DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to the Response to Restriction Requirement filed on July 27, 2026 (“Response”). Claims 1-20 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Election/Restriction - Withdrawal
Applicant’s election of species iii with traverse is acknowledged. In view of the amendments to the claims presented in the Response, the restriction requirement previously made on May 28, 2026 is now withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 28, 2024 and on October 7, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US2023/0319894)(“Jiang”).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a method (See, e.g., Fig. 2), wherein the method is applicable to a first apparatus (See, Fig. 1, #11 “terminal;” and ¶[0055], “Step 201: A terminal determines”.), and the method comprises:
obtaining first configuration information (See, Fig. 2, #201, “A terminal determines a first signal related parameter”. The first configuration information corresponding to the first signal related parameter when the first signal is a preamble or the Msg1 of a random access process.) of a first signal (See, ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.) with a type1 (See, e.g., ¶[0049], “Objects classified by “first” and “second” are usually of a same type”.), where the first configuration information is associated with a first procedure of the first apparatus (See, ¶[0071], “When the first signal is the preamble of the first random access message, the sequence identification information of the first signal is an identifier of the preamble”. The first procedure of the first apparatus corresponding to the random access procedure.);
obtaining second configuration information (See, Fig. 2, #201, “A terminal determines a first signal related parameter”. The second configuration information corresponding to the first signal related parameter when the first signal is an SRS.) of a second signal (See, ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.) with the type (See, footnote 1 below.), where the second configuration information is associated with a second procedure of the first apparatus (See, e.g., ¶[0147], “the network side device may determine the location information of the corresponding terminal based on the SRS”. The second procedure corresponding to the channel sounding procedure.), the second procedure is different from the first procedure (A channel sounding procedure is different from a random access procedure.); and
sending the first signal based on the first configuration information (See, Fig. 2, #202; and ¶[0064], “Step 202: The terminal sends a first signal based on the first signal related parameter.”).
Regarding claim 2/1, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Jiang further discloses that the first configuration information is obtained from at least one of the following:
a second apparatus (See, ¶¶[0067]-[0070], “The first signal related parameter includes at least one of the following: sequence identification information of the first signal; a time domain resource for the first signal; and a frequency domain resource for the first [signal];” and ¶[0155], “receiving, by the terminal, the RACH resource indicated by the network side device through signaling, such as the SIB;” ); or a plurality of first configuration information sets (See, e.g., Table 1; and ¶[0086], “the terminal …it can be determined based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set”) of the first signal (i.e., the random access preamble), the plurality of first configuration information sets including the first configuration information (See, ¶[0086], “the terminal …. selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set”.).
Regarding claim 3/1, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Jiang further discloses that the first configuration information is associated with at least one of:
a plurality of first configuration information sets (See, e.g., Table 1; and ¶[0086], “the terminal …it can be determined based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set”) of the first signal (i.e., the random access preamble), the plurality of first configuration information sets including the first configuration information (See, ¶[0086], “the terminal …. selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set”.);
a capability of the first apparatus;
a position of the first apparatus (See, ¶[0078], “the location information of the terminal has a correspondence with at least one of a beam;” and Table 1, showing corresponding mapping between SSBs and the preamble identifier”.);
a moving speed of the first apparatus;
a type of the first apparatus;
a first identifier of a synchronization signal block (See, Table 1, showing corresponding mapping between SSBs and the preamble identifier; and ¶[0090], Each combination of {preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource} may include a plurality of combinations of values of preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource, and the terminal may select one combination of values of {preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource}”.) or
a first resource identifier of a channel state information reference signal (See, ¶[0080], “the determining, by a terminal, a first signal related parameter based on terminal identifier related information includes:”; ¶[0081], determining a Random Access Channel Occasion (RACH Occasion) based on information about N1 detected third signals; and ¶[0091], “The third signal includes at least one of the following:”; and ¶[0092] a Synchronization Signal and PBCH Block (SSB), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS)”.).
Regarding claim 4/2, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Jiang further discloses that the plurality of first configuration information sets of the first signal are obtained from the second apparatus (See, ¶¶[0067]-[0070], “The first signal related parameter includes at least one of the following: sequence identification information of the first signal; a time domain resource for the first signal; and a frequency domain resource for the first [signal, sic];” and ¶[0155], “receiving, by the terminal, the RACH resource indicated by the network side device through signaling, such as the SIB;”) or a third apparatus (See, ¶[0081], “determining a Random Access Channel Occasion (RACH Occasion) based on information about N1 detected third signals … the N1 third signals are sent through same or different nodes”.); or
the plurality of first configuration information sets of the first signal are predefined (See, ¶[0086], “ the terminal determines an RO associated with N1 reference signals or synchronization signals based on a measurement result of the N1 reference signals or synchronization signals (for example, it can be determined based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set, and then selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set, where the preamble candidate set is determined based on the preamble associated with the RO.” Jiang, by describing the N1 reference signals being received from the network, and selecting, based on the received N1 reference signals, preamble(s) using Table 1, discloses that at least the Table 1 information is pre-stored at the terminal.).
Regarding claim 6/1, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Jiang further discloses that the second configuration information (See, Fig. 2, #201, “A terminal determines a first signal related parameter”. The second configuration information corresponding to the first signal related parameter when the first signal is an SRS. See, also, ¶¶[0067]-[0070], “The first signal related parameter includes at least one of the following: sequence identification information of the first signal; a time domain resource for the first signal; and a frequency domain resource for the first [signal, sic]”.) is obtained from at least one of the following:
a second apparatus (See, ¶[0121], “the time domain resource and the frequency domain resource of the SRS are notified to the terminal by the network side device.”); or
a plurality of second configuration information sets of the second signal, the plurality of second configuration information sets including the second configuration information.
Regarding claim 7/6, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 6 as discussed above.
Because this claim depends from claim 6, and because the additional recitation that, “the plurality of second configuration information sets of the first signal is obtained from the second apparatus or the third apparatus; or
the plurality of second configuration information sets of the second signal are predefined” is directed to an alternative limitation not considered in the above rejection of claim 6, the additional recitation does not further limit the scope of claim 6 as interpreted in the above rejection of claim 6. Accordingly, claim 7 is anticipated by Jiang for the same reasons that claim 6 is anticipated.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses a method (See, e.g., Fig. 3), wherein the method is applicable to a second apparatus (Fig. 1, #12, “Network side device”) and the method comprises:
determining first configuration information (See, ¶¶[0067]-[0070], “The first signal related parameter includes at least one of the following: sequence identification information of the first signal; a time domain resource for the first signal; and a frequency domain resource for the first [signal];” and ¶[0155], “receiving, by the terminal, the RACH resource indicated by the network side device through signaling, such as the SIB”. The first configuration information corresponding to the first signal related parameter when the first signal is a preamble or the Msg1 of the a random access process.) of a first signal (See, ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.) with a type2 (See, e.g., ¶[0049], “Objects classified by “first” and “second” are usually of a same type”.), where the first configuration information is associated with a first procedure (See, ¶[0071], “When the first signal is the preamble of the first random access message, the sequence identification information of the first signal is an identifier of the preamble”. The first procedure of the first apparatus corresponding to the random access procedure.) of a first apparatus (Fig. 1, #11 “terminal”);
determining second configuration information (See, ¶¶[0067]-[0070], “The first signal related parameter includes at least one of the following: sequence identification information of the first signal; a time domain resource for the first signal; and a frequency domain resource for the first [signal, sic];” and ¶[0121], “the time domain resource and the frequency domain resource of the SRS are notified to the terminal by the network side device.”) of a second signal (See, ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.) with the type (See, footnote 1 above.), where the second configuration information is associated with a second procedure of the first apparatus (See, e.g., ¶[0147], “the network side device may determine the location information of the corresponding terminal based on the SRS”. The second procedure corresponding to the channel sounding procedure.), the second procedure is different from the first procedure (A channel sounding procedure is different from a random access procedure.); and
receiving the first signal from the first apparatus based on the first configuration information (See, Fig. 3, #301, “A network side device receives a first signal;” and ¶[0071], “When the first signal is the preamble of the first random access message, the sequence identification information of the first signal is an identifier of the preamble”.).
Regarding claim 10/9, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the method further comprising sending at least one of the following to the first apparatus:
the first configuration information (See, ¶¶[0067]-[0070], “The first signal related parameter includes at least one of the following: sequence identification information of the first signal; a time domain resource for the first signal; and a frequency domain resource for the first [signal, sic];” and ¶[0155], “receiving, by the terminal, the RACH resource indicated by the network side device through signaling, such as the SIB;”), or
a plurality of first configuration information sets of the first signal.
Regarding claim 11/9, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the first configuration information is associated with at least one of:
a plurality of first configuration information sets (See, e.g., Table 1; and ¶[0086], “the terminal …it can be determined based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set”) of the first signal (i.e., the random access preamble), the plurality of first configuration information sets including the first configuration information (See, ¶[0086], “the terminal …. selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set”.);
a capability of the first apparatus,
a position of the first apparatus (See, ¶[0078], “the location information of the terminal has a correspondence with at least one of a beam;” and Table 1, showing corresponding mapping between SSBs and the preamble identifier”.),
a moving speed of the first apparatus,
a type of the first apparatus;
a first identifier of a synchronization signal block (See, Table 1, showing corresponding mapping between SSBs and the preamble identifier; and ¶[0090], Each combination of {preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource} may include a plurality of combinations of values of preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource, and the terminal may select one combination of values of {preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource}”.); or
a first resource identifier of a channel state information reference signal (See, ¶[0080], “the determining, by a terminal, a first signal related parameter based on terminal identifier related information includes:”; ¶[0081], determining a Random Access Channel Occasion (RACH Occasion) based on information about N1 detected third signals; and ¶[0091], “The third signal includes at least one of the following:”; and ¶[0092] a Synchronization Signal and PBCH Block (SSB), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS)”.).
Regarding claim 12/9, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the first procedure is initial access (See, ¶[0071], “When the first signal is the preamble of the first random access message, the sequence identification information of the first signal is an identifier of the preamble”. The first procedure of the first apparatus corresponding to the random access procedure.), and the second procedure comprises at least one of the following:
uplink synchronization;
channel sounding between the first apparatus and a second apparatus (See, e.g., ¶[0147], “the network side device may determine the location information of the corresponding terminal based on the SRS”. The second procedure corresponding to the channel sounding procedure.);
beam selection for communication between the first apparatus and the second apparatus; or
beam recovery for communication between the first apparatus and the second apparatus.
Regarding claim 13/9, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the first signal comprises one of the following:
a sounding reference signal; or
a preamble sequence (See, e.g., ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.).
Regarding claim 14/9, Jiang discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the first configuration information indicates at least one of the following parameters:
a subcarrier spacing of the first signal (¶[0089], “The preamble identifier or the preamble index is associated with the preamble sequence format (for example, at least one of sequence length, Subcarrier Spacing (SCS), and root sequence).”);
a cyclic prefix length of the first signal (¶[0072], “The preamble in this embodiment of this application includes a Cyclic Prefix (CP) and a preamble sequence.”);
a time-domain length of the first signal (¶[0089], “The preamble identifier or the preamble index is associated with the preamble sequence format (for example, at least one of sequence length, Subcarrier Spacing (SCS), and root sequence).”);
a quantity of combs of the first signal;
a time-domain resource of the first signal (¶[0169], “a time domain resource for the first signal”.);
a frequency-domain resource of the first signal (¶[0170], “a frequency domain resource for the first signal.”);
a signal sequence of the first signal (¶[0168], “sequence identification information of the first signal”.); or
information associated with generation of the signal sequence (¶[0086], “the terminal determines an RO associated with N1 reference signals … based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set, and then selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set, where the preamble candidate set is determined based on the preamble associated with the RO.”).
Regarding claim 15, Jiang discloses a first apparatus (See, Fig. 1, #11 “terminal;” Fig. 6, #600; ¶[0259], “FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a hardware structure of a terminal”.), comprising:
at least one processing circuit (Fig. 6, #610), and
an interface (Fig. 6, #601) coupled with the at least one processing circuit, wherein the at least one processing circuit is configured to (¶[0265], The processor 610 is configured to: determine a first signal related parameter based on terminal identifier related information; and control the radio frequency unit 601 to send a first signal based on the first signal related parameter”.):
obtain first configuration information (See, Fig. 2, #201, “A terminal determines a first signal related parameter”. The first configuration information corresponding to the first signal related parameter when the first signal is a preamble or the Msg1 of a random access process.) of a first signal (See, ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.) with a type3 (See, e.g., ¶[0049], “Objects classified by “first” and “second” are usually of a same type”.), where the first configuration information is associated with a first procedure of the first apparatus (See, ¶[0071], “When the first signal is the preamble of the first random access message, the sequence identification information of the first signal is an identifier of the preamble”. The first procedure of the first apparatus corresponding to the random access procedure.);
obtain second configuration information (See, Fig. 2, #201, “A terminal determines a first signal related parameter”. The second configuration information corresponding to the first signal related parameter when the first signal is an SRS.) of a second signal (See, ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.) with the type (See, footnote 1 above.), where the second configuration information is associated with a second procedure of the first apparatus (See, e.g., ¶[0147], “the network side device may determine the location information of the corresponding terminal based on the SRS”. The second procedure corresponding to the channel sounding procedure.), the second procedure is different from the first procedure (Channel sounding procedure is different from the random access procedure.); and
wherein the interface is configured to send the first signal based on the first configuration information (See, Fig. 2, #202; ¶[0064], “Step 202: The terminal sends a first signal based on the first signal related parameter;” and ¶[0265] The processor 610 is configured to: determine a first signal related parameter based on terminal identifier related information; and control the radio frequency unit 601 to send a first signal based on the first signal related parameter”.).
Regarding claim 16/15, Jiang discloses a first apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 15 as discussed above.
Jiang further discloses that the first configuration information is obtained from at least one of the following:
a second apparatus (See, ¶¶[0067]-[0070], “The first signal related parameter includes at least one of the following: sequence identification information of the first signal; a time domain resource for the first signal; and a frequency domain resource for the first [signal];” and ¶[0155], “receiving, by the terminal, the RACH resource indicated by the network side device through signaling, such as the SIB;” ); or a plurality of first configuration information sets (See, e.g., Table 1; and ¶[0086], “the terminal …it can be determined based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set”) of the first signal (i.e., the random access preamble), the plurality of first configuration information sets including the first configuration information (See, ¶[0086], “the terminal …. selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set”.).
Regarding claim 17/15, Jiang discloses a first apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 15 as discussed above.
Jiang further discloses that the first configuration information is associated with at least one of:
a plurality of first configuration information sets (See, e.g., Table 1; and ¶[0086], “the terminal …it can be determined based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set”) of the first signal (i.e., the random access preamble), the plurality of first configuration information sets including the first configuration information (See, ¶[0086], “the terminal …. selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set”.);
a capability of the first apparatus;
a position of the first apparatus (See, ¶[0078], “the location information of the terminal has a correspondence with at least one of a beam;” and Table 1, showing corresponding mapping between SSBs and the preamble identifier”.);
a moving speed of the first apparatus;
a type of the first apparatus;
a first identifier of a synchronization signal block (See, Table 1, showing corresponding mapping between SSBs and the preamble identifier; and ¶[0090], Each combination of {preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource} may include a plurality of combinations of values of preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource, and the terminal may select one combination of values of {preamble identifier, preamble time domain resource, preamble frequency domain resource}”.) or
a first resource identifier of a channel state information reference signal (See, ¶[0080], “the determining, by a terminal, a first signal related parameter based on terminal identifier related information includes:”; ¶[0081], determining a Random Access Channel Occasion (RACH Occasion) based on information about N1 detected third signals; and ¶[0091], “The third signal includes at least one of the following:”; and ¶[0092] a Synchronization Signal and PBCH Block (SSB), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS)”.).
Regarding claim 18/15, Jiang discloses a first apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 15 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the first procedure is initial access (See, ¶[0071], “When the first signal is the preamble of the first random access message, the sequence identification information of the first signal is an identifier of the preamble”. The first procedure of the first apparatus corresponding to the random access procedure.), and the second procedure comprises at least one of the following:
uplink synchronization;
channel sounding between the first apparatus and a second apparatus (See, e.g., ¶[0147], “the network side device may determine the location information of the corresponding terminal based on the SRS”. The second procedure corresponding to the channel sounding procedure.);
beam selection for communication between the first apparatus and the second apparatus; or
beam recovery for communication between the first apparatus and the second apparatus.
Regarding claim 19/15, Jiang discloses a first apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 15 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the first signal comprises one of the following:
a sounding reference signal; or
a preamble sequence (See, e.g., ¶[0066], “The first signal includes at least one of an SRS and a preamble of a first random access message”.).
Regarding claim 20/15, Jiang discloses a first apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 15 as discussed above.
Jiang discloses further that the first configuration information indicates at least one of the following parameters:
a subcarrier spacing of the first signal (¶[0089], “The preamble identifier or the preamble index is associated with the preamble sequence format (for example, at least one of sequence length, Subcarrier Spacing (SCS), and root sequence).”);
a cyclic prefix length of the first signal (¶[0072], “The preamble in this embodiment of this application includes a Cyclic Prefix (CP) and a preamble sequence.”);
a time-domain length of the first signal (¶[0089], “The preamble identifier or the preamble index is associated with the preamble sequence format (for example, at least one of sequence length, Subcarrier Spacing (SCS), and root sequence).”);
a quantity of combs of the first signal;
a time-domain resource of the first signal (¶[0169], “a time domain resource for the first signal”.);
a frequency-domain resource of the first signal (¶[0170], “a frequency domain resource for the first signal.”);
a signal sequence of the first signal (¶[0168], “sequence identification information of the first signal”.); or
information associated with generation of the signal sequence (¶[0086], “the terminal determines an RO associated with N1 reference signals … based on the association relationship shown in Table 1) and a preamble candidate set, and then selects a preamble associated with the terminal identification information from the preamble candidate set, where the preamble candidate set is determined based on the preamble associated with the RO.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Li et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US2024/0389134)(“ Li”).
Regarding claim 5/1, Jiang teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Jiang, however, fails to teach explicitly that the first configuration information is further associated with a type of the first apparatus.
Li teaches that the first configuration information is further associated with a type of the first apparatus (See, Fig. 8; and ¶[0059], “ RACH resources are configured in a system information block (e.g., SIB1) for RedCap UE capability indication and for CovEnh repetition capability/preference indication. … Each of the UEs 804, 806, 808 may select, at respective blocks 812, 814, 816, resources for transmission of a RACH message. For example, the RedCap UE 804 may select the RedCap-only RACH resources, the CovEnh UE 806 may select the CovEnh-only RACH resources, and the RedCap and CovEnh UE 808 may select the RedCap and CovEnh RACH resources.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the random access procedure taught by Jiang to incorporate the above teaching of Li, i.e., a random access resource allocation based on UE capability, in order to improve the UE capability identification by the network (See, e.g., Li, ¶[0024], “UEs may use separate RACH resources different from legacy UEs to indicate reduced UE capabilities or repetition preferences.”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Liu et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US2020/0028638)(“ Liu”).
Regarding claim 8/1, Jiang teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Jiang, however, fails to teach explicitly that the second configuration information is further associated with a type of the first apparatus.
Liu teaches that the second configuration information is further associated with a type of the first apparatus (See, ¶[0036], “New radio (NR) access (e.g., 5G technology) may support various wireless communication services, such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) … massive machine type communications MTC (mMTC) … and/or mission critical targeting ultra-reliable low-latency communications (URLLC). … These services may also have different transmission time intervals (TTI) to meet respective quality of service (QoS) requirements;” ¶[0110], “the SRS transmission patterns described above may be configurable based on the UE capability for switching transition time and sTTI configuration;” and Figs. 7-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the random access procedure taught by Jiang to incorporate the above teaching of Li, i.e., the SRS pattern configuration based on UE capability, in order to provide new/additional SRS resources while avoiding technical issues resulting from the introduction of the added resources, and while maintaining the backward compatibility (See, e.g., Liu, ¶¶[0076]-[0078]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
1) Shin et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2022/0263696) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention, including configuring one signal/channel in the form of repeating/mapping a plurality of sequences where such signal/channel comprises PRACH preamble and/or SRS signal (See, e.g., ¶¶[0013] and [0174]-[0180]); and
2) Webb et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2014/0349645) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention (See, e.g., ¶¶[0056]-[0063], [0119], [0123] and [0127]-[0129]).
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 September 2, 2026
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 Under the principles of the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), this claim term, “type,” should be given its plain meaning (See, MPEP §2111.01). For example, an on-line dictionary definition is:
Type noun
A : a particular kind, class, or group (“Type.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/type. Accessed 31 Aug. 2026.).
Because the classifying or the grouping may be based on a broad range of criteria or traits, the term, “type,” necessarily has a very broad meaning. For example, all wireless signals can be said to be of one type while wired signals may be grouped as being of another different type.
While Applicant’s disclosure includes some indicia, i.e., legacy PRACH vs. SRS signals, as respectively belonging to different signal types, see, e.g., Specification (pre-grant published application) at ¶[0129], or “same type of sequences” indicating the same type of signals, see, id., ¶[0138], such indication(s) do not provide a clear basis for the classification or grouping of signals into different types.
As for the independent claims 1, 9 and 15, in light of the narrower recitation in the dependent claims, i.e., claims 12, 13, 18 and 19, the term “type” as recited in the independent claims are construed to have its broad plain meaning without importing any limitation from the Specification.
Further, even when the above cited portions of the Specification are considered, as Jiang discloses a “first signal” that includes an SRS and/or a RA preamble, see, e.g., Jiang, ¶[0008], such “first signal” is presumed to be of a single signal “type.” That is, a first signal including an SRS and a first signal including a RA preamble are of the same type. See, e.g., Jiang, ¶[0049].
2 See, footnote 1 above.
3 See, footnote 1 above.