertical projections of at least part of the second light-transmissive openings (B) on the substrate.
Regarding claim 25, Kwon in view of Shi discloses the display panel of claim 23. Kwon further discloses (Fig. 14) the pixel units comprise a first subpixel (R) and a second subpixel (B), and the first subpixel and the second subpixel have different emission colors; the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate is located on a central axis of a vertical projection of a second light-transmissive opening of the first subpixel on the substrate (171 protrusion part projectedly overlaps central are of the first pixel’s projected opening), and the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate are located on two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (171, 172 on two sides of B); on the two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate, an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate and an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate are the same (overlapping area of 171 and 172 on B is the same); a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate is the same as a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the second subpixel on the substrate (overlapping areas of 171, 172 on B is symmetrical about the midline of B); the first wire and the second wire are arranged in a same conductive layer (170); the pixel units further comprise a third subpixel (G), and the vertical projection of the first wire on the substrate does not overlap a vertical projection of a second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate (171 does not overlap G); the conductive layers further comprise a third wire (one of the wire overlapping G, Fig. 14), and a vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate are located on two sides of a central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate (Fig. 14);
Kwon is silent regarding on the two sides of the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate, an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate and an overlapping area between the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate are the same; a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate is the same as a shortest distance between the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate and the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate; and at the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel, the vertical projection of the second wire on the substrate and the vertical projection of the third wire on the substrate are symmetrical about the central axis of the vertical projection of the second light-transmissive opening of the third subpixel on the substrate.
Though being silent to the second and third wire are symmetrical about the central axis of the third pixel, Kwon discloses the wiring layer 170 may overlap and have a symmetric shape in the opening 352. As such, where there are general conditions (wiring lines overlapping the openings and being symmetrical about a central axis in the opening), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges (second and third wires overlapping the third opening and being symmetrical about the central axis of the third opening) by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.06
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select the implementation of the second and third wires to overlap the third opening and be symmetrical about the central axis of the third opening to optimize device applications.
Doing so would enhance the symmetrical flatness of the thin film to yield color uniformity over the display panel.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20180076270 A1) in view of Shi (US 20240365594 A1) and Tang (US 20210336187 A1)
Regarding claim 18, Kwon in view of Shi discloses the display panel of claim 15. Shi further discloses (Shi: Fig. 12) wherein an isolation structure of the isolation structures comprises a support portion (501) and a crown portion (402 on top of 501), the crown portion is located on a side of the support portion facing away from the substrate, and a vertical projection of the support portion on the substrate is located in a vertical projection of the crown portion on the substrate; the isolation structure further comprises a root portion (901), the root portion is located on a side of the support portion facing the substrate, and the vertical projection of the support portion on the substrate is located in a vertical projection of the root portion on the substrate; and the isolation structures are further provided with isolation openings (openings on pixel layer 30 where isolation structures positioned), the pixel definition layer is exposed by the isolation openings, and the isolation openings and the second light-transmissive openings (openings between isolation structure (901,501) are spaced apart.
Shi is silent regarding the root portion comprises a conductive material.
Tang discloses (Fig. 2E) a structure (40,60,70,80) positioned on the pixel defining layer (50) and the root portion 40 is conductive (auxiliary source trace, ¶ [0036]) at the bottom of the pixel defining layer (¶ [0051]).
Artisans in the art would have appreciated placing a source trace at the bottom of the pixel defining layer would allow for direct and low-resistance circuit path from driving circuitry to the sub-pixels, ensuring efficient charge delivery to each sub-pixel. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the crown portion of the isolation structure with conductive material to function as a source trace. Doing so would provide stable power delivery to the sub-pixels, thus enhancing signal quality.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ke (US 20230072754 A1) discloses a display panel with metal parts arranged to overlap light emitting units symmetrically in a plan view.
Conclusion
/DTH/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898