DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
A vacuum pump (claim 7)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
What is the relationship between the “a magnetic force” introduced in claim 3, line 3, claim 3, line 2, claim 4, line 3, and the “a magnetic force” introduced in claim 1, line 7? What structure is being claimed?
What is the relationship between the “a magnetic force” introduced in claim 8, line 3, claim 9, line 2, claim 10, line 2, and the “a magnetic force” introduced in claim 5, line 5? What structure is being claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Tsuji, JP 2018027578.
Regarding claims 1, 6-7, Tsuji discloses a gripping device (1), comprising: a bag body (4) that comes into contact with a workpiece (W) that is a magnetic body (heavy metal plate member), the bag body (4) having flexibility and airtightness (see abstract) and accommodating a granular material (5); an intake and exhaust unit (7) that deforms (see fig 2a-2b) the bag body (4) to follow a shape (see fig 2) of the workpiece (W), by discharging gas (via ejector 10) from the bag body (3) to the bag body (4), when the bag body (4) comes into contact (see fig 2b) with the workpiece (W); and a magnetic attraction unit (8) that grips the workpiece (W) by applying a magnetic force (shown in fig 2c) to the workpiece (W) in a state where the bag body (4) is deformed (see fig 2b-2c) to follow the shape of the workpiece (W).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Tsuji discloses the gripping device (1) according to claims 1 and 7, wherein: the granular material (5) is a magnetic powder (“magnetic powder”); and the magnetic attraction unit (8) applies a magnetic force (via 21) to the workpiece (W) via the granular material (5).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Tsuji discloses the gripping device (1) according to claims 1 and 7, wherein the magnetic attraction unit (8) applies a magnetic force (as described above) to the workpiece (W) after deforming the bag body (4) to follow the shape (see fig 2b-2c) of the workpiece (W).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Tsuji discloses the gripping device (1) according to claims 1 and 7, wherein the magnetic attraction unit (8) is configured to switch between a gripping state (see fig 2c) in which the workpiece (W) is gripped by a magnetic force (as described above) and a release state (turn off 21 to release) in which gripping is released.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5 and 11 are patentable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not show or render obvious the combination set forth in claims 5 and 11, including every structural element recited in the claims, especially, the configuration wherein the magnetic attraction unit includes, a magnet installed inside a housing, and a switching unit / electric actuator in the housing that moves the magnet closer to the workpiece to bring the magnetic attraction unit into the gripping state, and moves the magnet away from the workpiece to bring the magnetic attraction unit to the release state.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the gripping system as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654