Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 5/18/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Independent claims 1, 10, 19, have been amended to include language further clarifying that the applying and extracting of geometry from a compressed data structure is to extract and form a base mesh with triangles defined based on order of vertex indices and topology information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 and 7 of remarks/arguments, filed 5/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 19, 10, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Touma (US 6167159 A).
Applicant has amended Independent claims 1, 10, and 19 to recite “extracting geometry from a compressed data structure by applying topology information to a set of unique vertices of the compressed data structure to form a base mesh, wherein triangles of the base mesh are defined based on order of vertex indices within the compressed data structure and based on the topology information" and applying one or more subdivision operations to the geometry of the base mesh to obtain subdivided geometry.” Applicant asserts that Kim does not teach the claim as amended, more specifically their argument as to why the amended claim overcomes the present rejection is:
“Pages 2-3 of the Office Action indicate that Kim teaches the "extracting" and "applying" steps of claims 1, 10, and 19. Applicants submit that Kim does not teach these steps as amended. In particular, Kim teaches adding displacement to vertices of a base mesh. However, the base mesh in Kim is not described as recited in claims 1, 10, and 19 (specifically, "extracting geometry from a compressed data structure by applying topology information to a set of unique vertices of the compressed data structure to form a base mesh, wherein the compressed data structure includes vertex indices, and wherein triangles of the base mesh are defined based on order of the vertex indices within the compressed data structure and based on the topology information"). That is, the specific operations that define triangles of a base mesh in claims 1, 10, and 19 are not described in Kim. In particular, paragraph [0062] of Kim describes a pre-processing scheme to produce a base mesh. It involves down-sampling a base curve to generate a base curve, and generating a subdivided curve based on that. This is different than what is recited in claims 1, 10, and 19. In particular, the above disclosure of Kim is not the same thing as "extracting geometry from a compressed data structure ... to form a base mesh."
Applicant’s first claim, that Kim does not teach the “extracting” steps of claims 1, 10, and 19, can be seen to be incorrect by the original non final rejection’s citation of Kim ¶53, and ¶571 in the rejection of claims 1/10/19. The citations clearly teach that a base mesh is encoded/compressed into a compressed data structure where that same base mesh is later decompressed/extracted. Once extracted, Kim teaches that topology information including an order of vertex indices is applied to the base mesh to form the original mesh, also taught in ¶571 and ¶572. That being said, Kim only teaches applying topology information to an already extracted base mesh, not the applying of topology information to create the base mesh itself.
Thus, this portion of the applicant’s argument is conceded. While Kim teaches extracting a base mesh and applying topology information to obtain geometry it does not teach the applying of topology information to extracted geometry to obtain the base mesh itself. As stated above, this necessitates a new grounds of rejection in view of Touma (US 6167159 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Kim (US 20230290011 A1) in view of Touma (US 6167159 A)
Regarding independent claims 10, 1, 19,
Kim teaches:
A system comprising: a memory configured to store a compressed data structure; and a processor configured to perform operations comprising: (Kim ¶645: “The electronic device 4300 includes the electronic display 4302, one or more input devices 4304, one or more input/output (I/O) ports4306, a processor core complex 4308 having one or more processing circuitry(s) or processing circuitry cores, local memory4310, a main memory storage device4312”) extracting (¶61 decoded) geometry from a compressed data structure by applying topology information (¶571 displacements) to a set of unique vertices of the compressed data structure;( Kim ¶53 “The pre-processor produces a base mesh m(i) and displacements d(i) that can be provided to encoder 402, which produces a compressed bitstream b(i) therefrom.” ¶61“On the decoder side (Fig. 5), the compressed bitstream b(i) is received by a decoder” ¶571 “Decoding The positions of the mesh is reconstructed by adding the i-th displacement in the area corresponding to the current patch data unit in the displacement video to the i-th vertex in the subpart associated with the current patch data unit in the … base mesh. [0572] The location of the displacement( i ) is counted from … (left top corner of the corresponding area) of the current patch. [573] The list of vertices is created from the triangle faces (with the same facegroup id) associated with the current patch. The non-overlapping vertex indices are saved into the list based on the order of their appearance” ¶574 “… if a patch (mesh_intra_patch_data_unit[0]) has subpart_id 0, then triangle faces with fi(facegroupId) 0 are associated with this patch, which are f 1/2/4, f 2/4/5 and f 0/1/2 … this correlation between triangle faces and facegroupId’s may be indicated via a correlated ordering between a listing of the triangle faces and a list of associated facegroupId’s. For example, in Figure 40, the ordered list of triangle faces (e.g., f 1/2/4, f 2/4/5, f 2/5/3, and f 0/1/2) and corresponding ordered list of facegroupId’s (e.g., f1 0, fi 0, fi 1, and fi0) indicate that each of f 1/2/4, f 2,/4/5, and f 0/1/2) are associated with facegroupId 0 and that triangle face f 2/5/3 is associated with facegroupId 1. [0575] Then, the associated vertices are ordered as 1,2,4,5,0. Therefore, the first displacement is added to vertex1(x1,y1,z1) and the last displacement is added to vertex0(x0,y0,z0). For patch[1], the associated vertices are ordered as 2,5,3.” Note: As stated above displacements are ordered pieces of location data. The compressed geometry, or mesh itself is made up of patches. From these small samples of triangles in the patch we gather a list of unique vertices by only storing only those which do not overlap. When the displacements are added to the vertices to reconstruct triangles in a patch elsewhere we are extracting the geometry. Rather than saving duplicate geometry/vertices or saving highly detailed meshes the application stores displacement values which denote where the specified geometry exists elsewhere and what positions they should be in. This teaches the extraction of geometry, which is specifically taught to be a base mesh, from a compressed data structure by applying topology information to a set of unique vertices of the compressed data structure as the displacement location data is our topology information.) applying one or more subdivision operations to the geometry of the base mesh to obtain subdivided geometry; (Kim ¶277 “Similar to the geometry information, additional processing may be performed to the base mesh information after its decoding. More specifically, after decoding the base mesh data, the resulting meshes may be subdivided through a mesh subdivision process. This process requires information, e.g. the subdivision method to be used among others, which may be indicated/included in the atlas data substream.”) and performing rendering operations utilizing the subdivided geometry (Kim ¶600 “The adaptive tessellation module 503 can take as inputs: … A decoded base mesh m’(i) which may (but need not) have per vertex/face/edge attributes describing saliency and importance/priority information” ¶610 “The tessellation module 503 can … be used for rendering or for processing by the application” Note: Here we see Kim teach that the decoded mesh, which is the geometry data we have extracted from the compressed data, can be rendered.)
While Kim teaches the extracting of a base mesh from a compressed data structure and subdividing the base mesh to obtain subdivided geometry, and teaches applying topology information to the unique vertices in the compressed data structure, it does not teach that the applying of topology information is done to form the base mesh itself. In Kim, the base mesh is simply extracted/decoded and the topology information is applied to it rather than applying the topology information to obtain the base mesh. This idea can be found in Touma which teaches extracting geometry from the compressed data structure by applying topology information to a set of vertices of the compressed data structure to form a base mesh, (Touma Col. 2 Line 12 “In some preferred embodiments of the present invention, the compression procedure includes arranging the vertices of the mesh in a consecutive order. Preferably, two lists, a topology list and a coordinate list, are generated including, respectively, the topology and coordinate data of the mesh. Preferably, the data in the lists pertain consecutively to the vertices of the mesh in the consecutive order. The topology list represents the topology of the mesh by the degrees of the vertices, i.e., according to the number of edges that are incident on each of the vertices. The coordinate list includes geometric coordinates, preferably in encoded form, of the vertices in the consecutive order. Preferably, the consecutive order is chosen such that the triangle mesh may be reconstructed solely using these two lists, and most preferably, such that the topology may be reconstructed using only the topology list. As further described hereinbelow, the inventors have found that this procedure provides more effective compression of triangle mesh objects than any method known in the art, while providing substantially faithful reproduction of the objects after transmission and decompression.” Note: Touma Col. 2 Line 12 teaches a mesh is compressed by representing the mesh as a topology list and coordinate list, where the topology list denotes the vertex degrees and the coordinate list denotes geometric coordinates of the vertices. Touma teaches it only this information that is compressed and used to recreate the mesh, in other words Touma teaches the claims language of extracting geometry by applying topology information to a set of vertices to obtain the mesh. As a base mesh is simply the information of a mesh with a lower vertex/polygon count and Touma teaches extracting and forming the mesh by applying topology information for the whole mesh, Touma teaches the formation of a base mesh by applying topology data) wherein triangles of the base mesh are defined based on order of vertex indices (Touma Col. 1 Line 20 “The triangle mesh is represented by a list of triangles, in which for each triangle the coordinates of its three vertices are indicated. The information in the list includes the coordinates of the Vertices, and indication of which vertices belong to each triangle.” Col. 2 Line 12, cited above, teaches that the vertices are stored in a consecutive order, and is reconstructed using this ordering. As Touma teaches its mesh is made up of triangles and that the mesh is extracted and rebuilt in the order of the vertices, Touma teaches that its triangles and mesh built from them are defined based on the order of vertex indices.) within the compressed data structure and further based on the topology information;(Touma Col. 2 Line 12, cited above, clearly teaches that the applying of topology information to vertex coordinates to extract the mesh where both are included in the compressed data structure.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Touma where the extracting of a base mesh and applying of topology information to a unique set of vertices to obtain geometry to later subdivide and render performs the applying of topology information step to form the base mesh itself.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, Kim already teaches the compression of a base mesh and duplicate vertices as a means to more efficiently store a mesh. If one wished to further optimize the storing of a mesh the base mesh itself could be compressed into the list of unique vertices to be later formed by applying topology information, which would further reduce the size of the compressed data structure.
Regarding claims 11, 2, 20, dependent on 11, 1, 19,
Kim teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the topology information indicates implicit or explicit connectivity information. (Kim ¶285 a v-mesh bitstream is provided to the decoder, the decoder demultiplexes (3201) the bitstream into V3C parameter sets 3202, Mesh subbitstreams 3203, Geometry subbitstreams 3204, Attribute subbitstreams 3205” ¶286 “output mesh geometry, texture coordinates and connectivities are calculated by mesh position refinement process (3215) that combines the output of the mesh normalization process 3210 and the outputs of geometry normalization process 3212 to derive the resultant meshes (e.g., described by mesh geometry, texture coordinates, and connectivity).” Note: Here we see that in the decoding process described in Kim, which is its decompressing process as the encoded data is the compressed data structure, we are able to use outputs to derive the connectivity information. This teaches compressed data that has topology information which contains implicit or explicit connectivity information.)
Regarding claims 12, 3, dependent on 10, 1,
Kim teaches,
The system of claim 10, wherein the topology information identifies which unique vertices comprise which triangles. (Kim ¶573 “The list of vertices is created from the triangle faces (with the same facegroup id) associated with the current patch. The non-overlapping vertex indices are saved into the list based on the order of their appearance” ¶574 “… if a patch (mesh_intra_patch_data_unit[0]) has subpart_id 0, then triangle faces with fi(facegroupId) 0 are associated with this patch, which are f 1/2/4, f 2/4/5 and f 0/1/2 … this correlation between triangle faces and facegroupId’s may be indicated via a correlated ordering between a listing of the triangle faces and a list of associated facegroupId’s. For example, in Figure 40, the ordered list of triangle faces (e.g., f 1/2/4, f 2/4/5, f 2/5/3, and f 0/1/2) and corresponding ordered list of facegroupId’s (e.g., f1 0, fi 0, fi 1, and fi0) indicate that each of f 1/2/4, f 2,/4/5, and f 0/1/2 are associated with facegroupId 0 and that triangle face f 2/5/3 is associated with facegroupId 1. [0575] Then, the associated vertices are ordered as 1,2,4,5,0. Therefore, the first displacement is added to vertex1(x1,y1,z1) and the last displacement is added to vertex0(x0,y0,z0)” Note: Here we see Kim teach that the triangle faces are ordered and tracked by ids, and that the triangle faces are referred to by the vertices that compose them. This teaches that the topology information present identifies which unique vertices comprise which triangles.)
Regarding claims 14, 5, dependent on 11, 1,
Kim teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more subdivision operations include one or more of a loop-based subdivision, a grid-based subdivision, or a Catmull-Clark-based subdivision. (Kim ¶178 “The remeshing techniques described herein can be used with these or any other subdivision technique. For triangular meshes, the mid-edge interpolation, loop, butterfly, and Catmull-Clark subdivision techniques are among the most popular.” Note: Here we see that the application teaches the options to use loop and Catmull-clark subdivision types.)
Regarding claims 15, 6, dependent on 11, 1,
Kim teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more subdivision operations include subdividing edges of the geometry based on tessellation factors to obtain vertices and connecting the vertices to obtain subdivided geometry. (Kim FIG. 36, FIG. 37:
Kim ¶546 “vmc_ext_subdivision_iteration_count=2 … For patch[0], mdu_patch_subdivisionmethod_enable_flag and mdu_subdivision_iteration_count is 1. Then, as illustrated in patch [0] of FIG. 37, the area corresponding to the patch, the triangle constructed by v0, v1 and v3, is populated with vertices by a method whose index is 1 and the iteration count will be 1. mdu_vertex_index_list is set as {v0, v1, v3, v5, v6, v7}. The order of vertex indices can be determined by subdivision method and the order of the corresponding displacement is aligned with this order. [0548] 2) For patch[1], …. mdu_subdivision_iteration_count is set as vmc_ext_subdivision_iteration_count. As illustrated in FIG. 37, the area corresponding to the patch, the triangle constructed by v0, v1 and v2, is populated with vertices accordingly. mdu_vertex_index_list is set as {v0, v1, v2, v5, v7, v8, v9, v10, v11, v12, v13, v14, v15, v16, v17}.” Note: In FIG. 36 and 37 and the accompanying description we see that edges of the geometry can be subdivided based on tessellation factors. The tessellation factor mentioned here is the subdivision iteration count which specifies how many times a given edge will be subdivided. Kim specifies that for patch 0 the iteration count is 1, we see this reflected as every edge gets a single new vertex along it, subdividing it once into two pieces in FIG. 37. This creates three new vertices (v5,v6,v7), teaching the obtaining of vertices from subdividing edges of geometry. The connection of the vertices and obtaining of subdivided geometry is taught implicitly, as seen in the before and after of the triangles from FIG. 36 to FIG. 37 the vertices are generated for the triangle/patch and are connected to form a new triangle.)
Regarding claims 16, 7, dependent on 15, 6,
The system of claim 15, wherein the tessellation factors are specified differently for border regions of the geometry and for internal regions of the geometry. (Kim ¶546 “For patch[0], mdu_patch_subdivisionmethod_enable_flag and mdu_subdivision_iteration_count is 1. Then, as illustrated in patch [0] of FIG. 37, the area corresponding to the patch, the triangle constructed by v0, v1 and v3, is populated with vertices by a method whose index is 1 and the iteration count will be 1. mdu_vertex_index_list is set as {v0, v1, v3, v5, v6, v7}.”Kim ¶73 “The subdivision scheme behavior could be adaptively changed (e.g., to preserve sharp edges) based on implicit and explicit criteria such as: [0074] Per face/edge/vertex attribute information associated with the base mesh and explicitly encoded as mesh attributes”
Fig 42:
¶619 “FIG. 42 (cf. FIG. 11) illustrates a technique for subdividing a triangle based on the number of edges determined to be subdivided based on the algorithm described above. In 4201a, each edge is to be subdivided, resulting in the triangle being split into four triangles as shown. In (b), two edges of the triangle are to be subdivided (the edges other than the base), resulting in the triangle being split into three triangles as shown. In (c) only one edge is to be subdivided, resulting in the triangle being split into two triangles as shown. In (d), no edges are to be subdivided, meaning the original triangle is preserved. This is just one possible approach, and other subdivision approaches could be applied” Note: In ¶546 Kim teaches that we can specify the tessellation factors, in this case the number of subdivision iterations per edge for a given patch. This specifies a tessellation factor for both the “border regions”, interpreted as in the outermost edges that initially define the shape/geometry, and for the “internal regions” which are interpreted as the newly subdivided shapes and edges inside our initial geometry. However, as specified in ¶73 we are able to change our subdivision scheme aka tessellation factors for the outermost edges, “border regions”. This allows for the internal regions to have a different tessellation factor (subdivision iteration count) than the border regions, in ¶619 the example is selecting one or multiple edges to have an iteration count of 0 meaning it will not be subdivided. Kim specifies this is just one example of how we can specify subdivision approaches/tessellation factors for the border regions different from internal regions.)
Regarding claims 17, 8, dependent on 10, 1,
Kim teaches:
The system of claim 10, further comprising displacing vertices of the subdivided geometry to a limit surface. (Kim ¶62 “to produce a base mesh m(i) and a displacement field d(i) discussed above with respect to Fig. 4. … the “original” curve, is first down-sampled to generate a base curve/polyline 602, referred to as the “decimated” curve. A subdivision scheme, such as those described in Reference [A1] (identified below), can be applied to the decimated polyline 602 to generate a “subdivided” curve … The proposed scheme can be independent of the chosen subdivision scheme and could be combined with any subdivision scheme such as the ones described in Reference [A1]. The subdivided polyline can then be deformed to get a better approximation of the original curve. More precisely, a displacement vector can be computed for each vertex of the subdivided mesh 603 (illustrated by the arrows in the displaced polyline 604 of Figure 6), so that the shape of the displaced curve is sufficiently close to the shape of the original curve. ” ¶277 “Similar to the geometry information, additional processing may be performed to the base mesh information after its decoding. More specifically, after decoding the base mesh data, the resulting meshes may be subdivided through a mesh subdivision process. This process requires information, e.g. the subdivision method to be used among others, which may be indicated/included in the atlas data substream. Subdivided/resampled meshes are then refined by adding the displacements” ¶178 “The remeshing techniques described herein can be used with these or any other subdivision technique. For triangular meshes, the mid-edge interpolation, loop, butterfly, and Catmull-Clark subdivision techniques” Note: A limit surface refers to a theoretical truly smooth surface that a mesh approaches after an infinite amount of subdivision. When we specify more detail about a smooth surface and take actions to make it more accurate such as subdividing it more we are “approaching” the limit surface. The claim’s “limit surface” is referring to a surface which has had additional steps, particularly more subdivisions, taken to make it smoother. Kim teaches that specific steps are taken to render curved surfaces more accurately i.e. smoother teaching that the geometry can contain limit surfaces. One such effort is that curved, smooth surfaces are given additional subdivision steps before compression so that they can be extracted more accurately than other areas of geometry. Furthermore, specific displacements that give more information about curved surfaces are saved for the purpose of making the reconstructed curves more accurate, teaching the displacement of vertices of the subdivided geometry to a limit surface. We also see subdivision techniques used for approaching the limit surface such as Catmull-clark and loop are specifically used.)
Regarding claims 18, 9, dependent on 17, 8,
The system of claim 17, further comprising applying additional displacements to the vertices. (Kim ¶63 “The subdivided polyline can then be deformed to get a better approximation of the original curve. More precisely, a displacement vector can be computed for each vertex of the subdivided mesh 603 (illustrated by the arrows in the displaced polyline 604 of Figure 6), so that the shape of the displaced curve is sufficiently close to the shape of the original curve.” ¶191 “final subdivided deformed mesh F(i) and the decimated mesh pm(i). If iterative mesh deformation is omitted, then the initial deformed mesh F0(i) may be substituted for final deformed mesh F(i). … [0192] The Displacement Computation Module 2010 can compute displacements d(i) by taking the difference between the positions of F(i) (or F0(i) and the subdivided version of pm(i), to exploit correlations between the two meshes and produce a more compressible representation. The resulting displacement field d(i) can then fed as input to the encoder module (along with base mesh m(i) as described above in Section 1.” Note: Here, we see that Kim has a specific approach for determining general displacements. Outside of this approach it will also create “additional displacements” for the vertices that make up the limit/curved surfaces so that they can be reconstructed more accurately)
Claim(s) 13, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230290011 A1) in view Touma (US 6167159 A) and further in view of Howson (US 10339696 B2)
Regarding claims 13, 4, dependent on 10, 1,
Kim teaches:
The system of claim 10,
Kim does not teach the ability to use rendering methods of rasterization or ray tracing,
Howson teaches:
wherein the rendering operations comprise one of performing rasterization-based rendering or performing ray tracing based rendering. (Howson ¶4 “One aspect relates to a machine-implemented method for use in 3-D rendering. The method comprises accessing geometry data… (7)The method also may further comprise making a rendering using both a rasterization subsystem and a ray tracing subsystem” Note: Here we see Howson teaches that geometry can be rendered using both rasterization and with ray tracing based rendering.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Howson’s teachings wherein extracted geometry from a compressed data structure is subdivided and then rendered using ray tracing or rasterization based rendering.
There are many reasons that would motivate one to use rasterization or ray tracing rendering in this context, one of which is rendering higher quality light, shadows, reflections, and similar visual qualities which ray tracing excels at. Another might be speed and efficiency in rendering which are known benefits of rasterization rendering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN GREGORY HAKALA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617