Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of SANO (US 20210234108) in view of SANO’24 (US 20240019970) further in view of NAKAYAMA (US 20170185187) and JP 2023075566 hereinafter JP’566 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second inorganic film " in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 and 3 are also rejected by virtue of dependency
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANO (US 20210234108) in view of SANO’24 (US 20240019970) further in view of NAKAYAMA (US 20170185187) and JP 2023075566 hereinafter JP’566 .
Regarding Claim 1 SANO discloses method for manufacturing a stretchable device, the method comprising: preparing a glass plate provided with an inorganic film (Figures 7-8, [0058] glass substrate-GL; [0041], [0042] insulating layer-51 covered with layer 52 made of Silicon). SANO discloses a stretchable resin layer (Figure 7-8, layer-4) but did not explicit disclose the resin base member and the array layer forming on the resin base layer.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, SANO’24 discloses forming a resin base member (Figure 5, [0039] , resin base meber-21); forming an array layer on the resin base member (Figure 5, [0039], array layer-30,); SANO’024 discloses a stretchable resin layer (Figure 5-, [0040], stretchable layer-20) and bonding a second stretchable resin to the array layer, wherein the bonding the second stretchable resin includes arranging part of the second stretchable resin in a through hole that passes through the resin base member and the array layer (Figure 6 , [0048], through hole-29 surrounded by hinges-23, stretchable layer-50 ).
Further re: the limitation SANO/SANO ’24 discloses that bonding a first stretchable resin to the resin base member from a direction opposite to a direction to which the second inorganic film is disposed relative to the resin base member (SANO , [0042], second inorganic film - insulating layer-53 covered with layer 54; SANO’24 discloses a first stretchable resin-20 to the resin base member-21)
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of SANO with that of SANO’24s bonding method of the stretchable resin plate with that to the array layer for the purpose of strengthening the attachment of the stretchable resin member through the base member to the array member.
SANO/SANO’24 didn’t particularly disclose that and bonding the part of the stretchable resin to the inorganic film. In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the art, NAKAYAMA discloses bonding the part of the stretchable resin to the inorganic film (Figure 14b, [0008], flexible substrate -43 is bonded to film-42), the inorganic film has a formation surface on which the resin base member is formed (Figure 14b, recesses are showing on the film-42), and the formation surface has a recess recessed toward the glass plate in the formation surface before the resin base member (Figure 14b).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of SANO’s film with that of the recessed film taught by NAKAYAMA for the purpose of bonding the resin base member with the formation surface minimizing less deformity in the product.
Further the above combination didn’t particularly disclose that removing the resin base member from the inorganic film by irradiating laser light from a glass plate side to a surface of the resin base member that is in contact with the inorganic film; In the related filed of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’566 discloses laser light is irradiated to ablate the surface of the substrate-30/ inorganic film to remove the substrate-21/resin base member (page 5, translated, [0043]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine SANO’s teaching for the purpose of JP’566 teaching for the purpose of ensuring a cleaner detachment process from the surface.
Combining SANO/SANO’24/JP’566 disclose in the removing the resin base member, the part of the second stretchable resin along with the resin base member is removed from the formation surface (resin base member-21 attached to the second stretchable member-50 is attached to the base member, SANO’024) this limitation is met.
Regarding Claim 2 NAKAYAMA discloses , wherein the recess is formed in the entire formation surface (Figure 14B, recessed surface showing on the film -42).
Regarding Claim 3 SANO/ NAKAYAMA discloses , wherein the formation surface has: a covered portion covered by the resin base member (Figure 14B formation surface of film-42 have the recessed surface; SANO teaches that the resin member -21 which combined with NAKAYAMA’s recess on the forming surface of the film can be modified with resin member of SANO ); and an exposed portion not covered by the resin base member, the part of the stretchable resin being bonded to the exposed portion, and the recess is formed only in the exposed portion (Figure annotated; stretchable portion-43 on the exposed portion and the recess formed on the exposed portion).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741