DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 28 June 2024. Claims 1-14 are pending in the application and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The last element of Claim 6 recites: “a window displayed on the a layer of the first screen area in the second display mode” (emphasis added). It appears that some words are dropped or missing or redundant.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other display area" at the end of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAKINEN et al. (US20200097052A1) in view of YILDIZ et al. (US20200133339A1) and further in view of ITO et al. (US20220129037A1).
As to claim 1, MAKINEN teaches:
an information processing apparatus comprising: a memory which temporarily stores a program of an application; a display; and a processor which executes the program of the application stored in the memory to perform control to display a window of the application on the display (see fig. 8, pars. 0080-0088; as taught by MAKINEN),
wherein the processor performs mounting detection processing to detect mounting of an external keyboard on a predetermined screen area within a screen area of the display (see figs. 1-7, par. 0065; where in the output generator 600 includes an example keyboard detector 602. The keyboard detector 602 provides means for detecting the position or placement of the keyboard 122. For example, the keyboard detector 602 determines if the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 close to the hinge 106 as shown in FIG. 5B. The keyboard detector 602 detects the position of the keyboard 122 on the first screen 102, the second screen 104, and/or off of either screen 102, 104 such as, for example, as shown in FIG. 5D; as taught by MAKINEN),
and a third display mode in which, when the mounting of the keyboard is detected by the mounting detection processing, the display is controlled using, as a display area, a first screen area as part of the screen area of the display except the predetermined screen area (see figs. 5A,-5F, par. 0057, wherein FIG. 5A shows the example electronic device 100 in a closed position similar to FIG. 1A with the keyboard 122 stowed therein. FIGS. 5B-5H show that the keyboard 122 may be used with the first screen 102 and second screen 104 in a plurality of positions. For example, in FIGS. 5B-D the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a first position near the hinge 106. In FIGS. 5E and 5F, the keyboard 112 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a second position further from the hinge 106 than the first position of FIG. 5B. In FIG. 5G, the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a third position further from the hinge 106 than the first position of FIG. 5B and the second position of FIG. 5E. In FIG. 5H, the keyboard 122 is positioned off of the first screen 102; as taught by MAKINEN).
MAKINEN does not expressly teach and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two or more display areas, and when arranging the window in the first screen area, the processor arranges the window on a layer lower than a window displayed on a top layer of the first screen area in the second display mode.
In similar field of endeavor, YILDIZ teaches:
and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area (and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area (see figs. 1-5, par. 0105, wherein during operation of IHS 100, an application or window may occupy a part of a display (“single display window mode”), it may occupy an entire display (“max mode”), it may span across parts of the two displays (“dual display window mode”), or it may occupy both entire displays (“supermax mode”). Moreover, when in a laptop or tablet posture mode, for instance, a user may place a supported physical keyboard 103, totem (e.g., a DELL TOTEM), or another accessory on the surface of second display 102. Additionally, or alternatively, the user may bring up an OSK on second display 102; as taught by YILDIZ),
a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two or more display areas (see figs. 6A-11C, e.g. Figs. 11A-11C, par. 0085, wherein in this state, display 102 provides UI features such primary display area 1101 and first ribbon area 1102, positioned as shown. As keyboard 103 is repositioned up or down on the surface of display 102, display area 1101, first ribbon area 1102, and/or touch area 1103 may also be moved up or down, or made bigger or smaller, by multi-form factor configuration engine 401; see also par. 0086, wherein in state 1100B of FIG. 11B, keyboard 103 is detected off of the surface of display 102. In response, first display 101 shows modified main display area 1103 and modified ribbon area 1104. In some cases, modified ribbon area 1104 may include the same UI features as area 1102, but here repositioned to a different location of display 102 nearest the long edge of keyboard 103. Alternatively, the content of second ribbon area 1104 may be different from the content of first ribbon area 1102. In some cases, the content and size of modified ribbon area 1104 may be selected in response to a distance between keyboard 103 and display 102; as taught by YILDIZ),
and in the display control processing, when switching from the second display mode to the third display mode, the processor arranges or minimizes, in the first screen area, a window displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode (see figs. 20A-20B, pars. 0113-0115, e.g. see par. 0113, wherein method 2000 determines a current posture of IHS 100 using data from blocks 2005-2009 by comparing the various current states of different IHS components to the corresponding states expected for each posture. Block 2011 determines whether: (i) the posture has changed; (ii) OSK mode has been brought up, closed, or changed, or (iii) keyboard 103 has been placed, moved, or removed; see also par. 0114, wherein block 2012 may calculate and apply a new workspace or desktop area by resizing and/or closing applications and windows using OS-specific (e.g., WINDOWS) API-based graphics (GFX) commands. Block 2013 may calculate and apply new ribbon area bars and components, with selected sizes and at predetermined locations, using the API to generate f-row UI commands; see par. 0115, wherein at block 2016, method 2000 determines whether an application has been opened, moved, minimized, maximized, or super-maximized. If so, block 2017 may calculate and resize applications and windows using the API, and control returns to block 2004; as taught by YILDIZ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MAKINEN apparatus to include the teachings of YILDIZ to display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area, a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two or more display areas, and in the display control processing, when switching from the second display mode to the third display mode, the processor arranges or minimizes, in the first screen area, a window displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as the inventors have determined that, as productivity continues to be a core tenet of modern computing, mobile IHS devices should provide versatility for many use-cases and display postures in use today (e.g., tablet mode, laptop mode, etc.), as well as future display postures (e.g., digital notebooks, new work surfaces, etc.). Additionally, mobile IHS devices should provide larger display area with reduced size and weight (see YILDIZ, par. 0004).
MAKINEN and YILDIZ do not expressly teach and when arranging the window in the first screen area, the processor arranges the window on a layer lower than a window displayed on a top layer of the first screen area in the second display mode.
In similar field of endeavor, ITO teaches:
and when arranging the window in the first screen area, the processor arranges the window on a layer lower than a window displayed on a top layer of the first screen area in the second display mode (see figs. 1-13, pars. 0042-0045 and 0114-0115, e.g. see par. 0042, wherein upon transition from the one-screen mode to the two-screen mode, the information processing device 10 adapts a window of an application (hereinafter simply called an “app”) running in the one-screen mode to a window of the first display area DA1 (primary screen). At this time, the information processing device 10 displays a window as an active window in the one-screen mode in the foreground as the active window over the entire display area of the first display area DA1 (full-screen display). Further, the information processing device 10 adapts a window as an inactive window in the one-screen mode to a layer behind the foreground in which the active window is displayed in the first display area DA1 in such a state as to maintain a layer relationship (the stacking order of windows) in the one-screen mode; as taught by ITO) [see also YILDIZ, figs. 20A-20B, pars. 0106-0109].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MAKINEN and YILDIZ apparatus to include the teachings of ITO to when arranging the window in the first screen area, the processor arranges the window on a layer lower than a window displayed on a top layer of the first screen area in the second display mode. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as the full-screen display of the active window is provided in the first display area DA1, and the inactive window is not displayed (cannot be viewed by the user) though it exists in a layer behind the active window, and can readily be activated if need be (see ITO, par. 0042).
As to claim 2, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 1. YILDIZ further teaches wherein in the display control processing, when an active window is displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode, the processor switches, to an active window, the window displayed on the top layer of the first screen area in the second display mode in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode (see par. 0108, wherein IHS 100 may bring up, hide, or resize an “f-row interface” comprising one or more of: a “system bar,” a “touch bar,” and an “activity bar;” as well as the contents (e.g., icons, keys, text, colors, images, suggestions, shortcuts, input areas, etc.) of each such bar. Additionally, or alternatively, IHS 100 may bring up, configure, hide, or resize OSKs, touchpad areas, scratch pad areas, or totem menus. Additionally, or alternatively, IHS 100 may reduce or increase desktop or workspace areas that span two displays, and it may move OS components, such as a taskbar and start menu, across displays 101 and 102; as taught by YILDIZ).
As to claim 3, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 1. YILDIZ further teaches wherein in the display control processing, when the display is controlled by splitting the display area other than the first screen area into two or more display areas in the second display mode (see figs. 6A-11C, e.g. Figs. 11A-11C, par. 0085, wherein in this state, display 102 provides UI features such primary display area 1101 and first ribbon area 1102, positioned as shown. As keyboard 103 is repositioned up or down on the surface of display 102, display area 1101, first ribbon area 1102, and/or touch area 1103 may also be moved up or down, or made bigger or smaller, by multi-form factor configuration engine 401; see also par. 0086, wherein in state 1100B of FIG. 11B, keyboard 103 is detected off of the surface of display 102. In response, first display 101 shows modified main display area 1103 and modified ribbon area 1104. In some cases, modified ribbon area 1104 may include the same UI features as area 1102, but here repositioned to a different location of display 102 nearest the long edge of keyboard 103. Alternatively, the content of second ribbon area 1104 may be different from the content of first ribbon area 1102. In some cases, the content and size of modified ribbon area 1104 may be selected in response to a distance between keyboard 103 and display 102; as taught by YILDIZ).
ITO further teaches the processor arranges or minimizes windows, displayed respectively in the two or more display areas other than the first screen area in the second display mode, on layers lower than the window displayed on the top layer of the first screen area in the second display mode in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode (see par. 0045, wherein inactive windows existing in layers behind the active window in the first display area DA1 (that is, real forms of inactive windows (real windows) displayed as thumbnails in the second display area DA2) may be stacked one above the other according to the priority in the same size as the active window in a manner to be hidden behind the active window, or may be stacked one above the other according to the priority in a size smaller than the active window. Further, all inactive windows existing in layers behind the active window in the first display area DA1 (that is, real forms of inactive windows (real windows) displayed as thumbnails in the second display area DA2) may be once miniaturized (for example, in a state where only icons exist on a task bar on Windows (registered trademark)), or when the thumbnail window is not displayed as a semi-transparent (see-through) display, it does not matter if the inactive windows are stacked behind the active window; as taught by ITO).
As to claim 4, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 1. YILDIZ further teaches wherein in the display control processing, when the display is controlled by splitting the first screen area into two or more display areas in the second display mode (see figs. 6A-11C, e.g. Figs. 11A-11C, par. 0085, wherein in this state, display 102 provides UI features such primary display area 1101 and first ribbon area 1102, positioned as shown. As keyboard 103 is repositioned up or down on the surface of display 102, display area 1101, first ribbon area 1102, and/or touch area 1103 may also be moved up or down, or made bigger or smaller, by multi-form factor configuration engine 401; see also par. 0086, wherein in state 1100B of FIG. 11B, keyboard 103 is detected off of the surface of display 102. In response, first display 101 shows modified main display area 1103 and modified ribbon area 1104. In some cases, modified ribbon area 1104 may include the same UI features as area 1102, but here repositioned to a different location of display 102 nearest the long edge of keyboard 103. Alternatively, the content of second ribbon area 1104 may be different from the content of first ribbon area 1102. In some cases, the content and size of modified ribbon area 1104 may be selected in response to a distance between keyboard 103 and display 102; as taught by YILDIZ).
ITO further teaches the processor arranges or minimizes a window, displayed in the display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode, on a layer lower than windows displayed on the top layers of the respective display areas inside the first screen area in the second display mode in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode (see par. 0045, wherein inactive windows existing in layers behind the active window in the first display area DA1 (that is, real forms of inactive windows (real windows) displayed as thumbnails in the second display area DA2) may be stacked one above the other according to the priority in the same size as the active window in a manner to be hidden behind the active window, or may be stacked one above the other according to the priority in a size smaller than the active window. Further, all inactive windows existing in layers behind the active window in the first display area DA1 (that is, real forms of inactive windows (real windows) displayed as thumbnails in the second display area DA2) may be once miniaturized (for example, in a state where only icons exist on a task bar on Windows (registered trademark)), or when the thumbnail window is not displayed as a semi-transparent (see-through) display, it does not matter if the inactive windows are stacked behind the active window; as taught by ITO).
As to claim 5, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 1. YILDIZ further teaches wherein in the display control processing, when the display is controlled by splitting the first screen area and the display area other than the first screen area respectively into two or more display areas in the second display mode (see figs. 6A-11C, e.g. Figs. 11A-11C, par. 0085, wherein in this state, display 102 provides UI features such primary display area 1101 and first ribbon area 1102, positioned as shown. As keyboard 103 is repositioned up or down on the surface of display 102, display area 1101, first ribbon area 1102, and/or touch area 1103 may also be moved up or down, or made bigger or smaller, by multi-form factor configuration engine 401; see also par. 0086, wherein in state 1100B of FIG. 11B, keyboard 103 is detected off of the surface of display 102. In response, first display 101 shows modified main display area 1103 and modified ribbon area 1104. In some cases, modified ribbon area 1104 may include the same UI features as area 1102, but here repositioned to a different location of display 102 nearest the long edge of keyboard 103. Alternatively, the content of second ribbon area 1104 may be different from the content of first ribbon area 1102. In some cases, the content and size of modified ribbon area 1104 may be selected in response to a distance between keyboard 103 and display 102; as taught by YILDIZ).
ITO further teaches the processor arranges or minimizes windows, displayed respectively in the two or more display areas other than the first screen area in the second display mode, on layers lower than windows displayed on the top layers of the respective display areas inside the first screen area in the second display mode in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode (see par. 0045, wherein inactive windows existing in layers behind the active window in the first display area DA1 (that is, real forms of inactive windows (real windows) displayed as thumbnails in the second display area DA2) may be stacked one above the other according to the priority in the same size as the active window in a manner to be hidden behind the active window, or may be stacked one above the other according to the priority in a size smaller than the active window. Further, all inactive windows existing in layers behind the active window in the first display area DA1 (that is, real forms of inactive windows (real windows) displayed as thumbnails in the second display area DA2) may be once miniaturized (for example, in a state where only icons exist on a task bar on Windows (registered trademark)), or when the thumbnail window is not displayed as a semi-transparent (see-through) display, it does not matter if the inactive windows are stacked behind the active window; as taught by ITO).
As to claim 6, MAKINEN teaches:
an information processing apparatus comprising: a memory which temporarily stores a program of an application; a display; and a processor which executes the program of the application stored in the memory to perform control to display a window of the application on the display (see fig. 8, pars. 0080-0088; as taught by MAKINEN),
wherein the processor performs mounting detection processing to detect mounting of an external keyboard on a predetermined screen area within a screen area of the display (see figs. 1-7, par. 0065; where in the output generator 600 includes an example keyboard detector 602. The keyboard detector 602 provides means for detecting the position or placement of the keyboard 122. For example, the keyboard detector 602 determines if the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 close to the hinge 106 as shown in FIG. 5B. The keyboard detector 602 detects the position of the keyboard 122 on the first screen 102, the second screen 104, and/or off of either screen 102, 104 such as, for example, as shown in FIG. 5D; as taught by MAKINEN),
and a third display mode in which, when the mounting of the keyboard is detected by the mounting detection processing, the display is controlled using, as a display area, a first screen area as part of the screen area of the display except the predetermined screen area (see figs. 5A,-5F, par. 0057, wherein FIG. 5A shows the example electronic device 100 in a closed position similar to FIG. 1A with the keyboard 122 stowed therein. FIGS. 5B-5H show that the keyboard 122 may be used with the first screen 102 and second screen 104 in a plurality of positions. For example, in FIGS. 5B-D the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a first position near the hinge 106. In FIGS. 5E and 5F, the keyboard 112 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a second position further from the hinge 106 than the first position of FIG. 5B. In FIG. 5G, the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a third position further from the hinge 106 than the first position of FIG. 5B and the second position of FIG. 5E. In FIG. 5H, the keyboard 122 is positioned off of the first screen 102; as taught by MAKINEN).
MAKINEN does not expressly teach and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area, a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two or more display areas, and in the display control processing, when an active window is displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode upon switching from the second display mode to the third display mode, the processor switches, to an active window, a window displayed on the a layer of the first screen area in the second display mode.
In similar field of endeavor, YILDIZ teaches:
and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area (and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area (see figs. 1-5, par. 0105, wherein during operation of IHS 100, an application or window may occupy a part of a display (“single display window mode”), it may occupy an entire display (“max mode”), it may span across parts of the two displays (“dual display window mode”), or it may occupy both entire displays (“supermax mode”). Moreover, when in a laptop or tablet posture mode, for instance, a user may place a supported physical keyboard 103, totem (e.g., a DELL TOTEM), or another accessory on the surface of second display 102. Additionally, or alternatively, the user may bring up an OSK on second display 102; as taught by YILDIZ),
a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two or more display areas (see figs. 6A-11C, e.g. Figs. 11A-11C, par. 0085, wherein in this state, display 102 provides UI features such primary display area 1101 and first ribbon area 1102, positioned as shown. As keyboard 103 is repositioned up or down on the surface of display 102, display area 1101, first ribbon area 1102, and/or touch area 1103 may also be moved up or down, or made bigger or smaller, by multi-form factor configuration engine 401; see also par. 0086, wherein in state 1100B of FIG. 11B, keyboard 103 is detected off of the surface of display 102. In response, first display 101 shows modified main display area 1103 and modified ribbon area 1104. In some cases, modified ribbon area 1104 may include the same UI features as area 1102, but here repositioned to a different location of display 102 nearest the long edge of keyboard 103. Alternatively, the content of second ribbon area 1104 may be different from the content of first ribbon area 1102. In some cases, the content and size of modified ribbon area 1104 may be selected in response to a distance between keyboard 103 and display 102; as taught by YILDIZ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MAKINEN apparatus to include the teachings of YILDIZ to display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area, a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two or more display areas. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as the inventors have determined that, as productivity continues to be a core tenet of modern computing, mobile IHS devices should provide versatility for many use-cases and display postures in use today (e.g., tablet mode, laptop mode, etc.), as well as future display postures (e.g., digital notebooks, new work surfaces, etc.). Additionally, mobile IHS devices should provide larger display area with reduced size and weight (see YILDIZ, par. 0004).
MAKINEN and YILDIZ do not expressly teach and in the display control processing, when an active window is displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode upon switching from the second display mode to the third display mode, the processor switches, to an active window, a window displayed on the a layer of the first screen area in the second display mode.
In similar field of endeavor, ITO teaches:
and in the display control processing, when an active window is displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode upon switching from the second display mode to the third display mode, the processor switches, to an active window, a window displayed on the a layer of the first screen area in the second display mode (see figs. 1-13, pars. 0042-0045 and 0114-0115, e.g. see fig. 5, par. 0042, wherein upon transition from the one-screen mode to the two-screen mode, the information processing device 10 adapts a window of an application (hereinafter simply called an “app”) running in the one-screen mode to a window of the first display area DA1 (primary screen). At this time, the information processing device 10 displays a window as an active window in the one-screen mode in the foreground as the active window over the entire display area of the first display area DA1 (full-screen display). Further, the information processing device 10 adapts a window as an inactive window in the one-screen mode to a layer behind the foreground in which the active window is displayed in the first display area DA1 in such a state as to maintain a layer relationship (the stacking order of windows) in the one-screen mode; as taught by ITO).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MAKINEN and YILDIZ apparatus to include the teachings of ITO where in the display control processing, when an active window is displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in the second display mode upon switching from the second display mode to the third display mode, the processor switches, to an active window, a window displayed on the a layer of the first screen area in the second display mode. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as the full-screen display of the active window is provided in the first display area DA1, and the inactive window is not displayed (cannot be viewed by the user) though it exists in a layer behind the active window, and can readily be activated if need be (see ITO, par. 0042).
As to claim 7, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 6. YILDIZ further teaches wherein in the display control processing, when the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two display areas in the second display mode, the processor splits the first screen area into two display areas to display, in one display area of the two display areas, a window displayed in the first screen area in the second display mode, and display, in the other display area, a window displayed in a display area other than the first screen area in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode (see figs. 6A-11C, e.g. Figs. 11A-11C, par. 0085, wherein in this state, display 102 provides UI features such primary display area 1101 and first ribbon area 1102, positioned as shown. As keyboard 103 is repositioned up or down on the surface of display 102, display area 1101, first ribbon area 1102, and/or touch area 1103 may also be moved up or down, or made bigger or smaller, by multi-form factor configuration engine 401; see also par. 0086, wherein in state 1100B of FIG. 11B, keyboard 103 is detected off of the surface of display 102. In response, first display 101 shows modified main display area 1103 and modified ribbon area 1104. In some cases, modified ribbon area 1104 may include the same UI features as area 1102, but here repositioned to a different location of display 102 nearest the long edge of keyboard 103. Alternatively, the content of second ribbon area 1104 may be different from the content of first ribbon area 1102. In some cases, the content and size of modified ribbon area 1104 may be selected in response to a distance between keyboard 103 and display 102; as taught by YILDIZ).
As to claim 8, MAKINEN teaches:
an information processing apparatus comprising: a memory which temporarily stores a program of an application; a display; and a processor which executes the program of the application stored in the memory to perform control to display a window of the application on the display (see fig. 8, pars. 0080-0088; as taught by MAKINEN),
wherein the processor performs mounting detection processing to detect mounting of an external keyboard on a predetermined screen area within a screen area of the display (see figs. 1-7, par. 0065; where in the output generator 600 includes an example keyboard detector 602. The keyboard detector 602 provides means for detecting the position or placement of the keyboard 122. For example, the keyboard detector 602 determines if the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 close to the hinge 106 as shown in FIG. 5B. The keyboard detector 602 detects the position of the keyboard 122 on the first screen 102, the second screen 104, and/or off of either screen 102, 104 such as, for example, as shown in FIG. 5D; as taught by MAKINEN),
and a third display mode in which, when the mounting of the keyboard is detected by the mounting detection processing, the display is controlled using, as a display area (see figs. 5A,-5F, par. 0057, wherein FIG. 5A shows the example electronic device 100 in a closed position similar to FIG. 1A with the keyboard 122 stowed therein. FIGS. 5B-5H show that the keyboard 122 may be used with the first screen 102 and second screen 104 in a plurality of positions. For example, in FIGS. 5B-D the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a first position near the hinge 106. In FIGS. 5E and 5F, the keyboard 112 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a second position further from the hinge 106 than the first position of FIG. 5B. In FIG. 5G, the keyboard 122 is positioned on the first screen 102 in a third position further from the hinge 106 than the first position of FIG. 5B and the second position of FIG. 5E. In FIG. 5H, the keyboard 122 is positioned off of the first screen 102; as taught by MAKINEN).
MAKINEN does not expressly teach and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area, a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two display areas of a first screen area that does not contain the predetermined screen area and a second screen area that contains the predetermined screen area, only the first screen area of the first screen area and the second screen area, and in the display control processing, the processor splits the first screen area into two display areas in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode to display, in one display area of the two display areas, a window displayed in the first screen area in the second display mode, and display, in the other display area, a window displayed in the second screen area.
In similar field of endeavor, YILDIZ teaches:
and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area (and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area (see figs. 1-5, par. 0105, wherein during operation of IHS 100, an application or window may occupy a part of a display (“single display window mode”), it may occupy an entire display (“max mode”), it may span across parts of the two displays (“dual display window mode”), or it may occupy both entire displays (“supermax mode”). Moreover, when in a laptop or tablet posture mode, for instance, a user may place a supported physical keyboard 103, totem (e.g., a DELL TOTEM), or another accessory on the surface of second display 102. Additionally, or alternatively, the user may bring up an OSK on second display 102; as taught by YILDIZ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MAKINEN apparatus to include the teachings of YILDIZ and display control processing to control switching among a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as the inventors have determined that, as productivity continues to be a core tenet of modern computing, mobile IHS devices should provide versatility for many use-cases and display postures in use today (e.g., tablet mode, laptop mode, etc.), as well as future display postures (e.g., digital notebooks, new work surfaces, etc.). Additionally, mobile IHS devices should provide larger display area with reduced size and weight (see YILDIZ, par. 0004).
MAKINEN and YILDIZ do not expressly teach a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two display areas of a first screen area that does not contain the predetermined screen area and a second screen area that contains the predetermined screen area, only the first screen area of the first screen area and the second screen area, and in the display control processing, the processor splits the first screen area into two display areas in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode to display, in one display area of the two display areas, a window displayed in the first screen area in the second display mode, and display, in the other display area, a window displayed in the second screen area.
In similar field of endeavor, ITO teaches:
a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two display areas of a first screen area that does not contain the predetermined screen area and a second screen area that contains the predetermined screen area (see fig. 5, pars. 0054-0073, e.g. par. 0059, wherein display mode (c-2) is a display mode in the bent state (Bent form) and the two-screen mode, and the orientation of the information processing device is the same but different in that an external physical keyboard is connected. This usage form is in such a state that the keyboard is connected in the general usage form of the clamshell PC. For example, the external keyboard (Dockable mini KBD (KeyBorD)) connectable to the information processing device 10 is substantially equivalent in size to the second display area DA2 and placed on the second display area DA2 to realize a usage form similar to that of a traditional clamshell PC equipped originally with a physical keyboard. The information processing device 10 and the external keyboard are connected, for example, through Bluetooth (registered trademark). In this display mode (c-2), for example, the information processing device 10 is in such a two-screen display mode that the first display area DA1 is set as the primary screen and the second display area DA2 is set as the secondary screen in normal operating conditions. However, since the second display area DA2 becomes invisible by the keyboard, a black display is provided or the display is turned off; as taught by ITO),
only the first screen area of the first screen area and the second screen area, and in the display control processing, the processor splits the first screen area into two display areas in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode to display, in one display area of the two display areas, a window displayed in the first screen area in the second display mode, and display, in the other display area, a window displayed in the second screen area (see figs. 1-13, pars. 0131-0148, e.g. see figs. 5 and 10, par. 131, wherein the information processing device 10 according to the present embodiment can control display in two or more display areas which do not overlap each other and include at least the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2; see also par. 0136, wherein since the information processing device 10 can not only display an active window on the primary screen, but also can display two or more windows other than the active window on the secondary screen in a list of thumbnail images, other running apps can be checked easily and this is convenient to use; as taught by ITO).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MAKINEN and YILDIZ apparatus to include the teachings of ITO where a second display mode in which the display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into two display areas of a first screen area that does not contain the predetermined screen area and a second screen area that contains the predetermined screen area, only the first screen area of the first screen area and the second screen area, and in the display control processing, the processor splits the first screen area into two display areas in response to switching from the second display mode to the third display mode to display, in one display area of the two display areas, a window displayed in the first screen area in the second display mode, and display, in the other display area, a window displayed in the second screen area. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as upon the transition from the one-screen mode to the two or more screen modes, the information processing device can not only use the running app displayed in the active window continuously on the primary screen, but also can check other running apps easily on the secondary screens, so it is convenient to use. Thus, the information processing device can make more effective use of the two or more display areas (see ITO, par. 0134).
As to claim 9, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 1. YILDIZ further teaches wherein when the display mode is controlled to the third display mode by the display control processing, the processor controls a display area that contains at least the predetermined screen area to black display or display off (see figs. 1-5, par. 0068, wherein in response to detecting, via display and/or hinge sensors 406/407, that IHS 100 has assumed a laptop posture from a closed or “off” posture, GUI OUT 403 may allow a full-screen desktop image, received as GUI IN 402, to be displayed first display 101 while second display 102 remains turned off or darkened; as taught by YILDIZ).
As to claim 10, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 1. YILDIZ further teaches wherein the display is foldable one display (see par. 0051, wherein inn some cases, display device(s) 101/102 may also comprise a deformation or bending sensor configured to generate deformation or bending information including, but not limited to: the bending position of a display (e.g., in the form of a “bending line” connecting two or more positions at which bending is detected on the display), bending direction, bending angle, bending speed, etc. In these implementations, display device(s) 101/102 may be provided as a single continuous display, rather than two discrete displays; as taught by YILDIZ).
As to claim 11, MAKINEN, YILDIZ and ITO teach the limitations of claim 1. YILDIZ further teaches wherein the display includes two or more displays (see figs. 6A-13B, par. 0032, wherein embodiments described herein provide systems and methods for display management for a multi-form factor Information Handing System (IHS). In various implementations, a mobile IHS device may include a dual-display, foldable HIS; as taught by YILDIZ).
Claim 12 amounts to the method performed by the apparatus of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 1 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 13 amounts to the method performed by the apparatus of claim 6. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 6 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 14 amounts to the method performed by the apparatus of claim 8. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 8 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Publication Number
Filing Date
Title
US10254803B1
2018-07-31
Multi-form factor information handling system (IHS) with layered, foldable, bendable, flippable, rotatable, removable, displaceable, and/or slideable component(s)
US20120081289A1
2011-09-28
Keyboard filling one screen or spanning multiple screens of a multiple screen device
US10042480B2
2010-04-08
Apparatuses, methods, and systems for an electronic device with a detachable user input attachment
US20140211394A1
2014-01-16
Electronic device with detachable keyboard
US20200128687A1
2019-12-17
Personal computing device covers having stands
US10359924B2
2016-04-28
Control of an electronic device including display and keyboard moveable relative to the display
US20120162080A1
2011-08-23
Dual-screen notebook computer with keyboard
US20100207888A1
2010-02-16
System and method for using a keyboard with a touch-sensitive display
/KOOROSH NEHCHIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174