DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 28 June 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
In paragraph [0046], the specification refers to the “first end portion” by two different reference characters – 25 and 26.
The specification uses reference character 26 to later refer to the “second end” (see paragraph [0046]).
In view of this and the drawings, the correct reference character for the “first end portion” appears to be 25, while reference character 26 appears to denote the “second end”. Paragraph [0046] should be amended accordingly.
In paragraph [0052], the specification refers to “first end 25”. Previously, reference character 25 is used to denote the “first end portion”, while reference character 27 is used to denote the “first end” (see paragraph [0046]).
Given the context, it appears that paragraph [0052] should be edited to recite “first end portion 25”.
In paragraph [0056], the specification uses reference character 51 to refer to both the first electrode tabs and the electrode material. In view of the figures, the correct reference character for the first electrode material is 50 and the correct reference character for the first electrode tabs is 51.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "wherein the battery cell further comprises a deflection structure configured to deflect at least some of the electrode tabs away from the wall" in claims 1 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0223979, hereinafter Bai.
Regarding claim 1, Bai teaches a battery cell (30) (paragraph [0049] and figures 4-13).
The battery cell (30) comprises a housing (31 and 32) (paragraph [0050]). The housing (31 and 32) is a cylindrical member (paragraph [0051]) and thus necessarily comprises a lateral wall (see also figures 4-13).
The battery cell (30) further comprises a battery terminal (34) (paragraph [0050] and figures 4-7 and 9-13).
The battery cell (30) further comprises a main body portion (331, “electrode material”). The main body portion (331, “electrode material”) comprises electrode tabs (332) (paragraphs [0053, 0057] and figures 5, 6 and 10-13). A portion of the main body portion (331, “electrode material”) extends along the lateral wall inside the housing (31 and 32) (figures 5, 6 and 10-13).
The electrode tabs (332) are electrically connected to the battery terminal (34) (paragraph [0053]).
The battery cell (30) further comprises a limiting protrusion (311). The limiting protrusion (311) deflects the electrode tabs (332) inwardly in a radial direction of the housing (31 and 32) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059, 0063-0065] and figures 6 and 11-13). As such, the limiting protrusion (311) is a “deflection structure configured to deflect at least some of the electrode tabs away from the wall” of the housing (31 and 32).
Regarding claim 2, Bai teaches that the housing (31 and 32) comprises the limiting protrusion (311, “deflection structure”) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059, 0063-0065] and figures 6 and 11-13).
Regarding claim 3, Bai teaches that the limiting protrusion (311, “deflection structure”) is formed by a wall portion of the housing (31 and 32) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059, 0063 and 0064] and figures 6, 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 5, Bai teaches that the wall portion of the housing (31 and 32) forms the limiting protrusion (311, “deflection structure”) at one end of the housing (31 and 32) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059 and 0063-0065] and figures 5, 6 and 11-13).
Regarding claim 6, Bai teaches that the electrode tabs (332) overlap each other in a radial direction of the housing (31 and 32) (figures 6 and 11-13).
Regarding claim 7, Bai teaches that the housing (31 and 32) is cylindrically shaped (paragraph [0051]).
The housing (31 and 32) comprises an electrode assembly (33) (paragraph [0051]).
The electrode assembly (33) comprises the electrode tabs (332) (paragraph [0053]).
The electrode assembly (33) is formed by winding a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (paragraph [0053]) – therefore it is a “jelly roll type”.
Regarding claim 8, Bai teaches that the battery terminal (34) is provided on cap member (32) of the housing (31 and 32). Therefore, the battery terminal (34) is considered a part of the housing (31 and 32).
Regarding claim 9, Bai teaches an adapting piece (35), which serves to physically connect the electrode tabs (332) with the battery terminal (34) (paragraphs [0050, 0053, 0055]). Therefore, the adapting piece (35) is a “bridging material” structurally connecting the electrode tabs (332) and the battery terminal (34).
Regarding claim 10, Bai teaches that the adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) electrically connects the electrode tabs (332) with the battery terminal (34) (paragraph [0050]). Therefore, the adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) is electrically conductive.
Regarding claim 12, Bai teaches that the electrode tabs (332) space apart the main body portion (331) from the adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) (figures 5, 6 and 10-13).
The main body portion (331) includes a first electrode plate, a separator and a second electrode plate (paragraph [0053]). One electrode plate is considered the “electrode material” and the other electrode plate is the “another electrode material”.
As such, the separator and the “another electrode material” are spaced apart from the adapting piece (35, “bridging material”).
Regarding claim 13, Bai teaches a vehicle. The vehicle comprises a battery module (10) (paragraph [0048] and figures 1 and 2). The battery module (10) comprises a battery cell (30) (paragraph [0049] and figures 4-13).
The battery cell (30) comprises a housing (31) (paragraph [0050]). The housing (31) is a cylindrical member (paragraph [0051]) and thus necessarily comprises a lateral wall (see also figures 4-13).
The battery cell (30) further comprises a battery terminal (34) (paragraph [0050] and figures 4-7 and 9-13). A main body portion (331, “electrode material”) comprises electrode tabs (332) (paragraphs [0053, 0057] and figures 5, 6 and 10-13). A portion of the main body portion (331, “electrode material”) extends along the wall inside the housing (31) (figures 5, 6 and 10-13).
The electrode tabs (332) are electrically connected to the battery terminal (34) (paragraph [0053]).
The battery cell (30) further comprises a limiting protrusion (311). The limiting protrusion (311) deflects the electrode tabs (332) inwardly in a radial direction of the housing (31) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059, 0063-0065] and figures 6 and 11-13). As such, the limiting protrusion (311) is a “deflection structure configured to deflect at least some of the electrode tabs away from the wall” of the housing (31).
Regarding claim 14, Bai teaches that the housing (31) comprises the limiting protrusion (311, “deflection structure”) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059, 0063-0065] and figures 6 and 11-13).
Regarding claim 15, Bai teaches that the limiting protrusion (311, “deflection structure”) is formed by a wall portion of the housing (31) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059, 0063 and 0064] and figures 6, 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 17, Bai teaches that the wall portion of the housing (31) forms the limiting protrusion (311, “deflection structure”) at one end of the housing (31) (paragraphs [0054, 0055, 0059 and 0063-0065] and figures 5, 6 and 11-13).
Regarding claim 18, Bai teaches that the electrode tabs (332) overlap each other in a radial direction of the housing (31) (figures 6 and 11-13).
Regarding claim 19, Bai teaches a method for manufacturing a battery cell (30) (paragraph [0042]).
The method comprises providing a housing (31) and a battery terminal (34) (paragraph [0050] and figures 4-7 and 9-13). The housing (31) is a cylindrical member (paragraph [0051]) and thus necessarily comprises a lateral wall (see also figures 4-13).
The method further comprises providing a main body portion (331, “electrode material”) comprising electrode tabs (332) for electrical connection with the battery terminal (34) (paragraphs [0053, 0057] and figures 5, 6 and 10-13).
Bai teaches inserting the body portion (331, “electrode material”) into the housing (31) such that the main body portion (331, “electrode material”) extends along the lateral wall inside the housing (31) and a limiting protrusion (311, “deflecting structure”) deflects the electrode tabs (332) inwardly in a radial direction of the housing (31) (paragraphs [0051, 0054, 0055, 0059, 0063-0065] and figures 5, 6 and 10-13). The inward radial direction of the housing (31) is a direction away from the lateral wall.
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0145883, hereinafter Haraguchi.
Regarding claim 1, Haraguchi teaches a battery cell (10) (paragraph [0021] and figure 1).
The battery cell (10) comprises a housing (16) (paragraph [0021]). The housing (16) comprises a circumferential surface (“wall”) (paragraph [0034] and figure 1).
The exterior of the housing (16) serves as a battery terminal of the battery cell (10) (paragraph [0032]).
A negative electrode (12, “electrode material”) comprises electrode leads (21, “tabs”) (paragraphs [0023] and figures 1 and 3). A portion of negative electrode (12, “electrode material”) extends along the circumferential surface (“wall”) inside the housing (16) (figure 1).
The electrode leads (21, “tabs”) are electrically connected to the housing (16, “battery terminal”) (paragraph [0032]).
The electrode leads (21, “tabs”) are folded inwardly (“deflected”) in a radial direction of the housing (16) and the folded portions (21a) abut against the bottom (68) of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1). Given that the bottom (68) at least maintains the folded (“deflected”) orientation of the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) away from the circumferential surface (“wall”) of the housing (16), the bottom (68) is considered a “deflection structure configured to deflect the electrode tabs away from the wall” of the housing (16).
Regarding claim 2, Haraguchi teaches that the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a part of the housing (16).
Regarding claim 3, Haraguchi teaches that the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a wall and is connected to the circumferential surface (“wall”) of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1). Therefore, the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a “wall portion” of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Regarding claim 5, Haraguchi teaches that bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a “wall portion” located at one of two opposite end portions of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Haraguchi teaches that the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) overlap each other in both an axial and a radial direction of the housing (16) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Haraguchi teaches that the housing (16) is cylindrically shaped (paragraph [0033]).
The housing (16) comprises an electrode assembly (14) (paragraph [0021] and figure 2).
The electrode assembly (14) comprises the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) (paragraph [0023]).
The electrode assembly (14) is formed by winding a positive electrode (11), the negative electrode (12) and a separator (13) disposed between the positive electrode (11) and the negative electrode (12) (paragraph [0021] and figure 2) – therefore it is a “jelly roll type”.
Regarding claim 8, Haraguchi teaches that the exterior of the housing (16) serves as the battery terminal of the battery cell (10) (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Haraguchi teaches a method for manufacturing a battery cell (10) (paragraph [0042]).
The method comprises providing a housing (16) (paragraph [0042]). The housing (16) comprises a circumferential surface (“wall”) (paragraph [0034] and figure 1). The exterior of the housing (16) serves as a battery terminal of the battery cell (10) (paragraph [0032]).
The method further comprises providing a negative electrode (12, “electrode material”) comprising electrode leads (21, “tabs”) for electrical connection with the exterior (“battery terminal”) of the housing (16) (paragraphs [0032, 0042] and figures 1 and 3).
The method further comprises inserting the negative electrode (12, “electrode material”) into the housing (16), such that the negative electrode (12, “electrode material”) extends along the circumferential surface (“wall”) inside the housing (16) and the bottom (68) of the housing (16) deflects the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) inwardly in a radial direction of the housing (16). The inward radial direction of the housing (16) is a direction away from the circumferential surface (“wall”) of the housing (16).
Regarding claim 20, Haraguchi teaches a step of laser irradiating (“heating”) a bottom portion (“first end portion”) of the housing (16) to join the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) to the exterior (“battery terminal”) of the housing (16) (paragraph [0042] and figure 5A). The bottom portion (“first end portion”) and the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) are located at a common location (figure 5A).
Claims 1, 2, 6-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0063423, hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a battery cell (2) (paragraph [0096] and figures 13 and 14).
The battery cell (2) comprises a housing (30) (paragraph [0096]). The housing (30) comprises a peripheral surface (“wall”) (paragraphs [0096, 0097] and figure 13 and 14).
The battery cell (2) further comprises a battery terminal (40) (paragraph [0096] and figures 13 and 14).
A first electrode (“electrode material”) comprises electrode tabs (11) (paragraphs [0061, 0062] and figures 3 and 14). A portion of the first electrode (“electrode material”) extends along the peripheral surface (“wall”) inside the housing (30) (figure 14).
The electrode tabs (11) are electrically connected to the battery terminal (40) (paragraph [0099]).
The electrode tabs (11) are bent inwardly (“deflected”) in a radial direction (x-direction) of the housing (30) and the bent portions abut against current collector plate (20) (paragraphs [0073, 0089] and figure 3). Given that the current collector plate (20) at least assists in maintaining the bent (“deflected”) orientation of the electrode tabs (11) away from the peripheral surface (“wall”) of the housing (30), the current collector plate (20) is considered a “deflection structure configured to deflect the electrode tabs away from the wall” of the housing (30).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches that the current collector plate (20, “deflection structure”) is inside the housing (30) (figure 14). Therefore, the housing (30) comprises the current collector plate (20, “deflection structure”).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches that the electrode tabs (11) overlap each other in both an axial and a radial direction of the housing (30) (figure 12).
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches that the housing (30) is cylindrically shaped (paragraph [0097]).
The housing (30) comprises an electrode assembly (10) (paragraph [0096] and figure 14).
The electrode assembly (10) comprises the electrode tabs (11) (paragraph [0061, 0062]).
The electrode assembly (10) is a jelly-roll type electrode assembly (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches that the housing (30) functions as the battery terminal of opposite polarity to the battery terminal (40) (paragraph [0098]).
Choi teaches a second electrode comprising second electrode tabs (12). The second electrode tabs (12) are electrically connected to a second current collector plate (60) (paragraphs [0060, 0064] and figure 14). Choi teaches that the second electrode tabs (12) may be coupled to the second electrode plate (60) in the same manner as the electrode tabs (11) are coupled to the current collector plate (20, “deflection structure”) (paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it is understood that the second electrode tabs (12) are also bent (“deflected”) inwardly in a radial direction (x-direction) of the housing (30) and the bent portions abut against current collector plate (60). Thus, the current collector plate (60) is likewise a “deflection structure”.
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches solder (S) used to weld the electrode tabs (11) to the current collector plate (20) (paragraph [0069] and figure 3). The current collector plate (20) is joined to the battery terminal (40) by welding (paragraph [0091]).
Thus, the electrode tabs (11), the current collector plate (20) and the battery terminal (40) are all structurally connected together through welding.
As such, the current collector plate (20) itself, the solder (S) or the two together may be considered the instantly claimed “bridging material”.
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches that the electrical connection between the electrode tabs (11) and the battery terminal (40) is via the current collector (20) and the solder (S) (paragraphs [0060, 0065]). Therefore, both are electrically conducting. Further, both the current collector (20) and the solder (S) are formed of metal (paragraphs [0065, 0071]) and are thus understood to be thermally conductive.
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches solder (S), which is a paste (paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches that the second electrode and the separator are spaced apart from both the current collector (20) and the solder (S) in the axial direction (z-direction) of the housing at least by the electrode tabs (11) (figure 14).
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches a vehicle (5) (paragraph [0113] and figure 17). The vehicle (5) comprises a battery pack (4, “battery unit”) (paragraph [0113] and figures 16 and 17). The battery pack (4, “battery unit”) comprises a battery cell (2) (paragraph [0112] and figures 13 and 14).
The battery cell (2) comprises a housing (30) (paragraph [0096]). The housing (30) comprises a peripheral surface (“wall”) (paragraphs [0096, 0097] and figure 13 and 14).
The battery cell (2) further comprises a battery terminal (40) (paragraph [0096] and figures 13 and 14).
A first electrode (“electrode material”) comprises electrode tabs (11) (paragraphs [0061, 0062] and figures 3 and 14). A portion of the first electrode (“electrode material”) extends along the peripheral surface (“wall”) inside the housing (30) (figure 14).
The electrode tabs (11) are electrically connected to the battery terminal (40) (paragraph [0099]).
The electrode tabs (11) are bent inwardly (“deflected”) in a radial direction (x-direction) of the housing (30) and the bent portions abut against current collector plate (20) (paragraphs [0073, 0089] and figure 3). Given that the current collector plate (20) at least assists in maintaining the bent (“deflected”) orientation of the electrode tabs (11) away from the peripheral surface (“wall”) of the housing (30), the current collector plate (20) is considered a “deflection structure configured to deflect the electrode tabs away from the wall” of the housing (30).
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches that the current collector plate (20, “deflection structure”) is inside the housing (30) (figure 14). Therefore, the housing (30) comprises the current collector plate (20, “deflection structure”).
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches that the electrode tabs (11) overlap each other in both an axial and a radial direction of the housing (30) (figure 12).
Regarding claim 19, Choi teaches a method for manufacturing a battery cell (2).
The method comprises providing a housing (30) and a battery terminal (40). The housing (30) comprises a peripheral surface (“wall”) (paragraphs [0096, 0097] and figure 13 and 14).
The method further comprises providing a first electrode (“electrode material”) comprising electrode tabs (11) for electrical connection to the battery terminal (40) (paragraphs [0061, 0062, 0099] and figures 3 and 14).
Choi shows the first electrode (“electrode material”) inserted into the housing (30) such that a portion of the first electrode (“electrode material”) extends along the peripheral surface (“wall”) inside the housing (30) and a current collector plate (20, “deflection structure”) deflects the electrode tabs (11) away from the peripheral surface (“wall”) of the housing (30) (figures 3 and 14).
Therefore there necessarily is a step of inserting the first electrode (“electrode material”) into the housing (30) such that a portion of the first electrode (“electrode material”) extends along the peripheral surface (“wall”) inside the housing (30) and the current collector plate (20, “deflection structure”) deflects the electrode tabs (11) away from the peripheral surface (“wall”) of the housing (30).
Regarding claim 20, Choi teaches that the electrode tabs (11) are welded to the current collector plate (20) (paragraph [0069]).
The electrode tabs (11), the current collector plate (20) and the battery terminal (40) are located in a first end portion of the housing (30) (figure 14).
Choi teaches a step of welding the current collector plate (20) to the terminal (40) (paragraph [0089]). Given the location of both elements, this step is a step of “heating” of the first end portion of the housing (30).
Given that the electrode tabs (11) are previously welded to the current collector plate (20), this step is also a step of joining the electrode tabs (11) to the battery terminal (40) via the current collector plate (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0145883, hereinafter Haraguchi as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0266648, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 4, Haraguchi teaches that the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a wall and is connected to the circumferential surface (“wall”) of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1). Therefore, the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a “wall portion” of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Haraguchi fails to teach that the bottom (68, “wall portion”) comprises a chamfered portion of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Liu teaches a similar battery cell (100) comprising a cylindrical housing (10) (paragraph [0042]). Liu teaches a chamfer (133) at the interface between the bottom (13) of the housing and the circumferential surface (14) of the housing (10). Liu teaches that the chamfer (133) reduces interference between the battery cell (100) and an electronic device when mounting the battery cell (100) into the electronic device (paragraph [0050] and figures 5 and 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a chamfer at the interface of the bottom (68, “wall portion”) and the circumferential surface (“wall”) of Haraguchi’s battery cell for the purpose of reducing interference when mounting Haraguchi’s battery cell in an electronic device.
In the combination of Haraguchi and Liu, the bottom (68, “wall portion”) would comprise a chamfered portion of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0223979, hereinafter Bai as applied to claims 9 and 19 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. No. 2024/0063423, hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claim 11, Bai teaches an adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) connecting the electrode tabs (332) with the battery terminal (34) (paragraphs [0045, 0053]).
Bai does not specify how the electrode tabs (332) are connected to the adapting piece (35, “bridging material”).
Bai fails to teach that the adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) comprises a paste.
The use of solder to bond electrode tabs and current collectors is well-known in the art. See, e.g. Choi who teaches an analogous cylindrical battery cell (2) comprising electrode tabs (11), current collector plate (20) and battery terminal (40) (paragraphs [0096, 0099] and figures 13 and 14). The current collector plate (20) electrically connects the electrode tabs (11) to battery terminal (40). Choi teaches using solder paste (S) to weld the electrode tabs (11) to the current collector plate (20), because this allows for welding at a lower temperature and prevents welding splatter (paragraphs [0069, 0070] and figure 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use solder paste to form the connection between the adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) and the electrode tabs (332) in Bai’s assembly for the purpose of ensuring a welding operation without welding splatter.
In the combination of Bai and Choi, the adapting piece (35) and the solder paste (S) would be the bridging material structurally connecting the electrode tabs (332) and the battery terminal (34).
Regarding claim 20, Bai teaches an adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) connecting the electrode tabs (332) with the battery terminal (34) (paragraphs [0045, 0053]).
The electrode tabs (332), adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) and the battery terminal (34) are located in a first end portion of the housing (31).
Bai does not specify the manner in which the electrode tabs (332), adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) and the battery terminal (34) are joined to each other.
Bai fails to teach a step of heating of the first end portion of the housing (31) to join the electrode tabs (332) to the battery terminal (34).
Choi teaches an analogous cylindrical battery cell (2) comprising electrode tabs (11), current collector plate (20) and battery terminal (40) (paragraphs [0096, 0099] and figures 13 and 14). The current collector plate (20) electrically connects the electrode tabs (11) to battery terminal (40). The electrode tabs (11) are welded to the current collector plate (20), which is welded to the battery terminal (40) (paragraphs [0069, 0091]). Welding is a heating operation.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform welding (“heating”) of the first end portion of the housing (31) for the purpose of connecting together the electrode tabs (332), adapting piece (35, “bridging material”) and the battery terminal (34).
Claims 13-15, 17 and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0145883, hereinafter Haraguchi in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0181579, hereinafter Geshi.
Regarding claim 13, Haraguchi teaches a battery cell (10) (paragraph [0021] and figure 1).
The battery cell (10) comprises a housing (16) (paragraph [0021]). The housing (16) comprises a circumferential surface (“wall”) (paragraph [0034] and figure 1).
The exterior of the housing (16) serves as a battery terminal of the battery cell (10) (paragraph [0032]).
A negative electrode (12, “electrode material”) comprises electrode leads (21, “tabs”) (paragraphs [0023] and figures 1 and 3). A portion of negative electrode (12, “electrode material”) extends along the circumferential surface (“wall”) inside the housing (16) (figure 1).
The electrode leads (21, “tabs”) are electrically connected to the housing (16, “battery terminal”) (paragraph [0032]).
The electrode leads (21, “tabs”) are folded (“deflected”) inwardly in a radial direction of the housing (16) and the folded portions (21a) abut against the bottom (68) of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1). Given that the bottom (68) at least maintains the folded (“deflected”) orientation of the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) away from the circumferential surface (“wall”) of the housing (16), the bottom (68) is considered a “deflection structure configured to deflect the electrode tabs away from the wall” of the housing (16).
The battery cell (10) is a lithium-ion battery cell (paragraph [0019]).
Haraguchi fails to teach a vehicle comprising the battery cell (10).
Combining battery cells of the type taught by Haraguchi to form a battery module configured to supply electrical power to a vehicle is well-known in the art – see, e.g. Geshi (paragraphs [0022, 0025]), which is commonly owned with Haraguchi and shares inventors with Haraguchi.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a battery module (“battery unit”) comprising multiple of Haraguchi’s battery cells (10) and to configure the battery module (“battery unit”) as a power source within a vehicle for the purpose of powering the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Haraguchi teaches that the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a part of the housing (16).
Regarding claim 15, Haraguchi teaches that the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a wall and is connected to the circumferential surface (“wall”) of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1). Therefore, the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a “wall portion” of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Regarding claim 17, Haraguchi teaches that bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a “wall portion” at one of two opposite end portions of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Haraguchi teaches that the electrode leads (21, “tabs”) overlap each other in both an axial and a radial direction of the housing (16) (figure 1).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0145883, hereinafter Haraguchi and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0181579, hereinafter Geshi as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0266648, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 16, Haraguchi teaches that the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a wall and is connected to the circumferential surface (“wall”) of the housing (16) (paragraph [0032] and figure 1). Therefore, the bottom (68, “deflection structure”) is a “wall portion” of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Haraguchi fails to teach that the bottom (68, “wall portion”) comprises a chamfered portion of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Liu teaches a similar battery cell (100) comprising a cylindrical housing (10) (paragraph [0042]). Liu teaches a chamfer (133) at the interface between the bottom (13) of the housing and the circumferential surface (14) of the housing (10). Liu teaches that the chamfer (133) reduces interference between the battery cell (100) and an electronic device when mounting the battery cell (100) into the electronic device (paragraph [0050] and figures 5 and 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a chamfer at the interface of the bottom (68, “wall portion”) and the circumferential surface (“wall”) of Haraguchi’s battery cell for the purpose of reducing interference when mounting Haraguchi’s battery cell in an electronic device.
In the combination of Haraguchi, Geshi and Liu, the bottom (68, “wall portion”) would comprise a chamfered portion of the circumferential surface (“wall”).
Conclusion
/LILIA NEDIALKOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724