DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kalama et al. (US PGPub 20210217226), hereinafter referred to as Kalama.
With regard to claim 1, Kalama teaches a driving simulator (Abstract; Paragraphs 0002 teach the system is for simulating experiences including vehicles such as cars), comprising:
a control system including visual content (Paragraphs 0018, 0021-0022 teach the system includes narrative and image data for rendering a simulation including imagery (visual content));
a display connected to the control system to display the visual content (Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0026, 0033-0034 teach the system includes a plurality of displays and screens for presenting the simulation/imagery (visual content) from the control system);
a simulated vehicle environment (Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0002, 0026-0027, 0035 teach the system includes a simulation sled including a simulated environment such as the passenger area of a car/vehicle); and
a dynamic light system including a movable light source arranged to simulate an environmental light of the visual content (Paragraphs 0028, 0030 teach the system includes an ambient light generator which can include projectors, internal lighting, and external lighting wherein the lighting is movable relative to the simulation sled), wherein the movable light source projects light toward the simulated vehicle environment at a varying intensity and at different angles to simulate the environmental light when the environmental light is shown in different positions on the display (Paragraphs 0028-0030, 0033, 0043 teach the processor can control the lights to have a corresponding intensity, location, and/or movement corresponding to the generated or to be generated imagery wherein the screen can be angled, curved, domed, or the like such that movement can occur at different angles relative to the vehicle and wherein the lighting can be projected on the sled to illuminate parts of the sled/vehicle).
With regard to claim 2, Kalama further teaches wherein the movable light source includes at least one light that is movable relative to the display (Paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0042, 0043 teach the ambient light generator is movable relative to the sled and the sled is movable relative to the screen/display such that the lighting moves relative to the screen and generated imagery wherein the lighting can be one or several lights and/or projectors).
With regard to claim 3, Kalama further teaches wherein the movable light source includes multiple lights and wherein less than all of the multiple lights are used to simulate the environmental light at one time (Paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0042-0044 teach the ambient light generator can include one or several lights teach the processor can control the lights/one or several light sources such that the system includes multiple lights for the ambient light generator and/or projectors and can use only some of the lights to represent the objects, imagery, or effects at one time).
With regard to claim 4, Kalama further teaches wherein movement of the environmental light is simulated by changing which of the less than all of the multiple lights are used (Paragraphs 0025, 0028, 0030, 0042-0044 teach the ambient light generator can include one or several lights teach the processor can control the lights/one or several light sources such that the system includes multiple lights for the ambient light generator and/or projectors and can use some of the lights to generate and/or reflect objects or effects wherein as the simulation progresses some objects are destroyed/removed such that the ambient light would change based on which lights are on or off including dynamic shadows and illumination).
With regard to claim 5, Kalama further teaches wherein the at least one light is arranged between the display and the simulated vehicle environment (Paragraphs 0027-0028, 0030, 0034 teach the system can include the ambient light being external lighting outside the simulation sled wherein the lighting and/or projector is on the same side of a screen/display as the sled/vehicle).
With regard to claim 6, Kalama further teaches wherein the display is arranged between the at least one light and the simulated vehicle environment, and the display is translucent to permit projection of light from the at least one light through the display and onto the simulated vehicle environment (Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0027-0028, 0030, 0034 teach the system can include the ambient light being external lighting outside the simulation sled wherein the lighting and/or projector is on the opposite side of a screen/display as the sled/vehicle. While the reference does not explicitly state the screen is translucent, the screen must be translucent for the imagery and lighting to be visible).
With regard to claim 7, Kalama further teaches wherein multiple ones of the lights are used to simulate one environmental light source (Paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0030, 0039 teach the lighting can include one or several lights and/or projectors wherein some of the lights can be used to simulate a simulated light sources such as a sun, stars, moon, explosion, fire, etc.).
With regard to claim 8, Kalama further teaches wherein the simulated vehicle environment includes a housing with an interior arranged to simulate a passenger compartment of a vehicle, the housing has a windshield and one or more other windows through which light enters the interior (Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0002-0003, 0035-0037 teach the sled can be made to simulate a vehicle such as a car including a body (housing), windows, and controls).
With regard to claim 9, Kalama further teaches wherein the simulated vehicle environment is movable relative to the display to change the angle of the simulated vehicle environment relative to the display (Paragraphs 0025, 0039 teach the simulation sled can be movable within the simulation wherein the movement can be controlled by user controls including turning steering wheels such that the angle of the sled (simulated vehicle) would move relative to the display).
With regard to claim 10, Kalama further teaches wherein the movable light source includes an array of lights carried by a support that is movable relative to the display (Paragraphs 0025, 0027-0028, 0030 teach the ambient light generator (support) can include one or several (array of) lights and can be static or movable with respect to the simulation sled and thereby movable relative to the screen/display).
With regard to claim 13, Kalama further teaches wherein the movable light source is controlled by the control system to vary the brightness and angle at which the movable light source projects light (Paragraphs 0028-0030, 0033, 0043 teach the processor can control the lights to have a corresponding intensity (brightness), location, and/or movement corresponding to the generated or to be generated imagery wherein the screen can be angled, curved, domed, or the like such that movement can occur at different angles relative to the vehicle corresponding to the generated imagery).
With regard to claim 14, Kalama teaches a driving simulator (Abstract; Paragraphs 0002 teach the system is for simulating experiences including vehicles such as cars), comprising: a control system including a processor and memory programming that includes visual content (Paragraphs 0017-0018, 0020-0022 teach the system includes a processor and memory including narrative and image data for rendering a simulation including imagery (visual content)); a display connected to the control system to display the visual content at a first light output level (Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0026, 0028, 0033-0034, 0042 teach the system includes a plurality of displays and screens for presenting the simulation/imagery (visual content) from the control system wherein the system projects the imagery at a set intensity/brightness based on the data), the visual content including environmental scenery and one or more environmental lights (Paragraphs 0019, 0022, 0039 teach the simulation can include image data for objects, effects, and/or a narrative including environmental features including lights such as sunlight, explosions, and/or fire); a housing with an interior arranged to simulate at least part of a vehicle passenger compartment , a seat within the interior and one or more windows through which the display is visible from the interior (Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0002-0003, 0035-0037 teach the sled can be made to simulate a vehicle such as a car including a body (housing), seat, windows, and controls); and a dynamic light system including a movable light source arranged to project light at a second light output level that is greater than the first light output level (Paragraphs 0028, 0030, 0044 teach the system includes an ambient light generator which can include projectors, internal lighting, and external lighting wherein the lighting is movable relative to the simulation sled wherein the lighting is projected at a set intensity/brightness wherein the light can have a higher intensity than the generated imagery and/or be washed out), and wherein the movable light source projects light toward the housing and the movable light source is movable to project light at different angles to simulate the one or more environmental lights when the one or more environmental lights are in different positions on the display (Paragraphs 0028-0030, 0033, 0043 teach the processor can control the lights to have a corresponding intensity, location, and/or movement corresponding to the generated or to be generated imagery wherein the screen can be angled, curved, domed, or the like such that movement can occur at different angles relative to the vehicle and wherein the lighting can be projected on the sled to illuminate parts of the sled/vehicle).
With regard to claim 15, Kalama further teaches wherein the movable light source includes at least one light that is movable relative to the display (Paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0042, 0043 teach the ambient light generator is movable relative to the sled and the sled is movable relative to the screen/display such that the lighting moves relative to the screen and generated imagery wherein the lighting can be one or several lights and/or projectors).
With regard to claim 16, Kalama further teaches wherein the movable light source includes multiple lights and wherein less than all of the multiple lights are used to simulate the environmental light at one time (Paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0042-0044 teach the ambient light generator can include one or several lights teach the processor can control the lights/one or several light sources such that the system includes multiple lights for the ambient light generator and/or projectors and can use only some of the lights to represent the objects, imagery, or effects at one time).
With regard to claim 17, Kalama further teaches wherein movement of the environmental light is simulated by changing which of the less than all of the multiple lights are used (Paragraphs 0025, 0028, 0030, 0042-0044 teach the ambient light generator can include one or several lights teach the processor can control the lights/one or several light sources such that the system includes multiple lights for the ambient light generator and/or projectors and can use some of the lights to generate and/or reflect objects or effects wherein as the simulation progresses some objects are destroyed/removed such that the ambient light would change based on which lights are on or off including dynamic shadows and illumination).
With regard to claim 18, Kalama further teaches wherein the at least one light is arranged between the display and the simulated vehicle environment (Paragraphs 0027-0028, 0030, 0034 teach the system can include the ambient light being external lighting outside the simulation sled wherein the lighting and/or projector is on the same side of a screen/display as the sled/vehicle).
With regard to claim 19, Kalama further teaches wherein the display is arranged between the at least one light and the simulated vehicle environment, and the display is translucent to permit projection of light from the at least one light through the display and onto the simulated vehicle environment (Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0027-0028, 0030, 0034 teach the system can include the ambient light being external lighting outside the simulation sled wherein the lighting and/or projector is on the opposite side of a screen/display as the sled/vehicle. While the reference does not explicitly state the screen is translucent, the screen must be translucent for the imagery and lighting to be visible).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalama in view of Simmonds et al. (US 12,118,675), hereinafter referred to as Simmonds.
With regard to claim 11, Kalama may not explicitly teach wherein the support is moved by an actuator that is controlled by the control system. However, Simmonds teaches a light system for augmented reality wherein the projector can be moved by an actuator to reposition and/or refocus one or more projectors (Col 7, lines 36-45; Col 10, lines 18-38; Col 11, lines 4-28; Col 12, lines 9-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kalama to incorporate the teachings of Simmonds by using an actuator to move the projector of Simmonds for the ambient lights including the projectors of Kalama, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to simulation lighting systems using movable lights. While Kalama does not specifically teach the use of actuators, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Kalama by using an actuator controlled by the processor to move the lights according to the narrative data to correspond with the generated imagery objects and elements. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kalama would include wherein the support is moved by an actuator that is controlled by the control system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Simmonds with Kalama’s system and method as actuators are well-known in the art and in order to reposition and/or refocus the lights as desired.
With regard to claim 20, Kalama further teaches wherein the control system includes instructions to control the lights in accordance with movement of the one or more environmental lights (Paragraphs 0019, 0024, 0027-0028, 0039 teach the system can generate the light corresponding to the generated imagery including generated effects such as objects and environmental light thereby causing the lights to move corresponding to the movement of the objects/imagery) but may not explicitly teach wherein the movable light source is connected to an actuator that moves the light source. However, Simmonds teaches a light system for augmented reality wherein the projector can be moved by an actuator to reposition and/or refocus one or more projectors (Col 7, lines 36-45; Col 10, lines 18-38; Col 11, lines 4-28; Col 12, lines 9-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kalama to incorporate the teachings of Simmonds by using an actuator to move the projector of Simmonds for the ambient lights including the projectors of Kalama, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to simulation lighting systems using movable lights. While Kalama does not specifically teach the use of actuators, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Kalama by using an actuator controlled by the processor to move the lights according to the narrative data to correspond with the generated imagery objects and elements. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kalama would include wherein the movable light source is connected to an actuator that moves the light source and wherein the control system includes instructions to control the actuator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Simmonds with Kalama’s system and method as actuators are well-known in the art and in order to reposition and/or refocus the lights as desired.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalama in view of Simmonds as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jurik et al. (US PGPub 20160245490), hereinafter referred to as Jurik.
With regard to claim 12, Kalama in view of Simmonds may not explicitly teach wherein the support is one or more of rotatable about an axis, movable in a first direction along the axis, and tiltable relative to the axis. However, Jurik teaches a luminaire composed of a plurality of LED emitters/modules wherein the luminaire is mounted on a base wherein the luminaire can rotate and tilt the LED panel relative to the base (axis) (Paragraphs 0032-0033 , 0038-0039).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kalama in view of Simmonds to incorporate the teachings of Simmonds by applying the teaching of having a project/LED rotate and tilt relative to its base of Jurik to the lighting and projectors of Kalama, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to lighting systems using movable lights. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kalama in view of Simmonds by using the actuators controlled by the processor to move the lights including panning, rotating, and tilting the light and/or projector to follow the movement of the corresponding imagery and/or objects. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kalama in view of Simmonds would include wherein the support is one or more of rotatable about an axis, movable in a first direction along the axis, and tiltable relative to the axis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Jurik with Kalama in view of Simmonds’s system and method in order to reposition and/or refocus the lights as desired and accurately follow the desired lighting path to correspond with the imagery.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected.
/CORRELL T FRENCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3715