The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of June 28, 2024 are under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one air nozzle” and “pressurized air source” in claim 1, the subject matter of claim 11, the “flow control and a valve” of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
See “at least one transport mechanism” in claim 1, with “mechanism” being the generic placeholder and “transport” being the modifying function. The specification discloses a tube.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A pneumatic transport mechanism” and “at least one transport mechanism”. This language renders the claim indefinite because it appears the claim is setting forth a transport mechanism that comprises a transport mechanism. The claim language should be amended to clearly set forth the structure required by the invention.
Claims 2-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by German Document (DE 4101257 A1, copy and machine translation attached, hereafter ‘257).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, ‘257 teaches a pneumatic transport mechanism configured to transport at least one container (“pneumatic tube cans”), the pneumatic transport mechanism comprising: a manifold (station 1) having at least one feed port (where nozzle 8 for inserting a ready-to-send pneumatic tube can meets plate 2), at least one inlet port (where end 4 of driving tube 7 meets plate 2 of station 1), and at least one outlet port (where end 5 of driving tube 7 meets plate 3 of station 1); at least one transport mechanism (pipe piece 16) having a first position adjacent to the at least one feed port and a second position adjacent to the at least one inlet port and the at least one outlet port (the pipe piece is movable on turntable (14,15) between positions by ring gear 20, pinion 22 and motor 21); an actuator (21) configured to direct the at least one transport mechanism from the first position to the second position; and at least one air nozzle (connection of tube piece 29 to pipe 7) connected to a pressurized air source and configured to blow pressurized air from the at least one inlet port to the at least one outlet port (the tube piece is connect to ends 4, 5 of driving tube 7).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, the at least one feed port and the at least one inlet port are on a first side of the manifold (as illustrated).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, the at least one transport mechanism is a tube (pipe piece) configured to receive the at least one container.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, ‘257 teaches at least one pass-through tube (pipe piece 17) having a first position adjacent to the at least one inlet port and the at least one outlet port and a second position away from the at least one inlet port and the at least one outlet port (when rotated by motor 21), wherein: the actuator is configured to direct the at least one pass-through tube from the first position to the second position, and the at least one pass-through tube configured to receive pressurized air from the at least one inlet port to the at least one outlet port in the first position. The pipe piece (17) would move by turntable and assume a position adjacent to the at least one inlet port and the at least one outlet port and then move again by the turntable to assume a position away from the at least one inlet port and the at least one outlet port. When in the first position, air would flow through the tube.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, the at least one transport mechanism is configured to receive the at least one container from the at least one feed port. The pipe piece would receive the tube can when rotated to a position under the nozzle (8).
Regarding Claim(s) 7, the actuator is a motor (as disclosed).
Regarding Claim(s) 11, the at least one air nozzle is oriented to release pressurized air from the at least one inlet port to the at least one outlet port. The tube piece (29) is shown connecting the two ends of the tube (7); therefore, the tube piece would be oriented to release pressurized air from the at least one inlet port to the at least one outlet port.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, the at least one air nozzle continuously blows pressurized air. Air would continuously move from end (4) to end (5) through the tube piece (29).
Regarding Claim(s) 13, ‘257 teaches an entry tube (upper portion of nozzle 8) configured to direct the at least one container to the at least one feed port.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, ‘257 teaches an air flow tube (the driving tube 7 after end 5) configured to receive the at least one container from the at least one outlet port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘257 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Batcheller (USPN 623970).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, ‘257 teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the actuator is a pneumatic cylinder. Batcheller teaches a pneumatic transport mechanism having a pneumatic cylinder (E) for causing rotation of tubes (D2, D3) supported on arms (D) about a rod (C’). As Batcheller shows a linear operating cylinder being used to generate rotational movement of tubes about an axis, the operation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a pneumatic cylinder for the actuator of ‘257 and the substitution would yield predictable results. The cylinder would generate torque to rotate the pipe pieces about an axis to align the pipe pieces with tubes.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘257 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of German Document (DE 3533776 C1, copy and machine translation attached, hereafter ‘776).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, ‘257 teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach a controller configured to send movement instructions to the actuator. ‘776 teaches a pneumatic transport mechanism comprising: a manifold (housing 1) having at least one inlet port (opening 14), and at least one outlet port (opening 15); at least one transport mechanism (carriage 18 having tube 27); and actuator (motor 37) and at least one air nozzle (connection of air pipe 34 to pipe socket 12) connected to a pressurized air source (air flowing in pipe socket 12) and configured to blow pressurized air from the at least one inlet port to the at least one outlet port [translation, “driving air is passed through the air duct 34 around the middle tube chamber 27”]. ‘776 teaches a controller configured to send movement instruction to the actuator [“drives of the support body 18 and slide 40, 41 are controlled automatically by an electronic control device”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller configured to send movement instructions to the actuator in order to automatically move the pipe pieces to the desired position.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘257 in view of ‘776 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Barrios (USPN 8641329).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, ‘257 teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach at least one sensor configured to: detect when the at least one container exits the at least one outlet port, and transmit a signal to the controller when the at least one container exits the at least one outlet port, which causes the actuator to move the at least one transport mechanism from the second position to the first position. Barrios teaches a pneumatic tube system having transfer units (12, 120, 200) for directing carriers between stations. The system has a controller and sensor to monitor passage of a carrier through a transfer unit and after sensing of the carrier, control the transfer unit to direct a new carrier. [Col. 2:60-67, “A computer control system generates control signals that allow for aligning the transfer tubes of the diverters with desired ones of the first and second plurality of pneumatic tubes. It will be appreciated, these first and second pneumatic tubes may each lead to separate system zones. However, it will be further appreciated that one or more of the tubes connected to the diverters may lead directly to a user station and/or a temporary storage location.”], [Col. 3:9-15, “In one arrangement, a sensor associated with the connecting tube allows for identifying passage of a carrier there through. In many instances, once a carrier has passed through the connecting tubes, the delivery and/or receiving diverter may immediately be redirected to align another transaction prior to the carrier reaching its destination. Such functionality typically requires the receiving zone to be applying vacuum.”],[ Col. 10:3-12, “The carrier passage sensor may also monitor for passage of a carrier(s) associated with alignment of the transfer tubes 124A, 124B. Referring to an example of where blower 22C provides vacuum to draw a carrier from TCU 14A, it will be appreciated that once the carrier passes by the carrier sensor, the relief valve (which is proximate to the sensor) may be re-opened to provide air. Further, the transfer tube 124A of the first diverter 120A may be aligned to process another transaction prior to the carrier being delivered to zone C”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a sensor configured to: detect when the at least one container exits the at least one outlet port, and transmit a signal to the controller when the at least one container exits the at least one outlet port, which causes the actuator to move the at least one transport mechanism from the second position to the first position. The sensor and controller would operate to automatically route containers to the desired destinations.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, ‘257 teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the at least one sensor is affixed to the manifold. Barrios teaches the sensor (as described above). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Moving the position of the sensor while retaining the function of the sensor would be nothing more than routine engineering practice of locating elements in the desired location. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to affix the sensor to the manifold as engineering expedient in order to detect the movement of containers.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘257 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Owens (USPN 7424340).
Regarding Claim(s) 16, ‘257 teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach at least one door affixed to the manifold. Owens (USPN 7424340) teaches a manifold (housing 150) having a door [Col. 5:9-10, “housing 150 with access door”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a door to provide access to the manifold.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 17-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 4516888, 4459069 discloses a manifold and transport mechanism. FR2359772 A1 discloses a manifold, transport mechanism and actuator.
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653