CTNF 18/758,354 CTNF 84150 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 01/16/26 is acknowledged. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2021/0402810) in view of Takahashi (US 2019/0329577) . Regarding Claim 1, Yamada teaches a recording apparatus (Paragraph 229) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (Paragraph 480, wherein there is a memory); and one or more processors that, upon execution of the stored instructions (Paragraph 480, wherein there is a processor that executes programs), are configured to: apply a foaming control liquid for controlling a foaming degree of a foaming particle (Paragraphs 475 and 476, wherein the foaming liquid can be controlled based on a foaming degree) and a colored liquid containing a color material onto a recording medium in which a foam layer containing the foaming particle that foams by application of energy is provided on a base material (Paragraphs 287-289, wherein the color ink is printed along with the foaming ink); generate a recording signal value for the colored liquid indicating an amount of the colored liquid to be applied onto the recording medium based on data of the colored liquid (Paragraph 228, wherein if there is a colored pattern associated with the colors, then the amount of colors are determined), and a recording signal value of the foaming control liquid indicating an amount of the foaming control liquid to be applied onto the recording medium based on data of the foaming control liquid (Paragraph 233, wherein the amount of the foaming ink is designated); and control an application operation of the application unit based on the generated recording signal value of the colored liquid and the recording signal value of the foaming control liquid (Paragraph 228, wherein the printer is instructed to produce the product according to the specified amounts of ink which corresponds to application of the ink), Yamada does not teach wherein, in a case where the data of the colored liquid indicates that a color of a first region and a color of a second region are a same color, and where the data of the foaming control liquid indicates a degree of causing the first region to foam is larger than a degree of causing the second region to foam, the recording signal value of the colored liquid are generated so that an application amount of the colored liquid on the first region is larger than an application amount of the colored liquid on the second region. Takahashi does teach wherein, in a case where the data of the colored liquid indicates that a color of a first region and a color of a second region are a same color, and where the data of the foaming control liquid indicates a degree of causing the first region to foam is larger than a degree of causing the second region to foam, the recording signal value of the colored liquid are generated so that an application amount of the colored liquid on the first region is larger than an application amount of the colored liquid on the second region (paragraphs 46-50, wherein the color is adjusted based on the foaming properties being used). Yamada in view of Takahashi are combinable because they both deal with utilizing color inks with foaming inks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yamada with the teachings of Takahashi for the purpose of reducing the impact of the color on the foaming (Takahashi: Paragraph 6). Regarding Claim 2, Yamada further teaches wherein the foaming particle are caused to foam by thermal energy (Paragraph 475, wherein the foaming ink is thermal), and wherein the foaming control liquid lowers a temperature where the foaming particle starts to foam (Paragraph 234, wherein a temperature is used to control the foaming ink). Regarding Claim 8, Yamada further teaches wherein the foaming particle is a thermally expandable micro capsule including a shell layer containing thermoplastic resin and a volatile material enclosed in the shell layer (Paragraph 333, wherein they are microcapsules). Regarding Claim 9, Yamada further teaches wherein the foaming control liquid is a foaming suppression liquid that suppresses foaming of the foaming particle (Paragraph 175, wherein there is a foaming inhibitor) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2021/0402810) in view of Takahashi (US 2019/0329577) further in view of Lootens (US 2025/0178972) . Regarding Claim 3, Yamada in view of Takahashi does not teach wherein the foaming control liquid is a foaming acceleration liquid that accelerates foaming of the foaming particle. Lootens does teach wherein the foaming control liquid is a foaming acceleration liquid that accelerates foaming of the foaming particle (Paragraph 55, wherein an accelerator can be used). Yamada in view of Takahashi are combinable because they both deal with foaming inks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yamada in view of Takahashi with the teachings of Lootens for the purpose of allowing the foam to be applied appropriately and uniformly (Lootens: Paragraph 55). Regarding Claim 4, Yamada further teaches wherein, in the data of the foaming control liquid, an application amount of the foaming acceleration liquid on the first region is larger than that on the second region (Paragraph 245, wherein the amount of one region of foam can be more than another region of foam and this can be applied to the foam inhibiting ink and therefore could be applied to the accelerator of Lootens). Yamada in view of Takahashi are combinable because they both deal with foaming inks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yamada in view of Takahashi with the teachings of Lootens for the purpose of allowing the foam to be applied appropriately and uniformly (Lootens: Paragraph 55) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2021/0402810) in view of Takahashi (US 2019/0329577) further in view of Kazaana (US 2023/0027651) . Regarding Claim 5, Yamada in view of Takahashi does not teach wherein the one or more memories store a plurality of pieces of conversion data for generating the recording signal value of the colored liquid from the data of the colored liquid, wherein the recording signal value of the colored liquid are generated using any one of the plurality of pieces of conversion data based on the data of the foaming control liquid. Kazaana does teach wherein the one or more memories store a plurality of pieces of conversion data for generating the recording signal value of the colored liquid from the data of the colored liquid (Paragraph 76, wherein the color can be converted), wherein the recording signal value of the colored liquid are generated using any one of the plurality of pieces of conversion data based on the data of the foaming control liquid (Paragraphs 76-80, wherein the color data is converted accordingly to be able to reproduce the color ink). Yamada and Kazaana are combinable because they both deal with color printing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yamada with the teachings of Kazaana for the purpose of properly representing the color (Kazaana: Paragraph 80). Regarding Claim 6, Yamada in view of Takahashi does not teach wherein the recording signal value of the colored liquid are generated so as not to exceed a predetermined maximum application amount. Kazaana does teach wherein the recording signal value of the colored liquid are generated so as not to exceed a predetermined maximum application amount (Paragraphs 115-121, wherein the threshold of each color is determined). Yamada and Kazaana are combinable because they both deal with color printing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yamada with the teachings of Kazaana for the purpose of properly representing the color (Kazaana: Paragraph 80) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2021/0402810) in view of Takahashi (US 2019/0329577) further in view of Morovic (US 2017/0318186) . Regarding Claim 7, Yamada in view of Takahashi does not teach wherein, in the data of the foaming control liquid, a pixel, as an edge region, which is an outermost pixel in a region to which the foaming control liquid is to be applied and to which the colored liquid is to be applied, is detected and a region that is not the edge region in the region to which the foaming control liquid is to be applied, as a non-edge region, is detected, and the recording signal value of the colored liquid is generated so that an application amount of the colored liquid on the edge region is larger than that on the non-edge region. Morovic does teach wherein, in the data of the foaming control liquid, a pixel, as an edge region, which is an outermost pixel in a region to which the foaming control liquid is to be applied and to which the colored liquid is to be applied, is detected and a region that is not the edge region in the region to which the foaming control liquid is to be applied, as a non-edge region, is detected, and the recording signal value of the colored liquid is generated so that an application amount of the colored liquid on the edge region is larger than that on the non-edge region (Paragraph 44, wherein the color amount corresponding to an edge is determined and adjusted). Yamada and Kazaana are combinable because they both deal with color mapping for printing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yamada with the teachings of Morovic for the purpose of achieving the desired color at a given location of the object (Morovic: Paragraph 44) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of Shiba (US 20230271357) relates to processing color ink and foaming liquid. The additional cited prior art of Nishio (US 20220348026) relates to color edge control. The additional cited prior art of Yamada (US 20220105665) relates to color ink control as it relates to foaming control ink . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICHOLAS PACHOL whose telephone number is (571)270-3433. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th: 8-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, George Eng can be reached at 571-272-7495. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 2 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 3 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 4 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 5 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 7 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 8 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 9 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/758,354 Page 10 Art Unit: 2699